Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pat Richards

Pazza

lol like the 7's isnt a good indication of how your season is going to pan out. We won it last year and missed the 8. 7's footy and 13's is totally different. The tigers dont have the fire power in the forwards to have a highly successful season.

simon says

parra-matters said:
It's funny how all these Tigers fans come out of the wood work when they win something.

Out of the woodwork,lol.I post all the time.And there is only one of me.....all these tigers????

And thanks for telling me that 7s is different from 13 a side....I would never have guessed.Its still a massive boost to the clubs fans and the team itself.The side is confident and our new guys all performed.

You can deride our victory all you want,but we wasted you in the GF and you dont like it,lol.

parra_princess

Richards will never be the Superstar that he was going to be previous to sustaining the serious knee injury against the Bulldogs in 2001. I mean you only had to watch him in 2000 in the finals against the Roosters and the Panthers to see how gracefully he'd pluck the ball from the air under the cross field bomb.

But you know what they say, Time is a great healer although I dont think thats something that the Tigers have an abundance of.

Cant wait to see Grothe again in full flight.

Eddie.

parra-matters said:
It's funny how all these Tigers fans come out of the wood work when they win something.

Bit like parra fans in 2001

Every team has some bandwagoners

I have always been a huge fan of Patty, I was very sad to see him go.
That damn injury set him back for a while there, but he seems very confident that he's fully over it now.
I'm looking forward to seeing him play when the season gets underway, see if he's worked on his defence which has been a problem for him.
I hope he has a massive year & wish him all the best.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
i hope he returns to that, high jumping/afl-style form, god that was awesome to watch

Hurriflatch

Richards was a very good player but the huge knee injury in 2001 basically took until 2004 to heal. The form he showed in the 7's was getting close to his performances in 2000 and early 2001.

If he can get back to his bewst good on him, like Grothe at Parra though there will be a lot of question marks over his chances of making it even 2 months without getting injured.

eels1986

Like Pazza said 7's is totally different to 13's. Congrats to the Tigers for their first win in world 7's. Sure it gives confidence but the real stuff start shortly in March. Will be interesting to see how Richards goes for 80 minutes and 13 a side. I still don't rate the guy but if he performs well this year I will come back on this board and say so. Good luck tho.

Paranoid

Well, that didn't take long.

simon says said:
Just wanted to say a big thank you for giving us Pat Richards.I know a lot of punters here bagged him out but gee I am impressed so far.

He is one big unit,apparently he has bulked up quite a bit and doesnt it show.And he is very fast for such a big guy.I was surprised that Lyon,who I regard as a speedster could not get to him in the sevens final.

I know its only early,but I reckon he is going to have a very big year.

Don't mention it.

theicemandanno

Paranoid said:
Well, that didn't take long.

simon says said:
Just wanted to say a big thank you for giving us Pat Richards.I know a lot of punters here bagged him out but gee I am impressed so far.

He is one big unit,apparently he has bulked up quite a bit and doesnt it show.And he is very fast for such a big guy.I was surprised that Lyon,who I regard as a speedster could not get to him in the sevens final.

I know its only early,but I reckon he is going to have a very big year.

Don't mention it.

Simon says........one of your best mate. :lol:

Now do as bolts would say.........and give yourself a triple!!!!

theicemandanno

Colonel Eel said:
http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,8765411-23210,00.html

Sorry simon.......

Poor Pat.

Oh, I found this quote from that article you listed amusing.....the person who wrote this article certainly is good at digging up a scoop!

"Richards said he wasn't angry the injury occurred during one of the trial games which are traditionally a source of pre-season injuries.
:roll:

Redback71

looks like he could be out for the whole season at least 3 months anyway with a major broken leg according to todays paper

simon says said:
Mal Meninga.....

Simon...... I used to think you had something constructive to say. Now I realise that you put your fingers into gear before your brain is engaged. Yes - there have been a great deal of players who have recovered from career threatening injuries - however there have been many who haven't.