Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Paul Kent

Sad thing is he's not wrong in anything he said. Players are just too dumb to understand the big picture.

oikee

The damage has been a ongoing process over many many years by negative reports against players and the game. Starting right back when they went after Brett Seymour,. ? Remember that.
Our own so-called supporters of the code have not helped as well. Rabs and his team of goons are not much help.
There support for the biff and shoulder charge, along with bagging of the refs and Queensland has had a negative outcome.
Kent and Buzz and Wilson have attacked league at every angle, diehards have been worn down to a frizzled basketcase with their(reporters) negative outlook on the code.

All this has added to a game that now is trying to reverse that look.
To be honest, they need to get rid of all the clinger onners, all the parasites that, lets be honest, would not get a job outside league, because who would want these negative nellies reporting on their code. ??
Nobody.
The game needs a cleanout, the reffing situtaion fixed, bring in the captains challenge, and someone who knows how it works, because noddy Gasnier and a panel of so-called league experts have no idea how this system works.
And that is another of the games problems, ex-players who think they have a voice. They make little to no sense, and turn a dud ruling into a even bigger dud ruling.

Too many think they know the game, know how to fix the game, yet have not really got a clue.
Everyone then just gets more frustrated because there is no solving of the real issues.

Rabs should be put out to pasture so the game can change it's angle. It is time to change, or die.
There simply is no in-between anymore, not with other codes all thriving.

betcats

I thought Robbie was embarrasing last night, he is such a sook sometimes. The reporter hardly bombarded Darius with questions, she asked one question and the idiot flipped out.

Kent is a shit merkin as well when he starts ranting i just wanna punch him but he was right last night imo.

Danish

Sad thing is he's not wrong in anything he said. Players are just too dumb to understand the big picture.

Kent's argument boils down to 2 arguments.

1) The media aren't doing anything wrong, its all the players fault

2) If called out on point 1, fall back to declaring that the media is not going to change, so players have to. Again, all players fault

He is a cretin, and spends all time he gets on camera laying the boot into somebody. The players last night both said that its ridiculous that we are still talking about it a week later, which is true. Kent tried to claim that the media don't focus on negative stories... yet for some reason Darius Boyd telling a journo to piss off has garnered as much media space as the entire Rise For Alex campaign.

Starkers

can someone explain to me paul kent's claim of how the media pay for the game?

don't they just facilitate the exchange between players and fans via the NRL and take a cut on top of it all via advertisers? it's as though he thinks ch9, fox/news pay up for the rights in advance, then distribute it at their own cost to people who are interested.

and so therefore any reported can just turn up at any stage and start asking questions.

he's just f**ked off that traditional media is being slaughtered and he has to work three jobs to get paid the same as he used to back in the glory days. what a merkin.

TheRam

A lot of you blokes need to stop killing the messenger and acknowledge that many of the players ARE boofheads and arseholes who live in their own little worlds.

Some even get off on it and encourage it amoungst themselves as in the Ben Barba interviews during his Daily M speeches. Cringe, cringe, cringe...

The game died a little that night, but some players thought it was a hoot. :crazy:

Starkers

look, last night kent went on about how the NRL did a survey on how many negative articles were published about the game a few years back and the result was that 97% were positive. so in effect, we focus on the 3% that are negative because they make news etc.

yeah sure, some players are boofheads and do the wrong thing. probably about 3% of them in fact. 3% of 400 players in the NRL is 12, so yeah, about a dozen idiots. and you're focusing on them as well. and so is kent.

most players do the right thing, give the interviews, offer themselves to the media when asked, respond to people on twitter or facebook and whatever else. and then there are some idiots as well.

the point is and was, that it's been 6 days since the darius interview and that merkin is still going on about it, writing his articles to pump up his tv numbers. f**k him off.

Kent's argument boils down to 2 arguments.

1) The media aren't doing anything wrong, its all the players fault

2) If called out on point 1, fall back to declaring that the media is not going to change, so players have to. Again, all players fault

He is a cretin, and spends all time he gets on camera laying the boot into somebody. The players last night both said that its ridiculous that we are still talking about it a week later, which is true. Kent tried to claim that the media don't focus on negative stories... yet for some reason Darius Boyd telling a journo to piss off has garnered as much media space as the entire Rise For Alex campaign.

But that is kent's point. The vast majority of RL stories are positive but the negative ones are the ones that influence the publics opinion the most. Don't fuel the fire with dumb ass behaviour and the media will have nothing to feed on. There would have been no boyd story, no week long discussion, no taking away from the rise for Alex story IF Boyd had been polite and not been a nob.

TheRam

look, last night kent went on about how the NRL did a survey on how many negative articles were published about the game a few years back and the result was that 97% were positive. so in effect, we focus on the 3% that are negative because they make news etc.

yeah sure, some players are boofheads and do the wrong thing. probably about 3% of them in fact. 3% of 400 players in the NRL is 12, so yeah, about a dozen idiots. and you're focusing on them as well. and so is kent.

most players do the right thing, give the interviews, offer themselves to the media when asked, respond to people on twitter or facebook and whatever else. and then there are some idiots as well.

the point is and was, that it's been 6 days since the darius interview and that merkin is still going on about it, writing his articles to pump up his tv numbers. f**k him off.

You still don't get it.

What Darius and players like him do is irrelevant to fans like us. We are rusted on to RL, but what they do or don't do DOES reflect on the game either positively or negatively to all the rest of the people who are yet to be convinced that RL is a great sport to be associated with and follow or let your kid play.

Think of it this way, you are trying to pull a babe in a bar. So you are done up in your coolest clothes, hottest shoes, you have done your hair up in the latest and greatest, you have even brushed your teeth and they are so totally sparkling tonight. Then as you suavely lean over to say "G'day", you burp in her face.

But she is a trooper and after much apologizing by you, she understands that shit happens, so she decides to forgive you and lets you buy her a lemon shandy, but then as you pass it to her, guess what? You do it again, burp in her face, again and again and again and again and again and again and again and again and...

gUt

What people don't seem to get is the media prefers when Darius the tongue-tied does what he does. It's much better copy for them to follow a drunk bogan or a semi-literate mute around than to interview someone who can speak positively for the game. They then get to run yet another 'code in crisis' story AND claim that they're - the media - is being hard done by.

The media would prefer the league was full of Carneys because it gives them column inches and it bolsters the narrative they've created that RL is a game played and appreciated by degenerates. They want freaks front and centre so they can continue to paint us as a freak show. That's why they camp outside the Bulldogs Mad Monday camp, uninvited (in fact asked to leave), because they know that eventually a drunken football player is going to do something they can feign outrage over and propagate the fake outrage to their readership or viewers.

So Darius could have given them less ammo but don't for a minute think that people like Kent are actually offended by Darius's unwillingness to give a door-stop. The likes of Kent play their violins - "oh won't the players ever understaaand" but inside they are loving it because it gives them the content they actually want.

gUt

ps the 97% thing, what shit is this. This has to include match previews and reviews. If it comes to featured columnists giving opinions about the game, the players and its culture I think the figures can safely be reversed.

Penrose Warrior

What people don't seem to get is the media prefers when Darius the tongue-tied does what he does. It's much better copy for them to follow a drunk bogan or a semi-literate mute around than to interview someone who can speak positively for the game. They then get to run yet another 'code in crisis' story AND claim that they're - the media - is being hard done by.

The media would prefer the league was full of Carneys because it gives them column inches and it bolsters the narrative they've created that RL is a game played and appreciated by degenerates. They want freaks front and centre so they can continue to paint us as a freak show. That's why they camp outside the Bulldogs Mad Monday camp, uninvited (in fact asked to leave), because they know that eventually a drunken football player is going to do something they can feign outrage over and propagate the fake outrage to their readership or viewers.

So Darius could have given them less ammo but don't for a minute think that people like Kent are actually offended by Darius's unwillingness to give a door-stop. The likes of Kent play their violins - "oh won't the players ever understaaand" but inside they are loving it because it gives them the content they actually want.

B.I.N.G.O

What I would say is that it is less so the rugby league journalists who mix in this sort of filth - it tends to be the media at large. League journos have to create and sustain relationships week to week, while non league/sport media can create all the drama and havoc they wish without any particular retribution.

ps the 97% thing, what shit is this. This has to include match previews and reviews. If it comes to featured columnists giving opinions about the game, the players and its culture I think the figures can safely be reversed.

Kent just makes that shit up

the DT would be 97% negative

I thought Robbie was embarrasing last night, he is such a sook sometimes. The reporter hardly bombarded Darius with questions, she asked one question and the idiot flipped out.

Kent is a shit merkin as well when he starts ranting i just wanna punch him but he was right last night imo.

I didnt think the woman was rude, I think its the frustration of the players not liking reporters sticking their mic and asking unexpected questions. But she's a reporter, thats her job.

However, Id like to know what figures Kent is referring to, either the whole media which includes TV, newspapers, internet or just papers.

Starkers

You still don't get it.

What Darius and players like him do is irrelevant to fans like us. We are rusted on to RL, but what they do or don't do DOES reflect on the game either positively or negatively to all the rest of the people who are yet to be convinced that RL is a great sport to be associated with and follow or let your kid play.

i reckon it's a bit like the mundine theory. now that darius has made a goose of himself, i think the casual observer might be more inclined to watch a game involving him just to see if he gets his head knocked off.

oikee

The NRL did a survey. Sounds like someone on these blogs. I did a survey, ring a bell. ?

Look, the point is, and Kent makes this pretty clear. Reporters are looking for that bad story, because it sells papers.
Then they hammer the players , the game, make fun of both, and then call the fans bogans and rednecks.
Yet they want us to respect what they do. ?
No, dont fall for this crap. Boyd and Teo are 100% on the money to have a go at these reporters.

If that kept happening with just 3% of our players, then the NRL, the sponsors, the broadcasters would all have to come together and get this mess sorted out, because it is a mess in rugby league. We are the only code that gets hammered by other codes, other reporters from other codes, rugby league is like the unofficial whipping boys of sports.

Until the media change that perception of our code, Paul Kent will always be the enemy, because as he said, his job relies on 3%. All their jobs rely on those 3%.
Anyone ever read the buzz unless he is putting league down. ? no. Wilson? does she even talk about league unless she is sinking the boot into our code.

juro

But that is kent's point. The vast majority of RL stories are positive but the negative ones are the ones that influence the publics opinion the most. Don't fuel the fire with dumb ass behaviour and the media will have nothing to feed on. There would have been no boyd story, no week long discussion, no taking away from the rise for Alex story IF Boyd had been polite and not been a nob.
Why is it that the negative stories influence public opinion? Could it be that they are the ones always splashed over the front and back pages of the Telegraph?

Kent just makes that shit up

the DT would be 97% negative

reality is the bad news makes more headlines but the majority of stories are neutral The puff pieces, the gossip hags etc are different but they feast off the negativity of the public and regardless if it is sport, politics, crime or community they will always seek out the bad news to talk sht about.

Quick look at the Dt sports headlines page shows that they are generally negative about most things. They have a negative story as headline on:
Golf Open
C'Wealth games
NRL
Cricket

Positive stories on
soccer
F1

rest are pretty neutral

NRL suffers more than most due to the sht nature of Sydney media, the lack of influence as "sydneys game" RL has and the weak way the NRL has in the past dealt with media relations. Throw in thicko players and code that can generate more bad headlines than Rolf Harris and we have a recipe for what we have got.

betcats

I didnt think the woman was rude, I think its the frustration of the players not liking reporters sticking their mic and asking unexpected questions. But she's a reporter, thats her job.

However, Id like to know what figures Kent is referring to, either the whole media which includes TV, newspapers, internet or just papers.

These poor players that have to answer questions from the media! Tell em to get a regular job if they dont like it.

Watching Darius going on about an 'interrogation" after one simple question just had me dumbfounded, at the very least if he doesnt want to answer questions just keep your mouth shut get in the car and drive away. Dont give them ammo to shit on the game some more.

Why is it that the negative stories influence public opinion? Could it be that they are the ones always splashed over the front and back pages of the Telegraph?

No its just human psychology. Its been shown that negative stories influence people emotionally stronger than positive stories. They tend to be more memorable and get people talking more as people have stronger opinions about them. You can read about Thurston helping out a disabled kid at a school and you'll have forgotten it in a week, seeing Carney pssing into his mouth will stick with you forever!

Think about how much political parties focus on the negative of the opposition olicies rather than the positive of their own. They do it for good reason, its waht sticks in peoples minds. Its why we can not afford to add fuel to the fire given we get screwed by the media at every opportunity.