Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Penrith from everyone’s second favourite club in 2003 to absolute hated club in 2021:

Chippy73

There is no proof of any what so ever that Penrith are a hated team. The Roar is bell ending his mates at News Corp. It's been the norm from the start of this week on any Fox programming, to any print, that they are in their usual scumbag mode to put off neutral fans in regards to how fans perceive the Panthers.

I have to agree with this, on here (at the moment) Penrith are up there with most hated (along with Souths probably), but out in the real world amongst the more casual fan....nah, .....in fact it's probably still Manly cos heaps of Gen Xers and Boomers still just hate Manly reflexively without really thinking about it.

RedVDave

I never really liked the storm however my respect for them over the last 2 years has gone through the roof and I’ve somehow found myself liking them.
They are more likeable without Cam Smith and Billy Slater and the addition of Ryan Papenhuyzen and Brandon Smith I'll be going for them the next 2 weeks. But I still hate them it's just the lesser of evils at this point lol.

If they weren’t hovering around the top of the table there wouldn’t be this hatred

It’s the same for many teams. Roosters. Storm, Broncos (been a while now I know).

I’ve got truckloads of respect for the Roosters, Panthers, Storm and Rabbitohs. Each of those clubs were once completely on the rack for various reasons - the Bunnies were even killed off…

But they’ve all come back to be the genuine powerhouses of the comp, and sustainably so.

Ive found myself liking the Storm over the last few years. What they’ve done on the field, and off it, is incredible IMO. It’s a simpleton argument that “they are cap cheats”. That was over ten years ago… they got the biggest punishment of any club in history… but they’ve come back to where they are now. I don’t know if any other club could do that.

I’ve also found myself liking the Roosters. I used to despise them and Melbourne but now I’ve come around.

For whatever reason, I haven’t warmed to the Panthers at all in the last few seasons. But maybe in time I might come around like I have with the others I used to despise.

Gus probably plays his part too. I love what he did for getting us on the right track, but media Gus is a punish.
Without him what do you think may have happened at the Panthers?

Personally I like him but don’t agree with a number of things he’s said - eg when the WC was cancelled and he suggested the NRL should run the ESL..

But I get a lot of people don’t like him. I’d have loved him to come to the Dragons and sort out house out like he did for Penrith…

Good luck to you for a win tonight. Forum debates aside, I’m always happy for the fans of the winners even when my team is toilet.

And lol at "everyone's 2nd favourite team" at any point in history. That is the type of bullshit delusions of granduer pride of the league rubbish that souths fans used to have.

I personally was going for the Roosters in 2003, defs not Penrith.

In fairness it was only cos I was rooting a Roosters fan at the time. She was out of my pleb league too, but I think made the right call in the end. Imagine sleeping with someone who likes Trent Robinson?

Maximus

Going to be sad watching people cheer on the club that started the cannonball, grapples, chicken wings and countless other dirty tactics because getting time called off is worse than deliberate attempts to injure people.

jim_57

Storm are the most entertaining team to watch easily and they’ve been up there for a while. The “but but wrestle” argument is just a cliche now, up there with “huge warriors forwards”.

Oh and does anyone really about about local juniors anymore?

JamesRustle

I must admit, this has surprised me as well:

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/www...ecome-the-new-team-nrl-fans-love-to-hate/amp/

Albeit, tomorrow arvo, if you’d rather get on the bandwagon of a team with zero local juniors and a track record of cheating via salary cap rorts as opposed to a club virtually founded on the best local junior development in the NRL all because: “Ivan Cleary, Wests Tigers… something… something” and “over-enthusiastic, smug post-try celebrations”, be my guest.
It's more the knob end Panther fans and their stench of wanting to be universally loved and appreciated by everyone for some reason.

I don't mind the Panthers and their young talent, especially Luai, Burton, To'o and Yeo. Gus, Ivan and emo fans really detract for me.

Storm have been a scummy club, but I enjoy the way the play and now Smith has departed, I can enjoy them and the players they have bought through so much more.

For me, with no skin in this game, I just want to enjoy the uproar when a perceived injustice from the refs costs one of these teams a spot in the GF.

JamesRustle

Talk about politicising a debate!

I despise the gaming industry as much as you do, but because I’ve grown up in the area from the mid-1980’s to adulthood, do you honestly believe that I should support a club like the Storm who has been proven to have cheated for success compared to a club who has achieved premiership success through home-grown talent, all because of pokies?
Ha ha... this, from you. FMD.

Go Sutton and Klein.

gerg

And lol at "everyone's 2nd favourite team" at any point in history. That is the type of bullshit delusions of granduer pride of the league rubbish that souths fans used to have.

Yeah it's bullshit. I love my team and dislike the other 15. Of course there is a ranking of those 15 but barracking for a 'second team' is not how rugby league tribalism works.

This Year?

Won the comp without playing a single game in front of a home crowd last year, while you choked when it mattered.
That’s a track record you can chew on for a bit.

This post as a gif ^^
b9a4a51fb1ab68dd09eec3b93202e02c.gif

🤣😂😅

Pantherjim.

The fact that everyone apart from Penrith and souths fans are going for Melbourne today is all you need to know about the state of the Penrith club at the moment.

Act like hall of famers but have won f**k all.

Even the roosters got most of the neutral support in 2018 (GF) and 2019 (PF).

If Penrith do win today I would.. gulp.. have to support souths next week. They are more likeable than this current Penrith side.

Coming from a Roosters supporter I wouldn’t expect anything else…

10$ Ferret

the hates are all different.
The hate for Manly and Roosters is historical jealousy and how they took players from other clubs.
The hate for souths is more a lack of respect and an acknowledgement that no matter how far they go in the comp they are pathetic. its about their fans, their ignorance, their unfounded belief their team is bigger than the game itself. Also that they have had some of the dirtiest players in the game.
The hate for Brisbane is based on their arrogance during the 90s esp. The favours given by the NRL and referees during those successful times and the way QLDRL acts like a spoilt little child.

for me the dislike for Penrith stems from the 90s when they were just a dirty dislikeable team. Now days its based on what a bunch of spoilt little whinging brats the players are. Also they say the coach sets the standard and this is the case here. Cleary is a coach without honour, a whinger and a dick.

Melbourne well you could say its because of the success, But its success at what cost. Cheating arrogance and a destruction of the game of RL. The win at all costs tactics implemented by "super coach" Bellamy involve hurting oppositions in nasty little ways appear to have been actually sanctioned by the NRL.. I equate it with grunting in women's tennis. It should have been stopped early but can't be now. Munster is also a special sort of dickhead so much so he basically admits it. I think an affiliation with QLD helps make then unlikeable,

:)

This Year?

In 2003 the Panthers had a likeable team, except for fake tough guy Mark Geyer.

In 2021 the Panthers have a smug wanker coach who thinks everyone lives in his world, a bloke who is a smug protected species, a bloke that cheated on his wife and could have potentially ruined SOO, a bloke that filmed homemade porn, a bloke that tested positive to cocaine, a bloke that conducts himself unsportsmanlike and a trainer who has been caught cheating twice.
What's not to like about them?

dogslife

I’ve been a Penrith Supporter since childhood. (The mid 80’s) and have been posting on here since it’s conception (early millennium - current)

Again, your argument about “10,000 new accounts on LU, likely operated by the same 4 4 nuffies, to drum up chatter about them.” Again?
Have you been drinking?

blaza88z

If I wasn't a regular on this forum I'd probably be well and truly on the Penrith bandwagon, just the carry on from a select few on here makes it easy to want to see them get beat (not all of them on here are like that and those people know who they are), it's the carry on from blokes like The Flog where everything has to be about PENRITH and if it's not then something is wrong in society.

Anytime PENRITH were in a tough game against a much lesser side during the regular season it was due to the refs, injuries, origin.. anything but themselves, of course

Anytime PENRITH players carried on like a pack of thugs, it wasn't because of them, it was the media.. the unfair treatment, the adversity, the NRL against the PENRITH, having to play in QLD and in turn losing their home game advantage, co-vid was something created to deny PENRITH. Origin? is this the first time it's been played half way through the year? you'd certainly think so listening to PENRITH fans carry on about having to cope with it

PENRITH blatantly abusing the rules to have the game stopped, they were fined and the trainer was suspended but all PENRITH fans wanted to do was talk about how Fergo laid down for a penalty, how Blake had the game stopped. Last night the Manly player looked like James Roberts at 3am after a good session at King's Cross.. the game wasn't stopped, guess why? PENRITH

A bit of a rant there but a lot of is truth too, that's how PENRITH fans on here like to carry on and that's why most kents on here hope they get smashed today. For what it's worth I think it will be much closer than people think, I hate both sides. Whoever wins, I will be hoping they lose next week.