Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Opinion Penrith

Pretty Penny

Its interesting isnt it. You never know what is going on in your own streets. I dont even live in the rough side of town. I live in a relatively posh area but that doesn't matter. Plenty of people everywhere do seriously questionable stuff and I am talking about on both sides of the law.

I wondered why my neighbour who never seemed to work, lived on the posh side of town with 4 or 5 new cars in his drive way. Now I know, it was meth amphetamines.

But that's no excuse for 4 or 5 coppers beating the shit out of my neighbour to the point where his body looked like red bleeding pulp.

The whole lockdown is questionable. If you have 16 or 17 year old kids, they are getting crucified in the name of Coronavirus and the implications, we wont know about for 20 years.

It is the greatest social experiment of our life time by politicians who are certainly not the best qualified to make decisions about mental health etc.

And the media is complaisant in it all.

We live in a sad world now. Hence we go back to attending our rose bushes because it is the only thing that can keep our rage away and keep us centred.

All of us are as mad as hell and as angry as possible about the current state of the world.

As far as CHN is concerned for CAnberra. I understand he was trying to put the SMACKDOWN on Hughes but his technique was horrid. What the hell do these NRL players get taught at training?? the whole issue is the sheer terrible tackling technique way too many NRL players have. If CHN goes a foot lower in that tackle itā€™s a bell ringer and heā€™s a hero and also has a good chance of dislodging the ball. But no head injury.

No ingame concussion where Hughes doesn't even remember playing the game. No future dementia for Hughes. No mothers telling their husbands that their son little Johnny can't play Rugby League because it is too violent. You get it.

Watch the choreography in the modern NRL tackle. Itā€™s practiced on repeat so its automatic.
Practice tackling a foot lower and everything is all right. But instead its a nightmare. Its a disgusting representation of everything that is bad about our game. Especially on a ball player like Hughes.

Sad, sad, sad.

Pretty Penny

Penrith must do everything in our power to keep Viliame Kikau . He is essential to our team. We are already losing Matt Burton and Kurt Capewell next year and if we lose Viliame Kikau , well it will break my heart. This season is stating to look for my Penrith Panthers like Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls last dance.

This is the Penrith Panthers last dance for sure if Viliame Kikau goes.

From November 1st; Villiame Kikau is free to negotiate with rival clubs as the Dragons seem set to breathe some real fire, with the Red V reportedly set to offer the Fijian International a multi-million dollar deal, according to the Australianā€™s Brent Read.

Dragons coach Anthony Griffin and Viliame Kikau do have a storied past together, as it was Griffin who gave Kikau his first-grade debut in 2017 while he was at the Panthers, and the 26-year-old may want to return the favour to the man who believed in him by joining his current side.

Statistically, Kikau is performing about as well as he has done for the majority of his career scoring eight tries, averaging 118 running metres per game and has made 397 tackles for an efficiency rate of 90.4%.

If this deal does happens, my Penrith Panthers will be short on troops that can play in the back row by 2023 as both Kikau and Kurt Capewell will have left at this point, with the latter already signed on at the Broncos from 2022 onwards.

This would leave New South Wales Origin representative Liam Martin and Scott Sorenson to fill the void, with young outside back Izack Tago the only real option that the Penrith Panthers has for a bench second-rower

Pretty Penny

The Panthers reportedly face losing damaging forward Viliame Kikau amid Penrirthā€™s salary cap squeeze.

The 26-year-old is off-contract at the end of 2022, which means clubs are free to negotiate with him from November 1.

The Daily Telegraphā€™s David Riccio believe the Panthers will not be in a position to match the multi-million deals rivals will offer him.

ā€œViliame Kikau, heā€™ll be a by-product of Penrithā€™s success over the last two years,ā€ Riccio said on SEN 1170 Breakfast.

ā€œIā€™m hearing the Cowboys will come very, very hard for Kikau, itā€™s where heā€™s originally from,ā€ Riccio said.

ā€œHe was prised out of Townsville and brought to Penrith. Iā€™m hearing theyā€™ll make a significant play for him.

ā€œThereā€™s no coincidence with the teams that made a big play for Dale Finucane in the Cowboys, Titans and Dragons, theyā€™ll all be in for play for Viliame Kikau.ā€

ā€œWhat I mean by that is, heā€™ll be departing the club Iā€™m pretty confident of that.

ā€œI canā€™t see how Kikau stays, and I think the Penrith Panthers are coming to terms that it will happe

Pretty Penny

Its all about the "Merch" now; my man Mr Westy

Its all about the "Merch"

Thats how the new "hip" kids rock and roll these days

See "Merch"; Buy "Merch"

Impulse buy and I want, I want, I want,,,

Unlike our day when we had ONE old hoodie that was 15 years old and had a hundred chips and gravy stains washed through it

The young ones want new "Merch" every other week and they are hip to being on their phone and impulse buying and getting Amazon to deliver

Impulse buying and algorithms on social media that put the thought in the church of the young poisoned minds before they even know it

That is the modern world now Westy.

And it's even hit our old school beloved Penny Panthers.

Pretty Penny

Nathan is back tonight. This is the greatest day in Rugby League history. To see the people's champion rise from the Ashes like the fiery Phoenix is awe inspiring. It brings tears to a glass eye. After all the coronavirus suffering for the people. Finally WE have HOPE!!

blaza88z

Will Penrith look back in a few years thinking they kept the wrong half?

Burton for mine has it all over Luai in multiple facets of the game, Luai was a passenger until Cleary came back into the side where as Burton has been pretty good even without Cleary.

I don't expect any Penrith fan to concede Burton is the better half but I do think deep down there are Penrith fans wondering if they let the wrong one go

mxlegend99

Burton for mine has it all over Luai in multiple facets of the game, Luai was a passenger until Cleary came back into the side where as Burton has been pretty good even without Cleary.

I don't expect any Penrith fan to concede Burton is the better half but I do think deep down there are Penrith fans wondering if they let the wrong one go
We kept the wrong centre. Burtons value to us is as a centre and backup half. Luai and Cleary as a combination are perfect for each other.

Crichton should have been let go and Burton offered his $600k contract. Burton would prefer to play half but if he's offered more to stay at centre and fill in at half as needed I think he would have stayed.

soc123_au

It's too hard to call right now if you had to choose one of Luai or Burton to partner Cleary. Either choice is a good call really.

On the other hand I think we should have tried to lock Burton up before even making Staines an offer, and prioritised him over Crichton. They pretty much offered him a starting centre spot, but I think the fullback carrot should have been dangled. I like Edwards, he is all effort, but the thought of Cleary and Luai in the halves with Burton at the back chiming in when he sees fit, with the added threat of an extra kicker makes me harder than the Pope at a Wiggles concert. The defensive responsibilities that come as a fullback might have taken a bit of time to sort, but he is an intelligent player, it would have been very doable.

If he extends with the Dogs before November next year he is mad imo. Once he can field offers again they will be very lucrative I'd think.

The Realist

Penrith made a huge mistake in underestimating his potential. He really should have played more last year. If we had given him game time in the centres and had him playing in the GF....what could have been.

Nevertheless I was part of the Burton at Fullback brigade. It would have been the final piece of the puzzle. Edwards is a servicable fullback but he is incapable of leading a team or making big plays. He is a simple cog. Burton would make what is a very competent spine - outright deadly.

The real big mistake the Panthers made was overrating Stephen Crichton - who is a talent for sure - but paying 700K for a centre and not offering Burton a deal over 450K seems pretty crazy though I say this with the benefit of hindsight.

blaza88z

Penrith made a huge mistake in underestimating his potential. He really should have played more last year. If we had given him game time in the centres and had him playing in the GF....what could have been.

Nevertheless I was part of the Burton at Fullback brigade. It would have been the final piece of the puzzle. Edwards is a servicable fullback but he is incapable of leading a team or making big plays. He is a simple cog. Burton would make what is a very competent spine - outright deadly.

The real big mistake the Panthers made was overrating Stephen Crichton - who is a talent for sure - but paying 700K for a centre and not offering Burton a deal over 450K seems pretty crazy though I say this with the benefit of hindsight.

700k?

Kotoni Staggs is going to be on that and he's been around a while, a proven gun centre, Crichton for me looks like a real athlete and I have seen him do some great things but he has come at the expense of Burton

Pretty Penny

Right NOW the Penny Panthers are blessed with more talent than any team in the history of the NRL once players come back from injury and Pengai Jnr plays.

The Melbourne Storm are looking fair dinkum rank at the moment. Yes they will win 19 straight but only because there are some terrible teams in the NRL. They beat us without half our first side and Manly could easily beat Melbourne in the finals

Burton is like Superman. He has a step on both sides which is very rare in footy. Its a shame he goes next year but that is the salary cap.

For now, all it is about for the Penrith Panthers is winning this year.

Pretty Penny

Storm star Cameron Munster says a loss to end his teamā€™s winning streak wouldnā€™t be a bad thing​

Munster said a loss would not be the worst thing to happen to his team.

ā€œLook, it would probably be nice to lose one before the finals come just to get a bit of a taste and a bit more motivation I reckon,ā€ Munster said.

Penrith won 17 in a row before losing last yearā€™s decider to Melbourne, but Munster said if the Storm kept winning they could still go through unbeaten for the rest of the year and win the title.

ā€œIf we get to the grand finalā€¦I canā€™t see why we canā€™t just win it without losing a game. There is a lot of speculation and hoodoos that comes with not losing a game, but that is just a mindset and attitude,ā€ he said.

ā€œIf you start thinking about that, that is when you start not playing your best footy.ā€

Asked, for the sake of clarity, whether he meant the Storm needed a loss before the finals, or no loss, Munster said ā€œa lossā€.

Pretty Penny

A Penrith Panthers win is for the good for the game of NRL and a huge boost for the people of Western Sydney who are suffering Covid lockdown fatigue. WE are sauffering. Especially since the Parramatta Eels are out of the 2021 competition. Souffs and Manly are the toffs of the competition so the people of Sydney need a team to get behind Penrith as the battlers.

Melbourne is Melbourne, a shit city and a grub of a Club so no one wants them to win.

The whole Rugby League community at least the real supporters are behind the Panthers. Heavy lies the crown.