Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Peter V'landys - New NRL/ARLC Chairman

typicalfan

"He didn't know the product" isn't an answer, and is hardly relevant.

Nothing you've said provides evidence to support your claim that his tenure was terrible for the game.
I would contend it is very relevant. How can you be a good Chairman if you don't know. He proved it every time he spoke.

Doesn't mean the new guy will be a success, I don't care about his political pesuasion. It doesn't matter because the usual suspects will come after him regardless.

In a post about what’s good about rugby league Perth red still had to tear the game apart

I choose not to be an ostrich. It’s funny how many people comment on me with no comment on the actual article or points I’ve made lol, it’s very flattering.

take a look at them pre pokie losses and tell me there isn’t reason to be concerned given the clubs are into their second year of a massive grant increase. The $3million above cap grant was supposed to make clubs sustainable. Some of those losses will be anticipated and be covered by LC’s and if it’s for infrastructure projects the; fair enough but if it’s operating losses then geez some clubs are going to be strife if pokies or owners chipping in diminish.

in summary
we had 5 clubs making a healthy surplus
3 clubs with a small surplus
8 clubs running at massive losses

Yet you mentioned a figure for the Sharks of $5m on prior posts.I'm sure they'll hang in there, just for your "pleasure".

that was for the year before lol. This is the latest loss. But you’re going to bet the wealthiest clubs in the league apparently, so I guess it’s just a matter of time?

taipan

that was for the year before lol. This is the latest loss. But you’re going to bet the wealthiest clubs in the league apparently, so I guess it’s just a matter of time?

Well melad the loss this year has been taken into account when they received the development monies LOL.A loss this year is hardly a scoop.
"Beat the wealthiest clubs." A slight exaggeration which is your form.
I'm repeating the comments by Bruno Cullen that the club has the potential to be in the top 5 financially.

For a start the old run down licensed league club ,was hardly a star performer to support the football club.The development entails complete rebuild of the old club shell, surrounded by 880 units and a retail complex.
How's your club's development and Licensed club going?

I would contend it is very relevant. How can you be a good Chairman if you don't know. He proved it every time he spoke.

Doesn't mean the new guy will be a success, I don't care about his political pesuasion. It doesn't matter because the usual suspects will come after him regardless.

Only thing I could see he achieved strategically was getting a review of expansion underway. The strat plan was very underwhelming and it’s hard to say the spending of the first two years of the massive tv deal has driven the game to any new heights.

taipan

Spruiking redneck Lib Nat politics in the main forum.

GTFO.

Perhaps if you opened your own political eyes, you may see I responded to the initial comment about "right wing f**ktards @11.40am.Have a shot at the poster who brought that up.You won't.
I would have had zero interest in commentating thus.In fact I was more interested in responding to PR with his predictable negativity.

Canard

Perhaps if you opened your own political eyes, you may see I responded to the initial comment about "right wing f**ktards @11.40am.Have a shot at the poster who brought that up.You won't.
I would have had zero interest in commentating thus.In fact I was more interested in responding to PR with his predictable negativity.

I've had that League hating turd on ignore for a while now.

Regardless, it's boring crap for this forum.

Interesting you pretend you aren't one of the "usual suspects" despite going after Beattie so far based solely on gotcha moments about team names. Same way Dave Smith got crucified.

Still waiting for why he was terrible. So far you're proving very little.
I choose not to be an ostrich. It’s funny how many people comment on me with no comment on the actual article or points I’ve made lol, it’s very flattering.

take a look at them pre pokie losses and tell me there isn’t reason to be concerned given the clubs are into their second year of a massive grant increase. The $3million above cap grant was supposed to make clubs sustainable. Some of those losses will be anticipated and be covered by LC’s and if it’s for infrastructure projects the; fair enough but if it’s operating losses then geez some clubs are going to be strife if pokies or owners chipping in diminish.

in summary
we had 5 clubs making a healthy surplus
3 clubs with a small surplus
8 clubs running at massive losses
The game could have a $900 billion surplus, every club in the black, expansion to every corner, fully fledged NRLW and expansion to Perth, Adelaide - and you'd still find a way to shit on it lol

siv

Wonder how the coffee was during the coffee meeting between Vladys, Greenburg and Politis

taipan

I've had that League hating turd on ignore for a while now.

Regardless, it's boring crap for this forum.

I agree . and have zero intention of responding in future ,when it is brought up on these threads.

Last edited by a moderator:

typicalfan

Interesting you pretend you aren't one of the "usual suspects" despite going after Beattie so far based solely on gotcha moments about team names. Same way Dave Smith got crucified.

Still waiting for why he was terrible. So far you're proving very little.
I didn't mention any gotcha moments, you did. Just like you mentioned Paul Kent and now mentioning Dave Smith.

Have I crucified Dave Smith?

Well melad the loss this year has been taken into account when they received the development monies LOL.A loss this year is hardly a scoop.
"Beat the wealthiest clubs." A slight exaggeration which is your form.
I'm repeating the comments by Bruno Cullen that the club has the potential to be in the top 5 financially.

For a start the old run down licensed league club ,was hardly a star performer to support the football club.The development entails complete rebuild of the old club shell, surrounded by 880 units and a retail complex.
How's your club's development and Licensed club going?

you keep telling yourself that mate. Im sure you’ll turn around these multi million $ losses soon.

taipan

you keep telling yourself that mate. Im sure you’ll turn around these multi million $ losses soon.

No need ,you keep jabbing pins into your Shark's voodoo doll ,I'm sure it'll work out the way you want.

In the meantime suggest you concentrate,on ensuring you potential mob is long term not a fly by night.A few annual losses there may not go down well with admin.

No need ,you keep jabbing pins into your Shark's voodoo doll ,I'm sure it'll work out the way you want.

In the meantime suggest you concentrate,on ensuring you potential mob is long term not a fly by night.A few annual losses there may not go down well with admin.

I eagerly await the day that bottom line is in the black not the red. I’ll crack open a beer in celebration for you.