Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Peter V'landys - New NRL/ARLC Chairman

Look at the last time we expanded. GC were good for a few seasons then lacked the development pathways needed to be a success to the point where they are now a basket case in RL heartland. I’d rather wait and make sure all is in place.

Brisbane too also but they have a strong 2nd tier comp atleast so have less risk

Gold coast has a strong Jnr region and second tier, that's not where the problem for a new club will be. Sponsors, fans and good stadium deal ie being financially successful to be able to invest in the NRL business of the club is where any new club, wherever it may be, has to have its priorities.

More pertinent to should we expand has to be does the NRL have the money to invest in expansion, does it generate more revenue and more interest in the sport, are the expansion areas ripe and ready. Those are the questions that need answering, alongside the most important factor of course which is does the NRL have a vision for expansion. I'd suggest Beattie did and V'landys doesn't (I see Brisbane2 as consolidation not expansion per se).

franklin2323

Gold coast has a strong Jnr region and second tier, that's not where the problem for a new club will be. Sponsors, fans and good stadium deal ie being financially successful to be able to invest in the NRL business of the club is where any new club, wherever it may be, has to have its priorities.

More pertinent to should we expand has to be does the NRL have the money to invest in expansion, does it generate more revenue and more interest in the sport, are the expansion areas ripe and ready. Those are the questions that need answering, alongside the most important factor of course which is does the NRL have a vision for expansion. I'd suggest Beattie did and V'landys doesn't (I see Brisbane2 as consolidation not expansion per se).

The chairman will vote for what the board wants. So I don’t take much notice of what either say.

look at the performance of the Reds SG Ball team. Plenty of work to do under NRL level to expand. Hopefully that work is being done

Dragonwest

The chairman will vote for what the board wants. So I don’t take much notice of what either say.

look at the performance of the Reds SG Ball team. Plenty of work to do under NRL level to expand. Hopefully that work is being done

Franklin you cannot take the results from Pirates on face value. Each year leading into SG Ball Pirates lose up to a dozen of our better players to:
- other SG Ball Systems where kids have moved from Perth from 15-17 to chase opportunities;
- Rugby League specialist schools in QLD; &
- Western Force who offer them contracts and a better pathway at the age of 16.

As soon NRL WA can offer a complete program from Harold's to a second Tier NSW Cup/ QLD Cup team all those problems will go away and we'll show competitive results. Unfortunately those systems cannot be paid for without major sponsorship and an NRL team. The introduction of those platforms will also attract higher quality coaching to Perth.

franklin2323

Franklin you cannot take the results from Pirates on face value. Each year leading into SG Ball Pirates lose up to a dozen of our better players to:
- other SG Ball Systems where kids have moved from Perth from 15-17 to chase opportunities;
- Rugby League specialist schools in QLD; &
- Western Force who offer them contracts and a better pathway at the age of 16.

As soon NRL WA can offer a complete program from Harold's to a second Tier NSW Cup/ QLD Cup team all those problems will go away and we'll show competitive results. Unfortunately those system cannot be paid for without major sponsorship and an NRL team. The introduction of those platforms will also attract higher quality coaching to Perth.

I get it isn’t the finished product but the fact still remains those not in the top 17 still need somewhere to go and play footy. Hopefully those plans are underway and using the Fiji model as a guide moving forward

Dragonwest

I get it isn’t the finished product but the fact still remains those not in the top 17 still need somewhere to go and play footy. Hopefully those plans are underway and using the Fiji model as a guide moving forward

Why not copy Melbourne who link with the Sunshine Coast. Create a relationship with a NSW Cup team.

franklin2323

Why not copy Melbourne who link with the Sunshine Coast. Create a relationship with a NSW Cup team.

Say the NSW Cup team trains on the Thurs night. You’d need the players to fly over on the Wed or Thurs. hang in Sydney for a few days then play and fly home or not train with the NSW Cup team

Generalzod

Time for him to go. negotiated a tv deal which had zero cash increase in australia tv for $402mill. AFL just signed a 7 year deal for $643 mill a year!! He’s either incompetent or something very fishy is going on. See you Pete.
I agree anyone that gives away their digital rights deserves to be sacked.

King hit

Time for him to go. negotiated a tv deal which had zero cash increase in australia tv for $402mill. AFL just signed a 7 year deal for $643 mill a year!! He’s either incompetent or something very fishy is going on. See you Pete.
You talking about vlandy’s is like me talking about how to treat isis soldiers and the taliban kindly

no credibility at all

Colk

You talking about vlandy’s is like me talking about how to treat isis soldiers and the taliban kindly

no credibility at all

Alright I’ll take it away from PR and I’ll criticise him. Are you going to defend a bloke who presided over a minimal increase when the competition got a deal that is more than $200 million more and essentially assigning us to be a minor sport in comparison?

The bloke should go now. He can concentrate on racing

Frailty

Don’t worry, I expect a couple of nice fluff pieces from Fox Sports, News Ltd. and Nine journos to cover for his obvious failings. Remember - he “saved” the game despite no other major sport in Australia folding.

The ARLC was made to ensure the game looked after its own interests. PVL was installed at the behest of the media to protect their interests and the game is back to square one.

Imagine renegotiating tv rights deals in the middle of a pandemic without going to market and him being praised by the public. If I’m the clubs and the players association - I’m demanding his resignation for this and multiple other screw ups.

Colk

That’s seriously a death penalty worthy offence

He is a News Ltd lackey.

He gave broadcasters everything they wanted and we got paid a pittance (relatively).
The argument put forth was that there is no increase in the market or that we are consolidating or some other excuse. Now this fumbleball deal shows it all for what it is.

Unfortunately now, we are not in a position to ever challenge them again.

Colk

Don’t worry, I expect a couple of nice fluff pieces from Fox Sports, News Ltd. and Nine journos to cover for his obvious failings. Remember - he “saved” the game despite no other major sport in Australia folding.

The ARLC was made to ensure the game looked after its own interests. PVL was installed at the behest of the media to protect their interests and the game is back to square one.

Imagine renegotiating tv rights deals in the middle of a pandemic without going to market and him being praised by the public. If I’m the clubs and the players association - I’m demanding his resignation for this and multiple other screw ups.

The saddest thing is mate that there are people on the TV rights thread still defending him. Going well ‘AFL are lying’ or ‘it’s all spin’ or whatever else. Anything to stop them looking at this objectively and showing them how bad the NRL’s deal was and by extension V’Landys role in it (or good if you believe he is a News Ltd pawn)

He is now beyond any defence. He is put our game 20-30 years beyond theirs and probably in a position where we will never catch up. If it were Greenberg or Gallop or anybody else those same people deride, they would going at them with pitchforks

Chief_Chujo

The joy of being beholden to the two largest media companies is evident. V'landys should be getting dragged over the coals but there won't be a single article on how we've been rooted in the DT or Herald because its in there interest to keep us down. The profit they make from our game is now directly funding the deals for Union and AFL. We've been f**ked on a magnitude not seen for 20yrs.

I would hope the clubs and player union are asking for a please explain. But what hope do they have with News and Fairfax behind dodgy pete.

mongoose

The saddest thing is mate that there are people on the TV rights thread still defending him. Going well ‘AFL are lying’ or ‘it’s all spin’ or whatever else. Anything to stop them looking at this objectively and showing them how bad the NRL’s deal was and by extension V’Landys role in it (or good if you believe he is a News Ltd pawn)

He is now beyond any defence. He is put our game 20-30 years beyond theirs and probably in a position where we will never catch up. If it were Greenberg or Gallop or anybody else those same people deride, they would going at them with pitchforks
c'mon mate, V'landy's not that bad, he says AFL is for softy abba fans and he played RL as a junior in the gong, clearly best man for the job