Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Peter V'landys - New NRL/ARLC Chairman

undertaker

According to the Ch9 ratings on tvtonight.com.au, yesterday's preliminary final comfortably outrated the Friday night preliminary final.

So, with the match held in the Sunday arvo 4pm timeslot having the highest ratings during each of the first three weeks of this year's final series, it's safe to say that Sunday arvo finals in weeks 2 and 3 are here to stay (excellent move from Abdo et al. on the ARLC board this year to break the 17 year trend and do something good for the fans), not to mention that this also bodes very well for having the Grand Final kickoff shifted to an earlier timeslot (at the very, VERY minimum...at least 2 to 2 1/2 hours earlier) from when the next tv rights deal commences in 2028.

Growthegame

According to the Ch9 ratings on tvtonight.com.au, yesterday's preliminary final comfortably outrated the Friday night preliminary final.

So, with the match held in the Sunday arvo 4pm timeslot having the highest ratings during the first three weeks of this year's final series, it's safe to say that Sunday arvo finals in weeks 2 and 3 are here to stay (excellent move from Abdo et al. on the ARLC board this year to break the 17 year trend and do something good for the fans), not to mention that this also bodes very well for having the Grand Final kickoff shifted to an earlier timeslot (at the very, VERY minimum...at least 2 to 2 1/2 hours earlier) from when the next tv rights deal commences in 2028.
I’ve watched all Sunday afternoon finals games at 8pm that night.

Azyboy

Listening to the AFL whilst driving today. They were saying that it was time for the AFl to grow up and have a twilight (6pm) grand final!
That would be the ideal time for the NRL as well!
4:30pm to 5:15pm is the mooted time. Start in daylight, finish under lights.
Interesting to see League wanting an afternoon time slot. Suspect networks would prefer some prime time for better ratings however recent Sunday afternoon games certainly haven’t hurt League’s argument.

Was an article in the hard copy of the Daily Telegraph today saying that Channel 7 plan to lobby the AFL over the off season for a twilight GF.

As I've said, Channel 9 won't be in favour of an afternoon GF. It may happen, but it won't be its idea or with its support I suspect.

Canard

Nrl wants day time grand final in 2028

“The NRL is finally coming around to the idea of an afternoon grand final on the back of an avalanche of support from fans and record breaking television ratings.
Independent commission chairman Peter V’landys says he is now prepared to make the kick-off time part of upcoming negotiations with TV networks for the next broadcast deal.
It means we could get an afternoon grand final for 2028, the first year of a new TV deal.
The last time the NRL ran with an afternoon decider at Homebush was in 2000 - just prior to the Sydney Olympics - when the Brisbane Broncos beat the Sydney Roosters 14-6.
“The commission has shown over the years that it is prepared to make decisions to the benefit of our fans,” V’landys said.
A midweek poll by this masthead revealed 93 per cent of footy supporters favoured scrapping night-time grand finals.
NRL 2000 GF Brisbane Broncos v Sydney Roosters - Stadium Aust
“Right now we have a broadcast agreement that requires us to play the grand final at night,” V’landys said.
“However, it is something we can discuss in negotiations for the next broadcast deal.
“We would also have to consult all major stakeholders.
“Sunday afternoon finals football has been a huge success with record TV ratings.
“Last weekend alone our numbers were up 34 per cent in Australia and New Zealand.”
The 3pm or 4pm kick-off would be a massive victory for fans.
And also a win for Channel 9 considering the huge ratings this year for Sunday afternoon games during the finals.
Sunday’s Broncos v Penrith blockbuster is again tipped to break all-time viewership records, especially in New Zealand in a more viewer friendly time slot.
It also has support from government heavyweights in that it would be a huge boost for NSW tourism.
Rather than fans heading straight home after 11pm, fans would fill restaurants and bars across the city once they leave the venue.”
Isn't the issue that 3.5M at 7.30pm is worth more to the TV channels that 4M at 4pm?

I reckon this Sunday will rate its arse off and the Day time talk will go away quickly.

Nine said same for origin, then the weekend origin rated as good as the wednesday games lol

Nuke

What could possibly go wrong.
Exactly. NRL enters in some very specific data into its request.

AI's sends its reply, including Newtown vs SQ Crushers three times in the space of eight weeks.

NRL reply, mentioning the inclusion of former clubs and the frequency of which some teams are playing against eachother repeatedly.

AI: Ah yes, you're correct. You were right to point out that I did include several teams no longer playing, and that there were too many repeated match-ups. There must have been a glitch on my end. I apologise for the inconvenience. Would you like me to try again with the correct teams and less repeated match-ups?

NRL says yes, and thus begins an endless circle of back-and-forth with the AI, only ending when the AI says that they've used up all their allocated messages for today, and suggests to come back again in 22 hours' time to continue.

T to the T

Exactly. NRL enters in some very specific data into its request.

AI's sends its reply, including Newtown vs SQ Crushers three times in the space of eight weeks.

NRL reply, mentioning the inclusion of former clubs and the frequency of which some teams are playing against eachother repeatedly.

AI: Ah yes, you're correct. You were right to point out that I did include several teams no longer playing, and that there were too many repeated match-ups. There must have been a glitch on my end. I apologise for the inconvenience. Would you like me to try again with the correct teams and less repeated match-ups?

NRL says yes, and thus begins an endless circle of back-and-forth with the AI, only ending when the AI says that they've used up all their allocated messages for today, and suggests to come back again in 22 hours' time to continue.
Would still fancy the Crushers to beat the Titans

titoelcolombiano

Lol just got it to run a draw for me. It has three match ups repeat four times during the season, ten matchups repeat three times and called the Warriors the Warriros.

Trifili13

Heard the NRL is embrassing technology and on top of using AI to produce the fixture list will scrap golden point and use the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern method to determine the winner for any games that finish in a draw.

The NRLs new A.I. technology.
It's called S.Q.A.C.

Super Quatum Artificial Computer

71jEwJh95ML._UF894,1000_QL80_FMwebp_.jpg