Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Peter V'landys - New NRL/ARLC Chairman

kurt faulk

AFL Origin will fizzle out again because there is little appetite for it in Victoria. Even when it was at its peak in the 70s and 80s, all the interest was from the underdogs in WA and SA. They will do it again next year, but reckon that will be it, as they will lengthen the season when Tassie come in 2028. Like NFL, no other country plays so the is no real need for representative football. It is a novelty, not a passion.

Origin hasn't been used for player selection into the Australian team for over 30 years.

It's just 3 exhibition games in the middle of the season that somehow excites many people. Why, I can't answer. It's a mystery.

Pippen94

PNG is never " falling over" it'll get a grant above the cap, so practically impossible. Besides, there's 11 million people in PNG, even if subscriptions are $2 , that's a lot of cheddar..add to that a willingness of government on both sides to contribute and the Chiefs being the best possible sponsorship outlet for the massive mining operations in the country...

No " falling over" is on any radar.

It's wishful thinking from people who say stuff like game should be investing in bush instead.

T-Boon

I reckon we should consider bringing SOO forward to the start of the year - a few weeks from now. It is an absolute dead time for sport right now. It would rate hugely. It would be less disruptive to the season to have it now.

After we consider the above idea we should reject it and have SOO at the same time it is now but suspend the season for 3 weeks and in its place have a nines comp over 2 weeks.

Dogs Of War

I reckon we should consider bringing SOO forward to the start of the year - a few weeks from now. It is an absolute dead time for sport right now. It would rate hugely. It would be less disruptive to the season to have it now.

After we consider the above idea we should reject it and have SOO at the same time it is now but suspend the season for 3 weeks and in its place have a nines comp over 2 weeks.

I just don't even understand how you get so many dumb takes. Maybe have a think about what you are about to write out before you post them.

T-Boon

I just don't even understand how you get so many dumb takes. Maybe have a think about what you are about to write out before you post them.
You are the one out of touch with the reality of the times though Dog.
PVL is universally agreed to be the best administrator we have had probably the history of the game. Just yesterday PVL made the most radical rule change to SOO rules ever and it is probably for reasons that will bring huge success. Add that to the long list of other great and successful rule changes (all of which would have blown your dog mind) and yeah, as I said, get in touch with the times.

Reflector

QLD derby's aren't really much of a thing though, it's just a derby with the Broncos that it adds.
Between Redcliff,GC and Cowboys don't rate any better than an interstate game. QLD is different, we like all our sides, when they play each other, it's more a shame one has to lose.
In time that'll change but for now, it's kinda meh.
Outside of people like beave and some Broncos fans I've heard, Broncos v Cowboys still feels more like a friendly rivalry between cousins.

Broncos v Dolphins on the other hand, already has a different feel. More edge. Give it another 5 years and a finals clash or two and I could see it becoming the new Souths v Roosters...

Outside of people like beave and some Broncos fans I've heard, Broncos v Cowboys still feels more like a friendly rivalry between cousins.

Broncos v Dolphins on the other hand, already has a different feel. More edge. Give it another 5 years and a finals clash or two and I could see it becoming the new Souths v Roosters...
Nah, Cowboys fans have a massive little brother complex and hate the Broncos. NQlders in general hate anything SEQ

AFL Origin will fizzle out again because there is little appetite for it in Victoria. Even when it was at its peak in the 70s and 80s, all the interest was from the underdogs in WA and SA. They will do it again next year, but reckon that will be it, as they will lengthen the season when Tassie come in 2028. Like NFL, no other country plays so the is no real need for representative football. It is a novelty, not a passion.
Interesting you say that, I watched the last 5 minutes and it caught my ear that it seemed to be an issue amongst the commentators about where it would be played next year, the general consensus seemed to be origin WA, gather round SA as some sort of annual double. This would fit in with your lack of Victorian interest observation. This didn`t sound like a very realistic plan to me at all.

Reflector

Nah, Cowboys fans have a massive little brother complex and hate the Broncos. NQlders in general hate anything SEQ
What I mean is while there are definitely the types you mention, I've also known (or known of) Cowboys fans who still hold to a favourable view of the Broncos, along the lines that Brisbane are their Qld brothers in arms kind of thing.

Subjectively, I couldn't give a shit what state a team comes from. I've hated teams from all 3 of the eastern states over the years, and quite a few of my favourite Blues players have been part of those sides at one point or another. Like most people in NSW (at least) I can make a clear distinction between club footy and Origin. I was livid when the Cowboys got knocked out against the Roosters in that 2004 prelim, for example...

Dogs Of War

Perth fell over before. PNG hunters still going after decade in Qld cup.

Who funds PNG Hunters? Oh that's right the Australian govt. Perth wasn't being funded like that. Once they took News Ltd money, they were stuffed when the game was in all sorts. Especially given the condition to fund everybody's travel to Perth.

by that logic that perth fell over once then we can anticipate dolphins and titans to fall over as well since crushers and giants/seagulls/chargers fell previously