Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Phil Gould

i used to absolutely hate him. His agenda filled diatribe was too much for me to handle. He went away from his analysis and just harped on about sh*t and what ever was best for his agenda that day.

Since his return to tv on the footy it seems to me he's almost droped all of his bullsh*t and now im a massive fan. He gives amazing insight into the game. And so long as he keeps his agendas and favourites out of it, he'll be good value. Loving the new and improved, which is ironically, the old Gus

Angry_eel

he always has an agenda. Apart from Origin, he makes up his mind within the first 5 minutes of the game and then goes on with that the whole match.

Blind Freddy

Every commentator in any sport gives their opinion during a call. Why should he be any different?

There's a point where an opinion becomes a gripe. Gould crosses it every now and again.

As i mentioned love his work on the Footy Show, his articles, and his passion and all that. But major negativity doesn't belong in a live call. People just want to watch the footy.

sass

I enjoy the Rabs Vs Gus banter.

seriously I ADORE them. and you can tell they love it too.

look gus has heaps of opinions and obsessions (video refs, anyone?) but I still enjoy listening to him. he knows his footy and he loves it.

also he might have an agenda in a game but he's nowhere near as obviously biased as the kiwi commentators.

ozjet1

i agreed with him 100% last night re the video reviewing process.

Andrew Voss pissed me off...he really seemed to be ignoring & opposing Gould's position for theatre. and Cronk's comment that "NSW got one back with Hayne's fwd pass try so it works both ways" is an example of the thinking that seems to go on at league HQ. it's these sorts of ex-players that end up becoming the rule-makers when they retire.

the process is flawed and it's affecting consistency of referee's decsion making, and the general enjoyment of matches for the fans.

Gould needed to stress the point why is a play only reviewed if it leads to a try? he did briefly mention re the specific Hayne incident that if he got tackled before the tryline it would not have been reviewed, but it got lost in Voss' mocking.

these f**kwits at the league need to realise that each play leads to another. just because a try is not scored on a particular play does not mean it's not important. each play affects the course of a game. let the ref's make the judgements on all aspects leading up to a try as they do in general play. the review should only be considered if there's a query on the grounding of the ball.

unfortunately, a change on this cant be made mid-season as matches have already been determined under the current system. at the same time, the outcome of more games this season will be determined by the current farce. it needs to be cleaned up for next season.

keep up the fight Phil.

Slackboy72

he's growing all right, like somethign that is malignant

he is so full of cliches he's monotonously boring

the amount of times he says, that should not be penalized, or that should be a try is getting ridiculous, if he had it his was we may as well toss out the rule book and pay tries that look good

he was so bad during SOO 1, I had to turn the volume down

What do you expect? He's a Canterbury old boy. They don't want rules to apply to them.

Seriously though Gould knows his game and when he gives us the analysis like he did last night that's great. Unfortunately he gives us a tirade of BS about referees and rules and passion and origin and bla bla bla. Come on now, 'out-origined'?
It seems that he was told a while ago that he needed to add colour and contoversy to his presentation which is why he started giving us the Gould we hate rather than the Gould that was one of the top coaches in the game.

macavity

Seriously though Gould knows his game and when he gives us the analysis like he did last night that's great. Unfortunately he gives us a tirade of BS about referees and rules and passion and origin and bla bla bla. Come on now, 'out-origined'?

thats an origin comment, right there...

Dragon

I wish we could choose that wide angle camera he was using last night. You could actually see the backlines.

100x better than that 'close up ruck cam' we get.

It seems that he was told a while ago that he needed to add colour and contoversy to his presentation which is why he started giving us the Gould we hate rather than the Gould that was one of the top coaches in the game.

LOL reminds me of that 12th man final dig album where Richie's telling Tony, Chapelli & co to spice up their commentary. "That's the biggest hit since the Beatles!!"

KHunt

I May get shot for this, BUT, i really think that Gould is a quality commentator, not onyl for his knowledge of the game, but his passion. You never hear the same passion for this great game from any other commentators. His addition to the footy show has lifted it to a new level, and im happy to sit there and watch it now.

Well Done Gould Keep It Up...

p.s.
RIP Professor Chris O'Brien. You Will Be Sadly Missed

Your right. He's my favourite on the footy show, Sunday roast etc

The Queensland hating Phil Gould thing is a myth. I'd be more worried if he didn't hate Queensland. though he dragged it on heaps during Origin 1.

ozjet1

In many ways, what happens on the field in Origin and NRL today, when it comes to running these attacking plays, its almost too fast and too complex for the average fan to take in on first viewing. The NFL gets away with that complexity as each play is replayed between "downs". RL can't and doesn't have that.

the average rugby league fan cant work out anything. FFS, most fans still want the starting team classified positionally from #1 to #13, otherwise they'd have no clue what's going on.

What Gould said last night 'shouldve' been disected by most followers during the game. even a simpleton like me made comments in the gameday thread that the NSW halves werent organising/moving the ball wide, that the backrowers were getting into backline play too often to the detriment of Jennings and Lyon, or the backrowers werent distributing it themselves etc.

the great thing about the segment was that it showed to a wider audience that there's much more to rugby league than the simple 110kg forward carting the ball up the middle and getting smahsed by 3 defenders. there are specific patterns of play in theory and then a reliance on the capability of an idividual player or team to successfully carry it out. this sort of analysis is prevalent in the coverage of just about every sport on the planet, but is relatively untouched in rugby league or the analyst is poor in translating it. it's as though the broadcasters here have assumed that the average rugby league fan is either too dumb to comprehend such analysis, or not interested in it. instead, the fans of the game are supposedly just boofheads who want to see blokes smash each other.

PS-Sterlo is great at it too, but isnt backed up much by many others.

voltron

i agreed with him 100% last night re the video reviewing process.

Andrew Voss pissed me off...he really seemed to be ignoring & opposing Gould's position for theatre. and Cronk's comment that "NSW got one back with Hayne's fwd pass try so it works both ways" is an example of the thinking that seems to go on at league HQ. it's these sorts of ex-players that end up becoming the rule-makers when they retire.

the process is flawed and it's affecting consistency of referee's decsion making, and the general enjoyment of matches for the fans.

Gould needed to stress the point why is a play only reviewed if it leads to a try? he did briefly mention re the specific Hayne incident that if he got tackled before the tryline it would not have been reviewed, but it got lost in Voss' mocking.

these f**kwits at the league need to realise that each play leads to another. just because a try is not scored on a particular play does not mean it's not important. each play affects the course of a game. let the ref's make the judgements on all aspects leading up to a try as they do in general play. the review should only be considered if there's a query on the grounding of the ball.

unfortunately, a change on this cant be made mid-season as matches have already been determined under the current system. at the same time, the outcome of more games this season will be determined by the current farce. it needs to be cleaned up for next season.

keep up the fight Phil.

alot of great points there
if hayne gets tackled and they score on the next play
then its allowed and its not reviewed

Haynzy

thats an origin comment, right there...

Generally i quite like Gus, esp his analysis but i was gonna throw something at the tv everytime he said something along the lines of 'that was an origin tackle'!

gurudave

Gus is a f**king tosspot! Because I am a Queenslander.

Without him though there would be nobody to hate. He has a great knowledge and his bias commentary is a plus to the game!

Gus brings more to the commentary of rugby league than anybody. Sure no one's perfect but in his case, I'll gladly take the bad with the good. He was brilliant on the Footy Show.

Cumberland Throw

Love him or hate em you have to agree he is the best RL analyist on TV in the country... And you cannot doubt his passion for the game, he really does love it and that cant be bad. In terms of his commetry you have to realise that 99% of viewers on Fri and Sun are regular RL viewers and he calls it like a fan would... if he was bland and said nothing we would say he was boring...

maple_69

Generally i quite like Gus, esp his analysis but i was gonna throw something at the tv everytime he said something along the lines of 'that was an origin tackle'!

Ohhh that's an ORIGIN COMMENT!!!
NSW have been out ORIGINDED'D.
What the f**k does that even mean. What a wanker. I don't mind him as an analyst, talk show contributor, column writer, but the bullsh*t he spews when I'm in the death throws of another Blues/Panthers game, I almost threw myself at my delicious new 50 inch plassie.