Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Poor behaviour of some Manly Fans

Cletus

That's pretty embarressing for most Manly fans. I'm really surprised that it happened in the stands as they're a bit more relaxed than the hill. I've never had a problem at any of the games I've been to there, apart from some racist abuse towards David Peachey. I guess you're going to get drunk arseholes at most games, but if you want something done about them you have to see security or the cops.

mulvihill

Why don't you all have a crack at these clowns. I didn't hear boo from them for 78 mins then with one arsey bounce they decide they are the greatest team in the world. Have a go and they soon scamper to the sideline much like their cat captain who runs at wingers and halfbacks all day

the finatics had the same problem, we were at brookie this year and got there when gates opened, these people came a minute before kick off and sat right behind us and abused, spat burnt holes in our flags and just were dedset ferals

CharlieF

parra_princess said:
That's absoluely disgraceful.
I agree that it's easy to point the finger at the Bulldogs fans all the time but if these Manly fans were identified, I personally can't see anybody handing out any life bans it will ruin the whole 'Nothing like a Sunday arvo watching the footy at Brookie' notion the NRL loves to pedal.

He was talking about the St George V Broncos game he went to. Anyway there is noone to identify because there was nothing serious committed. Swearing does not constitute voilent or aggressive behaviour. If it was, it would have been dealt with quickly.

reginald.p

Thats geniused why just sit there and take abuse the whole game, go and sit somewhere else or go home and demand a refund.

atomic_crimson

Actually CharlieF a friend of mine was ejected from a stadium for swearing at a footy match... and he wasn't directing his profanities at opposition supporters either....

Raider_69 said:
Where you there Ozzie? Did you see the incident?
From memory ive asked this before and the answer was no. I was there, and i would suggest you not comment on an issue you clearly know absolutely f**k all about
It's never stopped anyone in relation to the Bulldogs ;-)

Personally, I don't know how anybody can defend the acts of these morons if proven true.

AsPiRiNg YoUtH

sledging is a part of the fun. I have no worries getting blasted especially if my team is losing, however as long as it is in good friendly nature. Which at both Penrith AND Shark Park they were. Even my expeirence at brookvale was fine.

Notice however, whenever there is trouble, 99% of the time the people are drunk out of their brains. I have said to many of my mates and just people that alcohol should be banned and they are appaled that i mentioned it. HOWEVER it needs to be done. In EVERY case where there is trouble alcohol is involved.

As i said before i dont drink and enjoy the football immensly. I get carried away, scream and even cry when my team loses an important match (last year vs the Tigers) and all without alcohol. Its not needed for fun. And if anything, the NRL SHOULD ban it , and advertise the football as a family fun affair. Look at teh v8 supercars. Kids free, fun things for them all day, and a great event for the family as people bring bbqs etc, and look at the numbers that turn out for them over the three days.

Absolute disgrace to the Manly club. And the worst thing about it was, all these allegations are true. Standing near the 40 metre line near the Jane Try Stand closest to the scoreboard end for the first half, the profanities that were heard were absolutely ridiculous. Surely what must security be thinking letting these drunken imbosiles into a match. And supposively this isn't the first time by the same group of idiots!!

Lego_Man

And people wonder why our crowd figures are sub-par? Only solution to this is to ban alcohol from the stadium, and im very much in favour of that. If you need alcohol to enjoy a game, then you're not a true fan.

Iafeta

Brookie=Least favourite ground to go to...

* Rickety stands built by the Amish people
* Takes forever to get into the ground, it's like entering a steel cage at Wrestlemania
* Old codgers in the stand who don't like young people standing up when their team is on the break, but gladly grab the canes and stand up when their team is on the march
* Bullsh!t parking cops who love to write out tickets to cars WITHOUT Manly stickers on

Worst ground in the league IMO.

Nothing against the good Manly folk, I just hate the joint. Pity, prior to the Warriors coming in I barracked for Manly.

Iafeta

FTR, I'll give big ups to the Raiders fans.. never had any anti-Kiwi racial BS with any of their games. Infact, the semi final we played in 2003 was just an awesome atmosphere, terrifically loud crowd, but no cussing, no physical or verbal abuse, spot on game. That's what footy is about. Haven't had any problem with either Parra fans or Sharkies or Rabbitohs fans either TBH.

Iafeta said:
FTR, I'll give big ups to the Raiders fans.. never had any anti-Kiwi racial BS with any of their games. Infact, the semi final we played in 2003 was just an awesome atmosphere, terrifically loud crowd, but no cussing, no physical or verbal abuse, spot on game. That's what footy is about. Haven't had any problem with either Parra fans or Sharkies or Rabbitohs fans either TBH.

:lol: not surprising, from my experience most kiwis are warriors fans, the next by a long way is raiders fans, probably on the back of all the import kiwi's players we've had

CharlieF said:
What was you take since you were there yesterday?

I was standing near the players tunnel and observed no dramas.
This incident had to have happened on the hill, and any hill will attract a bad element.

Michael was well behaved. As you know i was standing next to him.
He even caught a prize that was thrown by the eagle mascot and gave it to a young boy.