Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

POOR CROWDS TO HOME GAMES

get a life Muffdaddy

Ive been a roosters fan for over 30 years and will always be a rooster fan but face facts the crowds are poor

Im no hero just stating an opinion if you dont like it stiff shit

get the hell over it you sad sad person

I dont "pay out" on rooster supporters, I tell it like it is and seems the truth hurts more than anything else.

we have one of the greatest teams to ever play, we are on top of the ladder in all 3 grades and we cant pull a decent crowd.

Well if my opinion and that of many old time supporters as well, and by that I mean the people that have been following the team since before most of us were born, hurts then so be it.

My husband started this thread to try and get a few extra people to come to games but instead its the likes of you muffdaddy that turn it into a rooster bashing thread because we as a family use games as our social life and live for our team.

Maybe you should think before you type you "hero" because other than wanting more bums on seats at a game we have stated our opinion fairly and to the point, and never once did we mention not having many supporters, just that a majority of those would rather watch foxtel that come out to the game.

I understand what you are saying Roostargirl and I am pretty sure that in a few weeks time we will be in the same predicament as it will be that much harder to go with a new born than with a 11 and 3 year old, but I am sure that if you could, you would be there.

Yes many may call us tragics but we love our team and will go rain hail or shine, winning or losing for as long as we can and I dont think the likes of a muffdaddy or anyone else should condem us for that.

Go the mighty Red White and Bluesters

RoostarGirl

m0j0 said:
RoostarGirl said:
I will go to the next home game no matter when it will be played because the season is passing me by.

Just remember, the next "home" game is at Gosford on a Saturday night. Perfect for me, but it might be a bit harsh on the littlies with you driving all the way back to Penriff that late at night.

Actually MJ we have an onsite van on the Central Coast so it looks like we'll be making a weekend of it :D I'll get home there in half the time as I normally do from the Footy Stadium....its all good

RP02 I can see exactly what your saying....Rooster fans are the luckiest fans around getting to watch such a fantastic team.

I'm considering going to Campbelltown on Friday night.....its pretty close to home.

I'm glad that I can now distinguish which of you guys is posting ;-)

It's all good and it's all opinion. I can honestly say that I can understand RP2's view and also those who don't make it to every game.

haha

I figured that you would work it out Pen..

Opinion is what makes this great country even greater......who would want to live anywhere else.....

god forbid they might not have Roosters at those other places

Muffdaddy

roosterspremiers2002 said:
I dont "pay out" on rooster supporters, I tell it like it is and seems the truth hurts more than anything else.

we have one of the greatest teams to ever play, we are on top of the ladder in all 3 grades and we cant pull a decent crowd.

Well if my opinion and that of many old time supporters as well, and by that I mean the people that have been following the team since before most of us were born, hurts then so be it.

My husband started this thread to try and get a few extra people to come to games but instead its the likes of you muffdaddy that turn it into a rooster bashing thread because we as a family use games as our social life and live for our team.

Maybe you should think before you type you "hero" because other than wanting more bums on seats at a game we have stated our opinion fairly and to the point, and never once did we mention not having many supporters, just that a majority of those would rather watch foxtel that come out to the game.

I understand what you are saying Roostargirl and I am pretty sure that in a few weeks time we will be in the same predicament as it will be that much harder to go with a new born than with a 11 and 3 year old, but I am sure that if you could, you would be there.

Yes many may call us tragics but we love our team and will go rain hail or shine, winning or losing for as long as we can and I dont think the likes of a muffdaddy or anyone else should condem us for that.

Go the mighty Red White and Bluesters

Firstly, I am definitely not condemning you guys for going to the games and supporting Easts as much as you do. I think its great and wish that I could get to as many games it sounds like you all do. I've been an Easts supporter for as long as I can remember(32 years) and probably longer. I took offence to your initial post, and rightly or wrongly replied in the way I did. I don't know about you guys, but where I spent all my formative years growing up(Cronulla), I was the only Roosters supporter and still am amongst my friends. Since the mid 80's we've had to put up with Rooster bashing from all corners, even in the last couple of years we've had supporters from other teams come on here and the Wall crapping on about how we should have crowds of over 20k at every home game because we're the benchmark, and just won a premiership, etc, etc and when I read your post I thought, "Jesus, not from an Easts supporter!!"
I know where you're coming from, but didn't like the tone. Basically it got my back up.
I can now see it wasn't your intention to prove how good a supporter you are, which is the way it came across in the first place. In the end, the thing that remains, and why we're here is that we do support one of the greatest teams, if not the greatest, and after all is said and done, we still will.
Go Easts!!

point taken

and for the record

there are 2 of us that post as RP02

firstly there is my husband who has been a rooster since he was impregnated I am sure, he has lived all his life in the western suburbs so I guess you can imagine the rooster bashing he has taken from everyone over the years and since we still live here it still happens daily so please understand that this man bleeds red white and blue and would never do or say anything derogitory, he is just passing an opinion as we stated.

I on the other hand have been called many things, amongst others a turncoat for supporting the roosters as passionately as I do now. have always been a rugbly league fan but not always a rooster..as some of the forum buddies know.

And indeed we support the greatest team ever to play the game.

Go you mighty chookies

Munky

How much is a Roosters home game?

A Panthers game is $16 for an adult but I can use my UTS student card (I'm 19) for $7 entry :D

Food isn't too much of a problem either as you can just go to Maccas or KFC across the road before a game or get some snacks from a servo on Mulgoa road. A trip to the footy costs me less than $15.

No Pemriff jokes as I live in the Blue Mountains.

Not sure of the entry price but food cost is astonomical at aussie and the closest fast food is at fox studios next door.

We have mates that are panthers and even the beer is a normal price at penrith stadium so be thankful as I am lead to belive that for cost it is one of the better venues

m0j0

GA seating is $20 per adult and I think maybe $6 or $8 for kids 6-12.

Reserved seating is $25 per adult and I think it's still $8 for the kids.

Hot dogs = $4
Hot chips = $4
etc. etc.

A day at the footy with the family will cost me in excess of $100 - closer to $150 when I take into account fuel, parking, tolls, food etc.

look at Panthers crowds averaging nearly 18000 to home games

...........and yet, you have imbeciles like renowned league fraud claiming that the Panthers are the worst supported team in rugby league :roll: :roll:

melon....

Big Panther Cool said:

...........and yet, you have imbeciles like renowned league fraud claiming that the Panthers are the worst supported team in rugby league :roll: :roll:
Take his comments in the right context...maybe you could repeat what he actually pointed out. I think he was comparing the Penny fans over the period of the club's existance, not since last years Premiership win.

m0j0

Big Panther Cool said:

Hey, I don't wanna take sides, but you'll find that RLE was using overall average home crowds as his basis which showed most clubs around the 11,000 mark and Panthers around the 8,500 mark.
Not exactly a good statistic to use when talking about current support, but I don't think he ever categorised his figures and findings as being based on current season.
Obviously, in the past few years the Panthers crowds have lifted substantially.

m0j0

melon.... said:
Take his comments in the right context...maybe you could repeat what he actually pointed out. I think he was comparing the Penny fans over the period of the club's existance, not since last years Premiership win.

Beat me to it!

melon.... said:
Big Panther Cool said:

Yes I know that melon & mojo

But he seems to dig that rather insignificant bit of information up everytime the question of the roosters home support is raised.

To me it just sounded like a bit of sour graping on his behalf.

panther if you like to read in the context once again the statement
was actually a compliment towards the panthers home crowds

maybe you should read everything before jumping to conclusions

panther if you like to read in the context once again the statement
was actually a compliment towards the panthers home crowds

maybe you should read everything before jumping to conclusions

Maybe you should follow your own advice then.......

I wasn't having a go at you or your comment. It was a fair comment.

I was having a dig at renowned league fraud, who has commented in the past that the Panthers have the worst home crowd average out of all the NRL clubs.

I was merely using your point to ram home that fact to league fraud.

No Problems

Penrith crowds have been awesome this year and last year and in the decider this year when our sides meet again the result will be different in 2004 :clap: :clap:

cheers mate

PANTHERS WILL NEVER OWN THE ROOSTERS

lazza

My opinion is that there is a lot more to do in Sydney than in Newcastle and Penrith.

Newcastle's been claimed ot be like a goldfish bowl. so if your friends go to footy, it has the roll on effect.

The demographics of people are also different as with the culture. more expensive property so people moving further west to raise families and the rich staying in syd. the rich also generally follow union.

It isnt like what it used to be...