Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Preliminary Final: Bluebags v Titans 2010

The Piper

Forum 7s - Preliminary Final
NEWTOWN BLUEBAGS v GOLD COAST TITANS
bluebagsf7s.jpg
-v-
2010gco-alt.jpg

WINNER TO THE GRAND FINAL

Game Thread:
* Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
* Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
* Only original articles, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.

Naming Teams:
* 5v5 (+ 2 reserves)
* No 'TBA' or changing players named
* Captains must stick with original teams named

ALL THE RULES & REGULATIONS: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.php

FULL TIME: Wednesday 15 September 2010 at 9pm (Syd time)
REFEREE: antonius
Venue: Front Row Stadium
ground_tfr_1.jpg

CLICK HERE FOR OFFICIAL WORD COUNTER

Titanic

2010%2520Titans%2520face%2520mask%2520v2.jpg
Dusting off the excess sand, wrapping towels around and heading off for some more suntan oil in anticipation of a slick match, here come the Titans:

1. Amadean
2. Tittoolate
6. tits&tans
7. Titanic
13. TITs ANonymouS

The Bench

4. Big Pete
8. bgdc

Tittoolate

Powered by the company of Titans, Tittoolate charges onto the paddock! Good luck to all!

745 words below the line. That's all. Really. Je me souviens.

salary-cap.gif

Salary caps came into vogue for ostensibly sound reasons. Regular breaches in League must call into question the efficacy of this blunt instrument; equally questioned in other codes. Are caps effective in equitably administering the league to ensure its long-term viability and that of its clubs? Can caps fairly penalise and forcibly normalise those evil clubs caught flouting rules? Or are caps just the administrators' equivalent of a bandaid on a spurting artery? Is a political motive behind the design and application of the salary cap structure? And is it ultimately self-defeating? Human ingenuity finds a way to blossom; in this case to nullify the artificially engineered misalignment of interests between players, clubs, the league and the fans. The League can look to other global, professional codes for inspiration, and insights from India’s IPL are instructive.

Markets recognise and reward scarcity; in this case football players who demonstrate talent, teamwork and determination. But a market manipulated by the administrators’ dead hand will always seek to fight back and reassert the fundamental law of supply and demand. The leftist might question why one club should flaunt a permanent advantage based on its ability to pay high incomes for stars? Surely administrators have a social role to play in ensuring all clubs have equal access to players? The insidious fact is that salary caps on successful clubs like the Melbourne/Queensland Storm are an artificial, glass ceiling. This keeps the bottom dwellers like South Sydney in the competition (until recently the Illawarra Steelers were wallowing down there too, but the renaissance induced by Sir Wayne of the Broncos has given them temporary respite from ignominy). But ‘the cap’ it is an artifice, and so dooms its designers to failure.

Consider this: the best clubs who bred the best players are regularly forced to jettison them on purely financial grounds. Instead of lauding and rewarding our best players, we punish them by limiting their financial rewards or forcing them out of their preferred team. We force great players away from the very supporter base that made them great in the first place. Madness!

This is demonstrably not in the interests of the team, the players or the support base. We are teaching that you can be good, but not too good. If you are too good, the tallest poppy, you get lopped off. So what does this say to the kids kicking a footy on the school oval? Does it say kick for the stars? Does it say use your last ounce of guts to plant the ball over the line? No. It says, stay with the pack, be mediocre, don't shine - be not all that you can be.

We need a fresh, entrepreneurial approach; not socialism in sport. The Indian Professional League (IPL) of cricket has been wildly successful in renewing the spirit, energy and finances of that game. IPL extended the playing life of many stars and ignited loyal fan following. IPL is a roaring commercial success with sponsors, TV and fans all flocking to its banner. It’s created a new generation of supporters keen to attend games, buy memorabilia: it’s built a new business stream within the sport. All this without penalising the stars for having the temerity to seek rewards from their fleeting greatness.

Wake up rugby league! Of course the best players, and their support network, will search out every opportunity to capitalise on their momentary but dazzling zenith. Surely the intellects behind the league can think of something more creatively encouraging then salary cap censure. Currently administrators demonise our best and brightest for rightfully seeking commercial reward for achievements realised through skills, hard work and passion. Instead of pandering to one of our nation's dominant cultural flaws, poppy lopping, why not build a commercial and economic environment which allows players to benefit from extra-club endeavours?

I say follow the Indians. Reinvent yourselves. Build a framework of endorsements and sponsorships which concurrently allows clubs to operate as economically viable entities while encouraging tomorrow's stars to aspire. Lift your eyes from your spreadsheets and look at the fans. Fans need heroes. The League needs heroes. Build them, support them, and then feast in the glory on their success. By embracing the light, the power of the market, we can build a greater league that will dwarf earlier incarnations.

Our bywords are: Encouragement, rewards, recognition - not censure. Then truly we will be “high enough, long enough, straight between the posts”!

Tittoolate

pls disregard this post. operator error, the preceding post is koshe. TTL

The baggers bus is here and full of cheer.

The ground announcer calls out the teams...

NEWTOWN BLUEBAGS - F7s TEAM PRELIMINARY FINAL 2010

Willow (c)
Gorilla
Drew-Sta
Ridders

Interchange:
Rexxy
Red Bear

Good luck one and all :thumn

muzby steps off the bluebags bus, takes a sniff of september finals air and charges towards the titans..

jersey_bluebags_1a.gif

750 words, title to end..

doc49fd157246239836939343.jpg

The Heist

Brad and Martin were great mates, and had been for life. They’d lived in the same street since birth, gone to the same school and played footy together, usually in the centres. Both of the boys loved a cold VB, nearly as much as they loved a good time.

The problem was, they loved a good time too much, which led to them both not doing very well at school. And enjoying a good time meant that they never fell into decent careers. Brad was a labourer and Martin was a delivery driver. They just couldn’t be bothered trying for anything more. But the one thing they did love was playing footy.

Footy provided them with a chance to let loose and have fun. And by playing in the firsts for Renown United, they managed to get a little extra cash to help them along. But Martin started to worry. He wouldn’t be in the firsts forever, and the cash they got for playing would slowly dry up - how would he make ends meet?

One Monday it was back to work again for Martin. His job sheet said he had a pickup from British American Tobacco in Eastgardens. When he walked inside, his attention was drawn to a bronze statue on top of a mahogany base, sitting behind a Perspex safety screen. Drawing his breath, Martin walked up to it. He couldn’t believe he was staring at the original Winfield Cup. Instantly his mind was transported back to when he was a kid, watching Meninga, Pearce & Lewis. Listening to Tina Turner sing. Watching ABC rugby league on a Saturday afternoon.

“Can I help you, sir?” Came a voice from his left. Martin looked up and saw the receptionist staring at him strangely. “Why is this here?”, he asked her. The receptionist explained that they made Winfield cigarettes, and when the competition sponsorship finished, they got to keep the trophy. Martin then stepped back into work mode and asked where he could pick up his delivery.

He drove around the back of the building and saw his second amazing sight for the day. There in front of him was the biggest stack of cigarette boxes he had ever seen in his life. The warehouse manager packed Martin’s delivery truck & sent him on his way. Whilst driving, Martin looked down at the delivery slip from British American Tobacco and realised that he had $75,000 worth of cigarettes in the back of his van. He then wondered just how much money the cigarettes in that warehouse would be worth. He then felt a wave of sadness sweep over him, knowing that if he kept his life going the way it was, he would never have $75 spare, let alone $75,000. He needed to feel happy.

At training that week Martin told Brad he had an idea. He explained what he saw when he went to British American Tobacco, and explained his plan. Brad liked it, he liked it a lot. If they pulled off this heist, they’d be kings.

The big night arrived. Martin stopped his delivery van at Brad’s house and the two of them made the trip from Penshurst to Eastgardens. When they arrived there, they were surprised to see how little security there was for such a big cigarette company. It was a simple case of carefully breaking a window, Brad crawling through the hole and passing the loot back out to Martin to load into the van.

As the boys headed back, they knew they had to lay low for a while. Brad suggested storing the haul in his garage, as no-one would ever think to check there. They pulled up, took out the loot and then Martin drove off, making sure that he did not draw any attention to himself.

A couple of days later, Martin turned up at Brad’s house. They grabbed a couple of beers from the fridge and headed out to the garage. The boys stood in front of their haul and looked at each other with cheeky grins, knowing they had pulled off the heist of the century. They tapped their cans of VB together in a gesture of celebration, whilst the bronzed figures of Norm Provan and Arthur Summons looked back at them from atop the mahogany base of the Winfield Cup. The trophy did look funny, sitting on Brad’s ping pong table.

Laughing together, Brad and Martin started singing, “We’re simply the best! Better than all the rest…”

Ridders

Ridders runs out for his first taste of finals footy. Tastes like chicken

jersey_bluebags_1a.gif

732 words right between the eyes (OWC)

:shock:

'Nice work if you can get it'

The man who only live for making money
Lives a life that isn't necessarily sunny;
Likewise the man who works for fame --
There's no guarantee that time won't erase his name
- George Gershwin

Interviewer: And we're back and continuing our interview with Player X, his first since announcing his retirement from the NRL. Always the centre of controversy, for issues on and off the field.

Player X: It's certainly been an interesting ride

Interviewer: Well let's really get stuck into it. It must be said that the reactions to your retirement haven't all been too flattering. Which is understandable given some of the choices you made throughout your career.

Player X: Like what?

Interviewer: Well where do we begin? There's been the constant critisism of your lack of loyalty to the clubs you've played for, and their fans. Your portrayed loyalty to only yourself and the dollar.

Player X: Regarding the value of loyalty in sports; Stop it. Teams will have no problem cutting and ridding of players that don't fill their needs. They'll do whatever they can to better their OWN situation. It's been happening since the beginning.

When I first came into the NRL, I was young, I was innocent, I was naïve. I wanted to play with my team for my entire career and loved the team's fans. My contract was coming up and I wanted to sign a long extension? So what happened? The team ended up signing a star player for big dollars, and as a result of the salary cap, I was forced out. The team made a decision that was in it's own best interests with no regard for me or my situation.

Interviewer: Well wouldn't you say that that's the role of a team? Do whatever they can to improve? If a player can't help them, or fill their needs, then there's no reason for the team to keep them.

Player X: Sure that's fine. Well then what's wrong with players ridding themselves of a team when they don't fill the their needs? If a team and their situation don't fit my needs, why should I be obligated to stay with them out of some superfluous sense of loyalty? Why the hypocrisy?

Interviewer: Well you certainly have been disloyal to fans of teams you've played for

Player X: As opposed to fans being loyal to me and sticking with me through thick and thin? Listen mate, I get it. Fans will support me as long as I'm contributing for THEIR team. They will support me as long as I'm helping THEIR team. The moment that ends, their support for me ends. The player/fan relationship is completely quid pro quo. You provide me with entertainment, while I provide you with money.

When I was forced out at my first club, the fans seemed pretty content with proceedings. They were just ecstatic at acquiring a marquee player, and weren't too interested in my welfare or how the transaction would affect me personally. It's funny that fans will often chastise us players for being selfish, when really, they're as selfish as we are. They just can't admit it.

So yeah. I guess my blissful ideology of Rugby League and the team/player and fan/player dynamic was shattered pretty early on.

Interviewer: Well I'm sure there are many that would disagree with that view. We seem to be running out of time, so we'll get you out of here on this. You were always portrayed as being greedy and money hungry. Always selling out to the highest bidder, and as a result, even hopping codes to the AFL. Do you think that one day you'll look back and regret your mercenary approach to the game?

Player X: Are you kidding me? In AFL I got paid three million dollars over three years to suck at my job. I was living the dream baby. I made more in those three years than I did for my entire NRL career.

As for the talk of legacy. Well when I'm an old man, and breaking down, what do you think's going to be give me more comfort then? My “legacy” as a player or the extra millions I earned to make my life as comfortable as possible? Seems like a pretty simple answer to me.

Who could ask for anything more?

:shock:

Amadean

Amadean von Titans: Lord Lather of Anticipation

749 below the bar

Yet Lockyer is an Honourable Man

hartigan.bmp

The Broncos didn't make the finals this year. I believe this sad event deserved much wider mourning than it actually received. No flags were flown at half mast, no newsreaders wore black ribbons whilst making awkward chit-chat with that new blonde intern. Regardless of whom you support, we are all decreased in stature and spirit by the Broncos' absence this finals season. Mourn with me brothers and sisters, for in times of grief we are all Queenslanders in spirit.

In eulogies it is traditional to speak only of the deceased finest hours; to recall those moments where they left the deepest imprint upon the soft soil of our lives. Shall we share stories of Renouf's try line touch, or glory in the reflected beauties of the King's majestic passing? Could I sing for you a tale of requited adoration in trophy form to hold our hearts fast in the sunshine of Brisvegas love? Ahhh, no. For I came to bury the Broncos, not to praise them.

Some people say that my beloved Broncos signify everything that is wrong with rugby league. On the other hand, some people say that the earth is hollow and populated exclusively by ancient Atlanteans, so we'd best build up some sort of evidence-backed argument before running our mouths off. I mean, just because the Atlantis guys are right doesn't necessarily mean the Broncos are evil. Unless....wait.... what if they are connected? Whoa, mind-frack! So if Plato's writings were accurate, then that would make Lockyer immortal. Awesome.

Striking out towards sanity, the Broncos are associated with a number of potentially unsavoury factors that might make the average League fan go 'hmmm'. Lets start with the biggie: their major shareholder News Limited. Now News doesn't have the greatest reputation on these forums, or on any other forums for that matter. Murdoch rarely comes across as the 'People's Hero' but rather seems to have a magic aura that transforms everything he touches into a cheaper, crappier form of itself. If we include a tendency towards editorialising journalism, the atrocity of Super League, the worrying fiasco of the Melbourne Storm and the persistent accusations of sexism and racism then good ole Rupert doesn't come off with a shining aura. A potential mark against the Broncos.

Did you see back up in the last paragraph when I referred to News as Brisbane's major shareholder? Yeah, well that brings us to the second worrying factoid about the glorious Broncos: they're in it for the money. Petty name-calling aside, the Broncos are listed on the ASX, the only Australian sporting club to be so. Incidentally, they fall into similar 'Entertainment' classifications as 'Daily Planet', the only ASX-listed brothel. Entertaining coincidences aside, being a listed company entails certain requirements and considerations; in the trade they're known as 'fiduciary responsibilities'. This is a complicated legal concept (and therefore a waste of time by definition) but it basically boils down to the fact that the Broncos have a legal obligation to make as much money as possible. Not to support fans, not to develop juniors, not even to expand League as a sport, but to make cash. If they don't follow every possible avenue for revenue, then they can be sued by their shareholders. When their shareholders include News Limited, then you can be fairly sure Broncos management is going to go after every dollar they can.

Mind you, the dollars have been flowing fairly freely into Broncos coffers over the last 20 years or so. These days they have the best attendance record in the league, some of the best merchandise sales, regular Friday night viewing slots and an, until recently, unbroken record of making the finals.

So, if the Broncos upon whom I lavish such adoration are as awful as I describe, why should League fans everywhere mourn the fact that Brisbane didn't make the finals? Basically, for the reasons I discuss above: News Limited and cash.

News owns most of Foxtel, the Storm and most of the Broncos. If these two high-audience teams miss the finals, this means a huge financial cost for the organisation. When a company finds itself making a loss on a business area it does two things: reduces investment and maximises returns. In other words, we can look forward to News Limited resisting further investment in the game whilst simultaneously trying to scrape out every last cent to ensure returns stay within budgeted levels.

This won't be good for anyone.

gorilla

*gorilla reaches down under the 'Bags' bus back seat, picks up mouthguard*
*sucks, swallows and bits down on mouthguard*

*walks onto field*

jersey_bluebags_1a.gif

Straight rums … I’ve had a few.

Regret is part of the human condition. We may regret what we have not done, or regret what we have done.

[Please click link and return with background music]
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BK3VbQV2csA

Regrets I've had a few.

I regret not having sex with my first real girlfriend. We were together between 15 and 18 years old and, despite a lot of lurve, we never fully consummated our relationship despite many opportunities. If I’d met her when I was 19, I’d have been in her pants, lickety-split.

I regret pawning and not redeeming a ring my mother gave me, which provided money to inject cocaine. I forgot, such is that sort of practice. I was 24, things had moved quickly after I was 19.

I've lived a life that's full
I traveled each and every highway

Apart from those two, I’d don’t regret anything , and I think that’s a lucky position to be in, as well as a good basic life philosophy.

Every league player has potential for regret, most all of them at retirement age and quitting time seem to have a similar philosophy. Inappropriate regret can cause terrible psychological unrest and when league players have a win-or-lose lifestyle and vocation, as well as being under scrutiny from team-mates, coach, club and fans, the players have to be very objective and manage possible regret.

I planned each charted course
Each careful step along the byway

Players, and for that matter, refs and club officials can’t afford regret. They can admit mistakes, accept responsibility, make amends or be forced into actions, but they can’t afford to regret. The code is chockers with ex-players who might say that their only regret is not winning or even appearing in a grand final. I think what they really mean is that is their one big disappointment or missed achievement – it’s rarely a reason for regret.

I did what I had to do
And saw it through without exemption

Does Harrigan as video-ref regret making the mistake(s) that saw him dropped ?

Does Kimmorley regret that intercept pass in Game 1, SOO 2005 ?

Do Phil (“What’s a packet of ..”) Sigsworth and Phil Duke regret their 1982 passing blunder that lost the match ?

Does the NSW SOO hierarchy regret losing Greg Inglis to Queensland ?

Does my brother regret not winning a Premiership after 8 years with one club, only to be forced out and then asked back, the year the club won their first Premiership ? Does he regret sticking by the hand-shake deal to join a new club rather than return to the one that asked him back and won ?

I think the key is if you didn’t have much choice or if you were doing your best, there is less chance for regret. When you measure up on the field and try your best, regret is less likely to blossom – for example losing a grand final might be shatteringly disappointing, but you have no need to regret unless there’s something you didn’t do when you could or did when you shouldn’t.

And now the end is near
And so I face the final curtain

This is my final year, here in competition. I won’t play after either this match or the next, depending on how we go. If we make it through I have a special recorded nudie run planned. If the ‘Bags don’t make it through, I won’t have regrets.

My friend I'll say it clear

I don’t regret spending time and effort on the posts.

I've loved, I've laughed and cried

I don’t regret making friends and lovin’ my team-mates.

Yes there were times I'm sure you knew
When I bit off more than I could chew

I don’t regret scores of 0, and I don’t regret scores of 10. If I didn’t score as high as I perhaps could, I didn’t feel I’d let my team down because when it came time, I gave it my best shot. I have no regrets.

For what is a man what has he got
If not himself then he has not
To say the things he truly feels
And not the words of one who kneels

I’ll also have no regrets about finishing up, so I approach it with a clear head and a calm heart.

And I stood tall and did it my way

The only thing is, I expect to have one more regret after the nudie run.

Lyrics: “My Way” - Paul Anka

749 words between the universes

TITs ANonymouS

TITs ANonymouS takes the field in what promises to be a dramatic game.

750 (OWC) between the lines.

rhino,thong.jpg

---------------------------------------------------

Tail End of the Season

With the pointy end of the season upon us, it’s time to reflect on one of the more serious aspects of our game. Obviously, I will be exposing the issue of nudity and its place in the modern game.

Are you confused? Wondering: “nudity? what nudity?” No, this isn’t about the ‘nudie run’ for those troglodytes that didn’t score a try. Why even mention them, they shouldn’t be in first grade. This is about something far more sinister.

Now F7 readers will know, I enjoy nothing more (well, perhaps my wife’s canard à l'orange fresh from Big Rooster served up with a cheeky little XXXX, goes close) than settling into my recliner and watching my Roosters cop another hiding on my LG 42” flat screen. Ah yes, that’s me in an Ode to a Masochist. But I digress, there I am getting a twist of indigestion from the footy not the food, when wham! Right in front of my family’s innocent eyes, just like seeing twins of Peter Sterling, undressed for the entire world to see, a naked arse close-up.

Now in fairness “mooning” is nothing new. Flavius Josephus recorded that in 66AD Roman soldiers would “moon” Jews on their way to the synagogue but I’d like to think that we’ve progressed since then. At this point, depending on what stage I am at during dinner, my 42” could well be sporting a fusion coating of duck à la fourex.

Crikey, what’s the world come to when a dinky-dye Aussie cannot enjoy the fruits of his labour (note to self, dole week next week, fill out form in advance) without having some clown’s posterior flaunted across my delicate sensibilities?

The cry of “he’s been dacked” is often trumpeted too late by the commentators for viewers to avert the eyes of those who haven’t reached maturity. Now surely if that happened to any of us we’d be shriveled with shame but not our hardened “professionals”. They get up nonchalantly, bend over and calmly play the ball. One can only wonder at their relationship with their dummy halves. Then as play proceeds, they shuffle back into position and almost as an afterthought, reach down and hitch their shorts back into place – public flossing should be outlawed.

It does appear that this phenomenon plagues some players more than others. It’s rather unfortunate that these same afflicted players resemble more of a Humphrey Bear physique rather than a Roosters Cheer squad member.

Some of the more notable offenders are also some of our most beloved players – is there a connection?

Arthur Beetson is one of the all time rugby league legends and great character. He was larger than life on the field in more ways than one. Always struggling to find a pair of dacks that could cover his girth, it seems he often lost the battle against gravity often exposing his cheeky side.

Glenn Lazarus was a giant, carving a pathway up the middle of the ruck. However, the bigger they are the harder they fall, and his fell not only with a bang but all too frequently too boot. Who could forget the incomparable ‘Dell and his “puppies”? The horror, the horror.

The first prize however goes to the ever young Nathan Hindmarsh. Now he has been running around the NRL seemingly forever. I wouldn’t be surprised if his first game was captured in black and white. Nathan has racked up many records in his long and distinguished career but there is one facet of his game that has often demonstrated his other face.

The clue for this is the HIND in his surname, surely a gee-up, because that's the one piece of his anatomy that Parramatta fans get to cheer week in and out. Considered one of the toughest players ever, having been compared to the likes of Ray Price, it does seems strange that such a successful professional player cannot afford a pair of shorts that fit? It’s not strange it’s weird. Not only does he do it frequently, but he seems neither embarrassed or in any way disturbed by these exhibitionist tendencies.

The facts are plain for all to see that the moral fibre of the game is being eroded and it’s only the tip of the iceberg. If we don’t take a stand here and now, soon we will be watching Dave Shillington running on to the field in a thong!

Stand with me league lovers and join the AFL (Gigantic Anuses Yanked From League).

----------------------------------------------------

tits&tans

tits&tans for the Titans is on the field and is firm of fetlock and in fine fettle.

750 OWC between the stars

f.jpg

Step Back

It’s not often that you get to step outside your own existence and view your world from a wholly different point of view. My life before China was relatively normal for a mid-twenty something guy. I had a girlfriend and a bunch of mates. We got together at weekends for the footy and other celebrations. I had a decent income, good holidays and a relaxed lifestyle. My Nanjing life isn’t so different, except footy has been relegated to the occasional televised game at the expat pub.

I was recently asked to deliver a two-lecture series at Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics on the topic “A Western Life”. However useful these talks are as promotional tools, I dislike them for the simple reason that questions invariably converge on the same topics I've heard every day for the last 6 years (salary, wife, Chinese food).

I decided that I would provide the students with an insight into my personal life at home, including details of pub nights out and games at Skilled Park. I am used to students concentrating hard as they listen, even looking bored, but these students soon looked terrified, fascinated, disgusted and, at the same time, totally confused. I began to suspect they hadn’t followed everything, so I checked some vocabulary – mate? boozer? fairy? whacker? – no problem. Rugby? Aha! I had diagnosed the problem. They didn’t know what rugby was, and as such a large proportion of my talk was dedicated this, there was no wonder they looked as they did.

They knew the Chinese translation but had no real comprehension of the meaning. It’s one thing to explain rugby to an American, but it’s a unique experience to explain to a group of 20-something Chinese students. Americans, at least, have some basis of comparison through their football, but these “kids” had absolutely no reference point.

I hadn’t realized there was so much specific rugby-related vocabulary, and even simple words like try, tackle and pitch caused problems, let alone winger, prop and five-eight. Even with diagrams on the board, physical demonstrations with volunteers from the audience, I wasn’t convinced they fully understood.

Team sports are a funny thing in China, in that, they don’t really exist. Sure, there are basketball and soccer teams, even a few rugby teams, but these are merely shadows of their international counterparts and the majority of Chinese sports aficionados spurn such institutions, because of the institutionalised corruption and poor showmanship.

Over the years, I have watched many local teams’ “training sessions”. Players spend a lot of time practising simple drills, which are group-based and orchestrated by player-coaches; for example, a few players kick balls into the air whilst the others line up and catch them. For each catching player there is a flurry of activity and then they wait. Very rarely do players get a chance to be involved in a practice game and 90% of such sessions are dedicated to refining these sub-skills.

In fact, the concept of a team here in China is different. A team is not necessarily concerned with the best collective outcome, but rather how the group success and other members’ strengths can benefit the individual. As such, my audience saw no problem with a player switching clubs or codes if there were better prospects elsewhere.

After requests from students, I changed my second lecture into watching a recorded match. There were claps, cries of ‘Oh my God!’, covered faces, cheers and almost tears. I was then peppered with questions that made me really think about and carefully explain my game: Doesn’t it hurt? Is it real (some thought it was like WWE)? Do they receive a high salary? Do women play this? Why would you do this for fun? Do the players smell? It looks like fighting – who controls it? A hooker? (plus giggles)

Below are a few of the best questions. I have paraphrased and improved the English. Prizes for correct answers!
Why is it called a try if you have actually succeeded?
Why pass backwards? Isn’t it more in keeping with the intended forward momentum to pass forwards?
Why 13 players? Isn’t that an unlucky number?
Has anyone ever died from or been arrested because of a tackle?
Why are there no video-decisions?
Why are so many of the top teams named after animals?
In anything and everything we do, it’s always good to get a fresh perspective, and I would recommend you to take any opportunity you may have to do so.

Willow | Bluebags

The Col hard facts

Pearce-Col-1964_100x144.jpg

With news that Robert Finch might quit as NRL referee boss, it gives us time for reflection on the role of referees in the game.

There's plenty of talk around that a ref blunder may decide the outcome of the 2010 grand final. The facts are that referees make mistakes, and it has been that way for generations. This is true in all sports, rugby league, soccer, even the F7s. However, there are a few simple approaches a referee can take in order to minimise the chance of mistake.

Sadly, the best man to explain this isn't with us anymore.

As long as we've had referees, we've had critics. The pioneers came from rugby football stock, they learned the rules of the game, and are still learning to this day.

Let's face it, refereeing is a job that few people want. When we think of refs, we often think of the stuff ups - the games when we were 'robbed'.

Perhaps it's unfortunate that the most famous refs are those that caused the most controversy. In my father's generation, this included former Balmain player George Bishop. Bishop is remembered for his 'oversights' as a ref. In the 1946 decider, he virtually handed the premiership to Balmain following a rash of bizarre rulings in favour of his former club. In 1952, Souths captain Jack Rayner was so disgusted with Bishop's refereeing that the two men never spoke again. Another well known man-in-the-middle was Darcy Lawler. He became known to history after it was alleged he was betting on the outcome of the 1963 grand final. In more recent decades the game has seen attention focussing on the wondrous egos of Greg Hartley and Bill Harrigan, both have been noted for enjoying the spotlight.

Suffice to say, few refs have a fan club. They'll often get booed. They receive no cheers when entering the field and no applause when leaving.

But I'm here to give a wrap to one particular referee.

If there is a Hall of Fame for whistle blowers, Col Pearce's name would be up front and centre.

Colin Frederick Pearce was born in Newtown in 1917. He began refereeing in 1946, debuting in first grade just one season later in 1947. In 1951, He was elected to the Rugby League Referee's Examination Board. By the time he retired in 1968, Col had looked after no less than 522 games, including six grand finals. He also controlled nine Test matches and three World Cup matches.

In Gregory's Guide to Rugby League (1965) Pearce explained the basis of an excellent philosophy: the importance to remain unnoticed on the field and help the players to turn on a good show for spectators.

"By this, I don't mean the referee should make himself the centre of attraction. In fact, the reverse is true. Of all the men on the field the referee should be the most unobtrusive. The less the spectators notice the referee, the better he is." Pearce said.

If only the 'Hollywood' duo of Hartley and Harrigan could take note.

Pearce stressed that apart from family, no one has ever gone to a game to watch a man blow a whistle.

"Generally if the crowd is talking about the referee it's because he's giving the game more whistle stops than a country milk train."

In addition to allowing the game to flow, Pearce also knew when to be authoritative. In particular, he made his views clear on players that deliberately went out to 'get' an opponent.

"This player rates no caution from me - only an early shower," he said.

"Some players just won't listen to good advice, if the referee doesn't do something about it, the whole team will soon be fighting."

After hanging up the whistle, Pearce had a long career as a league commentator on TV, radio and in the press. I was too young when he was a ref, but I became a reader of his column in The Sydney Morning Herald - he provided practical solutions to the refereeing controversies of the day.

His writing style was just like his refereeing; straight forward, unbiased and fair dinkum.

If there's a universal handbook for referees, Col Pearce's philosophy should be on page one.

On June 10, 2004, Col Pearce, the man who said referees should "eat, sleep and drink the rules of rugby league", died from pneumonia, aged 86.

If we could clone Col, I'd be pushing for him to take over Robert Finch's job tomorrow.

|750 words|

Ref:
Gregorys-guide-to-RL_200x316.jpg

Drew-Sta

Drew for the Bags!

---

The Winner Takes It All

“Pssst.”

“Hmm?”

“Pssst!”

“What? Who’s that?”

Willie stepped out of the shadows and sat down at the park bench, his trench coat not quite long enough to cover his knees and the fedora hat pulled down over his eyes. The single street lamp was the only light in all the street.

Brett, poorly concealed in the bushes, jumped out with great effect into the light and sat down next to Willie. He too was dressed in a black trench coat but wore a skull cap with a little helicopter blade on the top, normally worn by kids

“Stop hissing, you moron.” Willie said with an air of contempt. “By the way, you look like an idiot.”

“Did you bring money, Uncy Willie?”

“O’course I did.” Willie pulled a thick wad of cash out of his coats inside pocket.

“Now, you remember what the bet is, right?” Willie asked with a stern face.

“Cowboys, first points, penalty goal.” Brett replied, a look of strong concentration passing over his face.

“Good. Did you talk to your dad?”

“Daddy? Where?” Brett’s eyes lit up and he looked around like a child in trouble.

Willie rolled his eyes and groaned.

“This was so much easier when Joey was around,” He mumbled.

“Brett, I meant did you tell your dad about the game?” Willie pressed.

“What game?” Brett replied, a blank look crossing his face.

“The Cowboys and Bulldogs game this round.” Willie patiently exhorted. “You know, the one we have fixed?”

“Oh, right.” Brett giggled awkwardly then hiccupped. “Daddy knows. Daddy told the referee man. He said ‘It’s all set!’”

“Good boy. Now, give your daddy this money.” Willie handed Brett the wad of cash.

“What bout me?” Brett cried out, a little too loudly and a look of disappointment washing across him.

“Shh shh shh…” Willie calmed. “I didn’t forget, here you go.” Willie pulled out of his jacket pocket a chuppa chup and handed it across to him.

“Aww, you remembered. Thanks Uncy Willy!” Brett leaned across and embraced Willy in an awkward hug.

Suddenly, a sound outside the light was heard and Brett, unsure of what it was, ran off in the opposite direction yelling ‘Monster!’ Willie looked on with a look of distaste before standing up.

The sound, which was actually only the engine of a car, grew louder before stopping. A door opening and closing was heard, before another person stepped into the light.

“Ryan, good to see you,” Willie greeted, extending his hand in welcome.

“Good to see you too Willie,” Ryan responded, returning the handshake.

“So, are you ready to do this?” Willie asked.

“As ready as I’ll ever be.” Although his voice was level, his body language betrayed a certain nervousness.

“Look, I know you’re anxious about all this. The first one is never easy. Are you sure you want to go through with it? I’ve got a couple of other boys who will happily do it.”

“I know, I know, but I need the money,” Ryan said in a resigned voice. “I’m down a fair bit mate.”

“Just remember, the ref will get you in the position, all you have to do is keep your head.” Willie felt inside his jacket and pulled out another wad of cash. “This will pay off your debt, and the rest will come when you do it. Don’t forget – He’s watching. It won’t matter how far down you are now, if you don’t go through with it he’ll do ten times worse.”

Ryan nodded, visibly scared by the whole matter. “Thanks mate, I won’t let you down.”

Ryan shook Willie’s hand again and then left the light. The car door was heard to open and close before the engine started and the vehicle left earshot.

Willie looked left, then right. Finally, he pulled a mobile out from his jacket. Dialling a number, he waited a few seconds before speaking.

“It’s done. Ref’s know, Ryan knows, we’re all clear. Make the bet.”

Willie paused for a few seconds before continuing.

“Don’t worry, this will all go according to plan. When you leak this to the press, and the police get hold of it, the NRL’s TV rights will no doubt plummet and we’ll have the game where we want it once more. It’s a brilliant plan, Mr Murdoch, and a pleasure doing business with you.”

Willie hangs up the phone before walking out of the light and into the dark.

Titanic

Titanic for the Titans (750 OWC)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
images

The Bench

We were never properly introduced, well certainly not in the manner that would have satisfied an English gentleman. A perfunctory grunt and a stabbing finger pointing towards a plot of unremarkable, unmarked turf in answer to my tremulous “where do I go, sir?” was how I first encountered you.

In fact, for weeks after, I wondered if my Grade 1 lessons had somehow been erroneous: table, chair, lounge, bed, bench… a simple progression in primary school vocabulary, along with those mystical characters Dick and Dora. Dick and Dora sat on the bench.

No matter where I ventured along with my mates of the Under 6 Stone team, no matter where we “played” it wasn’t until I was commanded “you’re on, get off the bench” that I realised you were there. Sorry about that.

In those days when three syllable words such as ‘interchange’ and ‘rotation’ were just a glimmer in the eye of big Jack Gibson and only occasional visitors to my not too memorable schoolboy essays, I became well acquainted if not overly comfortable with you. We formed an unholy bond. You were always there for me and like a selfish prig I spurned you.

Reminiscing of our brief encounters at later times reclaims more feelings of guilt, somewhat akin to those from local dances when I would look around to find that there was only one girl left not dancing. Oh yes, you were always there but I had expectations.

Life is never a constant. We grow and we mature. Rules do change but not as often or as spectacularly as our physiques develop. Sadly egos too often outstrip them both and I was no different. I shunned you and even when we were forced together by the undeniable necessity of injury I treated you with disdain. Oh how I lamented to anybody who was prepared to listen; of my woes at being required, at being instructed, at being forced to renew our acquaintance.

Time is a wonderful mentor and plays the pivotal role in character development. By the time I reached adulthood my dreams had been tempered by reality. Now I was ‘wise’, now I was worldly, now I knew my destiny. Just the thought of having the chance to be with you would make it all right. I could show them. I could impress them, if only they would let me be with you. You were always there for me and like a slobbering ghoul, I coveted you.

Bright lights and baubles, wealth and indulgence, heroics and invulnerability; a prescription for stardom and its rancid cousin - conceit. That pinnacle reached but the pathway forgotten. The lessons learned but the teacher rebuffed. The castle claimed yet the foundations ignored. The dreams begot in a feast of blinkered naivety. You were always there for me and I had discarded you.

I didn’t care. Why did I need you? Who were you to me? I controlled my destiny. The queues at my door were endless, the phone calls unceasing. Why run with the turkeys when I could fly with the Eagles?

Ah ha! Fickle fate and fame… you vile temptresses, no better than wanton slatterns. Glory, victory, success… you harbingers of pride, you lighthouses on the shoals of demise. How quickly our moment in the sun flashes and splutters and wanes.

I should have heeded the signs. I should have faced the inevitable. The "three syllables" had become a reality and we again were thrust together albeit fleetingly, albeit increasingly. Recognition was slow, like the dawning of a new season. Understanding was slower, like being diagnosed with some withering terminal disease. I needed you, I looked for you and you were there.

When you took me back, busted but not broken, bandaged but not beaten the cycle was nearly complete. My roller-coaster ride and your metamorphosis’, from the patch of nameless turf via the wooden splinter impacted and weather-scarred plank to the designer extruded-plastic chair, were always destined to become as one.

Tradition cannot be denied. I had surpassed my modest beginnings. I had climbed the dizzying heights. I had weathered the vagaries of arrogance and now it is time to atone, to give back.

So here we are again. Me: surrounded by young, fertile, innocent, enquiring youth. And you: wonderful in your steadfastness, as I give a seemingly disinterested grunt and a pointed finger indicating a plot of truly remarkable, almost magical piece of turf in answer to a tremulous “where do I go, sir?”
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wow.. that was nearly as much extra time as roosters v tigers..

good work both sides.. should be a close one..

Titanic

It always full-time somewhere in the world.

Great game guys and it will be close judging by this:

Bluebags v Titans – The History

2010 WC Final Bluebags 262 def Titans 261
2010 Round 1 Titans 426 def Bluebags 421
2009 Grand Final Bluebags 445 def Titans 444
2009 Major Semi Bluebags 452 def Titans 449
2009 Round 1 Bluebags 439 def Titans 438
2008 Grand Final Titans 449 def Bluebags 448
2008 Round 8 Bluebags 443 drew Titans 443

Collectively: Bluebags 2910 Titans 2910