Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pretentious wanker?

Well which is it?

Lambretta

I am sitting here watching the Dragons play the Bulldogs whilst drinking a Four Wives Pilsner. Nothing really unusual with beer and footy. But the thing that worries me is that I'm currently decanting a 2006 Shiraz, Merlot, Tempranillo.

I haven't started drinking the wine yet as it needs a couple of hours to breathe having spent 7 years in a bottle.

Does this make me a man of taste and distinction or a pretentious wanker?

Bandwagon

Entirely depends on the vessel used to decant

Lead crystal and ornate - Pretentious wanker

Plastic bucket - Bogan fail

Somewhere in between - enjoy and don't give a f**k.

Lambretta

It was a lead crystal meth bucket

(actually it was a plain glass decanter that I bought at Victoria's basement on the cheap)

gUt

Did you pour it into your decanter over the belly of a supermodel, an arts student or a tramp?

gUt

In all seriousness, at Friday work drinks today I mentioned that lately I've been getting into red wine as opposed to only drinking beer and I got called feminine. By a lesbian.

Amadaca

I am sitting here watching the Dragons play the Bulldogs whilst drinking a Four Wives Pilsner. Nothing really unusual with beer and footy. But the thing that worries me is that I'm currently decanting a 2006 Shiraz, Merlot, Tempranillo.

I haven't started drinking the wine yet as it needs a couple of hours to breathe having spent 7 years in a bottle.

Does this make me a man of taste and distinction or a pretentious wanker?

You are a pretentious wanker, bht its not your fault --- you didn't ask to be born Italian.

Lambretta

You are a pretentious wanker, bht its not your fault --- you didn't ask to be born Italian.

f**king hell, Buckinghamshire is now in Italy
Miltono Keynesiono

Suddenly I feel more exotic. Well more exotic than I do by pouring my wine into the decanter over the stomach of a Thai Ladyboy biker.

I feel the need for self abuse and a nice glass of red coming on.

Lambretta

In all seriousness, at Friday work drinks today I mentioned that lately I've been getting into red wine as opposed to only drinking beer and I got called feminine. By a lesbian.

:lol: life in Brisbane? You couldn't make this shit up.

If there was alot of sediment, then its ok.
If the wine was clear, then the act of decanting was gratuitous, which makes you a utter wanker.

Lambretta

If there was alot of sediment, then its ok.
If the wine was clear, then the act of decanting was gratuitous, which makes you a utter wanker.

Decanting has a dual purpose - the large area inside the bottle allows wine to breathe. The filter used collects the sediment

For optimum taste, wine should be decanted the day before drinking

PS - you never can tell how much sediment there will be in a bottle until you've poured some out

PPS. I'm deflecting cos there was no sediment :eek: