Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

qld team announced

lockyno1

bowen_1 said:
pffftt locky, you have absolutely no idea mate. Have you ever come across anyone that actually agrees with you?

If you think I care about other posters think again mate. In the end its a open forum- I always post my opinions regardless of how they may seem. So in my opinion the QLD is good but if we replace Bowen with Hunt and Berrigan with Bowen it is a BETTER side.

lockyno1 said:
If we will miss anyone it will be crocker. But then again Flannery should be back by game 2 shouldn't he?

Locky do you actually watch games? Seriously? The amount of shyte you produce is beyond comprehension.

As for Flannery what will he offer to the team? H

Jordan

Bowen is a bit suspect under the high ball at times, yes... But he has played in a lot of big games and I haven't really seen him stuff up in those sorts of games where it matters most. He'll rise to the occasion.

lockyno1

Mr Saab said:
As for Flannery what will he offer to the team? H

More than Berrigan thats a given! Heck I like Berrigan but f..k me if he is in our Origin team we are screwed!

lockyno1

Jordan said:
Bowen is a bit suspect under the high ball at times, yes... But he has played in a lot of big games and I haven't really seen him stuff up in those sorts of games where it matters most. He'll rise to the occasion.

Maybe but you telling me he can't do it from the bench? I like bowen, heck I go to the footy to see players like him play- its exciting. But at the end of the day a safer fullback may be better when the heat is on in the first 30 minutes!

lockyno1 said:
More than Berrigan thats a given! Heck I like Berrigan but f..k me if he is in our Origin team we are screwed!

Flannery offers nothing in origin. He is not even good enough as a utility as he has no spark. He is a club footballer and nothing more. He is in the Casey Mcguire mode...except Casey can be useful out of dummy half.
Why you have raps on Flannery is beyond me

Ghoulies

Bowen is not a utility; he can cover fullback and that's it. I'd have thought last years Origin series put an end to that idea.

lockyno1

Mr Saab said:
Flannery offers nothing in origin. He is not even good enough as a utility as he has no spark. He is a club footballer and nothing more. He is in the Casey Mcguire mode...except Casey can be useful out of dummy half.

Mate I don't have many raps on Flannery but he is better than Berrigan! You cannot tell me Berrigan has played more than 1 decent game this year! Its a terrible selection. If he played a few more weeks at hooker and was as good as last week then fine but 1 week should not get you a origin cap. Why do we need a hooker? Smith will play 80 mins and we have bowen if needed. We need a bacrower/centre. Please don't tell me you think Berrigan is a good rep centre. There are better options that can be bacrowers/centres. Flannery is one of them.

lockyno1

Ghoulies said:
Bowen is not a utility; he can cover fullback and that's it. I'd have thought last years Origin series put an end to that idea.

Bowen can play wing and dummy half and can replace the fullback after 65 mins as well. Good utility!

kay

Rastus_in_Melbourne said:
Qld would look better to have Hunt instead of Berrigan in the bench. Berrigan just seems to run hot and cold.

yeh its a bit disappointing no hunt. i think berrigan wasn't good enough for a starting spot but it turned out bad for the other utility options due to berrigans experience.

Pierced Soul

Mr Saab said:

agree 100%. Flannery seems a pretty overated player. yes he can 'cover' several positions but he doesnt seem to excel at any of them. there are times i've seen him heavily involved with the roosters and played well but these games seems to be few and far between.

Flannery has had quite a number of chances at origin and never shown anything special.

lockyno1

Pierced Soul said:
agree 100%. Flannery seems a pretty overated player. yes he can 'cover' several positions but he doesnt seem to excel at any of them. there are times i've seen him heavily involved with the roosters and played well but these games seems to be few and far between.

Flannery has had quite a number of chances at origin and never shown anything special.

Look I am not disputing that one bit but are you saying Berrigan is excellent at any of his "covering" positions. At best he is a ok hooker, a average centre and a average backrower!

Ghoulies

lockyno1 said:
Bowen can play wing and dummy half and can replace the fullback after 65 mins as well.
Can he play wing and dummy half well? No. That question was answered last year when Super Coach Hagan subbed Cam Smith off just when QLD were starting to dominate. Also, who needs a utility to play wing? If a winger goes down, we merely shift a centre out there.

lockyno1

Ghoulies said:
Can he play wing and dummy half well? No. That question was answered last year when Super Coach Hagan subbed Cam Smith off just when QLD were starting to dominate. Also, who needs a utility to play wing? If a winger goes down, we merely shift a centre out there.

Ok so are you saying BERRIGAN deserved his spot though? My opinion is that its a joke and Bowen although he doesn't cover many positions "very well" can be used as a matchwinner from the bench and sub off Hunt (who I would have had at fullback).

Pierced Soul

lockyno1, i'm not suggesting berrigan is the answer either, just stating that flannery sure as hell isnt.

i think the problem a lot of rep teams and coaches fall into is the myth of the utlity player. sure certain players can play in diff positions and do so ok, but how many 'utilities' can excel in all their positions?

I'm not convinced bowen could cover a lot of postions well but he could probably play in them and do ok. as can berrigan. I mean if they wanted an in-form utility casey mcguire would have been good. he's gone well at hooker, can play in the halves and played in the centres (not well but he's played there).

i think the better scenrio would have been hunt to fullback with bowen off the bench with berro left out

lockyno1

Pierced Soul said:
lockyno1, i'm not suggesting berrigan is the answer either, just stating that flannery sure as hell isnt.

i think the problem a lot of rep teams and coaches fall into is the myth of the utlity player. sure certain players can play in diff positions and do so ok, but how many 'utilities' can excel in all their positions?

I'm not convinced bowen could cover a lot of postions well but he could probably play in them and do ok. as can berrigan. I mean if they wanted an in-form utility casey mcguire would have been good. he's gone well at hooker, can play in the halves and played in the centres (not well but he's played there).

i think the better scenrio would have been hunt to fullback with bowen off the bench with berro left out

Macguire is injured though. He probally would not have even been considered due to injury. As for the last line that is EXACTLY what I have been saying!

Dazzat

There's a couple of big blokes who although they are playing well didn't get picked ... being Tronc and Shillington. You could add Leyroyd-Lars as well. You can see that the selectors are following NSW's lead and picking more mobile forwards. NSW have only one front rower on the bench being O'Meley. I reckon second row is the preferred position for Thaiday, Webb and Myles.

NSW won last year because they had better halves (Johns), and bigger backs. The forwards virtually cancelled each other out. This year Queensland has better halves and if Gasnier and Copper don't play, we'll have far better 3/4s.

And don't forget no Minichello ... a big plus.

Panthers_God

I cannot believe Matt Sing wasnt named.

I wouldve but Bell into centre at the expensive of Brent Tate and added in Sing. He is the best specialist winger in the game

andrew057

lol @ lockyno1

About the team, not too bad this year, few crucial suspensions have hurt us, but Im glad Mal has picked the majority of the team on form. Few questionables with Berrigan and Stagg, but I like the rest of the team.