Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

R4 | Knights 26-14 Panthers @ Hunter | Sat 3.00pm

Round 4 result : Knights vs Panthers

aqua_duck

Wondering who Jack Stockwell pissed off to get shunned at the dragons considering how pathetic their pack is, the guy has impressed me so far

voltron

great game for part of it
but I'm happy for the win.
It really feels like we bring the opposition to our level and then bash them.
I'm enjoying that.

Just on the Idris try, I think the No try was the right call, because Idris comes down and it seems like he puts it on the line, but if you watch, there is no movement from Gidley, no twisting or trying to move the ball up.
and when they peel off the ball is off the ground.
so it would seem that the ball never hit the ground.

Noname36

Really great team performance. The boys are still making a heap of silly errors but they're really digging in to defend one another's errors which is a great sign.

I almost hate to say it, but House had a good game. I thought Fa'alogo was much better starting too. IMO he should either be a starter or in NSW Cup.

I thought they all played really well. Gagai had a poor game but I'll forgive him after what he's done for us this year. I thought Randall was quite poor out of dummy half but i'll give him the benefit of the doubt given he hasn't played any footy in a couple of weeks.

I thought Clydesdale had a great game and I was very impressed with Sione's defence. I was worried with McManus being out but the kid really made some good reads. Scott was huge for us...no surprises there. The wingers were strong under the high ball and the centres provided them with some good blocks.

I thought our attack showed some improvement. No coincidence it came with Mullo having a good game. How freaking tough is he by the way? Injures his neck last weekend and he was running like a front rower today lol.

I think it's a really good sign our attack started to show some real improvement and we didn't even need to rely on BJ and Gagai too much.

Huge effort from young Tapine to back up and play after nearly playing a full NSW Cup game in that heat. Hopefully Rochow's back is okay but if it had to happen at least it did with Tariq coming back next week which I'm heaps excited about!

Burwood

My only question over the game is why they stopped the offloads after they were so effective in the opening stanza. They were the reason we were making easy metres and looked so dangerous, yet after the 20 minute mark there was only one offload for the remainder of the game. However, I guess it is pleasing that they know when to dial things back a notch and play a bit smarter footy.

lafai

Good stuff Knights. Why the f**k are Gidley, Houston and Fa'alogo there? Sims bros and Mamo can replace them when all healthy.

Noname36

Good stuff Knights. Why the f**k are Gidley, Houston and Fa'alogo there? Sims bros and Mamo can replace them when all healthy.

We ask ourselves that question a lot re Houston (all the time) and Fa'alogo (this year) but to their credit they were both good today. Mamo's not ready yet to be at fullback in first grade and needs a bit more time to develop in that position (although he looked very safe back there today in NSW Cup from what I saw). Gidley is actually pretty decent at fullback so I don't mind him being back there...he's our best option there anyway.

At this point in time there is no one at the club I would have at fullback over gidley. Maybe Ross.

To his credit, gids has played quite well, and always has at fullback.

Apey

Please keep Gidley there. He is considerably less awful at fullback.

aqua_duck

Is love to see Mamo play either 5/8th or fullback in NSW cup for a year or 2, let him learn to play in the spine and be patient, Penrith had Moylan in NSW cup for 2 years learning his trade, the problem is at the moment he spends half his time in nSW cup on the wing

undertaker

Couple of interesting stats after today's win

1) First time we have won the first four games of the season since Rd 4, 2002
2) First time we have been in outright first (on points) since Rd 25, 2002

A good chance we can make it 5 in a row against the Dragons, although they are one of our bogey sides at home (3-12 record, the team we have the lowest W-L ratio against at home). Excellent crowd, getting 20k on a Saturday afternoon against the Panthers. Another 20k+ crowd turning up next week (hopefully we can get at least 25k), and the Dragons will bring quite a bit of away support like they normally do.

Interesting having a look at that side during that 11 game winning streak (Rd 25 2001 - Rd 6 2002). Kurt Gidley and Clint Newton are the only two players still going around

a pretty solid effort but without Segeyaro and Soward I can't take much away from it. We let Moylan run their attack far too easily in the second half whereas we nullified him in the first. Wallace was never the threat. The big hits and pressure should have been aimed at Moylan. He plays 5/8 anyway in attack.

Jono078

We have the second best defense in the comp too (Dragons better than us by .5 points per game).

When was the last time we were at the top of the table with the best defense? In the past we were at the top because we were the best attacking team.

We have the second best defense in the comp too (Dragons better than us by .5 points per game).

When was the last time we were at the top of the table with the best defense? In the past we were at the top because we were the best attacking team.

Could indicate that our game against the dragons will be low scoring.

The dragons aren't easy beats, they do have attack issues but they defended against manly quite well last night.

The game on Saturday night will be a ripper. Dragons were always going to come good. Mary is a fine coach. Dragons have , like us, fast adapted to ball movement around the middle of the ruck to tire out the impact of the big boys. You don't need the Bulldogs or Souths packs anymore. In fact I think both those sides could struggle in the back half of the year. Tigers, us and Dragons all have fast and skilled backs. All look top 8 material.

slotmachine

The Dragons are hopeless. 5/5.

As for that muppet MacGregor, he had his best player starting on the bench for the first three rounds.

Are they really! MacGregor is a muppet based on what criteria exactly? You would pretty much expect that kind of negative response from you. I am highlighting the fact the big sides rely on structure and once you challenge that they fall apart. Parra did the same on Friday night by dismantling Souths by making them play football.

Noname36

Not sure if I rate Mary but the Dragons have improved a lot since round 1 (even if Manly were crap last night). They certainly won't be an easy beat. Hopefully last season ended the hoodoo of us not being able to beat them at home.