Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Raiders vs. Cowboys - Team Named

Timbo

The CFMEU Canberra Raiders have named Brett Kelly on the wing for the Raiders round 15 clash against the North Queensland Cowboys at Canberra Stadium, after he made a successful return to football last weekend through Premier League.
Kelly has been sidelined since injuring his ankle against the Panthers in round seven, and returns to the line-up for Bronx Goodwin who has shifted back to Premier League.
Troy Thompson has been named in the starting line-up in his 100th NRL match which shifts Dane Tilse back to the bench, while Trevor Thurling, Ben Jones and Ryan Hinchcliffe have been named on an extended Raiders bench.
NRL ROUND 15
CANBERRA RAIDERS V NORTH QUEENSLAND COWBOYS
CANBERRA STADIUM, SATURDAY JUNE 23, 5.30pm
1. WILLIAM ZILLMAN
2. DAVID MILNE
3. MARSHALL CHALK
4. COLIN BEST
5. BRETT KELLY
6. TERRY CAMPESE
7. MICHAEL DOBSON
8. TROY THOMPSON
9. LINCOLN WITHERS
10. SCOTT LOGAN
11. NEVILLE COSTIGAN
12. GLEN TURNER
13. ALAN TONGUE (c)

14. JOSH MILLER
15. DANE TILSE
16. BEN JONES
17. NIGEL PLUM
18. BRAD CROSS
19. TREVOR THURLING
20. RYAN HINCHCLIFFE

-------------

Kelly in for Goodwin? Strongly disagree there. Goodwin was only looking better. And why does Jones keep getting in ahead of Thurling ffs? Also I hope he doesn't do what he did last night and bring in cross. A three-quater on the bench is a massive waste.

The Horse

i think we missed jones's clean up work last night and don't mind that selection. In saying that i think thurling should definatley get a go. I would have left the wingers alone but kelly looked quite good in his games this year so not too fussed. Has carney been named in PL?

Hope Carney gets brought into FG , even though not named , Thurling must be getting sick of been named 18th man every week , deserves his chance at FG , with weyman missing I thought we lacked penetration in the forwards , Tilse doesnt seem to bend back the defensive line , Logan appears to be the lone man at the moment.

dubby

I expected Goodwin to be relegated.....dubby has the contacts!?

I think Hinchy is there for Linc who busted his knee, but Linc will play one legged he is so tough. I think we will need a zippy half for the Cows game and a solid marker defence to lock up Payne. Linc will be given until the 11th hour to prove himself.

Jones work ethic was missed last night, but I thought Turner and Plum done enough to warrant their positions. I would like to see Thurling given another go. He is a tough runner but I think his disipline lets him down.

Tilse is getting a bench spot to allow Thommo to run out for his 100th game. Henry is a good guy that way. Miller, Chalk and Tilse suffered some head knocks last night which is why we see Jones, Cross and THurling bought in....but they should be ok.

Macko8

Good looking side IMO, we'll have thommos punch in the forwards from the very start, he and logan should go great guns adding the experience.

Great to see brett kelly back in on the wing, i rate this bloke heaps. His strong in attack and defence, has speed.

aussies1st

Our forward packed lacked that go forward which a Thurling would give. Thompson and Miller are workhorses rather that go forward men.

Chachi

I'm happy with those changes. Goodwin made some really poor judgement errors and I think he'll benefit from some time off to reflect on his game. I know some people have flagged a shift for him to his preferred FB position, but right now I think there is no way we should move Zillman who IMO is rapidly becoming one of our most consistent performers for us.

Thommo replacing Tilse in the starting lineup is also a good move. I think Tilse has progressed reasonably well, but is probably starting to feel the effects of his first full season. Hopefully a bench start will allow him to play more of an impact role and we might see a few more offloads as a consequence. Thommo has been rubbished by many people on this forum, but I think he's done a great job over the past month or so and will do the business for us in partnership with Logan.

I'm also (strangely) happy to keep Michael "Hometown Specialist" Dobson in the side. It's round 15, which is an odd number, which means he's due for a good game.

Should be a ripper.

Timbo

Chachi said:
I'm happy with those changes. Goodwin made some really poor judgement errors and I think he'll benefit from some time off to reflect on his game. I know some people have flagged a shift for him to his preferred FB position, but right now I think there is no way we should move Zillman who IMO is rapidly becoming one of our most consistent performers for us.

Sure about that? I think he's our most inconsistent player by a long way. Either red-hot or absent.

Tokyo_Raider

dubby said:
I expected Goodwin to be relegated.....dubby has the contacts!?

I think Hinchy is there for Linc who busted his knee, but Linc will play one legged he is so tough. I think we will need a zippy half for the Cows game and a solid marker defence to lock up Payne. Linc will be given until the 11th hour to prove himself.

Jones work ethic was missed last night, but I thought Turner and Plum done enough to warrant their positions. I would like to see Thurling given another go. He is a tough runner but I think his disipline lets him down.

Tilse is getting a bench spot to allow Thommo to run out for his 100th game. Henry is a good guy that way. Miller, Chalk and Tilse suffered some head knocks last night which is why we see Jones, Cross and THurling bought in....but they should be ok.

Good stuff - thanks Dubby.

Cowboys team to play Canberra

1.Matt Bowen
2.Brenton Bowen
3.Scott Minto
4.Ashley Graham
5.Ty Williams
6.Justin Smith
7.Johnathan Thurston (c)
8.Shane Tronc
9.Aaron Payne
10.Carl Webb
11.Steve Southern
12.Jacob Lillyman
13.Sione Faumuina
Int -
14.David Faiumu
15.Jason Smith
16.Matthew Bartlett
17.Ray Cashmere
18.Mark Henry (one to be omitted).

Chachi

Timbo said:
Sure about that? I think he's our most inconsistent player by a long way. Either red-hot or absent.
Well, I'm not sure if I've seen a red-hot Zillman apart from that first Knights game for a start, but notwithstanding that, I think his positional play has improved dramatically and he's really starting to show great ability in that last line of defence. Every game he's always thereabouts in support and is starting to read opportunities for offloads in the middle of the ruck.

I think he's been outstanding for someone who has taken over from our captain and an origin quality player. On top of that he's our top tryscorer without having the benefit of Carney on his inside in recent times. Neil Henry rated him as our best back in the Canberra Times on the weekend and personally I see no reason to disagree with that assessment.

Yes he's got areas in his game that can improve, but for a rookie playing in one of the toughest positions on the park I think he's been outstanding.

Chachi

dubby said:
Tilse is getting a bench spot to allow Thommo to run out for his 100th game.
Do you think that's the only reason he's getting the promotion dubby, or do you think it'll be a bit more permanant if he performs?

raidersforme

Chachi said:
Well, I'm not sure if I've seen a red-hot Zillman apart from that first Knights game for a start, but notwithstanding that, I think his positional play has improved dramatically and he's really starting to show great ability in that last line of defence. Every game he's always thereabouts in support and is starting to read opportunities for offloads in the middle of the ruck.

I think he's been outstanding for someone who has taken over from our captain and an origin quality player. On top of that he's our top tryscorer without having the benefit of Carney on his inside in recent times. Neil Henry rated him as our best back in the Canberra Times on the weekend and personally I see no reason to disagree with that assessment.

Yes he's got areas in his game that can improve, but for a rookie playing in one of the toughest positions on the park I think he's been outstanding.

I agree he is starting to sniff and read well, there have been over the last couple of games a couple of certain tries if the offload had happened properly or at all.

Very promising player.

The whole team in a way is learning to gel, and if we can cut out the disruptions (injuries, suspensions), then our second half of the year will be a lot better.

Mal's Milk

The positives still vastly outweigh the negatives for this side at the moment.

We are in a pretty handy position at the half way mark of the comp. If the guys can keep improving, which I don't doubt they will, we are in for a top couple of months of footy.

We haven't seen the best of this team by a long shot.

dubby

Chachi said:
Do you think that's the only reason he's getting the promotion dubby, or do you think it'll be a bit more permanant if he performs?

Mate, it depends on performance. Everyone knows Neil rewards and bases his selection on performance. Thommo is loved at the club and to not run him on for his 100th game would have been a mistake.

Neil has been happy with Tilse and Logan in the opening exchanges of games. Dane has really applied himself this year and Neil is happy with his ability to get over the advantage line in the opening moments.

Logan and Tilse are big men, they are perfect to start the game and absorb the opening exchanges. Thommo is a big man too, but he really rips in off the bench and this has worked a treat so far this year. Thommo can be not as astute as Tilse in defence, Dane really works hard off the ball. Thommo can get caught out.

Neil thinks he has the perfect bench: Logan and Tilse to start and get us down the field, then on comes Weyman and Thommo to capitalise on that and take it further. Weyman is the perfect big bopper to run at tiring players up the middle. Josh Miller is also impressing with his efforts and passion.

You cant say for certain that Thommo will never start again. Who knows, he may start next week if he goes well this week......;-)

Chachi

Interesting. I must admit I've been quite harsh on Tilse at times, but mainly because I can see what he's capable of. As time goes on he's actually played more consistently and certainly doesn't get dominated in tackles as much. I'll have to watch him off the ball a bit more because he seemed to get picked out a bit in defence when we were on the back foot. I have to say it doesn't happen so much now - but I'll watch him more closely when I see them live.

I've also noticed that Miller is leading into tackles with his shoulder a lot more now and also seems to slow down a touch before the point of impact. I have no doubt this is limit any more concussions and is probably why he's been a little less "spectacular" the last few months. He used to be like Martin Lang, but now he's a lot more conservative (which has to be good for his health). He still offers a lot to the team, but I still think with Plum here he's the most likely candidate to drop off the list when Weyman returns.

Thurling seems to have disappeared off Henry's radar and I wouldn't be surprised to see us try and offload him at the end of the season if Plum and Costigan continue to go so well - especially if Bickerstaff and TLL manage to get on the field. Time will tell though.

Thommo's form since coming back from injury has been quite good , he seems to be getting better everyweek, I think the combo with Logan can be damaging from the start of the game , we'll have to dominate very early , Im a bit worried to be facing the Cows right now especially after been flogged 2 weeks in a row, I just hope its a cold night down there. Hows campo and Linc is there any doubt about their fitness?

Plum has been ruled out and Thurling is on the bench for him, Cross and Hinchcliffe are back to PL. Im glad Thurling gets his chance and I hope he can show us what he's got.