Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd11: Eels v Manly GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank 20/5/22

Gazzamatta

How did Jake go. Id assume he would of ripped that grade up?
Ask Gronky mate. He was there.
Defended ok. Cant recall any bad misses. One good harbour bridge pass for Sivo to score. Kicking very average. One terrible pass at Cinis feet that Manly kicked ahead and ran 90 for a try. Looks slow and his left to right pass looked uncoordinated. Im hoping he will step up but currently hes no better than reserve grade for mine. @Gronk may have seen it different.

Ask Gronky mate. He was there.
Defended ok. Cant recall any bad misses. One good harbour bridge pass for Sivo to score. Kicking very average. One terrible pass at Cinis feet that Manly kicked ahead and ran 90 for a try. Looks slow and his left to right pass looked uncoordinated. Im hoping he will step up but currently hes no better than reserve grade for mine. @Gronk may have seen it different.
He’s fine for the time being, but my guess he’ll get overtaken by a kid coming through. He can fill in for FG and not miss tackles or get in the way in 2022, but he is not Mitch’s successor.

Jakey has soft hands and is good defender, but needs to reinvent himself if he is to become a 100 game NRL player. I was watching him last night and trying to pinpoint what is missing and I reckon it’s just fast feet. He looks slow and cumbersome. As many have said, you can’t teach speed.

Unsure about the lads in Flegg and if they are mature enough to play up vs men, but maybe Dontoray is in 2023. Sanders is still Ball eligible FFS and just played u18s CvC.

I found it interesting that BA opted to keep Perham on the wing this week with Russell available. Perham has played 1, 3 and 6 in reggies in the past 10 weeks and 5 in NRL. Is BA thinking that he might be a utility benchie ?

I watched the Ch9 replay this arvo and it wasn’t as bad a game as I thought at the ground. It was a low error throw everything at each other battle and both teams scrambled really well in defence.

It’s that scramble and the switch plays and offloads that beat Storm and Penrith and we executed that style OK last night.

Gee that Moses sin bin was iffy. Yes Moses put his hand on Turbo’s shoulder, but Turbo got a flat pass from the hooker. If Turbo wasn’t “interfered with” or held back he would have been in front of the ball carrier.

Good game.

Hate to say it, but I enjoyed Joey, Camillions and Slater’s commentary.

Fast tracked to the NRL at age 18. Only happens when you have special talents.
Fast tracked to NSW Cup just like Penisni, Russell and Louizu.

Injuries open doors and maybe it’s a lesson learned on the way you fast track kids. There’s got to be a balance between playing good kids against the men to see if they have a future and having a 6 or 7 in reggies ready to step up.

As the story goes, it was Rankin’s unwillingness to go into a 2021 bubble again that opened the door to Jake.

That’s yesterdays fish n chip paper, but I wonder how 2021 would have panned out for our team and even Jake, if @Gazzamatta ’s boy was brought into the top 30.

CCD613E6-8998-4B9D-B975-3FEAB7145998.jpeg236C13F6-6963-4992-80D8-D8B4296E518E.jpeg

yy_cheng

Gee that Moses sin bin was iffy. Yes Moses put his hand on Turbo’s shoulder, but Turbo got a flat pass from the hooker. If Turbo wasn’t “interfered with” or held back he would have been in front of the ball carrier.
And that was more important than someone getting whacked in the head

Gazzamatta

I watched the Ch9 replay this arvo and it wasn’t as bad a game as I thought at the ground. It was a low error throw everything at each other battle and both teams scrambled really well in defence.

It’s that scramble and the switch plays and offloads that beat Storm and Penrith and we executed that style OK last night.

Good game.

Hate to say it, but I enjoyed Joey, Camillions and Slater’s commentary.
Exactly as I saw it Gronky. 👍

Jakey has soft hands and is good defender, but needs to reinvent himself if he is to become a 100 game NRL player.
There’s a serious shortage of merkins who can kick and tackle. If you can do both you’ll always have a place in the NRL. But yes, getting to 100 games could still take a bit of luck.