Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd15: Eels v Roosters GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank 18/6/22

IFR33K

I was being conservative and had us losing to the Broncos twice. Also had the Broncos and Cowboys winning a lot of games.

We could definitely end up better than this. @strider had us Top 4.

Anyway, I’m sure you’ll have a go at doing the ladder predictor in the off-season and it will be 100% accurate.

#Hineysight

So you sat on the fence again?

Falling Down Lol GIF by America's Funniest Home Videos

Angry_eel

I noticed a few more drunks yelling out during the game on sSaturday then usual maybe because it was a Saturday night and most of our other home games this year been Sunday arvo and Monday with work the following day.

And a Rooster idiot who didn't shut up all game behind me. He mentioned we haven't won a comp since 1986 about 15 times whenever we had a good moment during the game. That was his comeback to the crowd.
They should frig off back to Bondi

We where fired up from an embarrassing loss. At home and scored some sincialting tries. But the 2nd half was pretty ordinary as we failed to score a point.
Yes it was a needed win but we where full strength while they had 3 of their best out. I'm still not convinced it was a great win that will change our season.

lingard

For him it's about when he gets the ball. If he gets it too soon or too often he'll have relatively fewer good opportunities to look like a mad merkin.

And, yes, that's a good point too. I think he should be standing closer to the dummy half more often. It's very predictable and the defence can set themselves for it. I wonder if Hodgson might change this dynamic a bit next year?

Noise

You could argue Keary, Jwh and Radely are 3 of the Rooster top 6 players. Good win but let's not blow our loads
Yep we played some great footy but the Roosters having those 3 out plus 2 HIAs was certainly helpful. If we had Moses, Paulo and Matterson out injured I reckon we would struggle a lot more than the Roosters did.

You could argue Keary, Jwh and Radely are 3 of the Rooster top 6 players. Good win but let's not blow our loads
Merkins will say the Dogs game is proof the coach is shit but the Roosters game is proof the squad is awesome. In reality neither game proves anything.

We where fired up from an embarrassing loss. At home and scored some sincialting tries. But the 2nd half was pretty ordinary as we failed to score a point.
Yes it was a needed win but we where full strength while they had 3 of their best out. I'm still not convinced it was a great win that will change our season.
Don’t forget the revenge factor. Plenty of teams play each other twice in a season and split the result 1-1.

And, yes, that's a good point too. I think he should be standing closer to the dummy half more often. It's very predictable and the defence can set themselves for it. I wonder if Hodgson might change this dynamic a bit next year?
I reckon he should only get the ball when the defence is already on the back foot. Plus on the last so he can kick.

Merkins will say the Dogs game is proof the coach is shit but the Roosters game is proof the squad is awesome. In reality neither game proves anything.

What do you say about the Dogs new coach? And their old coach? Did the coach make a difference or where they building to this?

Gazzamatta

A great first half but the ball stuck. A couple of those go to ground and BA is calling them soft again.
I was quite impressed with our second half. Better defensive control.
Ref allowed Chooks far more latitude.
Only try was off a total miss kick.
Defend like our second half and we are a fair chance in any game.

crocodile

i thought the trajectory didn't matter, it's how it left your hand.

So the bunker can freeze the play and watch it frame by frame if the hand was passing the ball forward or not
I don't know what they do exactly. Looking at hand movement is useless because would only work if the passer was exactly facing the try line. It is much simpler.

Suppose Waqa Blake was steaming down the sideline at 18 kph which we know can be accurately measured. That's the same as 5m per second. He passes the ball inside. Now if the receiver catches the ball 1 second later and is more than 5m in front of where it was thrown then the pass must be forward. Technology already exists to make these measurements and a simple application of a bit of trig and no more forward passes missed.

I don't know what they do exactly. Looking at hand movement is useless because would only work if the passer was exactly facing the try line. It is much simpler.

Suppose Waqa Blake was steaming down the sideline at 18 kph which we know can be accurately measured. That's the same as 5m per second. He passes the ball inside. Now if the receiver catches the ball 1 second later and is more than 5m in front of where it was thrown then the pass must be forward. Technology already exists to make these measurements and a simple application of a bit of trig and no more forward passes missed.

That's fine for a bloke charging downfield at relatively constant speed who passes. Good luck though with a bloke running to the line then changing speed and angle (and still decelerating) while passing. You need to be able to get enough data points to estimate the relevant speeds (velocities) with any accuracy. They'd have struggled to help with the Tupinuoua try.