Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd3: Parra v Dogs GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank Stadium 23/3/25

emjaycee

Today was the first game I have gotten to live this year. Was expecting the Dogs to put 30+ on us based on Storm and Tigers games, but was pleased to see an increased level of commitment in defence.

One noticeable change was how we worked them over better in attack with a lot more getting them on to their backs and slowing down the play the ball.

Defensive line speed was the best I can remember for years, with the Dogs kicking from within their 40 more than once. Structure and defensive patterns could be better but that will come.

Definitely need some work in attack but it all starts with improvement in defence and that was there today.

All the above is eye test only so stats might show something different.

Joshuatheeel

We need two quality edge forwards desperately. None of the players you mentioned fit the bill.
I think we definitely need one, but reckon Kautago has some potential. @Poupou Escobar did mention he was good defensively. Wasn't sure, but today he definitely worked pretty hard.

Not sure yet how to rate our edges (obviously defensive we need improvement, but that's also the whole side), but we don't seem to be feeding our edges much footy yet.

Apart from Williams who is playing middle/edge and Kelma first game with 75m, all the other edge options haven't made more then 50 m. So we aren't give them much ball.

Edge forward defence today seemed to be a lot improved.

Zoso

Much better effort, quite pleasing actually. They tried hard all game and the first half lapses can be put down to some inexperience.
Lomax was huge and JAC brought some energy and talk that we need.
Reality is, the team did their best to win and collectively, put muscled the dogs in the second half but…
But we needed something to upset the dogs defensive line. If Brown was worth the coin we offered him (let alone the Knights), he would have done more. I’m not saying win it. Just done more to get us closer. That’s what good halves, playing of a strong forwards effort, does.
We needed a bit of $1.3m magic out there today.

Soto

Today was the first game I have gotten to live this year. Was expecting the Dogs to put 30+ on us based on Storm and Tigers games, but was pleased to see an increased level of commitment in defence.

One noticeable change was how we worked them over better in attack with a lot more getting them on to their backs and slowing down the play the ball.

Defensive line speed was the best I can remember for years, with the Dogs kicking from within their 40 more than once. Structure and defensive patterns could be better but that will come.

Definitely need some work in attack but it all starts with improvement in defence and that was there today.

Mate 💯 agree.
Was at the game as well.
The commitment, effort, dedication, desire was there.
Not often you leave the ground and your ok with the loss.
Is there a player or 2 who needs to be dropped...probably.
Probably too early to make this change but Papalli at 1 and Ionghi at 6.
Hopefully Moretti is back soon so we can also bounce Lane.
If that same commitment, effort, desire can be on display every week we will win games.
Not sure if we can get some glue for Hopgood and Williams...massive digs but both have 1 or 2 drops every week...
I'd like to see Ado Carr come in and scoot from dummy half as not sure if Will is going to pass the ball to him.
I will say this if Taylan May is available let's get him.
I think that would be a great left side.
Samrani despite those 2 errors is in my 17. He massively puts in.
Well done boys...just a shame we didn't have someone who could be our x factor to win the game. Dylbro please leave...now
Lomax was an absolute beast.
Lussick also played well the time he was on and Ryley Smith brought energy
Thought big Sam was a bit soft today.
Moretti, Simonsson and Moses will be big additions to this team

Soren Lorenson

I actually think, we are lacking a genuine ball playing lock/some "footy players".....we have a lot of young players who will get better (Ilongi, Samrani, smith, Sammy, Kautago, Guymer etc etc)...

Not sure, but starting to think a "Mann" type player wouId be great for us. Yes old, but some "smarts"....who else is there in a similar style? Younger?

add to all this, looks like Ryles structure involves backs taking most of the hit ups, so an expensive middle could be a waste
Ironically, I’m now convinced thats Brown’s best position.

Joshuatheeel

I don't think the Dogs did much with the ball. They where poor. 2 of their tries never should have happened. Manly will throw 10x more at us next week
Sort of agree, but also reckon we are underestimating our defence. It was pretty good, line speed was great, and good contact!

I agree their attack may have struggled without Burton, but they also competed at their highest all year (87%), had their most runs (198), but made made their lowest metres (1568) of the season. Good indication our defence was pretty good.

Soto

Not sure if Will's lateral speed or pace is not good enough. He can certainly make a good carry and I like the effort there.
Would it be a bad idea to make our backrowers him and Samrani.
I think the above has merit.
They are both certainly strong and they can develop with the right coaching..

The Predictor

Not sure if Will's lateral speed or pace is not good enough. He can certainly make a good carry and I like the effort there.
Would it be a bad idea to make our backrowers him and Samrani.
I think the above has merit.
They are both certainly strong and they can develop with the right coaching..
Not sure Samrani is a first grader, not yet

eel01s

We lost due to two very soft tries where it all went wrong.

Very disappointing given the overall improvements from the first two atrocious efforts. Starting to see evidence of Ryles' influence now.

We desperately need some footy smarts in the team. No real leaders out there today. As others pointed out, Brown really had nothing in attack. Apart from his telegraphed step, what does he have? He can't create space for Lane or Penisini, his kicking game is pretty much one note, and he hasn't fired a shot in three games.

We need to buy very well for 2026. Pressure is on our recruitment team.

Wally21

Interesting for me MJC, I know Lane can be lazy, but I think today he was the best at working the ruck. His wrestle was excellent. I know his hit ups were so so, but I think he had a big part to play in the defensive mindset