Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd3: Parra v Dogs GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank Stadium 23/3/25

Gherkin

Lomax was unreal. Real desire to try and win which can’t be said for some others. Thought Samrani and Penisini had some strong carries out of our end.
Hooker rotation was good. Lussick needs to work on his passing though. Smith will make better decisions as he gets more experience. He isn’t getting much help from the halves though. The play he kicked near the line, Brown stepped back and was basically out of the play. A dominant 6 would’ve demanded the ball.
Hawkins was ok, directed us well for our sets out of our half. Kicked well, needs to offer more when we’re attacking their line but will improve with more game time.
Brown can go, has mentally checked out and if we’re developing for the future no point playing him.
Edge forwards aren’t getting much opportunity but don’t really seem to be searching for it either.
Paulo played his best game in a long time. Hopgood and Williams both let down by execution (and terrible defence for the first try), but both rip in and set the tone with our physicality.

Stevie

Not so sure.....I do agree we need some more coverage on the edge, and middle wasn't looking great. But reckon Sammy is a star in the making. For a big boy, he works very hard in defence too. So probably don't need to spend to much there..depending what we free up

I actually think, we are lacking a genuine ball playing lock/some "footy players".....we have a lot of young players who will get better (Ilongi, Samrani, smith, Sammy, Kautago, Guymer etc etc)...

Not sure, but starting to think a "Mann" type player wouId be great for us. Yes old, but some "smarts"....who else is there in a similar style? Younger?

add to all this, looks like Ryles structure involves backs taking most of the hit ups, so an expensive middle could be a waste
If I had my way I’d pay Isaiah Yeo on whatever he wanted. Make him our highest paid player for all I care.

Lomax was unreal. Real desire to try and win which can’t be said for some others. Thought Samrani and Penisini had some strong carries out of our end.
Hooker rotation was good. Lussick needs to work on his passing though. Smith will make better decisions as he gets more experience. He isn’t getting much help from the halves though. The play he kicked near the line, Brown stepped back and was basically out of the play. A dominant 6 would’ve demanded the ball.
Hawkins was ok, directed us well for our sets out of our half. Kicked well, needs to offer more when we’re attacking their line but will improve with more game time.
Brown can go, has mentally checked out and if we’re developing for the future no point playing him.
Edge forwards aren’t getting much opportunity but don’t really seem to be searching for it either.
Paulo played his best game in a long time. Hopgood and Williams both let down by execution (and terrible defence for the first try), but both rip in and set the tone with our physicality.

Agree with a lot of this. Lomax has been a good buy. I thought Paulo played well. If we had Moses today or Brown looking for the ball, we win the game.

Joshuatheeel

Play him at 5/8 permanently. Hes that good!
Na, the reason he is so good, is he is a "middle" half. He digs in really hard in the middle for plays for either side, which creates space for his halves. He is the one who makes the decision if there is "something on" out "wide". Along with his ability to dig in, has great vision/decision making.

As a 5/8, he is wider and skill set wouIdnt be as effective. He makes halves look good.

Great player

Soto

Na, the reason he is so good, is he is a "middle" half. He digs in really hard in the middle for plays for either side, which creates space for his halves. He is the one who makes the decision if there is "something on" out "wide". Along with his ability to dig in, has great vision/decision making.

As a 5/8, he is wider and skill set wouIdnt be as effective. He makes halves look good.

Great player
But he can also make that good run up the guts as well. Very smart footballer and not one ounce of grubiness about him either

Joshuatheeel

But he can also make that good run up the guts as well. Very smart footballer and not one ounce of grubiness about him either
Yep, that's the lead on when we doesn't pass, runs it up the "guts" and gets a good play the ball. So defence is always in "2 minds" does he pass or run...

Legal Eel

Mate 💯 agree.
Was at the game as well.
The commitment, effort, dedication, desire was there.
Not often you leave the ground and your ok with the loss.
Is there a player or 2 who needs to be dropped...probably.
Probably too early to make this change but Papalli at 1 and Ionghi at 6.
Hopefully Moretti is back soon so we can also bounce Lane.
If that same commitment, effort, desire can be on display every week we will win games.
Not sure if we can get some glue for Hopgood and Williams...massive digs but both have 1 or 2 drops every week...
I'd like to see Ado Carr come in and scoot from dummy half as not sure if Will is going to pass the ball to him.
I will say this if Taylan May is available let's get him.
I think that would be a great left side.
Samrani despite those 2 errors is in my 17. He massively puts in.
Well done boys...just a shame we didn't have someone who could be our x factor to win the game. Dylbro please leave...now
Lomax was an absolute beast.
Lussick also played well the time he was on and Ryley Smith brought energy
Thought big Sam was a bit soft today.
Moretti, Simonsson and Moses will be big additions to this team
I was at the game - and I agree with every single part of this...were you sitting behind me or something??

On Lane and Brown and a few others, it seems that they aren't aware that the game continues if it isn't their run or if the attacker isn't running directly at them - there is no off the ball work or awareness! There was at least one set of six when the Bulldogs kicked downfield and Lane dawdled back onside just in time to chase our kick!

Having said that, there was effort and commitment and I has happy to be there for it.

On Brown, I have been ambivalent about him going now, but after today I am happy for him to go immediately, as he is just a drag on everything.

Pazza

Sam T is going to be a very good player his defence is tops already. But I like his attack just as much when he runs he ball he has a step just before he gets to the line which is hard to defend.

hes gonna look great running around for another club next year