Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd4: EELS v Panthers GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank Stadium 23/3/2023

I think I'm now reluctantly in a position to say that that Cleary penalty shot to the sideline and the 2 point field goal was probably the most impressive premeditated NRL clutch play I have ever seen. I mean I have seen some freakish things, but Cleary had no time to think and the odds of pulling it off we 1,000s to one. It was not a hail mary, he meant it. Wow. Merkin.

Jeff Robson 2

14 isn’t a position, mate. You’ll note Hands wore 15 last night. My point here is that the bench is horses for courses. No doubt Hands (a specialist dummy half) is a better dummy half than Arthur (a specialist halfback). But there is no rule saying you need a specialist dummy half on the bench. Hands came into the team when we needed him and no sooner. No doubt we needed Arthur on the bench last year, for different reasons.

If you’re cynical about those reasons, I’d suggest they still apply this year. Jake Arthur is still the coach’s son, and his last game in first grade was as a grand final try scorer. He is also carving up in reserve grade once again, so his form warrants selection at least as much as it did last time he was picked on the bench.

All this means that your bad faith ‘analysis’ of the coach’s motives has been completely debunked, and that you have in fact been revealed as the troll here Sir.

The thing is some players won't always look great in NSW CUP but their style in NRL is great.
Penisni I saw in NSW CUP and defense was putrid. I thought this guys overhyped and years away.
Hands might be one of these guys. What we know is his defense is good and he has a nice pass. He also can run and is good size. Can also kick. Who knows.

JA we know is slow and a plodder. He is but aware and smart. Takes the right option most times. Problem is doing this in NSW CUP and finding points is easier then NRL. At NRL everything is twice as quick. So his cautious play may not be good enough.

84 Baby

Are we talking about Waqa 2022/23 or how he went last night ? Cos Waqa deserves zero defence based on his last 20 matches. Last night wasn't bad and he played Ok based on his previous shit and a huge improvement on last week.
It was shit defence by Waqa. You’re allowed to say it.

In that try ? Nah he was a tug boat trying to fight the 7th fleet. Do you want me to draw you something? I can whiteboard you the play ?

parra pete

And here I was thinking you were just hypocritical when you said hiney doesn’t support the club. Did your best friend “David “Thirsty” Morrow” have to wear a raincoat when you drowned him with self-diddling gushes?
Nah, he's used to it....

It was panicked. They panicked. If it were Gutho you’d say it was panicked. Stop lying to yourself.
Penrith aren’t used to finding themselves behind on the scoreboard. Their defence has normally strangled teams out of the game by halftime.

The thing is some players won't always look great in NSW CUP but their style in NRL is great.
Penisni I saw in NSW CUP and defense was putrid. I thought this guys overhyped and years away.
Hands might be one of these guys. What we know is his defense is good and he has a nice pass. He also can run and is good size. Can also kick. Who knows.

JA we know is slow and a plodder. He is but aware and smart. Takes the right option most times. Problem is doing this in NSW CUP and finding points is easier then NRL. At NRL everything is twice as quick. So his cautious play may not be good enough.
It’s actually the nippy players who shine in reserve grade because there is more space. The game controllers are the ones who don’t stand out because their team mates are shit.

As for Jake Arthur, he is three years younger than Hands. And in his 11 NRL starts he’s set up five tries. All while still a teenager. He is doing fine.

emjaycee

OK I JUST TALKED TO DAD - Here is his report.

Great game. Best game I have seen in a long time.
Sivo was excellent. Some of those kicks he took. Waqa and Gutherson also took some important ones under pressure at key moments.

Penriths first try. The pass was forward. Unsure how they missed it.
Why where they carrying on how great Turuvas catches where. Yeah he took 20 of them but there was nobody within 20 of him. There was no pressure and easy catches. Id expect anyone in NRL to catch them.

I don't like him as a player, I think he is hopeless but to be fair Simmonson had a great game. Had a real dig and impressed me.
Dylan Brown bar the grubber done nothing. Hodgson is only good for 25 then looks puffed.
Matterson is our best forward if include attack and defense. He made a huge difference especially in defense. But his carries where great.
Waqa was ok. They went after him and he shut most of it down. Hopgood is an upgrade on Marata in attack. He causes defenses heaps of trouble but they need a nippy hooker to be sniffing around. Hodgson is an old man. He passes the ball amd stands still. Needs to be supporting the offloads and link.
Bryce again very good. Be interesting what he does when Lane is back but he isnt doing stupid passes and having a real dig.
Moses field goal was great under pressure. But when Nathan took his why didn't they have their fastest guys 10mtrs back and already sprinting so once the taps taken they are at full speed hitting the line not a standing start. They gave him to much time.

Penrith are not the same side as last year. Nobody will fear them. Yeo and Cleary kept them in it. Luai just dances around and goes nowhere. He's useless.
I really like your Dad and he knows footy.
I can see where you get your knowledge from.