Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Read any good books lately?

I am always on the lookout for a good book to read.
I prefer "true stories" .
e.g
Damage done - about an Aussie fella done for smack in Thailand
Scar tissue - Red Hot chillis Anthony Kiedes
Marching powder - a bloke done for Coke in South America
Pretty much any prison type story. ( doubt Corby will get a go though - sick of hearing about it )

Currently reading one called "Ice Man" which is about a hit man for the mafia in the 60's, 70's and 80's.
This fella killed over 200 people and the books is basically an account of how, who and when he killed.
It is a pretty interesting read...albeit extremely violent.
He wasn't afraid to torture the "mark" if requested.
Letting them get eaten alive by rats was one of his favourites methods.

He worked for all the big Mafia families.
The Sopranos Tv show is actually based on one of the bosses he did work for.

2 True Blues

If you like true stories you should check out some of Peter BRUNE's books about Aussies in the heat of reality mate !!

Breadman

carcharias said:
I am always on the lookout for a good book to read.
I prefer "true stories" .
e.g
Damage done - about an Aussie fella done for smack in Thailand
Scar tissue - Red Hot chillis Anthony Kiedes
Marching powder - a bloke done for Coke in South America
Pretty much any prison type story. ( doubt Corby will get a go though - sick of hearing about it )

Currently reading one called "Ice Man" which is about a hit man for the mafia in the 60's, 70's and 80's.
This fella killed over 200 people and the books is basically an account of how, who and when he killed.

Mate, what was marching powder like?
I loved the Damage Done and would be very keen to read another thats similar. I've seen a doco on that Iceman fella on Foxtel, he doesn't seem like a nutcase but just totally void of any emotion. Very scary man

2 True Blues

Currently reading " Quinns Post " by Peter STANLEY. Story of the ANZAC's that fought in Qunins Post, Gallipoli. The place where the two side's trenches were at places merely metres apart. If Quinns fell to the TURK they would rush down Monash Valley and kick us into the sea, so it had to be held at all costs. And they held it !!! Good read !!!

Floods

Breadman said:
Mate, what was marching powder like?
I loved the Damage Done and would be very keen to read another thats similar. I've seen a doco on that Iceman fella on Foxtel, he doesn't seem like a nutcase but just totally void of any emotion. Very scary man

Hope you don't mind me answering, but Marching Powder is a great book, read it last year, haven't read Damage done though might check that one out. Kind of related is "Killing Pablo" by Mark Bowden(the guy who wrote Black Hawk Down" which is also a very good read.
I myself have recently read, "The Dirt" (Motley Crue Bio)
"One of a Kind" (About poker player Stu Ungar)
"Chartthrob" Ben Elton
"Cell" Stephen King
"Skeleton Coast" Clive Cussler
"Treasure Of Kahn" Clive Cussler
I love the holidays i manage to get heaps of reading done, I'd love to get a hold of Warhorse, Shane Webckes bio but can't find it over here :(

Phillips

carcharias said:

there was a program on CI about him a while back...was very interesting..

'Scar Tissue' is very interesting... Very candid and compelling. Got a biography of the band called 'Fornication', and it offers another opinion on his activities, makes you realise how much he was romanticising and justifying his drug use in his own book. It's probably also worth a look, makes Kiedis' a bit better imo.

Ok to answer all questions.

Scar Tissue is Anthony Kiedes' auto biography..it is a fairly honest warts and all story.
There must be a shyte load a women pissed off I'd reckon.
I have read it twice and I loved it ...although he can come across as a bit of a seppo wanker but I think you'd need to be to survive in LA.
He was a serious drug fiend.

The Damage done is an absolute cracker.
Shocking tale of an Aussie who gets locked up in a thai prison.
It is an absolute must read if that is your cup of tea.

Marching Powder is about a black pommie fella who gets done for Coke in Bolivia. He had it coming as he was smuggling for a while and the crooked cops whom he was dealing with dobbed him in for the reward or something.
He gets put in this crazy prison where the inmates have to buy there own cells and food etc. Lots of them have their wives and kids living in there with them and they get sent out to work during the day.
This fella ends up running tours of the prison to backpackers and has them stay over night in his cell ( for a fee of course) ...
The whole time he is tooted up to the gills on coke ...and so is eveyone else including the guards.
Its no Damage done but worth a read.

Ice man yep it mentions in the book about the HBO tv special you guys must have seen.
I havent seen it , will look out for it.

Sunday Smuggleris one about an other Aussie who gets caught with pot in Bali . He cops about 12 years and loses an eye and a spleen during his time.
He pleads inocense throughout the book...pfftt.
He was a dodgy ex pat picking up local girls and stuff.
He was actually on the TV quite a bit when Corby first git arrested. He has long hair and an eye patch.

Midnight ExpressThe book before the classic movie.
It is different to the movie but is still an excellent read.
His escape in the book is much more daring .

2 True Blues said:
Currently reading " Quinns Post " by Peter STANLEY. Story of the ANZAC's that fought in Qunins Post, Gallipoli. The place where the two side's trenches were at places merely metres apart. If Quinns fell to the TURK they would rush down Monash Valley and kick us into the sea, so it had to be held at all costs. And they held it !!! Good read !!!

If you like those sort of books look for Hellfire and Somme Mud. Hellfire is all about the Thain Burma Railway and the fall of Singapore. Somme Mud is a first hand account of the battles in France during World War I

Breadman

Thanks for the rundown Carcharias / Floods.
I'll be getting my hands on Marching Powder for sure

Another one Ive read is called "Mr Angry" I think ...
It has a yellow smiley face on the cover.

Again about some dude who gets into drugs etc.
Although he ends up in LA and gets caught up dealing for some homies ...naturally it all goes to shyte.
No gaol time but a pretty good read..although the end is fugged.

Zack DLR

Hey Carch, we have similar tastes in books.

I read the book on George Jung, that the movie 'Blow' is based on a few years ago. I thought it was pretty good.

Its called: BLOW: How a Small-Town Boy Made $100 Million with the Medellin Cocaine Cartel and Lost It All - By Bruce Porter.

Scar Tissue is a bit of a self serving wank.

The Damage Done is pretty compelling, but I got the feeling that some of it was just fantasy. Like the rubbish at the start about breaking into the security compound to free "the beautiful woman trapped inside" and deciding within minutes to marry her. but then leaving her there.

If youre looking for a quick, easy book to read, the Lance Armstrong biography; 'Its not about the bike' is pretty awesome.