Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rebels win control of Parramatta

Snoochies

Snoochies, can I just say - and this goes out to all the other Parra supporters in Brisbane that regularly frequent this board (and those that don't) - that I went to Suncorp for the first time last season and the Eels fans up there are second to none. If we could get the people at Parra stadium to make as much noise as the Eels fans that go to Suncorp then no-one would ever beat us at home! I'm just glad that the local fans could repay you guys for the great efforts that you make flying the flag up there.

Mate, local Parra supporters have no idea how good they have it down there. For us up here, we only dream of watching our boys play nearly every second week. We get to see them, (remember this) ONCE!!! Only once every year do we get to see the Eels play. You guys down there get that opportunity at least twice a month.

I don't think you locals understand the amount of support the Eels have up here, it is huge. At last years game I sat right on the tryline with the Parra supporters and got to see Krisnan Inu score 2 TRIES right in front of me. That was an obsolute highlight for me, we were all going nuts with the Parra chant!

Parra is huge in Brissy and no-doubt would be the number 1 supported team from NSW. My biggest wish is for you local Parra supporters to make me even more jealous by getting those local stands filled out. From my perspective up here, I can't understand why the crowds down there aren't bigger. If memory serves me right, before Parra came up here, we were atrocious, but the us Northern fans turned out in force and without a doubt, it was the best game of the season even though we lost. The Drongo fans love the Bronco/Parra game as it brings in a huge crowd and an always entertaining game. Ask the Parra players themselves where they'd like to play every week, I reckon Suncorp would be on top of the list.

As local Parra fans, go and make the Parra players excited to play in front of their HUGE home crowd next year. Show us Nothern supporters how it should be done!

Eeels 09!! CANNOT WAIT!:mrgreen:

Ron Jeremy

Maybe we should locate to Brisbane, i have to admit though, it's great listening to the Parra chant up there whilst watching on it on TV

Snoochies

Maybe we should locate to Brisbane, i have to admit though, it's great listening to the Parra chant up there whilst watching on it on TV

It must be like a second home game for the boys. I remember after last years game, we went to the local Maccas after the game and there was a huge Parra fan club there, we were all kicking a footy over Milton road to the crowd that were walking towards the train station. Stupid coppers confiscated the ball. Even ex Parra player Tony Williams was down there ordering his usual cheeseburger. I don't know any official numbers but if you looked them up, I reckon the Parra/Broncos game would draw one of the biggest crowds.

I guarantee that us Brissy Parra fans have already booked in the magical weekend in April to watch the Eels play. Just so happens that it is my birthday weekend too, how sweet!!!\\\\:D/

parra pete

massive sour grapes from pete ....but ....ya ...we all support parra at the end of the day ....and people voted and the best men for the job are in.

thats why ya vote!!!

i have met Alan O at the club a few times ..and i like the bloke ..but it is time for some fresh ideas. it just that simple.

i really believe the only downfall of the current Leagues club boards is there unwillingness to get the supports more involved.

and if things dont change pretty quick i would be thinking they will be making a exit also.

There is NO sour grapes at all. Good on the blokes who put the effort in, and we were rewarded by gaining support of the members. How could I be sour about that. Mate yo have misinterpreted my posts.
BTW, the Leagues Club exists for its 39000 members, not 600 football club members...
Not all Leagues Club members are aligned with the Eels..many could not even care about the Football Club...

Just a point on the who will be CEO if Denis leaves question...

It's a job. So it will be a job vacancy, just like any other. You put an ad in the paper and elsewhere, and attract a good set of potential candidates with an interest in the job. The club is a business/company, so you can draw interested candidates with the right skills from a wide range of backgrounds. You interview them and appoint the best, recruitment and selection is not rocket science!

And surrounded by a board or two chockas of people with enough footy passion to ensure the main aim of the club's existence is not forgotten, the future CEO doesn't even have to have a footy background etc themselves. So the claims of Price needing to be CEO etc are absurd.

If Denis does leave early, then there'll be a job ad - and the position is a lot more professional and well paid now than it would have been when Denis started in it when it might have been more a chook raffle type of operation where you could only search among those you knew for a suitable replacement.

So it's not a case of "the sky is falling, who on earth can replace Denis"... like Col said, it's evolution more than revolution, and as Pete said it's just a natural thing in the course of businesses.

Oh, and well done to 3P. A breath of fresh air in the place, and can't be worse than a further continuation of the status quo until death do them all part.

Sad for Ovo, but as people have said it's probably for the best health-wise based on what we witnessed today. I'm sure we are all thankful for his massive history of contribution and service to the club's footy operations, as we will be of Denis's history whenever he ends his employment.

As MITS cheerfully said, there is another election in a few months, and that's a must win if we want the next natural step - which is a return of the NRL operations back under the Football Club (and it's growing membership), where in my opinion they sensibly belong.

Not all Leagues Club members are aligned with the Eels..many could not even care about the Football Club...
Probably reason enough for a lot of them to be convinced to vote to allow the football operations to be freed from the leagues club again and back under the realm of the football club, by the sound of that? ;-)

Have the leagues club and board concerned with the club (building), and the footy club and board concerned will all of the football for the club - sensible and simple, and all more accountable to members (like most businesses/organisations) than things have been at Parra for the past 10 years.

eels81236

do you think pricey will make the players place dollops of vaseline on their knees before games....afterall it used to work for him quater a century ago? Reckon Kenny will ensure the halves have perfected the "run around"... afterall, it used to work for him 25 years ago.
collectable parramatta trademarks, now with increased pride and passion!!

^b0ss^

i really think its win win ....i cant see how ..anything other then good things are going to come of this .....go the EELS!!!!

fish eel

There is NO sour grapes at all. Good on the blokes who put the effort in, and we were rewarded by gaining support of the members. How could I be sour about that. Mate yo have misinterpreted my posts.
BTW, the Leagues Club exists for its 39000 members, not 600 football club members...

and there are plenty that do.

Probably reason enough for a lot of them to be convinced to vote to allow the football operations to be freed from the leagues club again and back under the realm of the football club, by the sound of that? ;-)

Have the leagues club and board concerned with the club (building), and the footy club and board concerned will all of the football for the club - sensible and simple, and all more accountable to members (like most businesses/organisations) than things have been at Parra for the past 10 years.

But Bart, just posing the question here, what is the argument to those members to continue to provide a multi million grant to a board who aren't accountable to them.

Keeping in mind the leagues club has a charter to foster league, that does not necessarily mean pump money into an NRL side. What is to stop them reducing the grant for the NRL side but putting more money straight to juniors.

You mentioned a memorandum of understanding in another thread.....what happens when that expires? What happens, when halfway through it, the salary cap is raised and the NRL club need more money and it's not forthcoming?

Just to paint a picture as to who was there that voted yesterday..

* More than half the fg squad including club stalwarts Luke Burt, Nathan Cayless and Nathan Hindmarsh. (also including Jason Baiteri from the NYC squad) and first grade coach Anderson.

* Many club legends and ex players including Mark Laurie, Michael Mosely, Peter Sterling, Peter Wynn, Dave Woods, John kolc and Steve Edge.

* Tony Zappia and Joe Grima who are now alligned with the Sharks.

* Player Manager Wayne Beavis.

the strange part in all this is that I didn't notice Ray Hadley there? someone can correct me there but I would of thought he'd be there to back a mate in Fitzy and vote for the current board. but he was definitely no where to be seen.

noosa-eel

Snoochies I grew up in Sydney and now live in Noosa on the Sunshine coast. Every weekend I would go and watch Parra play all 3 grades and now I only get to see 2 games (maybe) a year if work committments allow it. To meet up with the Sydney supporters before the broncos game and cheer the boys on is something I look forward to every year and I agree outside of Sydney, Parra would be more supported up here than anywhere else.

Glenn

Just to paint a picture as to who was there that voted yesterday..

* More than half the fg squad including club stalwarts Luke Burt, Nathan Cayless and Nathan Hindmarsh. (also including Jason Baiteri from the NYC squad) and first grade coach Anderson.

* Many club legends and ex players including Mark Laurie, Michael Mosely, Peter Sterling, Peter Wynn, Dave Woods, John kolc and Steve Edge.

* Tony Zappia and Joe Grima who are now alligned with the Sharks.

* Player Manager Wayne Beavis.

the strange part in all this is that I didn't notice Ray Hadley there? someone can correct me there but I would of thought he'd be there to back a mate in Fitzy and vote for the current board. but he was definitely no where to be seen.

Rayyyyyyy is probably OS Somewhere on his Christmas Holidays. ;-)

_goParra

and there are plenty that do.

But Bart, just posing the question here, what is the argument to those members to continue to provide a multi million grant to a board who aren't accountable to them.

Keeping in mind the leagues club has a charter to foster league, that does not necessarily mean pump money into an NRL side. What is to stop them reducing the grant for the NRL side but putting more money straight to juniors.

You mentioned a memorandum of understanding in another thread.....what happens when that expires? What happens, when halfway through it, the salary cap is raised and the NRL club need more money and it's not forthcoming?

I am no bart ;-) but....

Once the NRL side is back with the footy club... the ultimate goal of the powers to be should be to make the footy club financially self sufficient. Then it should not really matter if the leagues club revokes grants / support etc
and we will not be effected by any pokie taxes :sarcasm:

TheRam

Yep, if I was Fitzy I'd call it a day, sit back relax and enjoy his well earned retirement. Go to the footy and enjoy it instead of worrying about dealing with the issues like sponsorship.
You need Pride and Passion Denis. Your thirty years at the helm has been unappreciated. It is time for a new broom to sweep everything clean.
Head em up, and move em out.....

Now you're talking Pete old son...ummm thing is, cos of the precarious financial state that Fitzy's left us in, can you bring in a broom from home pls mate. Much appreciated.

Thank in advance there old man.

TheRam

Mate, local Parra supporters have no idea how good they have it down there. For us up here, we only dream of watching our boys play nearly every second week. We get to see them, (remember this) ONCE!!! Only once every year do we get to see the Eels play. You guys down there get that opportunity at least twice a month.

I don't think you locals understand the amount of support the Eels have up here, it is huge. At last years game I sat right on the tryline with the Parra supporters and got to see Krisnan Inu score 2 TRIES right in front of me. That was an obsolute highlight for me, we were all going nuts with the Parra chant!

Parra is huge in Brissy and no-doubt would be the number 1 supported team from NSW. My biggest wish is for you local Parra supporters to make me even more jealous by getting those local stands filled out. From my perspective up here, I can't understand why the crowds down there aren't bigger. If memory serves me right, before Parra came up here, we were atrocious, but the us Northern fans turned out in force and without a doubt, it was the best game of the season even though we lost. The Drongo fans love the Bronco/Parra game as it brings in a huge crowd and an always entertaining game. Ask the Parra players themselves where they'd like to play every week, I reckon Suncorp would be on top of the list.

As local Parra fans, go and make the Parra players excited to play in front of their HUGE home crowd next year. Show us Nothern supporters how it should be done!

Eeels 09!! CANNOT WAIT!:mrgreen:

Love your passion Snoochies.

Now you're talking Pete old son...ummm thing is, cos of the precarious financial state that Fitzy's left us in, can you bring in a broom from home pls mate. Much appreciated.

Thank in advance there old man.

Actually I think our financial position is because if the fiscal policy of the NSW Government, blatantly bleeding licensed clubs dry.

I think you've answered that by mention of the charter of the leagues club?

Well, if NRL and junior footy are controlled by the same club (the footy club), then the leagues club grant would be going to the same place, and so it would be up to the footy club how to prioritise their grant income - on NRL or Juniors?

I guess it just means we will be in the position that all of the other footy clubs are, and face the same uncertainties that all of the other clubs seem to manage do in that regard. I have asked a number of questions about the continued benefits (if any) of the structure in the thread Invitation to the Current Board that remain unaddressed by the above media statements.

Same as happens for any other club. I don't believe our current structure gives any additional guarantees about how the LC would react should the salary cap be raised, as to whether they would happily give an extra grant to the NRL team. Under the current structure the CEO's public statements have been the opposite of a guarantee of stability and continued funding in the next five years. So if there are no guarantees either way, isn't it better to have a structure where NRL matters are no longer at arms length from members, and no longer have the potential of being ruled out of order at either AGM should teh chairman wish to not permit discussion on matters that strictly aren't under the remit of either body?

Personally I don't believe the salary cap is going up (more than inflation) again any time soon, it can't as the game is not rich enough to cave into greedy manager and elite player demands.