Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Red V Podcast

jackyboi90

Listened to this pod for the first time since rd1-preseason and it is definitely going into the rotation.

Im always late to the party on these things but I can recommend to anyone who hasn’t tried it yet. Very polished and professional host who keeps things moving at a good pace. The guest was very good too. Was quite honest with no “homerism”. I liked the last section for the lower grades too as I don’t catch much of that.

I even did another lap of the oval to finish it off! Thanks and keep it up.

thanks mate! Always great when we find new listeners. Appreciate the feedback and hope you enjoy the ride that we are going on with this bloody club! 😂

jackyboi90

A bounce back victory against Manly has the Dragons knocking on the top 8 door again.
Hear the full recap, what we liked, what we didn't like and who were the standout performers.

The latest Dragons news (including those brutal comments by Sydney Kings owner Paul Smith about how the Dragons are being run), Preview of the Cowboys game, lower grade wrap, Fans questions and a special chat with Jersey Flegg and NSW U/19's Prop Jacob Webster.

OneEyedDragon

A bounce back victory against Manly has the Dragons knocking on the top 8 door again.
Hear the full recap, what we liked, what we didn't like and who were the standout performers.

The latest Dragons news (including those brutal comments by Sydney Kings owner Paul Smith about how the Dragons are being run), Preview of the Cowboys game, lower grade wrap, Fans questions and a special chat with Jersey Flegg and NSW U/19's Prop Jacob Webster.
A good episode, and always nice to review a win. Luke's commentary is always informative and knowledgeable, plus young Jacob hopefully has the makings of a future star for the Dragons. I think nearly all fans wish that the Paul King offer had been accepted - unfortunately we never hear of WIN Corp contributing anything to the joint venture! Maybe they do, but we never hear about it??

jackyboi90

Another week and another loss for the Dragons. Sunday's demolition leaves the Saints with a long shot to make the finals.
What's happening at the club? Where is the accountability and forward planning by coach and management?

How is there no changes to the side for this week?

Speak at length about the unoriginality of our attack and defence.
Does Hook care about the long term results? What role do the players take in responsibility for the poor results?

Plus latest Dragons news (Gasnier, Smith, Bath added to Legends Walk, team list review, NRLW update), Preview Cronulla game, Fan of the month, Fan questions and heaps more!

jackyboi90

What more can be said about the club at this current stage?

We disect the derby loss to Cronulla, and talk about the lack of imagination offensively under Griffin's reign.

Talk about the James Graham punting, and what if any, plan the board and upper management have for the future.
Why are they sitting idly by and staying silent at such a low time in the club's history?

Plus preview of the Canberra game, lower grade wrap, latest dragons news (team list review, McCullough retirement rumor's, Sims career at Saints all but over) and fans corner questions. #redv

Great pod. Couldn’t add anything more to the frustrations voiced about the toothless club management, the insipid coaching and just how shit the team is playing.

Loved the bit about how that decrepit idiot “Griffin” had the hide to say that the Dragons were playing good footy. Christ on a cracker! What a deadshit!

I don’t know any Dragon fans that would disagree with the host on the this episode.

Please keep shining a light on how hopeless our club is at the moment. It needs to be said!

OneEyedDragon

What more can be said about the club at this current stage?

We disect the derby loss to Cronulla, and talk about the lack of imagination offensively under Griffin's reign.

Talk about the James Graham punting, and what if any, plan the board and upper management have for the future.
Why are they sitting idly by and staying silent at such a low time in the club's history?

Plus preview of the Canberra game, lower grade wrap, latest dragons news (team list review, McCullough retirement rumor's, Sims career at Saints all but over) and fans corner questions. #redv
A good if mildly depressing episode. The stats that were presented show a club that is floundering in all areas.

I was going to ask that the Podcast try to get Hook on an episode to talk about his plans and goals, but after Jack's colourful description of his coaching skills, I guess that won't be happening! 😁😆

Any chance getting Craig Young on to talk about the club’s 5 year plan?

Crush

After watching the Dragons play uninspiring football week in week out, it’s really frustrating to listen to Hook, Hunt, some fans say we are playing good footy at times.
We aren’t. We haven’t played one game this year where I felt weve played well.
The best part of the season has been listening to the Red V Podcast. Love the way Jack and co hosts always call it how it is, never rude or disrespectful but not sugarcoating the performances.
Keep it up, best thing the fans have to look forward to.

thebigredv

Another season wasted.

Still trying to get a good look at our juniors.

No apparent young forwards bursting into the scene, just busted old ones.

Then there's the coaching situation. Say what you want about Griffin but with all due respect he has been resoundingly ineffectual at implanting a positive attacking or defensive DNA to our team.

Then there's the dysfunctional board who want to extend him, happy to then pay him out if need be, and instead of success focus on sales! I have an idea, maybe some hand painted red v wooden spoons for the members package. With the absolute crickets on the recruitment front wherelse will we finish next year?

Not winning is one thing but when you lose complete respect for the club you have always followed it's a worry. Listening to the podcast it's no doubt this is where we sit right now.

In the background other clubs are already planning for a successful 2023. What are we doing?

jackyboi90

Thanks for the kind words
After watching the Dragons play uninspiring football week in week out, it’s really frustrating to listen to Hook, Hunt, some fans say we are playing good footy at times.
We aren’t. We haven’t played one game this year where I felt weve played well.
The best part of the season has been listening to the Red V Podcast. Love the way Jack and co hosts always call it how it is, never rude or disrespectful but not sugarcoating the performances.
Keep it up, best thing the fans have to look forward to.

Thanks for the kind words Crush. All we’ve wanted this podcast to be from day one, is a place where we accurately report on the dragons and give fans an area to voice their concerns.
This isn’t one or two bad years, this has been a decade of utter incompetence and lies given to us by board and coaches.
Now assistant coaches and James Graham are the ones being made scapegoats for another wasted season. Please.
Wish the board and football dept would grow some balls and own their incompetence, fans are sick of the constant BS.
Like others have said in this thread for a long long time, and like we have banged on about on the podcast: there is no planning, foresight or basic ideas from anyone in the club to take it to the next level. The bare minimum for this club (that was predicted to be a super club back in 1998) is to make the finals. It’s not that difficult. You just have to be a middle of the road team. We aren’t even that. Sad.

Dragon David

Thanks for the kind words Crush. All we’ve wanted this podcast to be from day one, is a place where we accurately report on the dragons and give fans an area to voice their concerns.
This isn’t one or two bad years, this has been a decade of utter incompetence and lies given to us by board and coaches.
Now assistant coaches and James Graham are the ones being made scapegoats for another wasted season. Please.
Wish the board and football dept would grow some balls and own their incompetence, fans are sick of the constant BS.
Like others have said in this thread for a long long time, and like we have banged on about on the podcast: there is no planning, foresight or basic ideas from anyone in the club to take it to the next level. The bare minimum for this club (that was predicted to be a super club back in 1998) is to make the finals. It’s not that difficult. You just have to be a middle of the road team. We aren’t even that. Sad.
Thanks for your great podcast jackyboi90. Always good to hear what is said by all - clear and concise and to the point.

The Dragons need a complete overhaul and start from scratch again. The situation has reached a point whereby each component of the club from management down to the tea lady (well maybe not her as she is probably doing the best job of all) needs replacing. It's no use just patching things up just to get from one point to another with breakdowns along the way. It has to be smooth sailing starting from next year.

I would say that all fans of the Dragons are truly fed up with what is happening and clearly it is not a happy place at the moment.

Look forward to your further broadcasts.

dannyt

Thanks for your great podcast jackyboi90. Always good to hear what is said by all - clear and concise and to the point.

The Dragons need a complete overhaul and start from scratch again. The situation has reached a point whereby each component of the club from management down to the tea lady (well maybe not her as she is probably doing the best job of all) needs replacing. It's no use just patching things up just to get from one point to another with breakdowns along the way. It has to be smooth sailing starting from next year.

I would say that all fans of the Dragons are truly fed up with what is happening and clearly it is not a happy place at the moment.

Look forward to your further broadcasts.
Sorry to tell you, but Doust sacked the tea lady years ago, and replaced her with the Crownies lady.

getsmarty

Well Said @jackyboi90 .

jackyboi90

On this week's podcast we review the 2 point loss to Canberra that condemned the Dragons to their 3rd straight defeat. Is there respite in sight?

Have the Dragons mismanaged the way they are developing Tyrell Sloan? Or has Anthony Griffin got it right?

Why are the young players being continuously overlooked? What do they need to do more of? Can Hook see something we can't?

Plus latest news (NRLW list, Trent Barrett latest), fans corner