Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces 2

POPEYE

Maybe Bart Campbell should take Smith's place as the NRL'S CEO . . . no, that wouldn't work, too closely associated with the Storm even if he wanted to relinquish his official connection . . . pity, he is far more proactive and better credentialed than wankers like Greenberg & Co

Seems the bloke is credited with saving Grant's bacon, orchestrating the possibility that all clubs will break even by 2018 and a myriad of other wonderful possibilities for the wellbeing of the game. He probably is the reason Bellamy is hanging around and judging by where he is at an early age it's not a fluke.

He's a sports marketing guru, sounds like something connected to sport doesn't it, no wonder he is spokesman for the club CEO's, his perfect credentials seem incongruent in the world of RL where stumbling is a prerequisite. Imagine if the ARLC could find another exactly like him willing to take a pay cut and guide the NRL from the shithouse to the penthouse as Smith was supposed to do

Irony is that if Campbell was to be coaxed away from Melbourne to save the NRL he would probably encourage every club to spend a part of their new windfall on adequate coaching, training and injury management before looking for players to poach. Holding a position as a major player in the Storm's future he would be reluctant to encourage more clubs coming to their senses

One of the media rags says something like 'the NRL warns the clubs to spend the new money wisely' . . . if that's not a bully getting slapped in the face and pissing his f**king pants I'm not a soc with too much spare time

POPEYE

Wouldn't be surprised if '16 is the last year we'll see Greg Inglis play, he could easily suffer from a catastrophic breakdown in his running gear. If he'd stayed where he belonged he wouldn't be under threat of premature ejaculation from the game. I'd rather see him go to Brisbane if he could finish his career playing centre

Bellamy wouldn't have had him emulating the Titanic, skidding into forwards when he should have been powering past backs, he never had the strength below his balls to match Graham Eadie but he's not the only one. Dugan will come to the same end if he doesn't make the switch, complete waste of talent shoving specialist centres into positions that destabilize them

POPEYE

As long as the Titans remain one of the clubs that spend their life daydreaming about what should have been they'll continue to do their bit in keeping the NRL hog tied to mediocrity. The rubbish about Roberts being 'insulted' is just more bullshit, any club that keeps Bird on the books can't be serious about stepping up

Imo Roberts is a loaded loose canon, he could go off in any direction as easily as Mundine did , last thing he needs is a what if club led by a what if coach. Can't blame the bloke, you know what they say about bordering on genius, Souths/Penrith/GC are hardly conducive in preventing teetering on the edge.

If any player needed to play under a supercoach or at least at a cultured club it's the bloke who has had 'Centre Of The Year' and dollar signs thrown at him whilst finally trying to get his head in the right place. I hope his uncle is no Colonel Tom Parker and he goes to a club where his state of mind can be managed equally as well as his ability

expert

Roberts is an XPT on the Zig Zag Rail, goes alright on the straights and guaranteed to crash on the corners... Would be great in the ESL!

expert

As long as the Titans remain one of the clubs that spend their life daydreaming about what should have been they'll continue to do their bit in keeping the NRL hog tied to mediocrity. The rubbish about Roberts being 'insulted' is just more bullshit, any club that keeps Bird on the books can't be serious about stepping up

Imo Roberts is a loaded loose canon, he could go off in any direction as easily as Mundine did , last thing he needs is a what if club led by a what if coach. Can't blame the bloke, you know what they say about bordering on genius, Souths/Penrith/GC are hardly conducive in preventing teetering on the edge.

If any player needed to play under a supercoach or at least at a cultured club it's the bloke who has had 'Centre Of The Year' and dollar signs thrown at him whilst finally trying to get his head in the right place. I hope his uncle is no Colonel Tom Parker and he goes to a club where his state of mind can be managed equally as well as his ability
James needs to be more like Joe..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=GLBCQWx5mKs

POPEYE

Joe's coming to a club nearest your heart I presume, pity you'll have to travel so far to see him. There's another Pom I'd rather see at Melbourne, scored 3 more tries than your Joe, made over a thousand more metres and more clean breaks

Best thing about Jermaine McGillvary, the #1 ranked ESL player, is that it takes more than one Kiwi to stop him and he's only half the size of your bloke. He could be as noteworthy in Storm colours as Marcus Bai was and although it doesn't matter to you, like Joe, can't be classified as a poach

Yes indeedy, Jermaine coming to our shores would really be something . . . we need more unstoppables . . . 1/3 more tackle busts than Joe

POPEYE

Now that's the spirit, Marmin's doing the right thing for Australia offering his services to the Union Olympic Sevens. Imagine if Roberts did the same thing, go on a mission to help Australia win Gold in Rio, get an Olympic Gold to his credit before 'returning' to League

Barba's doing it as a dummy spit admittedly but anyone with half a f**king brain knows if the best League players joined the best suited couple of Union players on a hiatus to Rio gold would be in the bag. Then again, RU would never allow it to happen, Rah Rah Boofhead Pride is far more important than good sense

You can bet your bottom dollar the Yanks will be sending their best athletes to the Sevens, wonder if Hayne has dual citizenship yet, he could even be their captain . . . imagine that

expert

Joe's coming to a club nearest your heart I presume, pity you'll have to travel so far to see him. There's another Pom I'd rather see at Melbourne, scored 3 more tries than your Joe, made over a thousand more metres and more clean breaks

Best thing about Jermaine McGillvary, the #1 ranked ESL player, is that it takes more than one Kiwi to stop him and he's only half the size of your bloke. He could be as noteworthy in Storm colours as Marcus Bai was and although it doesn't matter to you, like Joe, can't be classified as a poach

Yes indeedy, Jermaine coming to our shores would really be something . . . we need more unstoppables . . . 1/3 more tackle busts than Joe
Jermaine like Michael wouldn't cut in the NRL.... Joe on the other hand is a thriller!!!!

POPEYE

Bellamy may retire after '16 is the 'rumour', wankers will be biting at the bit to claim he's going when his champions fade, the pity is the rest of the great players he nurtured and those that he saved from obscurity when others couldn't will be conveniently forgotten. I reckon the bloke surely must be getting tired of not infringing on the fortunes of other clubs by poaching their best players, as is becoming more commonplace . . . his pride will prevent him outdoing Benny's stats

Which leads me to the point. Forget the fact all this chopping and changing of players leaves supporters out in the cold, never knowing if it's just good enough to follow the colours when their children really follow idols. Whose to say Slater/Smith/Cronk would have performed as well elsewhere, even Inglis's best talents are wasted, Widdop would've been far more comfortable if he stayed where he belonged and no I'm not beating the concession for one club players drum again

Be interesting to me to note how well all these players that have been 'forced' to move elsewhere perform, is Sammy for instance worth the turmoil he is causing, I'll be surprised if Maguire lasts long enough to begin again from scratch on the road to a dynasty. Player movements not only demoralise a coach and supporters they destabilize the game, the combinations that made the players great in the first place are not there and most struggle to keep up appearances

It's a shame that most players looking for greener pastures or being shown the door is because of money when it should be because of opportunity

Jason Maher

Smith and Slater absolutely would have gone well anywhere. Rare talents. Ditto Inglis. Cronk took a little longer to mature into the champion player he is, so under different coaching, it's conceivable his career may have been stunted.

As for Widdop, he belongs at Saints. I refuse to enter into any correspondence on this matter. ;-)

POPEYE

Going well is not the point I'm trying to make ol' mate, going exceptionally well is what I'm alluding to. Part of being a great coach is creating a comfort zone, a singular example is Gavin Cooper whom I would have no qualms about selecting in any rep team. The bloke is a fish out of water anywhere except NQ where he feels comfortable

Most of Bellamy's prodigies do well when they leave the joint but they do more than well when they play in the group comfort zone he created. Testimony to that, aside from what most wankers believe, is the fact that even he couldn't overcome his own creation when he coached against Qld. If some of his Big Top were Newsouthwelshmen it would have been a different story

There is no guarantee RTS will do as well as expected away from his comfort zone, if Maloney went with him I'd be happier, no doubt he'll play well but will he be the saviour the Kiwis are wishing for. Could work both ways, Walker may not be comfortable at Souths and could well play out of his skin for the Seagles.

As for your man Widdop, the last thing he needed was Benji, he would do far better teaching what he learnt in Melbourne to a new face . . . imagine what he could with Bird, not the one that shits in his own nest, the one that is flying high and your mob want back

Jason Maher

I'm a bit nonplussed about where Bird will fit into our team. Hutchison is waiting in the wings to replace Benji, leaving no spot open in the halves. Dugan, Lafai, Aitken, Mata'utia and Mann have fullback and centre covered (plus we have a very good young fullback coming through in Matt Dufty). And with de Belin, Frizell, and Thompson, there's no spot open in the back row either. I guess we'll see how he goes with the second year blues. The problem might solve itself if he kicks on from a very good debut, and becomes an obvious choice over any of the players mentioned.

Which is not to say I don't want him back, just that we might get one of our young blokes back only to lose yet another one. No doubt Sharks fans would call that justice for pinching Frizell.

mave

I believe that Smith, Slater and Cronk have all been a big part of improving each others' games.
Bellamy has fostered this environment exceptionally well.

I have doubts wether Cronk and Slater especially would have ended up so good without Smith.
Smith probably would be the same player no matter what jersey he had pulled on.

Unfortunately though, the entire discussion has been well and truly tainted, and Bellamy was a big part of that, no doubt.

POPEYE

I believe that Smith, Slater and Cronk have all been a big part of improving each others' games.
Bellamy has fostered this environment exceptionally well.

I have doubts wether Cronk and Slater especially would have ended up so good without Smith.
Smith probably would be the same player no matter what jersey he had pulled on.

Unfortunately though, the entire discussion has been well and truly tainted, and Bellamy was a big part of that, no doubt.

I certainly hope so, I wouldn't have forgiven him giving away players to those that didn't deserve them . . . I detest f**king bludgers

POPEYE

When I read that Blake Ayshford contemplated leaving the NRL it reminded me of the first time I saw him 'do real good', those times have been few and far between. It does make you think of players that were good enough to play NRL but missed reaching their potential, unfortunately there are too many of them which belies the fact there are not enough great players to go round . . . which is bullshit

If the bloke has a resurgent of 'promise' at the Warriors it beggars belief of what has happened in the interim. Johnathon Wright is another of many I hoped would keep on producing, always wondered how they would go if they started out at a strong club

Then again there's probably just as many players who began slowly at a strong club but progressed who may have faltered at a weaker club. It's a shame that most onlookers only see results and complications are never fully contemplated

POPEYE

Got to laugh, now there's some media dude who reckons supporters need more stoppages to eradicate intentional 20m penalties. Just what referees need, more rules to remember and more chances for a spot on the red carpet

The dickhead wants a 2 minute sin bin for players that intentionally give away penalties to give his team time to reset the defence. We're supposed to wait even longer while the player argues then traipses off the field. All the referee has to do to circumvent all this bullshit is not blow penalties inside the 20 until play breaks down.

Players won't try to give away intentional penalties if it doesn't f**king work, if they know the ref will just indicate there will be a penalty later rather than sooner they will also realise a purposeful indiscretion will make them out an idiot and not a martyr

Jason Maher

What do you mean by 20m penalty? You mean a penalty deliberately conceded by the defence inside their own 20m? I find it hard to believe there are too many of those. Defending your own line is not something you want to do for any length of time, particularly deliberately.

POPEYE

It's generally believed that teams who are regarded as great try-line defenders intentionally give away penalties to halt opposition momentum in the hope confusion will be their saviour. Dogs, Roosters and Storm are particularly good at it, when these teams and others like them have their defence set they are hard to breach

Then there's the old adage that hold a team out long enough it will revert to 2 points instead of 6, but I'm sure you already know all this and are just helping me out with a bump. Anyway, some goose reckons the way to stop it is send offenders to the bin for 2 minutes, not 10 because that would be 'unrealistic'

Not sure how much it happens now but the best referees on the planet, the Poms, didn't blow penalties inside the 20 and especially the 10 until either the attack broke down or the set finished. This f**king malarkey about the offence being a scourge on the game that needs to be exorcised by sophisticated means is just unadulterated bullshit

Klein loves to stand on the try-line and blow penalty after penalty for 'hands on ball', 'holding down' and a fanny hair 'offside' and the defenders know it and use his grandstanding to their benefit. Most other referees follow suit.

If he signalled, maybe by patting himself on the head or grabbing his balls or whatever is deemed appropriate, that there was a penalty forthcoming when play stopped of it's own accord no defender in his right mind would infringe intentionally

Written in crayon it's easier to defend sets of 2 or 3 tackles interrupted by a penalty than it is sets of 6 with a penalty in between . . . no need to look for a miracle cure