Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

Crikey, I wonder who was the best League team, the 11 straight Dragons or the current Qld team. To be taken as seriously as the Phase III Falcon v the current V8 Supercar, Jesse Owen v Usain Bolt or Kardashian v Theron. Better still, comparing the viability of any current League team to its counterpart in the last century is as disfunctional as putting chalk in cheese packaging.

Even my crystal ball with a broken bulb had Pearce and Maloney on the outer should 8str8 eventuate, if only Duges had of kept his eye on the f**king ball Mitchell could have had '2013' and even '2014' tattooed on the most visible available space. The media will remind Reynolds and Sutton every one of the next 365 to leave room somewhere. Bit of a worry where McQueen will record '13, perhaps backwards on the forehead.

POPEYE

Last night at referee friendly Leichhardt Oval was an ordinary game made pivotal by the not so obvious. Shaun Johnson is now being lauded as the new 'Benji', thank f**k his speed will help to make up for the many Marshall Mistakes on the horizon. Elliott was the real MOM with his halftime spiel, sound for us not required.

Shaun is not footy smart enough to lead the team tactically, hope Matty is prepared for a continuation of the big headedness he had to reign in during the Penrith game. That said Elliott seems to have the ear of the team, the second half turnaround in a mob that usually find it much harder getting back on than falling off was admirable.

Best result of the night was the realisation that the light at end of the tunnel for the Tigers is turning into a blaze, great vibes that a Potter pruned team will flower in '14 if the young guns we see are the beginning of a culture propagated in the huge far south west.

POPEYE

Friendship the ultimate experience, Furner hasn't deserted his old playing mate Sticky, evident by his attempt to give the Eels' coach every chance to save face. Playing his #1 fullback freezing his balls on the wing, his #1 sidestepper at fullback, and a player at #7 who thinks a cutout pass is a way through a mountain still couldn't get Parra out of the shit.

Maybe Furner purposely wanted to see how his blokes could handle positional adversity and what better team against than Parramatta, but he should have known the conditions may turn the game into a lottery. Hope he doesn't perpetuate his fantasy away from home . . . hang on, might not matter against the Dragons.

POPEYE

Roosters/Sharks certainly was an upset, not because of the win but the severity of the loss. Pearce badly needed to boost his morale and Robbo needed to know his coaching works with the bloke, even if others don't. Who's to say Daley/Parish/Fulton will do any good with Adam Reynolds but the Roosters have shown they can operate well with Mitchell.

If there is one team who doesn't give a shit about anything except winning the pissant cup it's Manly, Jamie Lyon can't be coaxed into letting Origin interfere and key players always seem to take turns nursing injuries so they're ready for the attempt at the holy grail. No coincidence the only other team with the same one track mind is the Dogs who are coached by a man who is an expert on the procedure.

POPEYE

I know injury is a lottery in a game that requires players to be projectiles but there are times when you can't help but feel robbed as well as sorry for the bloke concerned. If there was somewhere else to play Kevin Locke Elliott would have had Glen Fisiiahi at fullback. It could be double jeopardy now that he won't be available to fill in for Locke who will undoubtedly be injured again.

Fisiiahi and Ben Henry are standout players imo, equal to any other in the Warriors lineup and it's a f**king shame we mightn't see either again this season. If Elliott fails to win many more games this year it won't be a surprise because everyone knows he's a shit coach, but Glen and Ben were going great under his tutelage and it seems fairness has deserted them all.

POPEYE

Shit refereeing aside the Dragons deserved to win, they did something the Roosters or Manly couldn't do even if they can only do it once in awhile. Souths are the only team in the comp that doesn't need to win just yet and it showed. No brainers are going to blame the absence of Inglis but that would do Dugan and his mates an injustice. There's no reason the Dragons can't beat any team on that performance.

bellyache

Shit refereeing aside the Dragons deserved to win, they did something the Roosters or Manly couldn't do even if they can only do it once in awhile. Souths are the only team in the comp that doesn't need to win just yet and it showed. No brainers are going to blame the absence of Inglis but that would do Dugan and his mates an injustice. There's no reason the Dragons can't beat any team on that performance.
yep... Dragons hammered by the refs and still beat the 1 man team... LOL@$OUFF$..:lol::lol:

POPEYE

I can't complain, any one of 3 of my favourite coaches can win the Shield, even wouldn't mind Toovey who is flying under the radar if his team isn't

bellyache

The Roosters could drop 1 or 2 before the finals, infact it would help thier finals campaign... The shield unfortunatley isn't the pinnacle, people only acknowledge the premiers..

POPEYE

Thank f**k I'm not people, can't afford to be ordinary and expect anyone to read my ramblings. Doesn't matter much anyhow, Jarryd reckons Origin has superceded the Cup and who are we to dispute a legend

POPEYE

Statistics are a hateful thing, Melbourne don't get a mention in the top five teams for any of points, tries, assists, tackles, line breaks and assists or hit ups, but they are 5th in for and against. F**ked if I know how they're running 3rd, maybe I should just concentrate on Robbo and Maguire to finish my season on a high.

Then again I could disregard statistics altogether, or at least until it becomes impossible for Elliott to face Flanagan in the pissant cup final. Don't laugh, according to stats Tuivasa-Sheck makes more hitups than any other Rooster and the only non-frontrower in the five. I'm reminded constantly however that stats make Jennings far and away the best centre on the planet.

Wonder if all you Pearce haters realise that he leads line break assists, which after all is what a #7 is paid to do, Cronk doesn't get a mention in the five or for try assists which Mitchell is second best at. To top it all off Albert Kelly is miles in front for missed tackles and can't be worth a pint of cold piss

POPEYE

Have to confess the main reason I disregard Barba is because he's a Dog, the bloke really is wasted in the den of iniquity, but a lot has happened in the couple of weeks since we saw the two could've/should've Qld teams. Appears Cowboys/Broncos may be playing for Ben's signature, the coaches' futures and Qld respectability all in the one game. The prospect of running 2nd last has taken the back seat.

Wonder if Barba's indecision will upset the pitbulls enough for them to lose predictability, shame Sandow is still 'injured', c'mon Ricky you can do it . . . we know you're capable

Dragons have caused a quandary with their challenge to the other 16 pointers, especially if the team sheets stay the same, Furner again plays his blokes out of position and there is no dumb and dumber confrontation. An upset maybe if the win against Souths wasn't just a one-off payback for the Charity Shield, thank f**k I'm not a betting man.

Although arguably one and the same I'm more interested in what Maguire is going to do than what Souths are, will the soup nazi get a better result with the same ingredients or will he try a psychological switch of Merritt to fullback. We're about to find out which of the Titans/Rabbitohs is again running on 4 wheels or will the game be a desperate schmozzle.

Stuck between a rock and a hard place asking myself can Melbourne afford another loss, so keen to see Elliott do well especially with the vultures hanging out in his garden. Not many will give a shit Matty's Mob is being derailed by injuries and the wanker Lols' will want justification of their existence. Is it possible a Melbourne loss can be disregarded due to the dreaded Warrior/Melbourne curse . . . I could live with that

Big game at Shark Park for many obvious reasons . . . even money in my book

The new team to beat face a should-have-always-been a team to beat who have suggested recently they may really be one. Does anyone have any f**king idea what is going to eventuate in Newcastle, does Mitchell still need to prove a point, can Gagai dethrone Jennings, battle of the Mortimer/Gower secret weapons, will Scott hurt Williams badly, what will the Mighty Jeremy bring . . . just goes on and on.

Monday Night has been my favoured game for years because of it's high unpredictability, if Fox can conjure up something spectacular in the Campbelltown game Gunga Din would have been proud

POPEYE

I don't usually read much before I begin my daily rambling but good job I think Sterlo is a must read, could be accused of plagiarism otherwise. As a prelude to writing about who I thought were key players for each team I thought as an example of one who is obscure would be Jeremy Smith, quick research in the early hours shows that the only game he played in which the Knights lost badly was against the Seagles early on.

As Sterlo points out every other losing game he played in were by just a fanny hair, so for Newcastle my man is definitely Jeremy. Many will rave about Inglis not being there for Souths but imo their 'must have' is Reynolds, Robbo would worry without Maloney and Storm may as well forfeit without Smith.

If Manly are going to threaten Lyons is more important than any other and I also disagree with Ferguson, Campese can't be done without. Kasiano is the most irreplaceable Dog for mine and I suppose Sterlo could be right about Mateo but crikey, Elliott is walking a high wire looking for direction. Sharks will need Fifita to inspire Carney, don't agree with Robson as the winning chip and Titans/Panthers will need everyone.

Just as an addendum to my rubbish pile Rabbitoh supporters must be relieved that Maguire hasn't left it too late to let Keary know how valuable he is, if the headlines are accurate . . . and thanks Fire ol' mate for your heads up on Bellamy's book

POPEYE

Noticed a headline saying Kenny-Dowall reckons he's back in form and hinting he shouldn't be overlooked for re-signing. He never would have been out of form if Robbo didn't expect him to pass the ball, the bloke is not smart enough to play centre even if his running from dummy half gives that illusion. Better he plays on the blooper proof wing, give another hyphenated name a chance to impress in his place.

Not sure what the furore is about with Snowden's suspension, 'knee to the head' is not a separate charge just as 'shoulder', 'swinging arm', 'crusher' or any other avoidable incident causing head trauma is not a separate charge. Kade should have been charged with a 'reckless attack to the head of a player', the degree of intention the only determining factor. Knees, shoulders and arms should not be allowed to confuse the issue.

Bulldogs trying to find their mojo is another headline worth a giggle, what they're really doing is again trying to win a premiership by a method that no other team would contemplate, brute force. The sooner other clubs realise the Dogs are the only front wheel drive in the race the easier it will be to get them off track. Easy for me to say I know but the driver is Kasiano, not as though he's hiding in the back seat.

Fire

Jezza is an awesome player, and I'd take him back in a heart-beat. But just to show you how good the 09-10 Dragons were (who won both Minor Premierships those years), Jezza played exactly 50% of his games with us (he was only with us in 09-10). The rest he sat out injured (which is why I think management moved him on).

But yeah, I hope he lifts another Premiership trophy with Wayne-O up there because he was the hardest forward we've had in years, and even though he was only on the field 50% of the time, he gave great service to Saints.

POPEYE

Didn't watch either match last night for different reasons, Dogs and a non-event the first, the second is still 2 hours isn't it. Did however flick over between movies just in time to see Barba hopping around the dressing room and immediately thought what a happy f**king coincidence. This morning I see the injury is potentially season ending . . . very talented footballer is Ben.

Matty King returns to shouts of 'big deal' from most but the bloke is an inspirational player, his laid back man from the bush aura is just what the regimented Rabbitohs need to ease the tension. His influence is that he likes playing the game and it shows, time is running out maybe but he is worth the indulgence.

Gotta give it to Mundine, his ability to make a quid will one day be legendary. Put shit on him all you like but sheer tenacity makes him The Man, no-one can accuse the bloke of wasting talent, matter of fact he is the undoubted world champion of extracting talent to the nth degree. Not saying he will squeeze every available bit out of Ferguson as he did with himself but he certainly will claim responsibility . . . good luck I say