Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

Maloney's the man, I dig his version of shit happens when he says if the Roosters give away penalties they'll just have to try harder. Losing Williams next year will be a hiccup compared to the catastrophe of ever losing Maloney, the bloke is the key signing for Robbo who no doubt will come up with another Sonny.

James is an arrogant Jack Russell who refuses to stay on a chain and his attitude rubbing off on his team mates is the real reason the Roosters are cup holders. Williams has learned more about the modern version of the game from Maloney than vice versa, Pearce is doing the exact job expected by the coach because of the 5/8 and the rest of the mob are merely following suit.

Wally had the exact same attitude and always looked as though he knew precisely the amount of effort needed and at the precise time. As long as the playmaker who can run when he needs to stays healthy there is no need for anyone at Bondi to chew their nails. The Warriors with the crew they've got now miss James a whole lot more than they miss Cleary.

H.H

Agree with most of that Pops.

Maloney's made pretty much everyone a better player, Sonny included...although I'll say Sonny's helped James in that regard as well...

POPEYE

Interesting article by Brad Walter on how Issac Luke is maturing into a #9 worth comparing to Cam Smith, the poms rated him the best last year but we know how comical they can be. Luke is going to get a lot closer to Smith before he's finished though, there is less and less kneejerk and he's still got 5 years up his sleeve.

Cameron more than any other before him has made #9 the pivotal role #6 used to be, Piggins for instance when hookers used to hook would never contemplate doing anything else than winning a scrum and bashing the opposition. Jake Friend is another stepping up to the mark but there aren't many players that can tackle continuously, kick tactically, distribute the ball impeccably and stay in one piece for a full game

Imo any young bloke should consider the #9 the pinnacle, every other position is a consolation prize in the quest to be a dominating League player. Seems everyone is intent on digging up halfbacks at a time little blokes are being bashed out of the game, Smith proved against Manly that a role once reserved for boofheads can do now do it all

POPEYE

Well f**k me dead, tell one of the referees he's not allowed to play with his whistle and what do you get . . . a great game of footy

POPEYE

Two smartest players at Eden Park were both Poms, one directed play and the other tried to salvage it. Widdop is the difference between '13 and '14 Dragons and his cool head won the day. Tomkins is more footy savvy than Johnson and Townsend combined, imo he should be in the halves with Johnson at fullback.

Johnson's last tackle play wore his team out, Tomkins makes far better decisions but is too removed. The only blame that should be directed at Elliott is pandering to Johnson, surely by now everyone knows that Benji style meandering is outdated

POPEYE

The NRL has got to take the whistle away from one of the referees completely, searching and competing for penalties must be stopped. Blowing a f**king pedantic penalty just for the sake of it doesn't necessarily favour the team receiving it, loss of momentum for the attacking side and relief from immediate pressure for the defending side often occurs.

I was once a big fan of Klein, maybe he thinks he had to start his career in England to get a fair go and now he's determined to prove some mystical f**king point only he's privvy to but his showboating is doing no-one any favours including himself. The other bloke seemed to be either compensating or competing.

I'm in Qld at the moment and the first game Friday was Broncos/Cowboys. a great game because one bloke was clearly in charge, I thought maybe the NRL had came to it's senses.

POPEYE

Anyway, referees are like lawyers and we all know we can't do without them or so we're told, let's look on the bright side. When the Broncos poached Wallace it was for a reason, he was a Penrith standout. Having to play second fiddle in Brisbane was to his detriment because it derailed him.

Now he's back finishing what he started and maybe poaching has got what it deserves because he looks comfortable. Funny when you give a playmaker free rein he can step up, Widdop is growing an extra leg, Maloney certainly doesn't miss Williams, Cronk is back barking orders albeit a bit rusty and Campese is free of the McCrone anchor hopefully.

Notice that none of the above are show ponies, getting the job done is paramount, no looking for themselves on the big screen. Thurston is another but tries too hard because he's a one man spine and Hoffman may finally stay where he belongs with a little more practice.

I was more impressed with Penrith than Melbourne because of how Wallace kept them in the game and the Dragons because Johnson is no match for Widdop despite the Warriors winning on paper. Teams have to find that special player, one devoid of bling and self centred egotism like Manly also have in DCE

POPEYE

Must confess I missed the Tigers/Titans game so can't wait for today's replay but I did see the Raiders celebrate a win like there was no tomorrow. No idea who was the most relieved, Campese or Stuart, the bloke that should have played with all the weight on his shoulders didn't have a care in the world.

Wighton's defence is as spectacular as his speed, the bloke has only to improve on what looks an impressive kicking game and the Raiders will have no trouble in believing enough to drag themselves from the Sticky mire. Even McCrone is on board with his impersonation of the Souths #9, almost makes me f**king tingle with excitement.

Rumour that Nine may broadcast the Sunday game live if the NRL start it at 4pm, they reckon they need it to lead into their News. My bet is the number of people that can't afford Fox is dwindling so those willing to sit through 2 hours of an 80 minute game is also dwindling. I wouldn't have to wait until today to watch the Fox replay of the Tigers' sterling effort if Nine went live so I'm all for it

POPEYE

Have to raise a giggle, only 2 rounds mind you but the Dragons with a 41 point for and against coached by the man voted least likely to hold his job is the most impressive float in the mardis gras, wonders never cease. Of course I knew the Price would be right . . . vibes are rarely wrong

Bullshit I hear, well I had faith in Widdop, maybe not as a saviour but certainly an inspiration because he's never been taught anything else than dogged perseverance. The only things wankers can knock Price for now are imo without justification, the bloke is harmonising the new 5/8 with the rest and his game plans are at least adequate. There has been no sign of luck winning the day so far.

The real danger is losing Widdop to injury but to Dragon supporters that anxiety can be replaced with euphoria if Dugan stays healthy for long periods and the pair become a duo. A big ask maybe, imo The Duges has been taunting injury because he's tried too hard to pull the team out of the shit, now he may retire from being a Kamikaze and concentrate on Samurai

POPEYE

Tigers/Rabbitohs would have been no contest 2 weeks ago and probably shouldn't be now if Souths snap out of their lethargy. Bunnies can wait for their charge for the time being, full steam ahead to the Potter People before injury inevitably cruels them . . . 'Tedesco' is short for carrying an egg in a pocket

Josh Hoffman is the key at Suncorp, can't see Rooster complacency having a hand in this one. Griffin needs the win far more than Robbo, Broncos want a roll on desperately. Picturing Barba attempting to stop tries is frightening and a close game will suffice for me

Go the Panthers, a repetition of last week's doggedness will give them a better than even chance . . . wonder if the home crowd can be dragged away from their air conditioned pokie palace

Strange as it is the Sharks look easy meat for the Dragons, Price's shot at 'f**k you all' is far more interesting to most than any sympathy for Cronulla as they are knifed in the back whilst being held to the ground. Carney may be the equaliser against Widdop but don't hold your breath

Townsville will witness a man trying to be a one man band versus a man who wants to be a one man band, I hope Thurston makes a fool of Johnson if the Kiwi doesn't wake up to himself. Then again I want the Warriors to give Tomkins every chance by giving him the broken play he revels in with Johnson running straight . . . one way or another I'll feel sorry for someone say the vibes

Someone is going to pay for Brookvale regulars not having witnessed a win yet, guess who . . . can Peats save the day

Sticky versus Carty reads like a Mundine undercard . . . maybe a miracle with a fight worth watching

Monday night is again Bennett v Bellamy . . . never a foregone conclusion. My interest is wholly focussed on the progress of Hampton, he is the key to Melbourne's fortune this year imo. Benny is comfortable in his Eeyore impersonation for rallying of his troops

POPEYE

I back Sharp's stand on Lichaa 100%, it's about time poached players were made realise supporters are just as important as anything else in the game. F**king marauders like the Dogs shouldn't be allowed to let Cronulla train their player for a season.

What should happen if the Dogs sign Lichaa for next year is they should pay his wages for this year at the Sharks and it comes off their cap for the year or until the bloke's contract expires. Cronulla supporters have enough on their plate without Greenberg's old mob thinking Manly of the 80's has been reincarnated and it's who you know that counts.

Don't be surprised when professional brown-paper-baggers offer unidentifiable undisclosed retirement packages on top of the disclosed contract to up and coming youngsters to keep them in the fold. Melbourne's amateurish attempt in the past would pale in comparison.

At the least, this unadulterated poaching shit should be kept behind closed doors. Say Lichaa is the champion everyone wants him to be is it any wonder supporters say f**k it, I'm not paying through the gate for disappointments like this

POPEYE

I sympathise for the once great Bulldogs now having to play out of Australia's arsehole but I don't empathise for their pisspoor method of operation. Equally hated Melbourne but for most the acceptable reason of interstate rivalry for instance signed their next superstar when he was 14, Hampton could have just as easily been a Dog.

Forget all the other detrimental things affecting League, poaching is far and away the most carcinogenic. To pretend to protect struggling teams with an ineffective salary cap and then let the same teams be robbed of honestly nurtured talent is obscene hypocrisy. The NRL should be ashamed of the methodology if not the outcome.

This shit reeks of favouritism for the boys in the know, I could keep ranting on again about how all teams should be rewarded for nurturing talent but f**k that, I'm going to begin soapboxing as everyone should about the rubbish the Dogs are getting away with.

Why f**king bother entering a team in the NRL that represents a locality to prove you're better than other localities if you have to wait for those localities to produce something worth stealing. Forget the nonsense about not having enough local juniors, all juniors no matter where they live are freelancers until they are signed

For f**k sake, all clubs must be made to make a contribution, leeches like the Dogs should be relocated to somewhere they can regain the greatness they once had

POPEYE

Ominous were the Roosters and inspiring the Tigers. Don't expect too much from the Broncos, it's enough the combinations are coming together, coolheadedness was the lesson learned by them last night. They've snatched victory like that before but we can expect the Roosters to repeat the same again and again as they strive to become the cult driven team Robbo is aiming for.

My missus follows both the Tigers and Rabbitohs so I was happy to cheer loudly for Potter who at this stage needs only climbing consistency and help against the elements to protect his crop. He's determined to become a real coach like Robbo, not just an organiser like Hasler

POPEYE

Maybe I'm wrong about Elliott and he's just a whinger after all, he said the Warriors went better last night because Johnson played better. Maybe Matty has been reading what blokes like me are saying about Shaun's erratic performances and he's jumping on the bandwagon. Maybe that's a lot of shit and Johnson stepped up the way Elliott wants him to against a determined Cowboy's outfit . . . that'll do me.

Before the season began I had a friendly argument with a Manly supporting mate who said Widdop was overrated, the big 3 were carrying him all those years. I reckoned Melbourne would do it tough this year and suffered badly without him last year. Even an off night by Sam Williams last night didn't rattle Widdop and aren't the big three happy they may have found a replacement

Facing a quandary with the Dogs, tried to avoid watching their games for years now but every time I do they lose . . . maybe I should buy a jersey if I have that affect on them. The brawn heavy mob could have beaten a courageous Penrith if they had few more IQ points in total.

Ironic that Hasler's only real game plan is a war of attrition and in the end it was the Panthers who played to the clock . . . horsepower is a thing of the past maybe, revs could be what count most. Soward was impressive, as is his first year at any club when his previous one puts shit on him

POPEYE

Anyone else noticed Bellamy has the first man in the tackle diving at the legs a split second before the stand up tacklers . . . can't be penalised for tackling below the knees.

Hayne not getting charged for rubbishing the referees is as good as admitting he was right, there's been some pink shit this round.

Had to laugh as part of the reasoning in the predicted junior draft has Storm and Roosters disadvantaged through lack of juniors . . . what junior wouldn't want to play with either of these two and even sacrifice pay for the chance.

There are some players who are so easily injured consistently they are either kidding themselves or kidding the club they play for . . . either way they should look to some other sport

POPEYE

With a name like Young Tonumaipea you'd expect the bloke to be able to go the knuckle, he showed that Melbourne have a Jorge Taufua on their hands and he's born and bred. The other perceivable Origin question mark Mahe Fonua doesn't give as good vibes as the winger.

The Knights were impressive with their mongrel, even Gidley looked as though he belonged in the bash and barge game plan. Newcastle will win their fair share of games, Melbourne are one of only a few that seem to resist that kind of intimidation and still never guaranteed a win until the last minutes.

Too many pedantic penalties stopped play at crucial times for both sides, some received were just as detrimental as some given. Someone said referees have to make 1100 decisions in a game . . . they're not there to decide the f**king game, they're there to prevent one team having an unfair advantage

POPEYE

First off to anyone using what happened to Alex McKinnon as a vehicle to vent petty recriminations when the bloke and his family are still in harm's way may I say you are a queer merkin. The rest of us including every current NRL footballer are holding quiet vigil while Alex fights for recovery . . . all the very best to the young man.

What team in their right mind couldn't use Glenn Stewart but although every game he'll be trying to prove the point the vibes are against Manly when they front the Roosters. Brother Brett, Tafua and a match fit Foran might have made the difference . . . then again probably not

The more games the Dragons win without Duges the less they'll rely on him and the less need for his self destructive one-upmanship. A win against the Broncos albeit at what was once the Red V happy hunting ground should be enough to prove they haven't just caught the competition on the hop. Broncos however may surprise everyone with their newfound tenacity.

Hasler will undoubtedly roll out his poorly steered bulldozer once again and the Storm will have to face yet another barrage. The f**kwit who reckoned Melbourne is boring will have trouble staying awake in this one. Will the difficulties faced in one way or another over the last 3 weeks catch up with the despised southerners . . . that is the question

I've never been convinced of Mateo's worthiness so his absence isn't a worry for me and although I want Elliott to succeed I'd like the Tigers to win every game they play . . . if only to see Pat Richards add to his resume of the most underrated player of all time. The Warriors just need common sense to prevail for a win and Wests are still building on Potter's hard work . . . go the Magpies, leave Tigger for the rugrats

A few good matchups this week but Eels/Panthers could be match of the round . . . whodathought. Wallace returning for Penrith and Sandow returning for Parra, dangerous for opposing reasons. Sterling will be mumbling profanities imo by the end, what's worse Chris might have a good game and Peter will have more trouble getting rid of him

Rabbitohs have to start ridding themselves of fragility, other contenders are still getting away with early season lack of form but Souths on paper are a scribble. Won't take much for them to get on track but easy derailment is still a problem. The same intestinal fortitude being shown by the Raiders is what's needed for Maguire's mob

Tyrone Roberts v Todd Carney, both playing with consternation, trying to play while Rome burns around them. Can't help but feel sorry for the loser of this one, both teams at full strength and with the footy gods in their corner could beat anyone . . . more the pity

I've alluded before to the fact that some players should look to another sport and the Titans have more than their fare share of contenders. Maybe the GC injury prevention strategy is not up to scratch but they are the epitome of two steps forward, one back. That said, the Cowboys are trying to win a comp with a one man spine . . . f**ked if I know who's in the worse predicament

POPEYE

I've brought up the subject of Pat Richards a couple of times now and I haven't taken notice if there has been any other in-depth discussion on the bloke elsewhere which is more than likely. I have a particular axe to grind because when he left the Tigers I was outraged enough to ignore looking for the reason . . . I'm still to this day pissed off at the thought every effort to retain such an obvious talent can't have been undertaken.

People may say the 224 games and 2462 points he lavished on the Poms were more easily achievable than they would have been here but imo he was good enough to play Origin. He may have been rough around the edges like a Leyland P76 but it took Falcon many years more to incorporate the same nimble suspension. This bloke is a big game specialist who could have been trained to play for the Blues.

Being of Irish descent he may have been stubborn enough to initiate self exile in the same way as Jamie Lyon who no matter where he played has always been the best centre on the planet. At the very least Richards' rugged matter of fact attitude is worth bottling, some of the f**king prima donnas making guest appearances these days can't hold a candle to him

POPEYE

Three rounds in and already mostly everyone is talking about the referees. There has to be a way to countermand human nature which dictates that 2 men with a whistle on the same field are going to try and compete instead of just adjudicate. Even 2 Richard Silverwoods would have trouble doing the great job one does.

Imo the problem lies in the mindset that every infraction is regarded as a mandatory penalty, which means referees are like f**king vultures fighting for any scraps available. Each penalty missed is regarded as an Olympic Boxing punch not recorded, someone will be pissing their pants. What if referees were lauded for the quality of penalties, not the quantity.

Silverwood appears to hate giving penalties, he'd rather dismiss some things as inconsequential and let play flow. If a hand is on the ball it should receive a warning, not a microscopic chance for a penalty scorecard. That sort of shit should be recorded as a minus on the ref's day sheet.

I want the whistle taken away from one of the ref's if we must have two of them but at least sit them all down for a tutorial on the value of discretion, manning up when meaningful decisions are enacted through necessity.