Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

Some are singing the praises of Lui but I can't see anything to write home about, the Cowboys are still a good engine with the timing belt one tooth out, fullback Morgan keeping the revs up last night. Thurston didn't even play that well but the opposition were in a guessing competition and had more to worry about than containing just him.

If NQ could find a livewire Tiger Brooks type #7 even the brain dead Dim Sims boys couldn't throw a spanner in the works on the drive to glory. The Knights on the other hand left hurt at home and came with despair, hard to be critical after last week's effort.

The Cowboys with Lui bumbling around are like a pie that has to be microwaved, never going to be very satisfying unless the team is starving

bluey

Some are singing the praises of Lui but I can't see anything to write home about, the Cowboys are still a good engine with the timing belt one tooth out, fullback Morgan keeping the revs up last night. Thurston didn't even play that well but the opposition were in a guessing competition and had more to worry about than containing just him.

If NQ could find a livewire Tiger Brooks type #7 even the brain dead Dim Sims boys couldn't throw a spanner in the works on the drive to glory. The Knights on the other hand left hurt at home and came with despair, hard to be critical after last week's effort.

The Cowboys with Lui bumbling around are like a pie that has to be microwaved, never going to be very satisfying unless the team is starving

:lol::lol::lol:

bellyache

WILLIS Meehan is travelling towards Coolangatta Airport but everyone in the car knows the giant Roosters teenager is really on the road to becoming the best all-round sportsman in Australia.

Meehan has just finished a torrid sparring session with the world’s No.1 heavyweight contender Alex Leapai and is being interviewed by The Courier-Mail as he heads home.

A few hours later, after his flight to Sydney, and still sore from the boxing, he will set up a 15th-minute try for skipper Alex Thomas as the Roosters under-20 side crushes the Junior Bulldogs 44-12 at Allianz Stadium on Friday night.

This week Meehan is in Fremantle, ready to defend the Australian super-heavyweight boxing title in the Commonwealth Games trials.

He won the title last year, aged just 17, with a one-sided victory over 29-year-old Johan Linde, a 198cm London Olympian.

At 195cm and 116kg, Meehan has already been described as another Sonny Bill Williams — but one who can actually fight and at just 18 is one of the most astonishing athletic talents in the country.

The Roosters allowed their hard-running young giant to spend last week on the Gold Coast, where he sparred 14 rounds with Leapai during the Brisbane strongman’s preparations to face world champ Wladimir Klitschko in Germany on April 27.

Meehan landed his share of good punches over the week and Leapai declared that ``Willis is an enormous talent — a guy who can be absolute champion in both boxing and rugby league.’’

But Meehan says the best punch he ever landed was as a seven-year-old when he was rough-housing with his father, Kali, in the backyard of their home at Wyong, north of Sydney.

A monster roundhouse to the ribs knocked the wind out of his dad, no mean effort considering that same year Kali Meehan went within a whisker of winning the WBO version of the world heavyweight title from Klitschko’s conqueror Lamon Brewster in Las Vegas.

“I learned to fight by boxing my older brother (fellow Rooster Louis Meehan) in the backyard,’’ Willis said.

“Louis was always 10kg heavier than me growing up and he has a right hand like a whip. If I didn’t learn to duck it would be `whoosh’ and my head would go spinning.’’

Kali Meehan, 43, played representative rugby league for the Central Coast and his boys started out there for the Wyong Roos.

Willis has had long discussions with the Roosters about becoming the first top-grade footballer to fight at the Commonwealth Games and Olympics. He is already eyeing another slice of sporting history.

``If Alex Leapai can take the world title this month I’ll be happy that I played a small part in history,’’ he said.

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/...-1226877624841

POPEYE

Round 6 of the NRL Judiciary's fight to alienate young Mums & Dads has two of the more enigmatic teams doing battle. Souths/Penrith have to be one of the least predictable pairings this weekend, should be a great game if you're not a Cyclops or trying to make a quid

Just when the Titans are looking for a roll on they're matched against the mob that beats them the most, par for the Cartwright course maybe but 'shit happens' is something he's accustomed to. This time he'll show 'em . . . how's that for f**king optimism

Gidley would be more use riding the horse as an inspiration for Newcastle but once again he finds himself on the ground lining up for his next casualty ward appearance. Imo Benny needs a win more than Sticky but Campese has grandiose ideas this season . . . can't muster any good vibes for the old master

Some excellent matches threatening to bamboozle the Judiciary even further, none better than a fire breathing Eels against a smokey Roosters outfit. This game could go for 100+ including video and Nostradamus would have nfi guessing the outcome. Will be what may be versus what should be

Lui/Austin cancel each other out although maybe I'm being unkind to Austin, Brooks v Thurston has every right to be scintillating and Humpty Dumpty Tedesco has had another great fall so Morgan may shine again . . . just about sums up what should be a good contest if the 'away game ogre' leaves NQ alone

Don't really give a shit who wins at Eden Park, disgusted with one and oblivious of the other

There will be retribution at Brookie, the Seagles to soar again on the back of the bloke that they don't want but can't do without, Monarch of the Glenn will win the day. I've no idea what the Sharks will bring to the picnic

It'll more than likely take at least 80 to know for sure but the game at AAMI should provide another MNF doozy. I like to think Melbourne's shaky start might prove advantageous towards the end of the season, that along with the Blues winning Origin may remove the cobwebs. I also want Dugan to finish the game in one piece . . . wishful thinking all round maybe

ek999

Round 6 of the NRL Judiciary's fight to alienate young Mums & Dads has two of the more enigmatic teams doing battle. Souths/Penrith have to be one of the least predictable pairings this weekend, should be a great game if you're not a Cyclops or trying to make a quid

Just when the Titans are looking for a roll on they're matched against the mob that beats them the most, par for the Cartwright course maybe but 'shit happens' is something he's accustomed to. This time he'll show 'em . . . how's that for f**king optimism

Gidley would be more use riding the horse as an inspiration for Newcastle but once again he finds himself on the ground lining up for his next casualty ward appearance. Imo Benny needs a win more than Sticky but Campese has grandiose ideas this season . . . can't muster any good vibes for the old master

Some excellent matches threatening to bamboozle the Judiciary even further, none better than a fire breathing Eels against a smokey Roosters outfit. This game could go for 100+ including video and Nostradamus would have nfi guessing the outcome. Will be what may be versus what should be

Lui/Austin cancel each other out although maybe I'm being unkind to Austin, Brooks v Thurston has every right to be scintillating and Humpty Dumpty Tedesco has had another great fall so Morgan may shine again . . . just about sums up what should be a good contest if the 'away game ogre' leaves NQ alone

Don't really give a shit who wins at Eden Park, disgusted with one and oblivious of the other

There will be retribution at Brookie, the Seagles to soar again on the back of the bloke that they don't want but can't do without, Monarch of the Glenn will win the day. I've no idea what the Sharks will bring to the picnic

It'll more than likely take at least 80 to know for sure but the game at AAMI should provide another MNF doozy. I like to think Melbourne's shaky start might prove advantageous towards the end of the season, that along with the Blues winning Origin may remove the cobwebs. I also want Dugan to finish the game in one piece . . . wishful thinking all round maybe

Come on Pops. You know you love the Bulldogs. Or are you just a little upset they managed to beat two of your favourites in the last 2 weeks? Just wait until after next Friday when they knock of the Bunnies too.

Who are your other favourite coaches? Would like to know so I can pencil in the Bulldogs matche against them too

POPEYE

Come on Pops. You know you love the Bulldogs. Or are you just a little upset they managed to beat two of your favourites in the last 2 weeks? Just wait until after next Friday when they knock of the Bunnies too.

Who are your other favourite coaches? Would like to know so I can pencil in the Bulldogs matche against them too
Dessie is a favourite coach of mine, the Bulldogs Rugby League team would be as interesting as any other to me if they relocated . . . where do you live?

ek999

Country NSW. Never have and never will live near Canterbury. Doesn't mean I can't support the team though. I view the names as brands rather than representing an area, probably because I never lived there

POPEYE

Exactly why I try and support all teams, I'm a moderate compared to most in this forum who profess to use 'love' and 'hate' as slang descriptions towards League teams. Doesn't bother me though that the Broncos represent Brisbane, Storm Victoria, etc., I detest anti-Australian attitudes however and the area represented by the Dogs is riddled with such scumbaggery. Unfortunately, and I don't give a shit who cares, I need to demonstrate in some way

POPEYE

Soapbox time again, can't help myself after watching the NRL's feeble attempt at explaining what is and isn't a shoulder charge. We hope the wellbeing of all players is the paramount consideration, the video tells us that whiplash is just as dangerous as contact to the head, that's fair enough.

There's one particular stop frame where Sonny Bill clearly shoulder charges a ball carrier while holding his elbow away from his body but his hand is against his side. If you place a ball in that space and the defender is a carrier then suddenly the shoulder charge is irrelevant. Doesn't it matter that head contact is just as dangerous if an attacker deliberately uses his shoulder to stop a defender.

You will see defenders go down, some can't continue because of concussion, in almost every game because a player carrying the ball wantonly aims a shoulder at the head of a player who has arms outstretched while attempting a tackle.

Now, if there is any wanker about to tell me the defender chooses to participate in a tackle and the attacker has no choice don't f**king bother. Neither expects to be shoulder charged so neither should be allowed. The NRL and in particular it's Judiciary in many aspects is a hick organisation

H.H

Soapbox time again, can't help myself after watching the NRL's feeble attempt at explaining what is and isn't a shoulder charge. We hope the wellbeing of all players is the paramount consideration, the video tells us that whiplash is just as dangerous as contact to the head, that's fair enough.

There's one particular stop frame where Sonny Bill clearly shoulder charges a ball carrier while holding his elbow away from his body but his hand is against his side. If you place a ball in that space and the defender is a carrier then suddenly the shoulder charge is irrelevant. Doesn't it matter that head contact is just as dangerous if an attacker deliberately uses his shoulder to stop a defender.

You will see defenders go down, some can't continue because of concussion, in almost every game because a player carrying the ball wantonly aims a shoulder at the head of a player who has arms outstretched while attempting a tackle.

Now, if there is any wanker about to tell me the defender chooses to participate in a tackle and the attacker has no choice don't f**king bother. Neither expects to be shoulder charged so neither should be allowed. The NRL and in particular it's Judiciary in many aspects is a hick organisation
Your mate Jabba made this very point in 2006 after Morley flattend Ben Walker in round 1 (defence) while O'meley did the same to poor old Bryce Gibbs a round or two later but on that occaision he had the ball.

What's the difference?

Anyway, I'm still dirty the shoulder charge has been banned ...

POPEYE

Footy fans can't complain, two good games tonight with a couple of lessons learned. Matty Johns reckons Cleary is to become the next supercoach, guess Ivan will have to begin his quest next week. In the other game a winger named Mead showed Barba what it takes to be a good fullback.

Souths played smarter in the second half and it was worth recording the second game to watch 45 minutes late. All in all a good start to the round.

POPEYE

Matty Elliott has always been a coach I wanted to succeed because good blokes deserve good times, he was however like a herbivore dinosaur waiting for the meteor. He's not the type to be feared and as such never really stood a chance.

In the wake of his departure and wake is the appropriate description, there might be a chance of yet another NRL coaching newcomer. The Warriors may be the hardest gig in town but everyone concerned should get behind McFadden, in particular the club hierarchy.

The players can't use the coach being set in his ways as an excuse for misunderstanding the Warriors peculiarity so now is the chance for the men running the joint to put into place a rigid code of conduct. Any player not co-operating with this new coach who is destined to fail without full support should be put somewhere his influence is not detrimental.

If McFadden is proven to be astute as Arthur has been for the Eels it's time the club shed any arrogance inflicted players if they don't conform. As they stand now the Warriors are a dog chasing it's tale

POPEYE

Been an absorbing 5 games so far this round with probably the standout team Parramatta for their sheer tenacity. I kept waiting for the Roosters to overwhelm them but the '13 and '14 Eels are like chalk and cheese.

Doesn't look like there is going to be any easy games this season, resting or coasting no longer an option. Origin will therefore have a huge affect on teams contributing players so the finals will be an even bigger lottery.

Most fascinating individual performance for me tonight was the Tigers #16, what a great bench Potter has. If he can afford to send 40 minute kamikaze's in like this bloke every week all opposition will be caught on the hop. Let's hope Farrah can overcome the elbow problem, he's finally got a team that's all going in the same direction

POPEYE

Reverse psychology has always been a favourite tool of mine, especially bringing up children and influencing their children. Jabba has just devoted a whole column to it, unfortunately he's confusing children with adults. Basically he says he's not trying to make a point when really he's whinging that the game is going soft.

The new generation will think it pretty f**king dumb that we used to line up outside red telephone booths, just as it's dumb to think new ideas on player welfare should be dismissed. The Nines imo was just as entertaining as the 13 man game and all that need happen is to transfer that excitement into the 13 man game . . . unfortunately for some brutality should in itself be a casualty

Crikey, I like a good dust up as much as anyone but let's face facts, the players of yesteryear in general were plodders compared to those of today, a carton of piss and comparing bruises after the game is for Jabba's self confessed dinosaurs. Parramatta last night for example won the game because they didn't waste energy trying to maim their opposition.

Arthur has apparently instilled a Jack Russell approach because he knows Pitbull mentality in League is on it's way out the door. Seriously, anyone who didn't prefer the battle of stamina exhibited last night over what Jabba infers is the inevitable extinction of manliness is just as out of touch as he is.

I also thought Mundine was to be commended for regaining his feet 5 times but if the powers that be thought those knockdowns were serious ones he wouldn't be allowed to continue. League players have to face their opposition every week to earn a quid, the sooner they realise if they concentrate on stamina and impeccable distribution of energy without wasting it on macho madness the better off they'll be

POPEYE

Said I wouldn't watch the Eden Park Game but couldn't help myself, the soft spot for the Warriors will always be there and as usual I almost jinxed the Dogs. Not sure which of the officials ruined the game with the last minute penalty but Cummings is never far away as another thread suggests.

My point with these type of penalties is that they are not f**king necessary in the first place. Any infraction where there is the slightest uncertainty should be disregarded. A penalty not given to Hurrell when he was hit on the beak with an accidental high shot is a perfect example. It could have been penalised but wasn't because it would have been pedantic.

The penalty that robbed the Warriors was as pedantic as they come. Whoever authorised it is a f**king dickhead. Nothing was clear in the confusion, neither team was disadvantaged by it, no player was hard done by . . . pick the f**king ball up and play on is the answer. I swear some officials think they are there to be noticed, the episode had the smell of highway patrol looking for quota

Australian referees for some reason search for penalties ad nauseam and having 2 of them in competition throws discretion out the window. The other bloke with Cummins was running the line the last time I saw him and would undoubtedly be after Brownie points, he's still a knee jerker. Whether you're 90% neutral like me or wear a patch over one eye the question screamed at the tele when the penalty was given should have been 'why the f**k do that'

All that aside, before James Graham set foot in Australia I was at loggerheads with someone on another forum who said the bloke would walk into Origin before even playing a game here. Of course it was common sense to call the bloke out as delusional. It is now just as delusional to say Graham is not the most accomplished front rower in the game and imo would win the series for NSW if allowed

The irony of course being that he shouldn't have been playing for the majority of the game but the Bulldogs scum once again ignored a blatant concussion midway through the first half.

Got to feel sorry for honest clubs like the Tigers who are taken this new concussion directive seriously when clubs like the Bulldogs flaunt it so blatantly and somehow avoid the wrath of the NRL.

Hopefully the NRL give the Bulldogs a big fine and force Graham to sit out at least next weeks game. Been concussed about 5 times already this season.

POPEYE

The irony of course being that he shouldn't have been playing for the majority of the game but the Bulldogs scum once again ignored a blatant concussion midway through the first half.

Got to feel sorry for honest clubs like the Tigers who are taken this new concussion directive seriously when clubs like the Bulldogs flaunt it so blatantly and somehow avoid the wrath of the NRL.

Hopefully the NRL give the Bulldogs a big fine and force Graham to sit out at least next weeks game. Been concussed about 5 times already this season.

The Dogs wouldn't have won the Melbourne game without Graham and you're right to look for any reason to deny them anything.

Fact remains he's the most valuable prop in the game

POPEYE

That was a f**king travesty, Melbourne aren't playing any better or worse than the Roosters and as such don't deserve to coast through games. It would have been great to see Price win as Arthur did against the Roosters. The Dragons played far more attractive footy and the result was a pity even if shit refereeing had a hand . . . and I do buy Storm jerseys

POPEYE

Since watching any footy show, pre/post match or half time analysis is too much like attending church for my liking I avoid them just as religiously. It's enough to watch 640+ minutes of League, post match press conferences and then dabble in the freedom of speech offered by this forum.

The press conferences imo are almost as interesting as the games but they appear to have everyone participating in a quandary. It's apparent the NRL is obligated to meet some sort of contractual agreement by forcing clubs to participate but why are they recorded on video with the same professionalism as karaoke night at the local pub.

Understandably the media need to hear what coaches/captains have to say so they can twist the answers to suit their agendas but why make it public. Obviously the NRL and or the press don't want us to hear the dumb f**king questions and the pisspoor audio interrupted by doors slamming and shit dropping can't possibly be a planned PR exercise promoting the greatest game of all.

So, the question is why is the most informative account of the game by the people who really know what they're talking about and have all the answers treated so dismally . . . maybe because the process performed adequately would make too many f**kwits redundant