Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

Cloudsurfer

A free-flowing game is a joy to watch and we all know some referees make a travesty of what could be great games but on the other hand, why should teams benefit from sloppy discipline/ play and the other be disadvantaged? At what point is it ok to penalise them and how many times do you do it in order to force them to clean up their act or lift their game?

POPEYE

Imagining how much better yesterday's game could have been is imagining how much different Origin would have been had Cummings refereed in the same manner. The imagined score doesn't matter but having to imagine the difference between the two in itself is detrimental

POPEYE

Gidley for game III Origin if anything happens to one of the halves, the bloke only needs half a headline and you can bet the NSW selectors will get an unscratchable urge to plonk him on the bench. He gets more attention than Barba at the slightest provocation, even though Beau and Jeremy were responsible for knocking the stuffing out of the Cowboys.

The media seem to have this unshakeable belief the Cowboys are a top contender that has contracted a mistery virus that drains the team every time they get on a plane. Imo the reverse is the truth.

The Cowboys are a good team with one outstanding player who perform adequately when in their place of residence, it's all other teams who suffer when they have to fly to the end of the League world. NQ are not a mystery, just better adapted to where they live. They don't step down when they travel, don't play any worse . . . they need to play better to beat teams who are in their comfort zone.

Nice Beaver

Gidley for game III Origin if anything happens to one of the halves, the bloke only needs half a headline and you can bet the NSW selectors will get an unscratchable urge to plonk him on the bench. He gets more attention than Barba at the slightest provocation, even though Beau and Jeremy were responsible for knocking the stuffing out of the Cowboys.

The media seem to have this unshakeable belief the Cowboys are a top contender that has contracted a mistery virus that drains the team every time they get on a plane. Imo the reverse is the truth.

:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

POPEYE

Rugby League has sold it's soul to David f**king Gyngell, the turkey says he's 'firm' over Origin, why fix something that's not broke. Completely understandable if you equate 'firm' as an analogy for 'too f**king lazy to reschedule when I can't see my personal gain enhanced'.

The hypocritical merkin even uses 'inflexbility' and 'growth of the game' in the one sentence. How good would it be if 'flexibility' was the bargaining tool that won the next tv rights, maybe 7 could offer the same money but let the game have Origin without making the Premiership suffer.

Scheduling will hopefully be the new determining factor for bids, and even the ARLC may put aside money grabbing for the good of the game . . . or is more than enough in the coffers never enough. The question is who is running the game, if the answer is the same mob that dishes up the Footy Show, Rabs & Jabba and declares themselves the 'Home of Rugby League' . . . well that's downright f**king embarassing in itself

POPEYE

Should be the match of the round at Brookie, mud may turn to black ice, Manly have had their 2 byes so the competition lead is at stake. Who did the Seagles play last week . . . ah yes, could be a different kettle of fish this week. Even the best crystal ball would turn foggy on this one

Wouldn't it be a turn up for the bookies, Gallen stops sucking his thumb and leads the Sharks to victory Friday night in Brisbane . . . be like the Labor Party coming up with an alternative.

An almost full strength Tigers except for the luckless Fulton against Sticky's version of a strong Raiders. 'It's now or never' according to McCrone, Josh's version of Neverland has pirates and kids that fly in it. Potter must be looking at the opposition coaching box and thinking don't let it be me, I'll never live it down

The Cowboys unfortunately have been made more average with the inclusion of Lui plus injuries, the weather is turning cooler and the Rabbitohs are on a mission. If I hate anything in Rugby League it's 'shit happens', can see a bucket load being dropped on Thurston . . . nice guys really do finish last

If Brookie turns into a fiasco Mt Smart should save the weekend, the matchups in this game are tantalising, if everyone comes to play it should be a bottler. Not only should we sort the pretenders from the real deal but the connection between Penrith and Warriors will have fingers pointing in all directions

The mighty Gidley is back on track so the Knights should be a handful for the Eels. Hayne should be more evenly matched against Boyd than he was against Slater but it's a shame we can't see Ma'u against Smith/Scott. This game has some good vibes about it

Widdop will be the key master at WIN Stadium, traditionally where the Dragons do their best work. Melbourne should put up a better resistance than the one radio commentators implied from the Titans but Gareth will be determined to show Hampton how it's done. Benji's ludicrous uncertainty could be fly in the Storm ointment

POPEYE

Last week's 4 Corners showed how ICAC stuck it up a group of wannabe mobsters, most with appropriate sounding surnames, who in conjunction with corrupt NSW politicians have been ripping off the public over something as simple as the water we drink. Rugby League is not as compulsory as water but still, f**king sacrilege to manipulate a man's favourite pastime to make a quid

Not like me to harp on something but I'd like to ask Gyngell what is the real reason behind Origin scheduling. Definitely not 'for the good of the game' as he claims, why doesn't he just come out and say it's all about ratings. Doesn't matter to Fox who have multiple channels to broadcast all sorts of shit and don't need Origin to fill the mid winter void.

Too close to the Cricket season to have League finish with a big Origin bang is my guess, the TV Godfather wants to spread all those advertising expenses, warm up the dumb public to Cricket unhindered by League that should be dying a slow death when the supporters of only two minor teams are interested.

Then again maybe he's right, 'for the good of the game' is reflected in the competition table, 4 teams have won 9 games, 3 have won 8, 2 have won 7 and 3 have won 6. In effect there are only 3 teams outside the top 4 when you consider 'for and against' means sfa until there is no other way of resolution.

Take a bow Gyngell, you have done a great job evening out the competition where the top 8 lottery, an in-house joke orchestrated by the media, still encompasses every team. After all who cares since it's mostly meathead blue collar workers who follow the game, the same people that can only afford to drink tap water

POPEYE

The only thing about the Eels these days that might cause a smirk is the connotation the sponsor's name invokes, the way the team is going is nothing short of inspirational. Last year we pictured an exhausted old man grovelling around in the mud trying to find his lost teeth, this year coming up with a pot of gold

To a bloke like me that lived in Parra in the late 70's early 80's the adding of Ryan Matterson and hopefully a few more like him rings a bell. There was a group of youngsters Jack Gibson nurtured back then that no-one took seriously until it was too late to separate them. Bringing along one or two champions at a time can be compensated for but not half a dozen.

The most consistent teams have had the luxury of abundance that was sought out in a raw state. The Eels need not only to return to group therapy but encourage as many interested juniors as they can to keep a roll-on going

Hopefully Parramatta is back to being a destination instead of a stepping stone, just have to secure enough troops to circumvent injuries. Arhur shows signs that he doesn't need to poach which is encouraging for young blokes that only want to be given a chance

POPEYE

Blimey, if it's not one f**king thing it's another, where would we be if a dollar couldn't be made from naivity . . . the world revolves around it. Imagine players betting on the game when it's harder to believe they don't, something inevitable better left out of sight out of mind. Seriously, what's worse for the game, a trickle of deceit or a tsunami of innuendo.

Take last night's game at Brookvale for example, before this day's over there will be many IQ deprived people who have an epiphany, Jabba and Sterlo were amazed how Maloney could throw a pass over the sideline or miss a sitter in front. Not just the players either, all those convenient penalties that got the Seagles out of the shit time and again.

The fact that the NRL are investigating and finding inappropriate betting on the game is merely an unfortunate procedure, no more unavoidable than the bloke with the funny hat and stern look scrutinising every horse race. The furore media hope to achieve is just another day another dollar for them, their thought process is as basic as going for a piss

Anyone who imagined allowing the betting saturation we now have in League wouldn't attract the type of attention we are about to be bombarded with is a f**king imbecile. No different than players now needing 'special' supplements or a salary cap that should only be ripped off behind closed doors.

What a way to finish another unacceptable League year, potentially drowned in a new media fiasco they helped create. While dumbarses are being preached to incessantly about betting responsibly some of us are waving flags imprinted with 'Reap What You Sow'

POPEYE

I'm not sure what is the most flabbergasting, the fact that Pat Richards was allowed to leave Australia or that he wasn't recalled some time in 8 years. The Raiders could have won 5 games with the opportunities they had, McCrone did more 360's than you'd see at the Summernats.

I knew Teddy wouldn't swim the length but I thought he'd get his feet wet, not sure who was the least value for money on the paddock, him or Milford. Great win by the Tigers

POPEYE

Most people in Townsville are in short sleeves, 30 minutes into the game and every stoppage has Souths players going for the drink bottles. Mr Nauseating, aka Warren Smith, notes the Rabbitohs lack energy and the Cowboys have miraculously returned to form. It's not until 10 minutes into the second half that the visitors become acclimatised.

Rings a bell doesn't it, when the Cowboys fly south it takes them about the same amount of minutes before they adjust to the pace of cold weather footy. They too have trouble playing catchup as do Souths, or any team that has to compensate when out of their comfort zone. Perhaps their longevity would be enhanced if they trained the full week near their next assignment

None of that matters a tuppenny f**k, Thurston's mob stay alive a week longer and that's a good thing

POPEYE

Shaun Johnson gives me the shits in the same way Benji used to when he was at the top of his game all those years ago. Both right up there with the most talented inconsiderate players I've seen, the Warriors wouldn't have won without him so enough said. Hurrell has to remember not to do anything with the ball other than run with it but aside from that the Warriors finally have learnt to start and finish a game with intensity

I'm still not completely convinced Soward didn't try to save face by making more of an injury than was warranted. Having tried to lay an egg to get attention from a replay only to end up with it on his kisser I'd hate to think he over dramatised beyond the point of no return . . . shades of Rio imo. Anyway, I reckon both teams did enough to prove they're not pretenders.

If the more Boyd whinges the better he plays it's no wonder Benny thought he was outstanding, maybe he just wanted to show the referees the value of teeth whitener on a mouthguard after each tackle. How f**king good is Beau, seems he and Jeremy enjoy duelling with the opposition as well as each other.

The Eels were missing too many influential players to take any notice of the result, their upset eqilibrium doesn't give the Knights much to write home about but shit, the media can't be wrong, they reckon Newcastle are heading for a revival . . . who's to argue with the directors of the game

Just to add, in the Carney saga I'm going with Andrew Johns who says 'Surely they can't sack him for that, he's just doing it to himself'. No reason at all for Todd not to still become immortal

POPEYE

I could rave on about Melbourne being disjointed without Cronk and undoubtedly the media will wonder how the Storm's Qld players could prove a point against Parramatta one week and relax the week after . . . all of that is bullshit however.

The Dragons getting even for the disappointment at AAMI is also irrelevant, what is relevant is that the mighty Red V is back on track, a likely great coach has risen from the depths of Kogarah's despair and all is well in the League world.

Mary's Mob were better than Bellyache's because they never let them in the game, you can bet your nuts if you've got them they followed instructions to a tee, closest I've came to being pleased after a Melbourne loss . . . anyway, the vibes were against from days ago

POPEYE

Speaking of Cronk, why the f**k is he given the choice of risking more injury in a dead Origin rubber, Bellamy was coy about his chances but I hope it was just tongue in cheek. DCE is supposed to be the best thing since sliced bread so let the bloke go out and do the deed. What do the Morris brothers have to prove or anyone else risking further injury.

Fair enough the brain dead who pretend to support Rugby League need another dose of uppers but why not give Origin hopefuls from both sides a go. Just goes to show how much the Premiership has slipped when there is f**k all to gain by changing a winning NSW team, the blokes that did the job for the Blues in game 2 must be really impressed

POPEYE

Looking through the team lists trying to find a meaningful game . . . f**k it, I'm taking a bye, spend what's left of the week eradicating feral pigs. Fox Monday replays will do if there's anything of interest

POPEYE

The legendary pig hunter/dog trainer and I returned last night from the bush, his sense of humour is an acquired taste more suited to hardened property owners. He does have difficulty taking things that don't matter to him seriously so I'm not sure if he and LU are compatible

ek999

Pops did you really not watch any matches this weekend? You missed Des pull off yet another coaching masterstroke at the club you love

POPEYE

Crikey mate, Innis to #7 was just desperation but I'll concede it as good adaptation, 'yet another masterstroke' from the least interesting of all the great coaches is a bit of a stretch. His masterstrokes are few and very far between.

Just caught up on most of the replays and the Cronulla fightback/Rooster capitulation was the most interesting.