Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

Anyone who has never had the opportunity to watch bush footy, real deep bush footy with plenty of indigenous players involved, will get some idea how exciting it is by the way Tyrone Peachey played tonight. The bloke might have spent his senior years in the city but the bush never leaves youngsters like him.

You will see pot bellies and skinny legs muster the type of speed shown by Peachey and Soward many times in a game, ad-lib footy at it's amazing best. You'd probably see 3 or 4 dust-ups a game well away from the ball but no-one takes it seriously. Peachey is a seriously good buy for the Panthers as long as Cleary insists the team play a fast wide open game.

Brisbane poached Wallace when the Panthers badly needed him, told him to move on when he supposedly couldn't replicate what he showed at Penrith and is now playing great footy where he belongs. Could be Cleary knows how to blend players around the bloke better than anyone else or the footy gods are making a statement . . . f**k poaching

And it seems Brett Finch is not finished yet . . . great sense of humour

Jason Maher

A couple of other classic examples of poaching for you Pops that really got up my nose at the time. The first is Brisbane nicking Scott Prince from North Queensland. The young Prince was clearly the Cowboys best player, and I was dirty on the star-studded donkeys for so brazenly making little brother even littler. I can only imagine what Cowboys fans thought about it.

The second was John Simon, poached from my Steelers by the Roosters to play reserve grade behind Adrian Lam. Killed the competitivenes of the Steelers instantly. Simon was a our lynchpin. We discovered another lynchpin at the end of the following year in Trent Barrett, but geez it would have been nice to see the two of them as a halves pairing in our last 2 seasons. Might have given us long-suffering Steelers fans something to smile about briefly as we faded into oblivion, unable to keep up with the Superjoke-induced inflation.

Which brings me to a change of topic and why I hate Melbourne: because while my team, the very first expansion team, was left to die on the vine and ultimately get swallowed by Saints, Melbourne were given an armchair ride and propped up by News Ltd and the NRL. They didn't have to compete for their spot in the league, it was handed to them on a silver platter. The fact the Perth Reds were directly sacrificed to create the Storm is another reason. The final insult was the fact the NRL didn't support the Bears move away from Sydney, after making a song and dance about backing Sydney teams that relocated or merged. It is simple injustice that the governing body can favour one team over others in such a way.

POPEYE

In the 60's an African American expressed the desire to enter a 'white' college, he was virtually asked to persevere with what even he thought an impossibility because politicians wanted to make a statement. They didn't care if he failed and not for a second did they imagine an African American would in a relatively short time become President.

The Melbourne Storm were sent to Victoria because the Swans were sent to NSW, better that the perceived crack-pot Ribot was in charge. Just as Victorians never imagined the Swans before them would become a force to be reckoned with no-one in NSW ever considered the Storm would 'threaten' the establishment.

Perth was a Sunday too far away, as was Adelaide, the Western Reds when they re-enter the competition will be better off because of Melbourne, they will never be considered insignificant a second time. Perth and Adelaide were considered flesh wounds whereas Melbourne was a stab to the heart. A precedent has been set by both the NRL and AFL, there is no turning back for either code.

I never consciously use 'hate' as a superlative about what is just a sport, I had a Storm jersey before they played a game, not because I wanted Melbourne to succeed but because regimentalists wanted them to fail. I've said before that if Melbourne waited for other teams to nurture players into potential champions and poached them I would indeed introduce 'hate' as I burned Storm jerseys.

Illawarra and Wests were destined to fail because of the same politics that has grown Melbourne, I understand completely your desire that Illawarra should have been given the same attention, you think you should have the right to defend the hateful Steelers, as they would be under the same circumstances Melbourne enjoy.

The fact most people want to ignore is that the Melbourne Rugby League Team is just a mob of footballers and coaching staff doing a job, that they do it better than most is not by default, imo every team should follow their lead. Perth Reds will undoubtedly begin as Melbourne did, lets hope they reach the same conclusion

Jason Maher

The AFL constantly playing favourites for political and commercial reasons doesn't justify us doing it. I know the flip side of the coin, as I'm a Swans fan. Like Melbourne, they have been built into a perenially competitive unit in hostile territory by very smart operators (though it took a decade longer to get the ball rolling in the right direction). Like Melbourne, they've been significantly propped up. Like Melbourne, rival fans are (justifiably, in my view) upset at their success on the back of a helping hand none of their clubs have received. The only real difference is that the Swans have a long history as a traditional club to draw on, being a transplant rather than a new team, and the farcical "cost of living" salary cap concessions. Oh, and the fact the Swans have never cheated.

POPEYE

The Swans have never cheated is like saying the Broncos, Roosters, Manly, etc have never cheated. It's easier to prove Melbourne have been caught, that's why simple minded people dwell on it. In the end we all have our opinions, the forum couldn't exist without them. I appreciate your communicating without making it a shitfight, the reason this thread exists.

The fact remains that satellite teams are now rock solidly entrenched in the NRL, it's the congregated NSW teams that have to renew their licence like an 80 year old. I prefer teams that 'cheat' to keep what they produce than poach, and they all cheat, not all poach. The better the product the more they can cheat as far as I'm concerned . . . all other teams have to do to keep up is produce.

POPEYE

The mid 7O's Roosters were the most dominating team I have ever seen play, sure they had the better players and the best coach but they also had a new weapon that other teams took a long time to develop. Not sure if John Peard invented the tactical kicking game, hardly call the 'bomb' tactical, but he turned a great team into imo the greatest. The kicking game right or wrong is today second only to defence in importance, even that's debatable

Qld went from clear favourites to being beaten when their taken for granted kicking game went out the window, they may have enough time training to overcome the problem by getting the team accustomed to DCE but match practice can't be circumvented. Melbourne on the other hand look like shot ducks without Cronk, luck is the only thing that will save, time to compensate will desert them.

Imo Melbourne suffered a double blow last night, not having Cronk and having to play with Roberts, I'm not overly superstitious but the bloke is a jinx to any team he plays for. Another superstition rapidly gaining credence is how well Thurston plays after an Origin game.

Without Maloney's kicking to Tupou you would have been forgiven for thinking it was a Group 10 game at ANZ. Peard never envisaged his up and under upgrading would manifest into something better than a long cutout pass but there you have it . . . no kicking game is akin to watching porn with hands tied behind your back.

The Raiders did give the Roosters another good training run, Sticky and McCrone were made for each other and Campese has given up high-fiving mistakes. Other than those observations and it's great to see the Cowboys win the night was just another between Origin ho-hum

POPEYE

Probably get away with calling Watmough a star but it would have to be a moonless night, there are many Seagle players that Toovey wouldn't want to go without before Choc this time in his career. So the main reason Manly lost, like Melbourne, is that their kicking game was in disarray. Mainly because both teams are comfortable with blokes who are rarely missing.

Can't be that Hook is a good coach who is finally getting his squad to play the way he trains them every game. Noticed there's another thread on coaching prowess started up, bet it's a f**king humdinger full of the usual mindless dribble. Thurston beat Melbourne, how could a rookie coach like Green be responsible for starving the Storm who were merely legless and running in circles.

Of course Magic Johnson is the reason the Warriors overcame the Knights, can't credit McFadden when he's up against the ace of coaches. Must just be a coincidence the Warriors's error rate and subsequent 6 count was phenominal. No way will McFadden's mob replicate such an unexplained effort.

On the other hand the Coach of the Year 2013 can't be blamed for his team's reserve grade performance against Sticky's mob, ineptitude is catching if you get too close to the Canberra coach . . . and how do you replace Boyd Cordner.

Yes indeedy, the weekly review of coaching performances must be extremely tedious for the wankers who believe players only do what they're told when they lose and personally rise above all obstacles when they win

And I almost forgot, who will win tonight, Mary has to be odds on surely

POPEYE

Just about everyone is beginning to see SOO as the pinnacle of Rugby League, the Premiership as we old timers knew it is regarded as significant as the Royal Family but similarly just icing on mudcake . . . can't be taken seriously by itself.

Young people are being indoctrinated into the fact that there are many more people interested in the outcome of SOO than the Cup, after all simple mathematics has it 1 v 1 against 1 v 15, 14 collectives don't really give a shit about the outcome. What's worse, the governing body favours one over the other, albeit only because it's dictated to by the media.

I've often wondered how long it will take for the NRL to realise it is Farlap, the media is only the strapper, not vice versa as League is lead around by the nose. Hoffman is rearing his head but he's off to the knackery, needs to be a stampede of top echelon players demanding common sense before the media are corralled.

Anyway, looks like my hope Melbourne players who have done enough tours of duty will desert Origin is ratshit, Smith wants to play on the MCG next year and who can blame him. Those sneaky f**king Mexicans will turn up in droves, if not to take the game as anything more than a novelty certainly to prove they are more sports orientated.

Cunning move to announce next year's venue before SOO 2, let's show'em how to pack the rafters, although I don't think Victorians will need to be conned. How much better would it be if the MCG game was the one in the middle of a 3 week hiatus, Melbournians wouldn't give a damn if some of the stars couldn't back up, even they would realise there are more than enough adequate replacements.

It appears the AFL will never devalue their beloved Premiership Cup/Flag even if they could put together something replicating SOO. It's a pity League doesn't realise it could have a double barrelled weapon against southern claims of sporting superiority by ensuring the pissant cup is not a worthless token that only 1 in 16 won't look for an excuse to decry because it was ruined by SOO

Jason Maher

The Swans have never cheated is like saying the Broncos, Roosters, Manly, etc have never cheated. It's easier to prove Melbourne have been caught, that's why simple minded people dwell on it. In the end we all have our opinions, the forum couldn't exist without them. I appreciate your communicating without making it a shitfight, the reason this thread exists.

The fact remains that satellite teams are now rock solidly entrenched in the NRL, it's the congregated NSW teams that have to renew their licence like an 80 year old. I prefer teams that 'cheat' to keep what they produce than poach, and they all cheat, not all poach. The better the product the more they can cheat as far as I'm concerned . . . all other teams have to do to keep up is produce.

Oh Pops, I can't believe you took such obvious bait. :p

POPEYE

I can't believe you think I answered for your benefit, I consider you smart enough to realise I welcomed the bump

POPEYE

Greenberg must have spent hours in front of a mirror answering pretend questions before he orchestrated a reprieve for Reynolds but it was worth the chagrin, the Dogs must be favourites now the bulldozer has a driver. Imagine, majority of the League public wanting the Seagles to win at Brookie . . . how will Toovey get the boys up for this one

Eels/Cowboys could have been a blockbuster, pity I can't blame Origin for f**king up this one. If there is a footy god surely he will give Luke Kelly wings while Parra waits for Peats. Let's hope Hayne doesn't go retro and pretend he's a turtle once more . . . can't just pull your head in and wait for better days son

Titans are a team of shiftworkers, when they bundy on and off they hardly recognise each other. Carty must think he's running a coal mine, his mob are paid well but still any excuse for a sicky. This week's crew might have a chance against Penrith if they remember the plays

I had a reason to watch the Sharks/Dragons game but I can't think what it was. Maybe it was to see how long Lewis and Gardner would last before something breaks. Or was it Benji . . . ah, Benji. I remember, it was to see how Dugan goes at centre, 7.30 start but I should stay awake

Rabbitohs/Warriors in Perth definitely the match of the round if both teams play like the on paper grand finalists they could be. Expecting that to happen is a little like hoping Rabs concentrates on the game as well, all three could drift off into obscurity. Oh, that's right, it's a Fox game . . . maybe there's some hope after all

OK corral for the Knights, Scott and Smith are together and have a good chance of providing a ticket for Tedesco to sit out the year. The bloke will look at home watching games beside Stuart next season, then again maybe he'll avoid the carnage Newcastle will have to bring down on the Tigers if they want to win, although can't help but envisage that Gidley look of despair yet again

This is a great chance for the Roosters to come away from Melbourne with more than just a smile because they're leaving the joint

Great to see Sticky is sticking, maybe that's what his nickname refers to, may as well let McCrone give Campese pulpitations. Maybe Stuart secretly blames Terry and thinks imposing Josh on him will have both dumped before he is, wonder what halves are available for next year. Brisbane should win in a canter

POPEYE

The year started off great with the Nines which escalated into such a huge money spinner it had to be expanded. Along with the addition of a couple more teams the Premiership is condensed into 2 conferences or each team playing each other only once.

Get the Cup over and done with and then bring on the mighty Origin afterwards, culminating with the best Australian survivors of the season against a selection of the Best of the Rest, a team made up of foreign players selected after all other international teams played against each other while we played Origin. No bullshit, that was the dream I was having when I woke up to the news Tedesco was staying.

Realistically, even though imo Teddy would make a perfect Soccer player, that is the highlight of this shitty Origin period so far. Hopefully it is a true indication of player camaraderie and not just a gun shy reaction to the risk of being coached by Sticky.

Speaking of player togetherness, I've spoken before of how they see each other and the game differently to the media and unfortunately supporters. NRL players especially are a hardened bunch of athletes who are isolated by the effort it takes, which explains the blase' reactions to anything outside their sphere of influence.

The media are actually highlighting the confrontation between Weidler and Te'o as though it could be another player maleficent episode. Surprising how many people actually believe the lazy side of the microphone is the righteous one.

An impossibilty maybe but if each supporter could sit and talk to every player individually over a cup of coffee and guaranteed not to break confidentiality their understanding of the game would be magnified exponentially . . . well worth the risk of drowning in caffeine. Commentators and speculators don't necessarily have the well being of anything other than themselves in mind.

By not having access to players thoughts and being dictated to by the media most supporters are in danger of being caught up in make believe. If for instance Te'o, a few other players, yourself and a couple of mates were sitting around a pub table chewing the fat, Weidler upon approaching would be denied a seat

POPEYE

Raiders' fans should find some consolation in what the future may hold, the Eels have set a precedent that admittedly came a tad too late but nevertheless the beacon has been lit. Pity McFadden, who fine tuned his coaching at the Melbourne College of Rugby League, wasn't snapped up before Canberra caught the heebie jeebies and in a moment of semi consciousness signed Sticky.

Arthur, another MCRL graduate, should provide the incentive needed for the Raiders to begin again from scratch after the blight has passed. Look at Parramatta, tried all kinds of remedies as have Canberra and followed a remarkably similar path. All that remains is that management spend the hopefully little time Stuart has left in meaningful research.

The really promising and established great players won't jump ship before June 30, touch wood, if they have taken notice of what came after Sticky at Parramatta. Admittedly Anderson is probably as influential as Arthur because the future for the Eels now has a Manlyesque vibe where players will want to die in the joint.

All this talk about the Raiders not attracting talent is bullshit, talent will go where talent is emphasised, that will happen when the emphasis is on great player management

POPEYE

Ah, the plans of mice and men, TG can't take a trick and ain't that f**king marvellous. The mud couldn't be controlled by Toddy anywhere near as well as the judiciary can, how ironic would it have been if Manly threw one of their heavyweights at Josh's legs and he was injured in a game he shouldn't have played.

I expect TG will wave his wand when Kasiano dons the bag of fruit, which any Dog must have confidence in doing

Cowboys remind me of my younger days when I backed off the handbrake on one wheel of the Studebaker, a bit of accelerator with the handbrake on would cause the other wheel to smoke up giving the impression of power. Pity Thurston's mob didn't have more than one avenue to roll down, too much congestion around the World's Best Half.

On a lighter note, how good is Pauli Pauli going to be when his voice breaks, this bloke is certainly worth opening a Swiss bank account for, f**k going all the way to England when locally grown big boppers are available

POPEYE

Where to begin, most of the minute by minute highlights on the NRL website has mention of Jamie Soward, not bad for a bloke that I along with a multitude of others went to great effort taking the piss out of during the pre-season. His compadre, Tyrone Peachey, and he ran amok against a Titans outfit that Carty will get the blame for from the usual dumbwits, even though he can't play the game for them.

Penrith reminded me of the Chicken Hawk creating havoc in Foghorn Leghorn's perfect world, no-one's really sure what the game plan is . . . tally-ho, rip shit or bust is a most entertaining substitute. Top of the table, imagine that, Jabba certainly deserves a pat on the back although Ivan should be pictured in front of the great man unless his image be obscured

Shouldn't have put my feet up in front of the fire, by nodding off intermittently I missed most of Benji's charge for another Golden Boot, League's version of a chook raffle. Commentators were in admiration of his performance against Cronulla's NSW Cup team it appears as well as a potential Origin performance from Dugan.

Of the thousands of games I've watched the one last night in Perth was right up there with the most fascinating. No trouble staying awake in this one, it seemed as though it was played at Keystone Cops' motion, the score completely out of accord with the product.

Both teams in the first half would have smacked all others in the comp, something had to break and the team that broke won the game handsomely . . . go figure. I reckon the Warriors were so dismayed at the Rabbitoh effort, akin to a Sydney-Perth truck driver on beans, that they lost their momentum. A f**king great game spoiled by the scoreboard attendant.

Like all games of this calibre the repercussions with injuries are substantial, at least the Rabbitohs look to have positions covered far better than Qld do. Most disappointing to hear Vossy regress into the stupidity of mouth that saw him out of favour with the 'Home of League'. He actually allocated Ben Barba a possible fullback role for Origin. Ben could take a 12 guage onto the field and his defense still wouldn't be good enough.

POPEYE

Tedesco certainly looks the goods, I'd like nothing better than be proven wrong with my forboding premonition that he is a jolly Humpty Dumpty. The bloke is similar to Slater in attack, follows the ball like a dog after a bone only a fair bit faster, can't match Billy in defence but no fullback does that.

If the bloke can play enough games to keep his hands off his head half of every set he has the talent to make the difference Potter is working for. As for Pat Richards, he must sleep with a ball cuddled in his arms, someone should tell him he's wasting time trying to make it talk.

It was appropriate Roosters/Storm game was one of the 2 hour games I never watch, Bellamy appraisal of the game told me not to worry about a replay and SMH had it down as 'patchy Roosters'. The NRL website this morning had it as 'Rampant Roosters Smash Storm', saying they are back to their brilliant best.

I'm beginning to doubt Dave Smith, not because Greenberg is making a fool of him or because I'm a Bellamy supporter, but because the NRL obviously can't see the forest for the trees. When Smith said about stand alone Origin 'Not on my watch' the phrase raised the hackles. He is now the enemy as far as I'm concerned, just as Brian Smith was when he shackled the Roosters or Sticky is as he devalues the art of coaching.

Why robbing Peter to pay Paul has become appropriate when there are obvious alternatives that will enhance the product Smith is trying to sell is f**king beyond comprehension, he obviously believes Nine is the Home of Rugby League as an idealism . . . all his other decisions follow the same reasoning

POPEYE

There are some fascinating ironies in Rugby League, one is that the media who really care little for the wellbeing of the game are responsible for Origin interfering with the Premiership. Ironic because during this 'period', any woman will tell you what a f**kup that is, the media feel they have to incessantly remind everyone that the event is taking place.

Not before each episode mind you, but for every waking moment during the prolonged monotonous procedure, as though the public is likely to forget and go walkabout. That the media hypocritically acclaim the results of Premiership games during the 'period' as significant is irony at it's darkest.

Another irony is in this age of technology where anyone can buy a PVR for chicken feed that the Home of League actually thinks supporters will sit through a miriad of ads watching the Voice and disregard MNF on Fox, which can be afforded by one less carton of piss or packet of androtops a week. Took me about 30 minutes to watch everything the Voice had to offer after the game . . . not that the game was any more impressive than Nine's ads.

Granted, if everyone was as disparaging as I there would be no reason for FTA to broadcast League and the game would suffer badly so Armchair Norms must be a protected species. My point is that naivity is a necessary evil every bit as much as the media are but there are better ways to enhance the product.

Instead of capitulating to media gurus who will always take the easy path to riches the ARLC must come up with an alternative that doesn't decimate, a substitute for incompetance, an answer to why must the Premiership suffer when more money can be made if the job is done properly. Wtf, I may even watch a few ads if a perfect product demanded a little sacrifice

POPEYE

Perusing the team lists the first thought that comes to mind is why f**king bother, none of the games are worthy of consideration as potentially top echelon, all best represented by que sera, sera.

There is however something significant to talk about, something that might actually be categorised 'Immortal'. Every time I hear the word 'immortal' I immediately think of the Vatican City, the crowd replaced by League supporters in reverance of a magazine editor perched high above. All waiting for the next draw from a large barrel of equally talent Rugby League players.

No, the candidate for my version of Immortal is one of a very select few before him and undoubtedly few and far between after he departs. Nick Politis is the epitome of 'That's how it's done', he is as significant off the field as Cam Smith is on it. The bloke is mentioned by the Queen in the same breath as Rabs and Jabba, but they are not candidates for anywhere near the same immortality.

The Godfather has kept a club in contention that has only enough supporters in close proximity to fill a country venue, but has orchestrated enough followers in the country to easily fill ANZ and more. He is an ocean going tugboat not to be f**ked with by any liner, a Jack Russell leading the pack, a bloke that can't help but to be admired as one of a few

I have a soft spot for larrikins although most would say Nick is a little more than that, he is however due to his belonging to a very small group of equals closer to 'immortal' than any other fabrication designed to sell magazines.

He won't be as easily forgotten as Mick Cronin, imo easily the most faultless Rugby League player of all time, whose refusal to seek the limelight parallels Politis's avoidance of it

POPEYE

'Benji Marshall's clash with old rival Jamie Soward will be one of the highlights of Round 14' (SMH) . . . says it all doesn't it

Dave Smith can probably be excused for not caring about the ramifications of that statement but the people who employ him shouldn't be

POPEYE

Can't just sit here and let this thread slowly slip down a front page that normally scoots along, another sign that even the most interested advocates are caught up in the Origin doldrum. I'm a Qld supporter but my fingers are cramping up being crossed for a NSW series victory, win or lose the resultant cacophony should rival a seal colony as the cows return to their pups after a long search for a feed.

The only interest I have in the proceedings is the future of Laurie Daley, must admit I'm impressed with Loz's handling of the shemozzle, like Meninga's input where coaching prowess means sfa Daley seems to be organising his underlings with great effect. If Mal gets away with #9 given the circumstances the consequences will be abyssmal . . . for the Premiership as it is relegated further

So, when Loz is triumphant the question is will he stay in a safe haven as Meninga has done or will he up the ante and take on the Dragons or another as desperate. Has a touch of deja vu about it but this time Loz looks to be more settled and maybe he can coach players that need coaching. That's the best reason I can come up with for watching game 2, pity 3 can't be scrapped after the right result