Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

Next month Union becomes World Rugby officially and the Rio Olympics is just far enough away for more League players to take a sabbatical. There is always the risk Burgess and Te'o may catch the Dole Bug and become content with the easy life as has Folau, imo Israel will come to his senses but will it be before the Olympics

Everyone knows that if Australia went to Rio as a country wanting to win the Rugby 7's all it has to do is select the best suitable League players and Gold would be in the bag. Unfortunately Australia is not the selector, World Rugby will be, even if the thought of getting flogged by England, Sth Africa, NZ and even the US who are using shit hot athletes wouldn't have them using League players if they are still League players

All that is needed is players fast enough, capable of easily breaking pisspoor tackles and with enough stamina to play the minutes. There is absolutely no Rugby expertise needed in the 7's that couldn't be practiced in one season of the 15 man borefest. Can you imagine what Inglis would do at the Olympics against 7.

Seriously, imagine what an Olympic Gold Medal is compared to a gf ring, Sonny/Sam/Ben/Israel etc are probably doing just that. Come to think of it what is Greg doing after the gf.

POPEYE

Hindsight is a wonderful thing, better to watch knowing the Dogs had lost and even though the score was no indication of how the gf went it was still akin to a learner truck driver trying to remember all the gears . . . Souths were never going to lose.

60's League will never die as long as James Graham is playing, it was like a time warp watching a Pom bash Australia with expert use of his head . . . makes me feel young again

Most exciting games of the day were the early ones, not because I watched them as they happened but because they were do or die all the way as a gf should be. Junior Warriors hung on by their short and curlies and as it should be an u20 team from NZ shouldn't be beaten. Lucky for the rest of the teams you can't put an old head on young shoulders.

Game of the day for me was the State Championship, vibes told me the mob from Cairns weren't going to lose but crikey, it went to the wire. The Cowboys may have found Leary to be troublesome but the Seagles look to have found a replacement for Watmough.

Waqa Blake appears too full of himself, only room for one aeroplane in League even if it is a glider, the young bloke should concentrate more on concentrating. Penrith lost because they thought they were never going to lose.

Melbourne only have to stiffen up Shaun Nona's midrift with their brand of training and the youngster should be the cat's pyjamas in purple. Exactly what they need to remember Widdop and forget Roberts, pity his goal kicking appears no better than Cam's

Jason Maher

The scenes after full time last night (and 2010) are why I can't understand your "pissant cup" stance. You just can't get that depth of emotion from a first past the post system for mine. Only works in soccer because they have cup competitions to give them their one-off final fix.

I'd slot last night in at #4 on my favaourite Grand Finals list (of the 26 I've witnessed). 2010, 1991, and 1997 (the real one) are my top 3. So good to see Souths finally win another one after all the shit their fans have been through. Hopefully someone took a moment to remember George Piggins last night. While Russell has obviously done a lot to get Souths to this point, there wouldn't have been a club for him to build into a champion outfit without Piggins.

POPEYE

C'mon mate, surely you must realise by now that a bloke who is only a devotee of one sport, two if women's beach volleyball was televised each week, is only taking the piss when he says he doesn't recognise the most difficult game in that sport to win.

Would anyone take any notice of my incessant soapboxing for equality between the Shield and Cup if I didn't use 'pissant cup' to attract attention. What the f**kwits running the game fail to see is that brass bands, street parades, publicity and any added hoopla for the winner of the JJ Giltinan Shield is a major plus for the game.

The dopes can't see that winning both in one year is a far superior effort than winning one, another opportunity missed to add bling to the record books. The NRL administration is a long story of lost opportunities, every facet from the salary cap to the hindering of poaching is laughable, it's not surprising they treat the Shield like an old prostitute

The only real distaste I have for the grand final/'minor' premiership is that teams don't play each other twice to qualify, but as far as I'm concerned if the NRL did it properly the GF would always be the #1 game to play . . . don't tell anyone I said that

Oh, btw, you can only rate last night's game for the history, as a spectacle there have been umpteen gf's more worthy of being called a Grand final

Jason Maher

I agree the minor premierhsip should be given more significance. I certainly enjoyed Saints winning back to back MPs in 2009/10.
The A-League has tried to do so by awarding two trophies and attaching Asian Champions League qualification to ladder position not finals results. Not sure how well it has taken in the Australian context, as while I'm a big soccer fan, I follow Manchester United first and Sydney FC a very distant second.

And yes, I was rating based on sinificance/personal preference for the results rather than quality of games. 91 and 97 were classics, 10 and 14 not so much. Last night went pretty much as predicted, two big, powerful sides going at it hammer and tongs in a slugfest. The refs largely stayed out of it, which meant no chance of an open contest. Especially given the nerves Souths clearly had.

POPEYE

To clarify what I said in an earlier post about James Graham using his head in defence, it's not a sudden apparition overnight, he's undoubtedly been indoctrinated into the realisation that the upper side of the noggin will win a battle against the lower front any day.

I'm not about to ostracise the bloke for pulling out all stops in a GF, Billy knows James is the fiercest competitor in the game and Maguire is no stranger to the Pommy way so Sam should have been prepared for what the front rower knew needed to be done. It was good to see the continued bewilderment on Graham's face when Sam refused to leave the game

We will see more of Graham taking such risks just as we'll see the shoulder charge returned to it's prominence as it continues to be refined through practice, all a matter of timing. Graham tried the head/shoulder/pretend tackle on Tyrell in the 60th but the shoulder got there first . . . penalty. Worked a treat 10 minutes later when the great forward pulled out all stops to rally his mob

Where there's a will there's a way, James Graham is no shrinking violet and good luck to one of the last bastions of the good old days. I'm still amazed that Te'o is leaving, without him on Sunday Graham could have pulled it off

POPEYE

Before last weekend probably the most renowned GF was the one witnessed in 1989. What most people disregard is that year Souths were the best team in the comp, 9 points ahead of Canberra in 4th. Then again, if forwards were allowed to be rotated as they are now Balmain could have changed all that during the year and the GF result

Water under the bridge now, ironic that the longer people laughed at the Rabbitohs, especially their efforts to reincarnate, made sure father time has given the 2014 GF the distinction of the greatest, at least in the living memory of the majority. Doesn't matter how many times the game has endured metamorphosis the Wallys with their heads in the record books won't be able to deny that it will take something extraordinarily special to dethrone this year's GF, can't imagine it will happen in my lifetime

This time the Roosters were the best team of the year imo but I get great pleasure at watching the 'Lol@' worms squirm. Maybe I will relent just this once . . . the Rabbitohs are the #1 team in the game, winning the most applauded GF of all time has proven it.

Seriously, Souths have only just begun, more important than winning at the top is staying near the top, 3 years into an epic is what they are striving for and something many dog paddling teams can only dream of

POPEYE

Peter Fitzsimons, the man who is as ugly as the game he played, is saying probably tongue in cheek that private ownership may take over sport now that Packer is interested in Souths. Not unusual that some Australians in Pete's position suffer badly from delusion of grandeur, always trying to make a splash in spilt milk.

Holmes a Court making a small profit from being a good Samaritan helping Rusty secure South's future is supposed to single the end for clubs without big money backers. Packer, Koukash and even Rusty could make more money at the Roulette tables in one evening than they could backing sport in a country with only 23 million people.

These blokes probably think they deserve some way of letting their hair down, breaking even, losing a few bucks or maybe a small profit wouldn't cross their minds. Being disappointed without a fellow investor to share the misery would be far more disconcerting.

How can anyone take a bloke seriously that played a game that has taken so long to realise that a penalty is not worth 3 points and carrying a ball over the line is more important. Pete should concentrate more on helping his mob climb out of grunt mode, leave League to forge ahead

POPEYE

Reserve Grade being reintroduced would be alright if it was truly a reserve grade with a couple of players being allowed to sit on the bench even if they'd played earlier. Which means if a coach wanted to blood new players or fill an emergency like the loss of a player due to foul play he could. Reserve Grade should be a place to put players clubs have invested in by signing contracts or for rehabilitation of injury/form

The problem is the State Competitions are far more important and Australia doesn't have a bottomless pit of Rugby League talent. There can only be 16 reserve grade teams whereas there can be as many State teams as the NRL can convince players to fill, one is a depository and the other a nursery. Weaken the nursery and we'll end up with a reserve grade full of weeds, just somewhere to dump wannabees that couldn't be . . . or, worse still somewhere poachers can hide their stash

It's a f**king joke that every player, especially in NSW/Qld, is not given the opportunity to build the game, once the reserve grade sides are contracted talent scouts will just sit on their arse and put their hands out. With reserve grade full what happens to feeder clubs, do they turn into bush teams that hold chook raffles to nurture and keep players interested when their Dads are telling them its 'all bullshit unless you're a genius son'

With Reserve Grade in place as the 2nd strongest competition get used to the fact that they will be a refuge for Pacific Islanders who have no choice when there should be 2 NZ teams, a Fijian, possibly a Samoan and a PNG team that doesn't feel betrayed in State comps that are weakened. It's all about a quick dollar instead of strengthening the code, we can't afford to discourage the Australian lifeblood of the game

POPEYE

F.W. FitzSimons is again concerning himself with the 'brutality' of Rugby League although he was happy to see Souths win. League players don't have to contest scrums but maybe they should spend the hours rah rahs do in eliminating necks.

If the head was made a continuation of the shoulders as is the prerequisite for rugby forwards maybe head knocks could be cushioned in League also. Of course that would mean the backs would also only see the ball on school holidays.

The red bandana F.W. wears not only means the bloke has to be able to fight but it covers the lobotomy scars, he obviously can't remember what League was like when it was really brutal. '73 GF, '77 Reddy intentionally 'coward punching' Ray Higgs breaking his jaw and getting away with it, Terry Lamb purposely knocking Hanley out, imagine what Les Boyd would have done to a Pom in a Bulldog jersey.

POPEYE

Amazing that some people still use the 'cap' as a crutch to lean on, any CEO worth his salt knows it's a farce for appearances only. Someone said somewhere that the Dogs, merely an example, are replacing Ennis with a cheaper player so that leaves room for . . . blah blah blah. Not the f**king point fellas, Ennis's replacement was needed/wanted somewhere that made an effort and deserves the right to keep him

Dave Smith is prepared to 'circumvent the cap' to have Sonny, Sam and Israel returned to League where they belong. Of course Dave means once the NRL interrupts a normal process, in this case the funny cap, the trio will be distributed where they are most needed.

If Sam is paid over the top to return he must go to Newcastle who will be trying to recover from being raped by the Dogs. The Tigers could use a Subsidised Israel to help them get back on their feet. Both these clubs have had to be dictated to by the NRL to get them out of the shit so it stands to reason no-one is going to complain if they are donated a great player

Sonny could be sent to, let me see . . . of course, the Titans. Wouldn't he be a drawcard in a Gold Coast practically owned by wealthy Kiwis and badly in need of a leg up. Yep, it would be great to see the NRL break it's prima facie rules for the benefit of the game.

Of course there's the little problem of Politis and Rusty not liking the idea and how will Todd be stopped from manipulating all 3 Amigos to fit into the Dogs. What really matters is that they shouldn't be lost to Rugby League . . . right?

POPEYE

Thanks mate, wish I had your memory homeless snail, be great to wake up and choose identities . . . what did you think of the Rothfield & Gallop Show being beaten by #96

Just had a look at the Kangaroos and of course Hayne has to play Fullback, he can't defend the line well enough to stop the Kiwis who I hope win the 4 Nations. If Australia wanted to flog everyone they'd have Jarryd and Greg both in the Centres and then it wouldn't matter a tuppenny f**k who played at the back with so many tries being scored against the opposition.

Cool in Noosa

kbw

All that is needed is players fast enough, capable of easily breaking pisspoor tackles and with enough stamina to play the minutes. There is absolutely no Rugby expertise needed in the 7's that couldn't be practiced in one season of the 15 man borefest. Can you imagine what Inglis would do at the Olympics against 7.

Seriously, imagine what an Olympic Gold Medal is compared to a gf ring, Sonny/Sam/Ben/Israel etc are probably doing just that. Come to think of it what is Greg doing after the gf.

Ingli$ could be magnificent with the all in hand in the 7s but as good as he can be there is no denying he is a lazy player and I would doubt he could handle rugby 7s. The reason he has excelled at fullback is 2 fold, 1 - he has more space (Which would translate well to rugby 7s) and 2 - he is (as mentioned earlier) lazy and content to sit a lot of the game at the back not doing much. This would not work for 1 second in rugby 7s.

There is more to rugby 7s than most think, I have played and it is without doubt the hardest sport that I have played. RL 7s is pretty hard, but you get the odd break. The only RL players that would do any good at RU7s are those with supreme fitness and a high work rate

kbw

Amazing that some people still use the 'cap' as a crutch to lean on, any CEO worth his salt knows it's a farce for appearances only. Someone said somewhere that the Dogs, merely an example, are replacing Ennis with a cheaper player so that leaves room for . . . blah blah blah. Not the f**king point fellas, Ennis's replacement was needed/wanted somewhere that made an effort and deserves the right to keep him

Dave Smith is prepared to 'circumvent the cap' to have Sonny, Sam and Israel returned to League where they belong. Of course Dave means once the NRL interrupts a normal process, in this case the funny cap, the trio will be distributed where they are most needed.

If Sam is paid over the top to return he must go to Newcastle who will be trying to recover from being raped by the Dogs. The Tigers could use a Subsidised Israel to help them get back on their feet. Both these clubs have had to be dictated to by the NRL to get them out of the shit so it stands to reason no-one is going to complain if they are donated a great player

Sonny could be sent to, let me see . . . of course, the Titans. Wouldn't he be a drawcard in a Gold Coast practically owned by wealthy Kiwis and badly in need of a leg up. Yep, it would be great to see the NRL break it's prima facie rules for the benefit of the game.

Of course there's the little problem of Politis and Rusty not liking the idea and how will Todd be stopped from manipulating all 3 Amigos to fit into the Dogs. What really matters is that they shouldn't be lost to Rugby League . . . right?

You raise an interesting point at the beginning. I think there is a possibility that some teams may well be under the cap, it maybe irrelevant as there are many payments that occur outside of the cap, both legitimately and many people believe otherwise.

Onto the other parts of your post, I disagree quite strongly about special rules and payments for "special" players. Every year people complain about that should not let so-and-so leave its a travesty, then the next year we say the same about someone else. Every player that leaves is eventually replaced by someone just as good. No player is bigger than the game itself. The only thing bigger than the game is the media .... :)

POPEYE

You raise an interesting point at the beginning. I think there is a possibility that some teams may well be under the cap, it maybe irrelevant as there are many payments that occur outside of the cap, both legitimately and many people believe otherwise.

Onto the other parts of your post, I disagree quite strongly about special rules and payments for "special" players. Every year people complain about that should not let so-and-so leave its a travesty, then the next year we say the same about someone else. Every player that leaves is eventually replaced by someone just as good. No player is bigger than the game itself. The only thing bigger than the game is the media .... :)

The more 'special' coaches the more 'special' players, if every team was coached equally well there would be an abundance of 'special' players. Believe it or not blokes like SBW are helped to retain their status by the attention they get at training as well as on the field. The more team mates that centre their attention on special players the better the special player performs . . . all in the eye of the beholder

Williams is probably more valuable for what he inspires others to do than for what he does himself. This is why coaches want him, partly to do their job for them. So, what I'm getting at it is not quite as simple as teaching a bloke how to play, Cronk is manufactured, but using him as inspiration to others. Some players are not that easy to replace and the time frame of the process can affect the team/coach's wellbeing

kbw

It is great when the 'special' players stay and some of them bring alot to a team. I don't begrudge individuals for changing codes for what ever reason money or challenge its their life their choice.

There are special players like SBW and Hayne that I am sorry to see leave but others that I am just not fussed about such as Burgess.

I guess the thing I disagree with is the whinge that the NRL admin is not doing their job and these players should be kept at all costs. Hell the NRL admin isn't doing their job but not for that reason :)

Cloudsurfer

I have a theory...and it won't be popular. Jarryd Hayne (and his agent) are mindful of Dave Smith's call to use his discretion to "keep', "bring back' elite players for NRL. Burgess, SBW & co are in that group & Hayne figures he is too (rightfully or wrongfully). A year or two and the big money is there from the NRL to "bring him back' if it doesn't pan out. I would bet on a year. Call me a cynic but I think Hayne has seen the writing on the wall & wants his slice of that pie....

POPEYE

Easier than trudging his way through a B grade Union team you think. I haven't seen/read much on what Hayne is doing but any League player that makes it in NFL is great by me. I reckon NFL is a shit game designed as explosive, as is Baseball and Basketball, the Yanks don't like stamina based anything, especially sport.

Hayne's attitude is ready made for NFL, short bursts of brilliance is something the Yanks practice from childhood, whether he can adapt to the vagaries is another thing. If he's only partly accepted the money is as silly as Golf, another sporting pretender, and isn't it fantastic when one of our mob rips shitloads of cash off the pretentious Yanks. I hope Hayne finds a helmet big enough, I remember when an Aussie kicked arse in Rodeo so I wish him well

Cloudsurfer

It might be designed as explosive but in reality there is so many stoppages, set plays etc it takes hours to play it...NFL to the punters is a whole day's outing, entertainment, & so on. Hayne may well have what it takes and it will probably suit his ego - whether he makes it is another story but if anyone can he can (he's an athlete after all) and it will suit his prima donna tendencies. It might be his dream (it's amazing how many young NRL players follow and eye up NFL as an option - know this from ...well, not prepared to go there, just know it, but I still think its partly a cynical and tactical move by Hayne. Time will tell I guess. Hope he does make it actually...might make the NRL wake up to itself about what they should be doing to make RL the place to be around the world.