Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

Time to separate the men from the boys, not because they'll play but how well the Originers play. Roosters only have to turn up especially with their halves still high on euphoria, Hayne's already had the game he needed to have this week and can't blame him if he wants to slap Ricky. Speaking of which, wonder if Stuart is implying that if Daley wins the series he could have done the same if he had Laurie's players . . . never my fault, I'll teach this sorry bunch of Eels.

Should be a victory for the Knights over a Dragons team in disarray, far more important for Newcastle this one, excuses are thin on the ground for them and Benny deserves better doesn't he?

Bad vibes coming from NQ, not just this game but for '13, imo the problem is and always has been that Thurston has been a shag on a rock, even the Lone Ranger would have been f**ked without a Tonto. If his state of mind doesn't improve DCE may start Origin 2, but that won't help Johnathon's search for a competent halve's partner at home. Dogs presented with another easy ride . . . shit

Crikey, the game across the ditch could be match of the round, fancy that. All we need is the Warriors to prove last time out wasn't a fluke and the Seagles to prove they are not a cult on the way out. Be a safer bet on Manly but fmd, you never know . . . every time I see Elliott he reminds me of a great dog I once had, sad eyes and deserved of all the love that came his way.

At least one of the westerners is packing six shooters and it should be a mismatch at the foot of the mountains. Bet Cleary is like a kid with a new toy, maybe not much more than a training run against the Tigers but more importantly a test of consistency.

Doesn't matter if all the stars come out in Melbourne the Sharks are going to give the wobbly wheels on the Storm a real test. Cam Smith's drawn out features of late match the melancholy in the joint around this time of year, not sure how many more times this group can bounce back. Flanagan's mob seemed resigned to Gallen not being interested in anything else . . . who needs him anyway.

Should be no contest in Canberra, Broncos unsettled and sore, Ferguson is playing? and maturing nicely, a must win for both sides but if Campese can keep the ball away from McCrone for long enough stupidity should be kept at bay. Only thing in favour of Brisbane is that they are overdue for an 'I told you so'

POPEYE

Not sure why I bother with the Eels, maybe there is still a soft spot for the ruins of the house that Jack built, probably should ignore League's answer to a court jester and concentrate on the working majority. Stuart's face should have been the first on the big screen as the only definite redundancy, the rest should of been listed as candidates only.

Every player on the books should be introduced to Trent Barrett, or someone like him, and told the 2014 off season trials start next week. Parramatta may be seen as Penrith's little brother and both could begin a new life together, keeping the same goals in mind.

Far be it for me to repeat myself but the best coaches are introverted with a deep knowledge of what has to be done on the field but never quite capable of personal excellence. Games will never be won from the pulpit, sermons are for children, all NRL players are good enough to make their mark with the proper guidance.

POPEYE

What did I say, a team in disarray . . . silly old prick. Knew I f**ked up when I watched Soward play in the NSW Cup and realised whatever the Dragons tried had to be better than a playmaker frightened to run to the line. Go-forward won the game, something Fien has in spades and his kicking was more than adequate.

Dugan almost tried too hard to bignote himself, which is the way he has to play but dangerous if you're injury prone, nevertheless he did a great job of keeping his team mates interested. The bloke is a specialist fullback and it shows, there are only a few with the required energy level and Hayne is not one.

The Knights played well imo but were out-enthused, which means we all have been put on notice the Dragons aren't just going to make up the numbers and their forwards seemed to have found a purpose. Shit I love watching teams step up if only to see their coach get revenge on the the arsewipes.

Be a shame if this second-tier malady is allowed to fester enough to add more detriment to an already handicapped season. League persists in making a fool of itself in as many ways as possible, pity the go-forward didn't match that of the Dragons.

Bandwagon

The simple solution would be to give the clubs a pro rata dispensation at minimum wage for injuries in their top 25 and instead of having a set amount in the Second tier, set a minimum and maximum payment that can be made per game played and a maximum annual contract per player ( exclusive of match payments ). Meaning any amount of players could be brought in on match payments to cover.

Bonus' written into a fringe players contract for playing X amount of first grade games could simply be carried over into the following seasons cap. ( as it is done with other payments).

Problem solved, the cap retains it's "integrity". Move on.

POPEYE

Still making sense I see old friend. I often wonder why there is not some sort of refund on player injuries under the cap, after all it was designed to maintain equality.

POPEYE

How good would it be if Johnson had the footy brain of Mateo, no kicking just for the sake of it and passing to someone instead of anyone. At least the Warriors played for 80 minutes, enough of a miracle for the time being, possibly still too much pepper and not enough salt but 3 in a row . . . whodathought

POPEYE

Thank f**k I'm not a betting man, would've taken Penrith with 13 start to the Tigers, Sharks with any start and Knights without a start. Ah well, Storm were mighty once more and the Sharks put in a great effort on a hostile planet with Fifita looking like Artie reincarnated.

Haven't watched anything from the Penrith game but they can hardly blame not being able to use certain players when the Tigers are in a worse position. Benji would have to have had more than the usual ordinary game I'd imagine.

Bandwagon

Penrith simply put, shot themselves in both feet. Dominated every stat, except the one that matters most.

StormHi

Great read as always Pops.

The big three's resurgence to form does not bode well for NSW methinks .... :(

POPEYE

To tell the truth I was hoping Melbourne might struggle through a few more wins before they hit form, there is a worry they may suffer premature ejaculation trying to reproduce the effort we saw last night for the rest of the season. If any team can do it it's the Storm but still a big ask, then of course it might have been only an emphatic win because one was needed.

In Melbourne's case it was double barrelled, not only did they need to arrest the slump but there were new owners with great expectations that needed satisfying. Funny how teams will rise to the occasion but it is often a placebo of consistency.

Parramatta for example are bereft of a tactician so their good games are dependant on inspirational anomalies such as making half the team redundant. Can't wait to see what the next episode of Days of Our Lives in Parra will bring.

I'd make a small bet, my balls for instance, the Tigers can't get it up again next week. I would like to see their coach reach the same heights as Robbo and Madge but infighting, injuries and loose canons aren't conducent to consistency.

Up and down never feels as good as out and in and at the moment the Dogs are the team with the biggest smile and the strongest looking game plan along with Souths, inconsistency relegated and little interference from the Origin mardis gras

POPEYE

Easy to sit on my arse and denigrate McCrone's worth as a #7, imo still an integral team member, but players out of position annoy the shit out of me. No more so than Shaun Johnson or even Thurston for a different reason, but as long as Canberra win wtf cares. The difference now is Campese, his longevity is the key and the sooner Milford mans up the better, we see what happens in NQ when a 5/8 has to babysit for too long.

Take nothing away from the Raider's win, made more meritorious by withstanding a wholehearted fightback from a rudderless Broncos who like the Warriors seem to be pissing into the wind, needing someone to turn them with proper direction.

POPEYE

All this talk about Gower's return puts me in mind of Pat Richards, returning to the Tigers apparently, he was another example of Brian Smith's inability to recognise talent. Of all the players to go to England he was the most unnecessary, nothing approaching Ryan Hoffman who badly needed a freshen up in softer pasture.

Sure, Jamie Lyon was and still is the best centre on the planet no matter which country he plays in but he had a point to prove. Lima is playing exactly the same as he did in Melbourne but no-one gave him a second thought at the end of his stint here.

When Richards left the Tigers I thought he must have found a horse's head in his bed, why else would such a great goal kicking winger who could run over players like Ribot did with Wests leave. Imo if this bloke can still stand up he will blow 'em away.

sensesmaybenumbed

When Richards left the Tigers I thought he must have found a horse's head in his bed, why else would such a great goal kicking winger who could run over players like Ribot did with Wests leave. Imo if this bloke can still stand up he will blow 'em away.

He was offered a very good deal with Wigan mid season in 2005 - just before the hot streak that won them a Premiership (and yes, I know you give it little value but there it is). I get the impression he would have loved to stay, but a deals a deal.

To his credit Richards honoured the deal he had made.

POPEYE

On paper this round looks to be full of great matchups with some pivotal scenarios, hard to imagine early that the Dragons would be favourites over the Cowboys, not all due to NQ running on empty either. Ironic in a way that my great expections for Henry have been overridden by those for Price. Getting down to the nitty gritty now, either the players aren't trying or Henry has caught the incurable Brian Smith Syndrome.

Imagine most League supporters won't give a shit who loses at Brookvale, but I prefer a Silver Tail win over Little Lebanon, mainly because I'm convinced Toovey is more than a caretaker coach. New blood is the only way to tell if the little bloke has got what it takes and Manly are in need of adequate backup for some tired legs. Not sure why the Dogs aren't favoured equally in the betting.

Big test for Penrith against the Raiders, was it just a puncture or a blow out last time around. Forgive the haircut if it's on top of a bloke who can play with a broken arm and Edrick will be missed, maybe the Panthers not being able to play their fullback secret weapon and the Raiders their wing equivalent will cancel each other out. All Canberra have to do is play to their potential which is greater than Penrith's.

Did anything out of the ordinary happen in Parramatta I've not heard about . . . if not the Sharks will not have to prepare for inspiration and the win should be fairly straightforward.

Danger match for Souths, the Titans are outsiders which is something the Rabbitohs struggle with. Can Inglis catch cousin Kelly one-on-one and what will unfold in the Keary/Sutton saga is scintillating to invisage. Souths haven't placed all their cards on the table and the Titans are still on training wheels. One not to be missed.

Knights are due to make another statement and Melbourne are primed for an encore. Both of Storm's flanks are in a happier place with Blair covering in defence for O'Neill who is rock solid in the air and the second best centre in the game pairing well with Waqa on the other side. Much better team when the flanks are confident.
Wouldn't have a clue what Benny's going to come up with but he takes it personal against Bellamy.

Roosters/Warriors will have supporters of both with their hearts in their mouths, we know pretty much what the boys from Bondi will bring but anyone's guess what we'll see from the boys who see Bondi as a second home. Will either be a masacre or a miracle, no hope for anything in between.

One way or another the Broncos are going to have a night game at home to fall back on and if the Tigers don't have a clue what's going to happen neither do I

POPEYE

I've yet to see the Cowboys/Dragons game, preferring to savour the time with a clear head, but my memory of Manly/Dogs is as clouded as most people who watch a Mundine fight and don't give a shit how many punches Anthony landed. If you'd had told me five years ago I'd be barracking for Manly last night with such ferocity I'd have said you were certifiable.

Didn't give a tuppenny how badly the Dogs may have been treated by incompetent refereeing, it was the incompetency directed at the Seagles that had me incensed, no team who displayed that degree of ticker should lose in such a fashion. If there was ever a reason to f**k golden point off it was there for all to see last night.

There is an unwritten law to let Origin flow and the same used to apply to extra time, dumbf**k referees . . . worse than shit coaches

POPEYE

Many a time I've preferred fish'n'chips over a gourmet meal and if all you want is excitement in League the Cowboys/Dragons were top of the class. The last 10 minutes of defence by NQ made them rightful winners imo, helped along by some laughable refereeing which is a by-product of most games anyway.

No worries for Dragons supporters and relief for the other mob, got the feeling watching Henry he was surprised the expected inevitable didn't eventuate.

POPEYE

Seems the League 'ladder' has progressed from a euphemism for who's had a good or bad weekend to a synonym for what's happening in the game. Some teams are obviously doing more than just winning, 'stepping up' is now the challenge, even losing with dignity a requirement.

Cronulla for instance have only been beaten recently by a team that regained lost impetus, the Sharks now are a force to be reckoned with. Eels did well in the first 40 but needed a week long halftime to match what the Sharks came up with in the 2nd stanza, Ricky should take notes or let Parish have the floor in the break.

The Dragons started the 'new look' closely followed by Penrith, both making statements, even the Warriors offering more than a nuisance. Obvious that the top four teams at one time climbing away now feel hands on their heels, soon we may see teams clambering over each other and a firmer grip now the pre-requisite.

POPEYE

Great game of footy with fatigue being a leveller, green and red everywhere down to the Bunnings building in the background, only the Titans refusing to follow the script. Supporters of the GC can sleep well tonight, one fabulous player denying his equally fabulous cousin may have been the difference.

If Cronk needed any incentive to concentrate on keeping his Kangaroo jumper he has only to listen for the footsteps of Adam Reynolds without whom the Rabbitohs would have been the second team to regret taking the Titans to the bush. Stepping up to match the Sharks/Bulldogs/Raiders to pressure any of the top four should they falter.

POPEYE

Almost impossible to guage the performance of the top teams in this malstrom period caused by Origin especially when a few of the challengers are stepping up, post match pressers give the best indication of how teams are handling it. The Roosters were the worst affected this weekend with key players obviously having their mind elsewhere.

Melbourne and Sydney would have gone into their games expecting tough opposition but not a loss, just to win without injury enough, Melbourne even experimented a little which was almost suicidal when two supercoaches are involved. Even Inglis looked a little reticent in the best game of the round but Maguire should be happier considering the fatigue factor with his giants.

Warriors were lucky and plucky, scrappy game maybe but if any team deserved a break it is them, Elliott the most in need of compensation for his effort. All the top four struggled, one ripped off, one preoccupied and two doing barely enough . . . if you like your contests with a handicapper you'll love this time of year.