Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

ek999

Crikey mate, Innis to #7 was just desperation but I'll concede it as good adaptation, 'yet another masterstroke' from the least interesting of all the great coaches is a bit of a stretch. His masterstrokes are few and very far between.

Just caught up on most of the replays and the Cronulla fightback/Rooster capitulation was the most interesting.

T-Rex played halfback Pops with Ennis at hooker and Kasiano at lock

POPEYE

Des's masterstroke is right up there with Arthur's Sandow at #1, even Sticky with toilet paper and crayons could circumvent it a second time . . . swear blind I saw #7 on Ennis' back but I must admit I don't look closely at Dogs' games. The Seagles could have won just as easily as they let it go

Picked up a couple of things from the Origin rubbish tip, the Cronulla ticker was inspired by Wade Graham, the bloke is an injection compared to a Lewis bandaid and why NSW can't see that is beyond me. Maloney is beginning to go walkabout and maybe he needs to be poached again to arouse his interest once more

Good to hear Roberts is taking his upside down horseshoe away from Melbourne next year and to all those with dick in one hand a 'big three' placard in the other, Widdop says 'suck shit'. Storm are struggling without him, Benji is playing good because of him and Mary is contrary with his help.

Tamou is saying Hayne is better than Thurston, a choice between one who doesn't do enough and another who tries too hard . . . James needs to concentrate on his own game before embarking on a career as expert on who's doing what

POPEYE

Tohu Harris is praying for his 5 team mates, hot water pipes are frozen and no rain in sight . . . just about says it all

POPEYE

Although a critic of Hayne's past laziness, except for a Daniel Anderson shakeup in late '09 that could have been a catalyst for something greater had management been up to it, I'm impressed by his attention span this year.

Some may see it as ironic whereas I see it as proof of Anderson's ability in so much as he is the driving force again, hopefully extended beyond this year. He is in the position of helping the coach, a potentially great one, to do what he should have been backed to do 5 years ago.

So, I have no problem with Jarryd offering up a placebo threat to leave in order to garner more money from the Eels. He's obviously been influenced by other great players who never had any intention of deserting their club but felt the need to remind people of their worthiness.

When he receives the big pay day however it remains to be seen if the blank look of previous years is not regurgitated like the unholy mess it was. Arthur and Anderson need more than just an '09 lick or a '14 promise, the bloke will have to emulate the deeds of those great players that held their club to ransom

POPEYE

Said to my missus before the game started that I hoped Qld would get the flogging NSW loudmouths promised, maybe then the Melbourne Connection would remove their float from the mardis gras. As it turned out I ended up pissing myself laughing.

With Bird and Reynolds trying to outdog each other all night to turn game 3 into a replica of game 2, the Maroons just returned to playing footy and were unlucky not to put 50 on the Blues. That pathetic gaping mouth/soccer type/B grade acting laydown by Bird almost spilled my Bourban and just about sums up the whole NSW campaign

The nauseous Origin bullshit dumped south of the border by Nine could have been shortened had the NRL left well enough alone, gave Whinger Gal his trophy and called it quits after game game 2. Seriously, who really believed NSW was going to win with Cronk in the Qld team, he merely made sure his mob played footy.

Referees in and out of the box did their best to keep NSW in the game, maybe a shoulder charge or late tackle on a kicker doesn't look so bad in a blue uniform. My hero Richard Silverwood wouldn't have lost control of the series and the Blues may have even won 3 nil, as it is every player will be telling tales of highway robbery this morning.

F**k it, why bother reading a single word about a great concept when it is used to assassinate the Premiership that allows these players to be showcased in the first place . . . the look on Daley's face last night said it all

POPEYE

Unlike so many people who apparently know Darius Boyd intimately until I sat down with the bloke and had a man to man with him I wouldn't have a f**king clue how intelligent he is. If he looked me straight in the eye as he gave a firm handshake I'd be prepared to say he was worth listening to . . . before that happened the only thing I'm interested in is 80 minute segments of his life.

I do raise a giggle when wankers get on their high horse because he won't/can't talk to the media the way they want him to. When he sees a dope like Weidler approaching, who is Gyngell's main man and the epitome of the way the turd views the game, is it any wonder he clams up.

Now, if Darius was as evilly gifted of the gab as I am Huxley would have walked away in tears and I would have made everyone think I was a great bloke and she was a bitch. Then again I haven't spent most of my life sacrificing the fineries in a super human effort only a few can muster to become the equal top try scorer in SOO and play for Australia.

Whether Boyd is shy, an imbecile, a lair, introverted or just wants people to ask him questions about himself doesn't matter a shit to me until I sat down with him and found out for myself. Where I come from you don't ask stupid questions and expect a reasonable response, especially when it's obvious a bloke is emotionally connected

From a perspective of someone who knows nothing of the circumstances, unlike many know-it-alls, I say f**king ripper, give the media and all the other vultures intent on making a pile of shit out of a dropping no scraps to survive on

POPEYE

Wasn't going to bother with dribbling over team lists but sfa left to talk about. No way could Wolfman be chastised for putting two bob on the Seagles last night, took about as much hindsight as realising Clive Palmer is more interested in himself than politics.

'Tigers trounced' is one amongst many expert observations this morning. Like the survivors of a train wreck assembling on an adjoining line only to be cleaned up by a fully loaded express driven by DCE, fresh from his cameo role in Origin. Back to the top of the table with help from under the table by Shayne . . . as though the swamp men needed it

Warriors look to be as strong as they can get against the Eels who are starting to look as undermanned as the Tigers. The Parramatta Pilot has broken a nail and so we have a pint sized co-pilot once again in command. Maybe Arthur is in charge of Jarryd's appointments . . . he might not really be a tosser

Much better chance of Melbourne's war heros backing up but even without Grub the Dogs will try to run roughshod over them, not the ideal team to play this week

Does anyone have an idea what could happen at Cbus, Carty still trying to win a player lottery and Sticky trying to win a lottery without a ticket

At the moment James Shepherd looks in better condition than Wayne Bennett . . . whodathought. If Gal can convince himself NSW is the premier team maybe the euphoria will carry over to this game, my bet is the Sharks who did better without him will swim backwards and drown. How the Knights react to a schemozzle is the key to this game.

The Panthers have to beat the Broncos if they want to garner believers. When Parker was on the paddock NSW did nothing and the MOM on Wednesday night could be Penrith's nemesis if he isn't worn out.

H.H

Unlike so many people who apparently know Darius Boyd intimately until I sat down with the bloke and had a man to man with him I wouldn't have a f**king clue how intelligent he is. If he looked me straight in the eye as he gave a firm handshake I'd be prepared to say he was worth listening to . . . before that happened the only thing I'm interested in is 80 minute segments of his life.

I do raise a giggle when wankers get on their high horse because he won't/can't talk to the media the way they want him to. When he sees a dope like Weidler approaching, who is Gyngell's main man and the epitome of the way the turd views the game, is it any wonder he clams up.

Now, if Darius was as evilly gifted of the gab as I am Huxley would have walked away in tears and I would have made everyone think I was a great bloke and she was a bitch. Then again I haven't spent most of my life sacrificing the fineries in a super human effort only a few can muster to become the equal top try scorer in SOO and play for Australia.

Whether Boyd is shy, an imbecile, a lair, introverted or just wants people to ask him questions about himself doesn't matter a shit to me until I sat down with him and found out for myself. Where I come from you don't ask stupid questions and expect a reasonable response, especially when it's obvious a bloke is emotionally connected

From a perspective of someone who knows nothing of the circumstances, unlike many know-it-alls, I say f**king ripper, give the media and all the other vultures intent on making a pile of shit out of a dropping no scraps to survive on
Agree pops.

For what it's worth, my 12 year old nephew had an encounter with him after the knights lost a golden point heart breaker last year.

Not only did he get a photo with a smiling but obviously gutted Boyd, darius kept in touch and gave him a match ball and a signed knights jersey.

I'll take that account ahead of any f**kwit in the media.

POPEYE

While Hayne sucks his thumb Tomkins says 'suck shit'. Can't blame Arthur, he knew the Eels would be up against it without their best team and the last thing he wants is Jarryd to suffer from withdrawal . . . again.

The Warriors are merely doing a 'Manly', and just as if the Seagles had of merely won against the cubs it will be just as disastrous if the Kiwi team doesn't win easily. Origin is over but it's not finished f**king over the Premiership yet . . . press may have Tigers/Eels/Storm being 'trounced' tomorrow

POPEYE

If anyone is taking donations for an early plane ticket for Ben Roberts put me down for a 100 bucks, Melbourne played like strangers and it's no wonder, Roberts is not to blame but f**ked if I can get a decent vibe from the bloke.

Anyone saying Farah is even on the same page as 80 Minute Smith has got rocks in his head

ek999

Slater stuffed their best chance to score Pops. Had Cronk in support with only the fullback to beat and tried to do it himself.

Smith was brilliant all night except for the decision to go for goal. He all but conceded the Dogs defence was too good the moment he did that. Was an unusually negative move from him

POPEYE

It's a shame that the closest competition we've had for years is due to injuries not talent, some so-called supporters of League will say 'shit happens' and rejoice when they see an opposition player to 'their' team go down . . . even wishing it upon them.

Melbourne is my favoured team but given the extenuating circumstances they have to contend with I'm pleased they just hang in there. It's the teams like Wests, Parra and whoever else suffering from injuries which curtail their season that is the most disconcerting. If Eels/Warriors and Manly/Tigers finished as the AAMI game did how much more threatening would the game be considered by opposition codes

The Storm's biggest enemy is fatigue, something the NRL rejoice in to keep the comp 'level' but the teams at the top are not suffering from it, neither are they suffering from key injuries. The NRL needs to invest more in injury prevention, not just leave it up to the clubs. Sports science should become more important that learning to sing 'Que Sera'

Poor old Newtown, once a hub for the working man who's only pleasure was following Rugby League, now merely a token name given to a reserve grade League team based in an area only yuppies can afford to live. I've spoken before about how smart Politis is for embracing the Central Coast and how dumb the Seagles are for ignoring the possibilities, eagles fly up and down the coast of Australia, not just hover over a f**king swamp

Souths should snap up the chance to embrace the remnants of inner city supporters, pluck another feather . . . Newtown runs into Redfern like yoke runs into white anyway. The Roosters imo have opened up a road to El Dorado and what better way to impress the natives than to relinquish a bus load of supporters for a full passenger train

POPEYE

Jabba talks about player mindsets and the mysterious way the Knights rejuvenated at half time. Being the great coach he once was, or maybe still is, it shouldn't come as a surprise to what the gift of the gab/tactics can produce if the players are up for it.

Being up for it is the key, the reason I see League as fascinating and not merely a game of fortune. Imo because Australia can't afford to pay it's entertainers what they're worth, compared to the rest of the world anyway, some of them find ways to compensate for what they see as an injustice . . . maybe not intentionally but manslaughter is not intentional

My scenario is that some players who rightfully think they are better than others may take advantage of their standing to push their value to the limit. As far as I'm concerned a great player who sees the game as a personal chariot and uses injury as a conspirator is someone I term a 'middleman'.

There are great players that are susceptable to injury and don't have the opportunity to manipulate them to their advantage. Injuries are always going to be a crutch for these blokes and that is why I call them 'minute men' . . . every minute they're on the paddock is a minute closer to their next sabbatical

No-one is safe from injury but my favourite class of player is one that sees injury as a bugbear, something to be defeated and not embraced. Players in this category need not be seen as great to the casual observer, talent is replaced by worthiness which after all is the thing that separates part timers from the gladiators.

If a player can't have talent and worthiness simultaneously I'd take the worthy ones any day, they are the blokes who can make 2 games from one and refuse to hide behind distractions

POPEYE

Penrith at their best last night were as impressive as the Warriors, probably more so when you consider they were understrength, only injuries brought the game back to the Broncos. Still, there's plenty of scope for the people claiming the Panthers are about to face judgement day.

Not long ago the typical Australian praise for Cleary had him as the new replacement for sliced bread and when his mob are leading the way the uniquely Australian wankerism against achievement is coming to the fore. The peculiar Down Under obsession with maintaining a down under level is evidenced in the way the salary cap, in particular the second tier, is orchestrated . . . Jabba has covered the subject admirably.

Penrith might not have been affected by 'orrible Origin and the bashers claim the draw has suited them but the fact remains their real threat is injuries. No team in the comp is a better than 50% chance of beating them with all hands on deck, Cleary has guaranteed that moreso than the players. Penrith are where they are because Ivan is getting something from players other coaches couldn't.

If the Seagles were to lose the remaining Stewart and DCE to injury every rock would unexplicably turn and expose a wanker claiming Manly as pretenders. Injuries to the way of Australian minnow mindset are a welcomed leveller, embraced when they should be abhorred, dismissed as an explanation by f**kwits with an axe to grind

MaxPower

It's the old tribal mindset pops. It occurs in all competitive sports to various degrees, not so much in the participants but within the fanbase. That tribal affinity is part of our nature, a genetic remnant of a past none of us have experienced.
The big issue, which you touched on, is the salary cap. It's nothing more than enforced mediocrity.

POPEYE

It's the old tribal mindset pops. It occurs in all competitive sports to various degrees, not so much in the participants but within the fanbase. That tribal affinity is part of our nature, a genetic remnant of a past none of us have experienced.
The big issue, which you touched on, is the salary cap. It's nothing more than enforced mediocrity.

It appears moreso an Australian peculiarity, probably because per head of population we could be the greatest sporting nation on the planet. Unfortunately the rest of the world denotes us as insignificant, especially our 'too hard' choice in primary games we play, which in turn creates a pig headed attitude towards recognising greatness . . . something most other nations embrace to the point of worship

POPEYE

According to team lists the mighty Gal has succumbed to his injury, which is not necessarily bad for the Sharks, all that horsepower spinning wheels is wasted in a car park. Better to let Wade Graham if he's playing lead on the road of recovery, he is more suited to ensuring a wheel falls off the Cowboys' away wagon. That aside, Lui gives me the shudders in the same way Ben Roberts does

Jarryd's return via his cubby hole hopefully has the impact Arthur dreams of, it's a pity he was saved from the Warrior frypan only to be tossed in the Rabbitoh fire. Can't see a better outcome than last week, although the Sandow enigma at fullback has hopefully run it's course and I'm not sure why Madge doesn't work the departing Koroisau to death and save Luke as a secret weapon.

Aren't the Roosters just sleeping and the Panthers pretending, most interest is in how long before Robbo fine tunes his mob and how Cleary retunes his. Imo a game of apathy versus necessity

Speaking of apathy, f**ked if I can rationalise the vibes when Roberts is playing, wouldn't surprise if Sticky finishes in front of Bellyache just as he did in their playing together days. Silly to imagine having fingers crossed for this one but there you are

The Warriors don't have a choice, if they want to shed the red nose and funny shoes they have to come away from Qld's centre ring with no-one laughing as they leave. Tomkins should have a field day against the worst defensive, most overrated #1 in the comp and Hurrell should wear out his boots running over Reed . . . the plans of mice and men

Has to be a Newcastle win, the script can't be changed . . . at least not against a team with a rotating roster full of minute men

The only thing that may beat the Dogs is the euphoria hangover from Melbourne. Farah may see Ennis as the bloke who put one over Smith and we all know Robbie is better than 3rd best. Did I hear Potter was at risk, someone's not going to shoot the piano player because the instrument is on three legs surely

Gee, Dragons v Seagles at WIN could be anything, match of the round maybe? Who's the referee

POPEYE

Great to see 'ol mate Toddy is again doing his best for Rugby League, Israel wants to keep meetings secret because he's afraid the Rahs Rahs will smack his bottom. It's amazing the lengths TG will go to for the good of the game, bet he had a list of clubs to show Israel that would be dying to get his signature

Plain as the nose on your face Boyd wants to follow Bennett because he sees his mentor as the reason for his standing in the game, no f**king rocket science there. Jeremy and Beau say they are staying with the nights and why not, things never look as inviting at twilight as they do early in the day

Once more Bellamy is relying on Cronk to 'rally the Storm', imo the little bloke has always been the driving force behind the Melbourne Mob, Billy the magician and Cam the steadying influence. Other consistently successful teams have more than one role player, even the best can't do it alone . . . ask JT

The Sunshine Coast may see a break in the football cloud, best place in Q to live but bottom of the barrell as far as Intrust League goes. Melbourne dropping the Sharks and enhancing the SC will have the locals buzzing, the Broncos won't like having two nearby feeder teams in the Storm breadbasket but it makes sense. Why would the unofficial 4th Qld team want to be associated with the most disastrous NSW team

'Dr Koukash is obviously a big NRL fan and his goal is to own an NRL team' . . . naivity must run in the Gidley family. Methinks the good doctor not only wants to 'extend his reach' to the NRL but more importantly by hook or crook bring the ESL into line with the NRL. His looking for a porthole on the top deck is akin to Greenberg's impartiality

POPEYE

If McFadden ends up a candidate for Coach of the Year who is the guiding light behind it. A little time with Bellamy, some with Potter in France, a lot with Furner and recognised by Elliott loosely sums up his resume.

Hindsight is going to rear it's ugly head in Canberra if McFadden is celebrated at the end of the season. I thought McFadden/McLinden were underestimated in their playing days so what goes around comes around.

Maybe someone out there can explain the circumstances that lead to the Raiders not being in the position the Warriors are in now, was it once bitten twice shy of any connection to Furner or just lousy foresight . . . could signing Sticky be any indication