Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

I see the Raiders as a mirror image of Newcastle except that McCrone does have a reasonable kicking game, unfortunately he is not capable of thinking far enough ahead to be of any great value as a 5/8. Close to the line he can break the defence as well as anyone, another reason he should be dummy half. There's no reason Canberra and Newcastle couldn't be a top four side with the right direction, as your blokes have proven. Roberts>Wighton imo.

bellyache

One long neck too many for you, where did I say Jabba wrote it. Worse than that he researched it from an unreliable source, even more so than the man himself. The author of the article does exactly what he claims Souths to have done, whinge to explain their existence. F**k, got up for a leak and can't go back to sleep, recently watched a mini series with Kevin Costner about the Hatfields and McCoys, dead ringer for Souths/Roosters and equally as irrelevant to common sense
:lol: Never let the truth spoil a good story.. Thought I knew you better than that!

POPEYE

Like to think Potter is going to make Farah/Miller/Marshall his vehicle to drive the demons away, the middle man the one to keep it in the right lane. His forwards, or lack of, could be the Bugbear. No-one's keen to ostracise Toovey from the coaching ranks because it's dangerous to buck the mighty Manly who many imagine could cruise the highway without a driver.

Hasler will be keen to establish his mob as second best and the caterwaulers would like nothing better than pounce on an embarrassed South Sydney. Doesn't matter the only thing the Rabbitohs need work on is defence whilst all with the exception of Melbourne and Manly look uncomfortable in both facets. Imo the Rabbitohs can take their own sweet time getting it right for when they do many will be laughing on the other side of their faces.

Bisbane/Melbourne should be as Melbourne/Dogs should've been but wasn't, never a foregone conclusion no matter who's in or out. This is the local derby with the longest distance in between and like all such encounters anyone predicting a walkover in Suncorp would have done the same at Aami. Not sure I'm looking forward to this post match presser either.

Not often we feel sorry for the Dragons when they play Cronulla but I have a fondness for 'Que Sera Sera' and it seems appropriate. Every game will be Price's Last Stand for the time being and maybe the fat lady will forget the words this time.

My match of the round, just to be different, will be played at the foot of the mountains, Cartwright will have to return to the place he know's best at the worst time of the day against the most unpredictable. Cleary imo will be looking forward to every game this year in wonderous anticipation, a good place to be in the scheme of things where expectations are not overwhelming.

Bennett should prevail over Furner if I'm right about direction, but there's always the bounce of the ball, complacency and mind over matter to consider. Not sure if those ingredients will prevent me from being redfaced in a thread devoted to it.

The game across the ditch should be the most exciting of the weekend for those of us that put credence in 'you're only as good as your last game'. I really don't want to guess the oucome.

If MNF continues to be more often than not the most entertaining of every round then maybe Sticky will give Robbo a run for his money, wishful thinking as it may be. Stranger things have happened but I can't see the Rooster Rollercoaster being derailed by a team with a wheel missing.

bellyache

Like to think Potter is going to make Farah/Miller/Marshall his vehicle to drive the demons away, the middle man the one to keep it in the right lane. His forwards, or lack of, could be the Bugbear. No-one's keen to ostracise Toovey from the coaching ranks because it's dangerous to buck the mighty Manly who many imagine could cruise the highway without a driver.

Hasler will be keen to establish his mob as second best and the caterwaulers would like nothing better than pounce on an embarrassed South Sydney. Doesn't matter the only thing the Rabbitohs need work on is defence whilst all with the exception of Melbourne and Manly look uncomfortable in both facets. Imo the Rabbitohs can take their own sweet time getting it right for when they do many will be laughing on the other side of their faces.

Bisbane/Melbourne should be as Melbourne/Dogs should've been but wasn't, never a foregone conclusion no matter who's in or out. This is the local derby with the longest distance in between and like all such encounters anyone predicting a walkover in Suncorp would have done the same at Aami. Not sure I'm looking forward to this post match presser either.

Not often we feel sorry for the Dragons when they play Cronulla but I have a fondness for 'Que Sera Sera' and it seems appropriate. Every game will be Price's Last Stand for the time being and maybe the fat lady will forget the words this time.

My match of the round, just to be different, will be played at the foot of the mountains, Cartwright will have to return to the place he know's best at the worst time of the day against the most unpredictable. Cleary imo will be looking forward to every game this year in wonderous anticipation, a good place to be in the scheme of things where expectations are not overwhelming.

Bennett should prevail over Furner if I'm right about direction, but there's always the bounce of the ball, complacency and mind over matter to consider. Not sure if those ingredients will prevent me from being redfaced in a thread devoted to it.

The game across the ditch should be the most exciting of the weekend for those of us that put credence in 'you're only as good as your last game'. I really don't want to guess the oucome.

If MNF continues to be more often than not the most entertaining of every round then maybe Sticky will give Robbo a run for his money, wishful thinking as it may be. Stranger things have happened but I can't see the Rooster Rollercoaster being derailed by a team with a wheel missing.
Being a fence sitter and or protecting teams results with spin doctoring is not the way to great journalism...

bellyache

Interesting thoughts on the situation from somebody not blinded by club bias or loathing.

You see it as saving his career, I see it as best utilising his limited skill set.

Gidley will never have a good kicking game. His most useful kick is the wobbly, ugly, impossible to read the bounce grubber that he utilises once in a blue moon.... probably because he knows how terrible it looks...... and even he doesnt know where it will end up.
Wow! Perfect for Origin... Are you employed by Newcastle? coach? Commentator? Just pops bitch? Clue please....

POPEYE

Being a fence sitter and or protecting teams results with spin doctoring is not the way to great journalism...

So, you think I ought to make a choice who is going to win when all I want to see is a good contest. You also credit me with enough talent to be a journalist when there is no journal. You also put shit on Big Tim simply because he wants to share his thoughts. Your blouse is showing

POPEYE

bellyache and I amongst others share a dinner table usually once a week, watch a game afterwards and naturally talk footy. You mightn't realise it but he is as knowledgeable about the game and its players as anyone I've heard or read. Around a campfire at the end of the day in the bush we usually test each other when the pisstaking begins and it is verbal Armageddon for anyone that gets in our way.

He obviously thinks I need help keeping this thread afloat given its title but I'd prefer to establish it as a dinner table rather than a campfire. This notation is for the benefit of onlookers who imagine I may be weakening in resolve to abort vitriol in my place of relaxation. By the way, don't ever mistake bellyache for a redneck

POPEYE

Billy Connolly and Peter Fitzsimmons are virtual blood brothers of mine in the war against religion but Peter has overstepped the mark in his chastisement of David Smith over the Richie Fa'aoso suspension downgrading. No-one knows Richie's intention in the tackle, only the circumstances of the contact can be adjudicated upon, the same as with Slater.

I'm like most people who think there are too many variations of rules, simplification is necessary in a game that doesn't require above average IQ to play. Any avoidable contact with the head is punishable, if it can be successfully argued unavoidable it is not. Taken to the extreme, if we were allowed to make judgement on intent Richie could have been charged with headbutting, and if guesswork at intent was allowed Mattai would never get a run.

Have to disagree with Sterlo on a finer point of his idea to allow an extra replacement due to foul play in the first 40 minutes of a game. He has reservations about connivance in a full game but there is still the chance of starting the game with a key player on the bench and an orchestrated interchange. Say Gallen was coming back from injury and the coach was undecided about playing him.

Luke Lewis, does another Academy Award performance in the 35th minute after a reportable offence injures him, and Gallen who was never really going to play gets a free wildcard as 18th man. There is imo a need for an opportunity to replace an injured player that can't come back on if the perpetrator is sent off.

POPEYE

Easily my favorite thread on LU keep up the good work POPs ;-)

If I knew why it was your favourite thread I would know whether to be relieved or fall on my sword. If at any time of the day you have nothing better to do we can discuss something more pertinent.

ek999

I don't want any 18th man type rule introduced. No matter how it is to be worked it will lead to clubs abusing it to get an unfair advantage. The simplest solution would be for the ref's to use the send-off or sin-bin more

Big Tim

Wow! Perfect for Origin... Are you employed by Newcastle? coach? Commentator? Just pops bitch? Clue please....

Hey, if you want this thread left to just you and Pops, I understand. Maybe a thread name change to BROKEBACK REDFACES is apt?

But as it is located in the open to the public, NRL sub forum, and not in a members only hidden forum, I figured I would contribute.

As to your questions:

Are you employed by Newcastle?
No

coach?
Only captain-coach of my social basketball team... probably not what you were inferring though.

Commentator?
My wife doesnt watch football with me any more because I talk to myself during the game.... so maybe?

Just pops bitch?
I am clearly not AG

I don't want any 18th man type rule introduced. No matter how it is to be worked it will lead to clubs abusing it to get an unfair advantage. The simplest solution would be for the ref's to use the send-off or sin-bin more

The league would just copy whatever Bellamy does if this type of rule was introduced.

POPEYE

Over too many years I care not to remember there have been many options put forward to stop games being ruined when key players were taken out. One of those suggested that a player responsible for such malevolence should remain out of the game for as long as it took to rehabilitate his injured victim. Great if connivance can be proven . . . even if another dumb idea.

There must however be allowances for spur of the moment irrational or accidental incidents, which incidentally make up 99% of all indiscretions, remembering this is a hard contact sport in which there are accepted risks. Not everything is as cut and dried as everyone would like it to be and imo more should depend on the physical ramifications than the indiscretion itself.

An assessment of Harrison's immediate playing future should play a reasonable part in any discussion of accountabilty if indeed Fa'aoso was found guilty. Strictly out of the question it may be but suppose Harrison was one of the Titans reportedly affected by illness earlier in the week and he had just had enough by the time of his injury, what better way to leave the field. Knowing the bloke impossible to imagine but not impossible to rule out.

StormHi

I find your insights into the upcoming games and results are brilliant better read then any horridly written biased bs from half the sports journo's out there.

bellyache

Hey, if you want this thread left to just you and Pops, I understand. Maybe a thread name change to BROKEBACK REDFACES is apt?

But as it is located in the open to the public, NRL sub forum, and not in a members only hidden forum, I figured I would contribute.

As to your questions:

Are you employed by Newcastle?
No

coach?
Only captain-coach of my social basketball team... probably not what you were inferring though.

Commentator?
My wife doesnt watch football with me any more because I talk to myself during the game.... so maybe?

Just pops bitch?
I am clearly not AG

The league would just copy whatever Bellamy does if this type of rule was introduced.
Mate I like your passion... Fun is the key!:D

POPEYE

Even this early in the season it looks as though the same old miriad of excuses is about to be trundled out about how one sided and predictable League is, how it's so f**king unfair after enduring a shitty off-season why a few teams sit on the hill like generals while the troops slog it out in the trenches. This is where you'd expect this old fart to soapbox the superiority of coaching over players. Watching Seagles/Tigers you should realise that is only partly true.

Toovey is still only an enigma, not yet proven, but Manly never looked like losing despite their lackadaisical start to the game, albeit in difficult conditions. Maguire definitely exudes the 'great coach' vibes but Souths are still vulnerable and the Dogs should be dishevelled but are extremely comfortable. We don't need the professor, may he rest in piece, to understand 'why is it so?'

Two of the top teams have had it since their inauguration, Manly and Melbourne, and another has had it thrust upon them, Canterbury Bankstown, by a coach who is brainwashed by it. It's a syndrome known colloquially as 'Us Against Them' and is a huge advantage to these three teams. Broncos, for instance never needed it before now and the Sharks may have propagated it with the help of ASADA.

Roosters tried to embody it with the ritualistic penalty count against them but it is only a Claytons' version. The real reason there are only three teams that people imagine can only be beaten if they have an off day is their will to win. They will invariably patiently wait for the opposition to shoot itself in the foot, if not they will change up another gear and when they rarely get beaten dismiss it as a misdemeanor.

The remedy for uncertainty and depair of the rest is forget about poaching, throwing coaches and players out with the bathwater, just look at the clear cut recipe before them and emulate it. Hasler has proved it is transferable.

POPEYE

I find it hard to remember that I want every game in the NRL to be a contest, if I could disassociate myself from the fact it's the area and the anti-Australia theme in the joint, not the team, I would wish the Dogs well. Since I can't do that all I can say is you f**king ripper, Souths have won. Still, if Barba could tackle he would be the most dangerous player in the comp, I'll give him that.

I'm glad my stance on 2nd year syndrome for a player being in the hands of the coach of that player has been reinforced and the only thing that is going to stop Adam Reynolds is injury. The underDogs had the advantage of expectation the Rabbitohs would trip over their fairy tail but that makes the win even sweeter. Maybe it's the wine but 'you f**king beauty'.