Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ref Got It Wrong

super_coach

Okay the tigers got a dusty call but really the best team won the comp and they were the best team from round one thru to the last week. If the Tigers had played the percentage game a lot better they would have won and than had a crack at Easts in the GF--but they didnt and thats what the Dragons do best

The Engineers Room

The problem with these websites and media outlets in general is that they don't seem to know the rules. Also, commentators have particular bias and so they don't see errors sometimes or sometimes see errors that don't exist.

The Engineers Room

Okay the tigers got a dusty call but really the best team won the comp and they were the best team from round one thru to the last week.

That is not a fact. The team that won, won but in several important games this year they were assisted with penalties that the opposition did not receive for similar infringements, that is what people are complaining about.

meltiger

Okay the tigers got a dusty call but really the best team won the comp and they were the best team from round one thru to the last week. If the Tigers had played the percentage game a lot better they would have won and than had a crack at Easts in the GF--but they didnt and thats what the Dragons do best

Lucky we held on as long as we did in the prelim though in all honesty.

All this bitching by (some) Roosters fans is amusing to say the least.

If they want to retrospectively go back and change decisions, I wonder if we can go back and repack the 80th minute scrum in the first week as the ref should have done.... What would the result of a re-packed scrum have been?

As you say, best team of the year won the premiership, and even if they rode their luck, who cares. Unless they have done a Melbourne, the history books will forever record 2010 - St George-Illawarra, regardless of any percieved injustices.

Time to build a bridge.

That is not a fact.
No, what super_coach posted is a fact.

the best team won the comp and they were the best team from round one thru to the last week.

Minor premiers, best defence in the comp, most consistent throughout the season. These are facts.
The Engineers Room said:
The team that won, won but in several important games this year they were assisted with penalties that the opposition did not receive for similar infringements, that is what people are complaining about.
These are not facts.

They are one-eyed interpretations coming out of a few games watched and the sore losers sooking. I was spewing at a lot of ref decisions against Saints during the year, but I held the view that we were good enough to overcome that.

There weren't too many games where Saints dominated possession, but we won. The opposition teams had their opportunities too. At the end of the day, the referee isn't ordering players to fall off tackles or knock the ball on.

afinalsin666

meh, i thought the game was reffed pretty tight. The only thing i thought a bit dodgy was before the gaz try, when it seemed morris went into touch. But that still wouldn't have accounted for the roosters defence crumbling in the 2nd 40.

but these hypotheticals are ridiculous because it is about so much more than points and statistics. Morale changes, the flow changes, everything changes. Things like that can't be judged, or rectified, because if you give one penalty at a certain time, the whole game can change (as we've seen happen).

I want to slap this guy...

If they want to retrospectively go back and change decisions, I wonder if we can go back and repack the 80th minute scrum in the first week as the ref should have done.... What would the result of a re-packed scrum have been?

As you say, best team of the year won the premiership, and even if they rode their luck, who cares. Unless they have done a Melbourne, the history books will forever record 2010 - St George-Illawarra, regardless of any percieved injustices.

Time to build a bridge.
Hear, hear.

Wests Tigers showed a ton of heart in the Preliminary Final. But you could see in the last 20 minutes that the errors were going to happen on their side of the ruck. There was a real battle for field position happening on both sides of half way, and Saints just looked to be winning in the fitness stakes. That's what it came down to in the end, a kick out on the full from Marshall and I knew the field goal from Soward was only a minute away.

WT were understandably exhausted given the previous weeks, but they still threw in everything they had left and then some. It simply wasn't enough but they gave their supporters something to be proud of.

That's rugby league. It's about endurance at the highest levels. It has nothing to do with a pissweak cynical punter doing his dough and crying foul. The same for dopes who want to pull the game through the mud just because they have a gambling bug or can't accept the referee's decision.

AlwaysGreen

Whoever came up with this website obviously did it from the acute unit of their local mental asylum. And whoever believes that load of tripe should book the room next door to them. Or get hit by a bus.

meltiger

^^ LOL :D

Willow, writing was on the wall before half time mate, you could see them tiring. Noticeably. Who knows what would have happened had we got the week off, Farah, Lawrence etc a week off in the middle of the finals....

At the end of the day, we can split hairs over who was robbed, when where etc, but as you say, that's footy.

Hell, if we want to go back and reverse the worst call of the season, we should go and give Manly their 2 competition points they were robbed of when Parramatta were allowed to score a touchdown in the early weeks of the season. That call led them eventually to have to face up, battered and broken to a rampant Dragons outfit in an elimination situation......

God the amount of calls you could reverse if you were able to retrospectively lol

Cockadoodledoo

The loser is illustrating the glaring mistakes made by the officials in the Grand Final.

You are shooting the messenger.

How could you sit through that? My therapist told me not to visit these boards until the season proper begins next season.. I would probably shoot someone. Probably someone named Tony or Jeff..

Cockadoodledoo

Time to build a bridge.

The scrum which should never have been packed after the high tackle on JWH.

The twat who published that site is out. By 12 months. Duff referees calls is nothing compared to a duff referees call that hands a salary cap cheat the title.

Anyway, bridge built. Although sometimes I do want to blow it up.

The twat who published that site is out. By 12 months. Duff referees calls is nothing compared to a duff referees call that hands a salary cap cheat the title.

Anyway, bridge built. Although sometimes I do want to blow it up.
Indeed.

If the moron wants his money for a video ref error last July, then what of all those folks who backed Parramatta to win the GF in 2009?

Give the lad another shovel.

meltiger

The scrum which should never have been packed after the high tackle on JWH.

LMAO

One of the tackles of the season.

Just accept it, Roosters rode their luck with the referee in the first week, when if the game had been refereed fair, they would have been eliminated.

To see the epic sooking from some Roosters fans post GF is amusing to say the least.

CMUX

LMAO

Just accept it, Roosters rode their luck with the referee in the first week, when if the game had been refereed fair, they would have been eliminated.

To see the epic sooking from some Roosters fans post GF is amusing to say the least.

Yet the NRL said it was an illegal tackle and should have been penalised…

juanfarkall

Yet the NRL said it was an illegal tackle and should have been penalised…

Better get one of these quickly

Hot-Tub-Time-Machine_510-391x590.jpg

Cockadoodledoo

LMAO

The match review committee admitted afterwards the call was wrong and it was a clear penalty. The only thing funnier than Roosters fans whinging is Tigers fans whinging how they would have won the comp when they lost 2 out of 3 finals matches and got lucky in the other.

The Business

The match review committee admitted afterwards the call was wrong and it was a clear penalty. The only thing funnier than Roosters fans whinging is Tigers fans whinging how they would have won the comp when they lost 2 out of 3 finals matches and got lucky in the other.
And the fact they lost to the runners up FOUR times during the year.