Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Reminders of your childhood

Yes so true what you say, i remember the first time i had Kentucky Fried Chicken was in 1969, were living at Paddington and my father and a neighbour went out to the newly opened store in Pagewood and what they bought back just tasted amazing at the time, such a unique taste which sadly hasn't weathered well over the years. Still remember not long after Kentucky opened in Australia, Henny Penny a Newcastle based chicken company opened branches around Sydney to go up against Kentucky Fried, the unique thing about Henny Penny back then if you bought a pack they would give you breast pieces and thigh pieces, if you wanted drumsticks or wings you had to buy them seperately, i miss Henny Penny from the old days, it was a unique taste and honestly was better than Kentucky Fried at its peak, unfortunately like KFC the remaining Henny Penny stores in the Newcastle/ Hunter region are a pale imitation of what it was like from the earlier years.

That’s a great account.

I remember big rooster and homestead chicken as well.

But take away was pretty rare. Dad would cook dishes from the old country. Ox tongue and lambs fry covered in hp sauce! That would be breakfast too!

Red rattlers, light green and ivory buses, conductors.

Nothing open after 12 on Saturday until Monday every single week in terms of normal shops.

Deliveries from the baker, fruit guy, Safeway etc. kB beer for the garbos. Dad always thought it was important to treat visiting tradies like kings. I inherited that.

26 degrees c was an outrageously hot day.

I agree that Today’s Henny Penny is like Woolworths stuff. They used to sponsor the knights.

Grandma is missed as is her Apple pie. Her father was French!

axl rose

All you get on the abc these days is a bunch of men hating feminazis and emo woke limp wristed males.
Ita was supposed to drag us back into the 20th century and there’s some cretin criticising fire fighters on there the other day.

'Aunty' was once such a valuable service.

Now? far leftist red haired - cow nose ring wearing - half lesbians. I don't know whether to be sad or angry. What do we pay for it each per year in tax? 5 bucks? still a rort.

Btw im old enough to remember when the potato at KFC actually tasted like potato! haven't had any in a decade but it was disgusting. Do they scrape the gravy from the floor these days.

Uncle Axls cooking tips: Go and buy some of the southern style chicken from Coles instead. Its delish.

'Aunty' was once such a valuable service once.

Now? far leftist red haired - cow nose ring wearing - half lesbians. I don't know whether to be sad or angry. What do we pay for it each per year in tax? 5 bucks? still a rort.

Btw im old enough to remember when the potato at KFC actually tasted like potato! haven't had any in a decade but it was disgusting. Do they scrape the gravy from the floor these days.

Uncle Axls cooking tips: Go and buy some of the southern style chicken from Coles instead. Its delish.

I was driving back from work and that prong head Adam Spencer was drivelling on about thanking and asking us to spare a minute for all those brave abc journalists doing it tough covering the bushfires.

I want to know how many abc journalists grabbed a hose and bucket and tried to save the scout hall. How many brave abc journalists were injured and killed in the epic?

Another media organisation trying to make it about themselves.

So I pulled over and sobbed uncontrollably about the fate of the socially empowered, trans species, man-hating newsreaders ( who live alone with too many cats) who couldn’t find their favourite brand of Slave-free, uni-gendered, Peruvian dairy-free lentil gelato in the Ultimo abc cafeteria- sold out.

In 1968, $1 worth of chips could feed a family of 4. They were made of real potatoes, not some chemical sludge imported from Wuhan.

We didn’t have these recent colostomy viruses in those days and China didn’t produce anything except bad haircuts, plain clothes, nukes and little red books. We were trying to kill some of them in Vietnam, but that was a hobby war dreamt up by Uncle Sam, at terrible cost mind you.

China’s locked down 58 million people in 2 days, that’s frigging impressive. Send the abc journalists to Hubei province and see how they fair under Marshall law.

axl rose

I was driving back from work and that prong head Adam Spencer was drivelling on about thanking and asking us to spare a minute for all those brave abc journalists doing it tough covering the bushfires.

I want to know how many abc journalists grabbed a hose and bucket and tried to save the scout hall. How many brave abc journalists were injured and killed in the epic?

Another media organisation trying to make it about themselves.

So I pulled over and sobbed uncontrollably about the fate of the socially empowered, trans species, man-hating newsreaders ( who live alone with too many cats) who couldn’t find their favourite brand of Slave-free, uni-gendered, Peruvian dairy-free lentil gelato in the Ultimo abc cafeteria- sold out.

In 1968, $1 worth of chips could feed a family of 4. They were made of real potatoes, not some chemical sludge imported from Wuhan.

We didn’t have these recent colostomy viruses in those days and China didn’t produce anything except bad haircuts, plain clothes, nukes and little red books. We were trying to kill some of them in Vietnam, but that was a hobby war dreamt up by Uncle Sam, at terrible cost mind you.

China’s locked down 58 million people in 2 days, that’s frigging impressive. Send the abc journalists to Hubei province and see how they fair under Marshall law.

Green senator Larissa Waters held a press conference claiming Australian firefighters will return home to beat their partners. The ABC pumped her tires of course. They are just very very sick minded people. I will save some dvds of classic shows like Play school for my son for when they are inevitably wound up.

Lost a relative in NAM, long before I was born. The more hours ive studied it over the years the more confused i get. Just one big shitty pointless mess. Good thing the Yanks learnt their lesson..

horrie hastings

Have to admit I haven't seen the southern style chicken from Coles but mainly though because even though I work for the company I would have to drive at least 6km to the closest Coles supermarket, in the centre I work at I sometimes grab some Woolworths southern chicken pieces, at 3 pieces for $4.95 while not the best I have ever had they hit the spot for a quick lunch break.
For my fried chicken fix I usually go to Clems at Newtown, the size of the pieces vary a bit but overall pretty good and if I'm ever down at Wollongong I go to Chickos which is across the road from WIN Stadium, by far the best fried chicken I have had in years , often bring some home for dinner.
Living about 200 mtrs from a KFC at St Peter's I will on the odd occasion will go there ( mainly hung over ) , it was closed for a refit and have to admit the two times I have been there since the chicken has been better, still not great but better than before.

axl rose

Have to admit I haven't seen the southern style chicken from Coles but mainly though because even though I work for the company I would have to drive at least 6km to the closest Coles supermarket, in the centre I work at I sometimes grab some Woolworths southern chicken pieces, at 3 pieces for $4.95 while not the best I have ever had they hit the spot for a quick lunch break.
For my fried chicken fix I usually go to Clems at Newtown, the size of the pieces vary a bit but overall pretty good and if I'm ever down at Wollongong I go to Chickos which is across the road from WIN Stadium, by far the best fried chicken I have had in years , often bring some home for dinner.
Living about 200 mtrs from a KFC at St Peter's I will on the odd occasion will go there ( mainly hung over ) , it was closed for a refit and have to admit the two times I have been there since the chicken has been better, still not great but better than before.
You need more Chiko rolls in your diet

5d5a61348682a2865dcb51ac55338814.jpg

horrie hastings

That’s a great account.

I remember big rooster and homestead chicken as well.

But take away was pretty rare. Dad would cook dishes from the old country. Ox tongue and lambs fry covered in hp sauce! That would be breakfast too!

Red rattlers, light green and ivory buses, conductors.

Nothing open after 12 on Saturday until Monday every single week in terms of normal shops.

Deliveries from the baker, fruit guy, Safeway etc. kB beer for the garbos. Dad always thought it was important to treat visiting tradies like kings. I inherited that.

26 degrees c was an outrageously hot day.

I agree that Today’s Henny Penny is like Woolworths stuff. They used to sponsor the knights.

Grandma is missed as is her Apple pie. Her father was French!

Growing up in Paddington i can remember our street having 3 corner stores and that was just two blocks from the Oxford St shopping strip. When we used to get a taxi to Central Railway the driver would ask if it was to Electric[suburban] or Steam [country]. So many memories of growing up in Paddington it would take me 2 hrs to type or more but yes can remember shops closing at 12pm Saturday and not opening till Monday.

horrie hastings

That’s a great account.

!

I would love something like that. Have to admit with my father working for the PMG at the time and fixing phones in different companies, he would often come away from Anderson small goods which were based at Paddington at the time with all sorts of meat including black pudding which i just loved from first taste and would often have it for breakfast, my mother loved lambs fry and have to admit while not my favourite i can really appreciate it and enjoy it the times i have it.

axl rose

Growing up in Paddington i can remember our street having 3 corner stores and that was just two blocks from the Oxford St shopping strip. When we used to get a taxi to Central Railway the driver would ask if it was to Electric[suburban] or Steam [country]. So many memories of growing up in Paddington it would take me 2 hrs to type or more but yes can remember shops closing at 12pm Saturday and not opening till Monday.

Went back to my old country town last year and all of the corner shops had closed down. Was kinda depressing. It was also a weekend and I didn't see any kids outdoors. We use to run amok all over the place. Wi-fi or something to blame. Disturbing.

horrie hastings

Went back to my old country town last year and all of the corner shops had closed down. Was kinda depressing. It was also a weekend and I didn't see any kids outdoors. We use to run amok all over the place. Wi-fi or something to blame. Disturbing.

I only lived in Paddington for the first seven years of my life but have far fonder memories of there than when my parents up rooted us and move to Kingsford [ shock horror], it was like moving out into the sticks. Paddo at the time kids would play out on the street and you would know most of your neighbours, didnt have anything like that Kingsford.

Lads, the 14 year old daughter has just given me one of her career choices.

“ Dad, I wouldn’t mind being one of those road workers.”

I think that’s a pretty good ambition myself.

Not all things change for the worse.

The abc is frequently running down and denigrating a large proportion of the population and attributing values to them they simply do not hold.

Once you start marginalising large sections of the population, over time people become less enthusiastic about your service and less likely to be worried about a funding cuts.

Ordinary people are sick and tired of being told there’s something wrong with them and their values and way of life.

axl rose

The abc is frequently running down and denigrating a large proportion of the population and attributing values to them they simply do not hold.

Once you start marginalising large sections of the population, over time people become less enthusiastic about your service and less likely to be worried about a funding cuts.

Ordinary people are sick and tired of being told there’s something wrong with them and their values and way of life.

Can I really not just watch and enjoy the sport now as I did back in the day. ABC had a headline yesterday that the Australian Open was too white. The NRL virtue signal on their website every chance they get, alphabet soup, the anthem etc. To paraphrase Bill Burr I get that these things exist and the world is an unfair horrible place, can I just watch a f**king game for 2 hours! chill out and have a lolly

70403ba7b29929bdcb2570388a7576f2.jpg

Probably at the end of the day, the people driving such an agenda seem quite ignorant about the ways of the world.

It’s very simple to make generalisations about people on gender and culture and this is what they do.

The other issue is the destructiveness and unhappiness of such divisive politics.

They are too stupid to realise that the net effect of their pernicious and social bullying is to drive otherwise normal people to the right.

Can I really not just watch and enjoy the sport now as I did back in the day. ABC had a headline yesterday that the Australian Open was too white. The NRL virtue signal on their website every chance they get, alphabet soup, the anthem etc. To paraphrase Bill Burr I get that these things exist and the world is an unfair horrible place, can I just watch a f**king game for 2 hours! chill out and have a lolly

70403ba7b29929bdcb2570388a7576f2.jpg

It’s founded on a belief that people are not sophisticated or smart enough to put race and culture etc to one side and just respect a person for who they are.

Appropriating our ability to form our own view and it’s very insulting and de-humanising.

The media lie and exaggerate every day to move product or push agenda.

There’s good and bad in every race, gender and culture etc.

We got some really lovely Samoan people next door, friendly and kind, but that doesn’t mean all Samoans are nice just because of where they came from.