Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Renamed: Nine to show live Super League matches

http://www.warringtonguardian.co.uk...o_be_shown_live_on_Channel_Nine_in_Australia/

WARRINGTON Wolves matches could become a popular attraction in Australia as part of a new deal announced today.

Television rights for engage Super League and Carnegie Challenge Cup matches have been sold to Australia's leading rugby league broadcaster, Channel Nine, as part of a new three-year contract beginning in 2009.
Under the terms of the agreement, up to 70 televised engage Super League games and nine Carnegie Challenge Cup games will be shown live on terrestrial channel Nine.

As well as the live broadcasts, the deal will also see games replayed at more convenient times for Australian viewers.

Warrington Wolves, whose matches regularly feature on Sky Sports, have three high-profile Australian players on their books.
A whole new breed of primrose and blue fans from afar could be generated as they watch Matt King, Chris Hicks and Michael Monaghan bid to do the business with their teammates for Jimmy Lowes in 2009.
Wolves' Paul Rauhihi and Adrian Morley are also well known with Aussie punters after spells with clubs Down Under, while the Anderson brothers, Louis and Vinnie, are known from their times in the Australian NRL competition with New Zealand Warriors.

Current England internationals Martin Gleeson, Mickey Higham and Ben Westwood will be no strangers to Aussie footy fans either as a result of the 2008 World Cup.

This new deal on free to air television with Nine will significantly boost the game's household penetration in Australia as well as television revenues for the sport.
For the very first time Nine's audience in Australia will be able to watch all televised engage Super League and Carnegie Challenge Cup games, potentially taking the sport into 2.6 million homes across Sydney and Brisbane alone.
The average audience reached each weekend by Channel Nine's three televised NRL games is around 2.5 million people.
Such is the Australian diet for Rugby League, the sport accounts for the five highest rating television programmes in both Sydney and Brisbane for the year to date.
This year's three State of Origin games have been the three most watched television programmes across the NRL homeland-states of Sydney and Brisbane.

David Gyngell, chief executive of the Nine Network, said: "Rugby League is one of Nine's premium franchises through the NRL Premiership, State of Origin and international coverage.
"So embracing the English Super League competition is a natural extension of our commitment.
"Not only will our audience see more high quality rugby league, but with many former NRL stars now playing in the UK, we'll be watching a lot of very familiar players."

Richard Lewis, executive chairman of the RFL, said: "On the back of a successful World Cup in Australia it is excellent news that more homes than ever before in Australia will be able to take in the engage Super League and the Carnegie Challenge Cup over the next three years.
"engage Super League is growing in popularity both at home and abroad all the time due its fast and free flowing nature, and this new agreement means more people can take in the sport whilst at the same time providing more revenue for our clubs."

Don't know what to think about this, considering we (free-to-air audience) get roughly 35 live club matches a year. Can I have my live Sunday game please yet?

Last edited by a moderator:

wow awesome!

i don't have pay tv... so this will be great news for me

anyone saynig that the rugby league(or nrl.. in australia) may have to think again:D

will be great for promoting the game imo

Frederick

Fantastic news. Although if they're being shown life, does that mean they'll air at like 3 in the morning here or some other absurd hour?

Spitty

It'd be interesting to see if this is actually Channel 9, or some HD channel 9 channel. I remember channel 10 announced that they were playing NFL games live without actually saying they were on 10HD.

If it is going to be on a HD channel, I hope they don't take them off Fox sports. I don't get HD.

Fantastic news. Although if they're being shown life, does that mean they'll air at like 3 in the morning here or some other absurd hour?

As well as the live broadcasts, the deal will also see games replayed at more convenient times for Australian viewers.

they'll be replayed but yer.. i guess that also means that the lvie games willl be in the middle of the night

westie

It'd be interesting to see if this is actually Channel 9, or some HD channel 9 channel. I remember channel 10 announced that they were playing NFL games live without actually saying they were on 10HD.

If it is going to be on a HD channel, I hope they don't take them off Fox sports. I don't get HD.

You'll have HD by the time the contract runs out... or you won't have TV.

Brownie.Kougari

Sweet! We now get 7 games of RL on FTA every week!

ESL x 3 Live
QldC x 1 Live
NRL x 3 (1 Live, 2 delayed)

& on PayTV:

NRL x 5 + 3 replays
QldC x 1 replay
ESL x 3 replay
NSWC (sorta) x 1 replay

All we need is for FS to show a few SP Cup games and we're sweet!

IanG

Rather see that than some washed up celebrity trying to flog some kitchen appliance, but yeah I'd loev to see the ESL

Nuke

Haha! I was awake late last night and saw Mr.T being a guest on one of those home shopping shows. He was trying to flog some cooker thing. It may have been 4am, but as tired as I was, I could very clearly see it was awfully cringe-worthy.

I would love to see ESL on Ch9 here. The World Club Challenge and Australian tests from England are the only games Perth gets live on Ch9 (with the exeption of the NRL Grand Final this year). I know it's only because it suits Ch9 Perth to do this (because they usually start at 6am and nowhere near prime-time), but I don't care. Live is live, and any footy on Perth tv is okay with me!

magpie_man

should be awesome for melbourne viewers; they can watch a live ESL game and then the NRL game straight afterwards.

IanG

Haha! I was awake late last night and saw Mr.T being a guest on one of those home shopping shows. He was trying to flog some cooker thing. It may have been 4am, but as tired as I was, I could very clearly see it was awfully cringe-worthy.

Didn't know that. Mind you I'd also rather watch a test pattern than infromercials. You get some nice music on those

Nuke

The SBS Weather Watch (or whatever they call it) has some pretty good views of cities around the world. Starts earlier than most infomercials too. Don't have to sit up as late to see it.

And the Mr.T one was so bad. He'd say things like "I pity the fool who doesn't cook his steak right" and stuff like that. It was bad, but kinda funny too because it was so bad. I only had that on for a few minutes then turned that off. Bad, very bad. He was obviously desperate and out of the limelight at this stage. I reckon it was before his mini-resurgence (sp) with the Snickers ads.

IanG

The SBS Weather Watch (or whatever they call it) has some pretty good views of cities around the world. Starts earlier than most infomercials too. Don't have to sit up as late to see it.

And the Mr.T one was so bad. He'd say things like "I pity the fool who doesn't cook his steak right" and stuff like that. It was bad, but kinda funny too because it was so bad. I only had that on for a few minutes then turned that off. Bad, very bad. He was obviously desperate and out of the limelight at this stage. I reckon it was before his mini-resurgence (sp) with the Snickers ads.

Weather watch overnight

jed

Nah, as a part of the deal, all ESL games will be played at times that suit channel 9, and they'll hold back the kick-off when the previous programs run late. :lol: