Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Reporter assaulted outside Olympic Park

imasharkie

_Johnsy said:
Ever been to the Caxton, and to a lesser extent the Paddo after a game ?

Didn't think so

I go to the Broncos v Sharks games every year and head off to the Caxo before and after the game with my Sharks jersey on. Great pub and fantastic people who go there and never have I been abused. Love the Caxo and have been there plenty of times.

I'd imagine the only out of towners that cop abuse from the Caxo regulars would be fargwits who go there looking for trouble. We go there to have a drink and have some fun.

I've been there as a NSW supporter also.

Cranky

I think people get a little too precious about this sort of thing. People boo'ed Civ during the game ...WOW! I boo Kimmorley and Orford every time they come back to Olympic Park but do I hate them? Not at all. They were terrific contributers to the club I support and I wish them well. Booing is just a little bit of theatre to get some atmosphere going. If Matt Geyer played his last game at Brookvale and had sent some barbs through the media in the lead up to the match or started a blue or something during the match, I'd have no problem with the Manly faithful giving him a gobfull.

Civ's been a champ for the Broncs but to suggest that opposition fans should politely applaud him because of that is ridiculous. If Civ took any of it to heart (which I'm almost certain he didn't), then he needs thicker skin. So long as it doesn't get too personal, racial or religious, I've got no problem with it. I'm sure most people who jeered him respect his standing in the game.

I get into the refs when I know damn well they're doing a good job or even giving us the decisions. It's what's great about the footy. Getting in there and giving the ref/opposition heaps. It's nothing personal, just a little theatre.

Razor

I go to the Broncos v Sharks games every year and head off to the Caxo before and after the game with my Sharks jersey on. Great pub and fantastic people who go there and never have I been abused. Love the Caxo and have been there plenty of times.

Back in 2002, a Broncos fan (a 20-odd year old male in good shape) smashed a Canberra fan (about a 50-year old overweight man) in the face on the ring-round after the match. He fell to the ground with blood pouring out of his face. In the grounds I was sitting about 10m away from both of them - the Broncos fan was thrown out of the ground for spitting at and kicking the Canberra fan - he was directly behind him. He obviously waited in the ANZ grounds for him to walk out after the game.

Just like this Melbourne incident, it's not common in Brisbane. But don't try and claim that incidents like that never happen elsewhere. All clubs have their idiots.

Funny how they cannot even say/admit petro does not deserve a better send off, even after his war of words. Says more about "some" melbourne supporters than it does anything else. No integrity at all.

_Johnsy said:
Funny how they cannot even say/admit petro does not deserve a better send off, even after his war of words. Says more about "some" melbourne supporters than it does anything else. No integrity at all.

No integrity...coming from an anti-Storm supporter who jumps on anything Storm related to have a snipe.

;-)

_Johnsy said:
You are clearly an absolute fool. I hate the broncs as much as anyone, but when a player of his standing plays his last game in his club colours, he surely deserves a bit more respect than that. I would be saying the same thing if Matty Geyer copped the same treatment from any fans, yes even stgeorge fans.

Absolutely appalling behaviour from a minority of storm fans, and yet you condone this type of behaviour from a nice bloke, If you ever get the chance to meet him, he is one of the sincerest nicest men. Yes he commented about a tackling style your, and many other clubs do. Yet he is not allowed to partake in pregame banter (war of words via the media). If this is the case you are a hypocrite.

Oh and what a photo says everything does it...you generalise very well.

Pre-game banter....more like "sway the refs" based on knowing that the team you lead is not going to get close to Storm.:roll:

kia ora storm said:
No integrity...coming from an anti-Storm supporter who jumps on anything Storm related to have a snipe.

;-)

The funny thing is you actually believe what you have written. IMHO it was poor form to send of petro that way after his last game for the broncs (who I hate), even if you little repect for him. If you do have little respect for petro after a few comments/whinges via the media, well that says all we need to know.

Remember matty king after last years loss, or let me guess is that different?

How can that one photo be a generalisation, melbourne fans giving him the bird and yelling a gobfull, please let me know how that picture has been generalised by me.

Cranky

I respect Petro but to suggest Storm fans should have given him a good send off is just silly. Should we put down our cups of tea, cease nibbling our scones and politely applaused the bloke. He (and the Broncs) led a deliberate campaign to put the Storm off their game with a few comments in the media. It's always going to end in a little jeering. No big deal and to be expected.

Cranky said:
I respect Petro but to suggest Storm fans should have given him a good send off is just silly. Should we put down our cups of tea, cease nibbling our scones and politely applaused the bloke. He (and the Broncs) led a deliberate campaign to put the Storm off their game with a few comments in the media. It's always going to end in a little jeering. No big deal and to be expected.

Cranky

No-one is saying melbourne fans should have given petro a good send off, just one with a tad more respect, are you telling me he didn't deserve that much in his last game for the broncs?

And melbourne have never done this via their coacj=h or ceo ?

Cranky

_Johnsy said:
And melbourne have never done this via their coach or ceo ?
Yeah sure, Wally is probably the biggest mouth out of anybody. If any opposition fans want to get stuck into our blokes because of it more power to them I say. It creates a great atmosphere.

Folks go to the footy to yell and carry on and I don't think the opposition capt leaving the club comes into consideration. I agree with anyone who says that Civ is an absolute gentleman and champ. But don't expect the any favours from the opposition fans.
_Johnsy said:
are you telling me he didn't deserve that much in his last game for the broncs?
Not at all mate. I'm just saying that to expect it is a little optimistic.

Big Pete

Fact is though they did the wrong thing by it. Sure it happens but hell mistakes happen; doesn't mean it's right.

My point was all fans are f**kers even Storm fans.