Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RL is alive when you see this:

Choppies

PARRA_FAN said:
Geez it wouldve been freezing down there, especially with the breeze and all.

Good to see a Melbourne victory and a very emotional crowd, especially after the comments from Dennis the Clown.

Mate I thought it was quite bad seeing a Storm victory but then again I am biased :p
And yeh Brian Waldron the Storm CEO came out onto the field before the game started and said that he and the Storm fans thought Fitz was a tool. He didnt say those exact words or said names but you knew who he was talking about

iggy plop

That is an awesome photo Callus. More!!! We want more!!!

I love that hump in the Leichhardt Oval hill when it's chockers.

CULLUS.ONLINE said:
no... ground record is around 25,000 for an AMCO Cup final between penrith and someone else set in the late 70's from memory

Wests Tigers, established 2000.

We were referring to the club not it's history as separate entities.

Awesome day for both Leicy and Okie-dokie.

Go Rugby League!

Spike

WTF there's a guy holding up a steering wheel in the photo with the crowd attendance on the big screen. Is this because of the risk of having your car stolen by the Wests supporters side of the joint venture that it is a crime prevention measure to remove your steering wheel?

Dog-E

Damnnnnn! That's GREAT to see!! :D

A huuuge crowd at one of the traditional homes of Rugby League!!

Reminds me of the day vs Parra we SOMEhow squeaked 29-odd thousand into Belmore in the mid-90's to shatter the ground record there!...I STILL remember that day crystal clear!! :D

Well done Tigs fans!! :)

Dutch Oven

It was a great game, and Leichhardt Oval was once a great ground to watch footy. With a fantastic crowd of close on 23k people the stage was set for a great atmosphere. It didn't end up like that unfortunately. The ground is incapable in its current state to accomodate a crowd of that size.

- there is only 2 toilets for all the corporate boxes to share. And I mean toilet bowls, not toilet blocks.

- the toilet blocks for general admission are too small to cope with the numbers.

- the seating or lack of it is also a concern. Like most I was forced to find a small patch of grass on the hill. We were quickly told to sit down. Problem was when you were sitting you couldn't see anything. When you stood to see a line break or a John Sutton high shot you were again shouted to sit down.

The ground is good for three game per season - that's it. It needs a massive overhaul.

aussies1st

20 000 for a game against souths not bad at all. They have followed the cowboys footsteps from last year

SpaceMonkey

Anyone got the full crowd figures for the weekend? They must be very healthy, apart from the melbourne crowd every other game seemed to be up around the 18K mark or even higher.

Knightmare

Does that eclipse the ground record from the Balmain days? I get a feeling their record was 21K against Penrith in 1989, but I may be wrong.

Knightmare

Great work, not even a semi final and Souths are coming second last. :clap: Why the hell would they ever want to move games to Telstra Stadium?

Hindyscrack

Knightmare said:
Great work, not even a semi final and Souths are coming second last. :clap: Why the hell would they ever want to move games to Telstra Stadium?

More viable, better facilities, better transport options, capacity to grow crowds (Dogs 29K v Brisbane).