Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rnd 15 vs Storm team list thread

Gazzamatta

We only had to up the intensity for 10 minutes and we put them away quite easily. They crumbled so easily that Waqa Blake, our weakest link, scored 2 tries
Gee I hope you are right but The Pennys look the real deal to me. Not saying they cant be beat though. An old fashioned bruise fest could be their undoing. Melbourne at full strength in full agro mode might get them. Eels or Chooks at their best as well but at the moment they are looking fantastic much to my regret.

Bandwagon

Pennies have had and continue to have a relatively easy draw going into the semis, i looked at their draw about halfway through the season and thought they were almost specials for minor premiers, in the last half of the season they have only Parra, Raiders and Sharks as matches against what are current top eight sides, of the five remaining matches it's only Parra.

That's not to take anything away from them because you can only play the game in front of you, and they are doing that very well, but is a last five weeks of - Tigers, Broncos, Eels, Cowboys, Dogs a good lead into finals?

Even if we manage to beat them, they're hardly being tested there, as they haven't over the previous five rounds, and with a bunch of young guys as they have it would be pretty easy for them to get ahead of themselves. Us beating them in a close tight game would probably be a better outcome for them preparation wise leading into finals.

As we all know too f**king well, finals are a different beast, some teams will go up a notch, and you've gotta be ready to go with them. beating up on teams in the bottom half of the ladder might be good for confidence, but it might also leave them a little complacent.

IFR33K

Pennies have had and continue to have a relatively easy draw going into the semis, i looked at their draw about halfway through the season and thought they were almost specials for minor premiers, in the last half of the season they have only Parra, Raiders and Sharks as matches against what are current top eight sides, of the five remaining matches it's only Parra.

That's not to take anything away from them because you can only play the game in front of you, and they are doing that very well, but is a last five weeks of - Tigers, Broncos, Eels, Cowboys, Dogs a good lead into finals?

Even if we manage to beat them, they're hardly being tested there, as they haven't over the previous five rounds, and with a bunch of young guys as they have it would be pretty easy for them to get ahead of themselves. Us beating them in a close tight game would probably be a better outcome for them preparation wise leading into finals.

As we all know too f**king well, finals are a different beast, some teams will go up a notch, and you've gotta be ready to go with them. beating up on teams in the bottom half of the ladder might be good for confidence, but it might also leave them a little complacent.

Amazing how you concede the panthers have had a relatively easy run, yet no mention of our favorable draw.

84 Baby

Amazing how you concede the panthers have had a relatively easy run, yet no mention of our favorable draw.
It’s always a great claim to discount any kind of success. I guess you’ll concede that Penrith had the easiest draw this season?

Tooooks

Mate I didn't say this - "Theyre grown men and professional players. If they need someone to get the best out of them that’s pretty piss weak."

You did.

Yes I did, in the context of coaches motivating players for game day which I thought was what you meant in your comment. If I misunderstood you I apologise.

IFR33K

It’s always a great claim to discount any kind of success. I guess you’ll concede that Penrith had the easiest draw this season?

They’ve both had a very favorable draw. I’m not discounting anything, Success will be determined how far they actually go and what they do in the semis

Joely01

I honestly think we are tapering at the moment, I think the players and BA already have finals footy in their minds and the fact it’s very likely we are playing Melbourne week 1.
I don’t think we are giving much away to other teams in terms of our attack at the moment, showing our steel in D.
The other thing is we have seemed to have a run of not just poor weather but also playing against teams that have been in a bit of form or a bit more to play for at the time.
Yes on the ladder it seems an easier draw, but I’d actually argue we have had quite a tough run the last month of footy.

They’ve both had a very favorable draw. I’m not discounting anything, Success will be determined how far they actually go and what they do in the semis

In my opinion, the Panthers' draw is favourable to end the year only; their end of season draw is a dream.

But in the first 7 weeks of the season, they played the Roosters, and Storm - and defeated both.

The Panthers are the real deal.

We won't have it as easy against them as we did earlier this year.

Yeah if you're just aiming to maximise your ladder position you're better off facing the top sides early in the season when it's more of a lottery.

Bandwagon

Yeah if you're just aiming to maximise your ladder position you're better off facing the top sides early in the season when it's more of a lottery.

Yeah, first few rounds sides are still sorting their shit, as you say it's always a bit of a lottery.

emjaycee

In my opinion, the Panthers' draw is favourable to end the year only; their end of season draw is a dream.

But in the first 7 weeks of the season, they played the Roosters, and Storm - and defeated both.

The Panthers are the real deal.

We won't have it as easy against them as we did earlier this year.
Pre-Covid break the Roosters were 0-2 including their loss to Penrith. They obviously had issues at the start of the year.