Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rnd 18 Eels v Knights Game Day Thread.

Oh so it isn't the coaches fault that we dont have good back ups either. What responsibilities does this guy have? Cook BBQ once a week?
Is it BAs fault that a lot of our players have been injured?

Is it BAs fault that we have a voluntary administration appointed?

Is it BAs fault that our club wouldn’t know a TPA if it bit them on the arse?

T-Boon

If you have injury issues and restrictions due to the salary cap you can’t just drop everyone who isn’t executing what you are instructing them to do. What do you do then?

Every club has injury issues. Our season was a write off long before we got any injuries.
If you are stuck with undisciplined players whose brains snap a couple times each game then stop with the game plan that requires strict adherence to disciple. Open the blade a bit and hit for the boundaries.

Eelogical

appreciate the stats mate, but what I was getting at is the amount of games that we have score as many tries as our opponent and lost because of a penalty goal like last night
All six games where we scored the same amount of tries, we lost. Every game had a had a penalty goal in the mix.

I reckon thats a big stat, says we are not far away but lack discipline

we really only had one decent flogging this season which was Manly

T-Boon

If you have injury issues and restrictions due to the salary cap you can’t just drop everyone who isn’t executing what you are instructing them to do. What do you do then?

True so you change the game plan up a bit so you might score more points. Like when did the bomb from half way last work for us? Here is an idea brad try something different. He is totally incapable of making adjustments. Hayne was on a blinder last night but we cant get the ball to him in the last 10 minutes.

Total. Drop them. Tak should have been dropped months ago. But in addition to being a coach who likes discipline he also likes to stay loyal to guys who don't have any and he cant coach them to be disciplined. He is in short a totally confused coach.
If we just dropped them we would be playing with less than 17 on match day. You might be surprised how much worse we would be with fewer players on the pitch.

Eelogical

I reckon thats a big stat, says we are not far away but lack discipline

we really only had one decent flogging this season which was Manly

Those six games.
Sharks 14 - Eels 4. 1 try a piece, Sharks 1/1 conversion, 4/4 PG's. Eels 0/1 conversion (Moses)
Eels 6 - Penrith 12. 1 try a piece. Penrith 1/1 conversion, 3/3 PG's, Eels 1/1 conversion (Moses)
Sharks 22 1 Eels 20. 4 tries a piece. Sharks 2/4 conversions, 1/1 PG. Eels 2/4 conversion (Moses)
Bulldogs 20 - Eels 12. 2 tries a piece. Dogs 2/2 conversions, 4/4 PG's. Eels 2/2 conversions (Moses)
Dragons 20 - Eels 18. 3 tries a piece. Saints 3/3 conversions, 1/1 PG. Eels 3/3 conversions (Gutho)
Knights 18 - Eels 16. 3 tries a piece, Knights 2/3 conversions, 1/1 PG. Eels 2/3 conversions (Gutho).

Kornstar

For what it's worth, brother, I think you're pretty damn brave for opening up on the forum.

While a lot of us may be faceless names, it is still a commendable thing to trust people that way.

Lord knows this forum has helped me through some rough times, and helps me still.

I sincerely hope things get easier for you soon, mate.

If i could just get rid of that pesky job and wife (the reason i need to have the pesky job to keep her in the life she likes to lead) and move away from it all then i would be happy........

Mate, I mean no disrespect by this, because I used to let it get me down too so I know where you're coming from...it wasn't that the NRL played a big part in my life, it was just another source of negativity on top of others.

It's just a game. It's literally just a game. Parramatta winning or losing has absolutely no real effect on day to day life.

I had a shocking year with my depression and such in 2016, so you can imagine how everything that went on didn't help. Thankfully I have good mates who realised that ribbing me about something as trivial as footy wasn't really what I needed too, but I stopped watching entirely for a good chunk of that season. And I sure as shit stayed away from this cesspit of misery. Might be worth a try? You'd be amazed how quickly you realise that it's not that important after all.

I think the Aussie sporting psyche is really weird, and unbelievably parochial, and I think that when things aren't going well it's just one more thing in life that you feel sucks...and when there's so much misery and negativity surrounding it from others as well it can be very easy to get dragged down into that, which is obviously no good when you're already feeling miserable.

Break the cycle bro.

I can't argue with any of that.......i haven't been able to get on here anywhere near as much as i used to since moving into a more senior role at work in April but this place isn't my issue and the Eels probably aren't either......i'll get the f**k over it eventually i just need to snap out of it.......

Every club has injury issues. Our season was a write off long before we got any injuries.
If you are stuck with undisciplined players whose brains snap a couple times each game then stop with the game plan that requires strict adherence to disciple. Open the blade a bit and hit for the boundaries.
That will just result in even more errors and floggings rather than close losses.

Eelogical

Interesting season stat to date. Eels have had 18 HIA's so far. The collective HIA's for the teams we opposed is 10. So, we're getting belted around the head almost twice as much as the teams we play.

Noise

Interesting season stat to date. Eels have had 18 HIA's so far. The collective HIA's for the teams we opposed is 10. So, we're getting belted around the head almost twice as much as the teams we play.

Or more likely we are using the rule to our advantage almost twice as much as teams we play.