Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rnd 2 vs Cowboys

^b0ss^

7 news just said foran and corey have been giving the all clear to play.

On another note there has been alot of injures in the first round with alot of key players for other teams out for long periods.

Steve Matai faces a grade-one dangerous throw charge, while Marty Taupau is also on report for a shoulder on Bulldogs skipper James Graham.

Jordan Kahu: Thigh (four weeks)
Michael Lichaa: Knee (Up to three months)
Chase Stanley: Hamstring (round two)
Aidan Sezer: Fractured cheekbone/eye-socket (up to four weeks)
Blake Austin: Knee (two to six weeks)
John Sutton: Ruptured pectoral muscle (16 weeks)
Adam Reynolds: Suspected broken jaw (TBC)
James Segeyaro: Broken arm (six to eight weeks)
Ben Henry: Knee (season)
Paul Gallen: Knee (TBC)

Souce: http://www.smh.com.au/

Eelogical

On another note there has been alot of injures in the first round with alot of key players for other teams out for long periods.

Injuries in general were a topic of discussion at work today. Most agreed they are becoming more prevalent these days but nobody could put a finger on why. I tend to agree somewhat.

Obscene Assassin

They're playing too much. We need to double the size of squads (top 25 moving to a top 35). This will allow coaches to rest players. I also think with the new interchanges players will need to slow down the ruck more which means more wrestling and players are getting into more awkward positions.

BoneyBlake17

Injuries in general were a topic of discussion at work today. Most agreed they are becoming more prevalent these days but nobody could put a finger on why. I tend to agree somewhat.

I reckon its the wrestling crap that has been brought into the game in the last decade

Or is it the fact guys are just bigger-Fast and stronger then ever before.They are pushing there bodies to limits.Bones and joints do not get any stronger ;)
Look at the NFL.Guys go down every game.

It may get to a stage where forwards will bash it out for 5-6 yrs and be spent forces

Noise

Or is it the fact guys are just bigger-Fast and stronger then ever before.They are pushing there bodies to limits.Bones and joints do not get any stronger ;)
Look at the NFL.Guys go down every game.

Yep, it's this.

I think it's both the size/speed of the players, and the emphasis on the wrestle. There's just a lot more scope for injury when two out of three tackles involvetrying to turn a player who is already being held by one or two other defenders. And there's not as many blokes from the country playing, who are innately tougher than the city blokes.

Gazzamatta

Steve Matai faces a grade-one dangerous throw charge, while Marty Taupau is also on report for a shoulder on Bulldogs skipper James Graham.

Jordan Kahu: Thigh (four weeks)
Michael Lichaa: Knee (Up to three months)
Chase Stanley: Hamstring (round two)
Aidan Sezer: Fractured cheekbone/eye-socket (up to four weeks)
Blake Austin: Knee (two to six weeks)
John Sutton: Ruptured pectoral muscle (16 weeks)
Adam Reynolds: Suspected broken jaw (TBC)
James Segeyaro: Broken arm (six to eight weeks)
Ben Henry: Knee (season)
Paul Gallen: Knee (TBC)

I guess Gallen will recover in time to do his usual "head down bum up" act in SOO. Does the guy every play club footy?

Souce: http://www.smh.com.au/

You looked much tougher than modern day players Suity. Also, you'll forgive me for not automatically assuming a fat dude in a suit was you.

Going up to random Eels fans in a pub and introducing myself as Pou could end in an awkward situation for everyone.

You looked much tougher than modern day players Suity. Also, you'll forgive me for not automatically assuming a fat dude in a suit was you.

Going up to random Eels fans in a pub and introducing myself as Pou could end in an awkward situation for everyone.

That's true. It would be awkward.
It would also be awkward, if you had ya missus with you, as I remember you did.
I guess you wouldn't want your missus to meet me. I don't blame you.
I'm f**king hot.

Mate, she took one look at you and slid right off her seat. It was embarrassing!

Mate, I don't blame her.
I wasn't looking my best that day.
I at least thought you might be interested though.
You'd been coming onto me for weeks beforehand.
I wasn't let down though. I was used to it.