Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Robbie On Fox

He might have been shitty but I sort of don't mind it in some ways. Same as running to twitter when you are pissed off. It might not be ideal but we are human beings and sometimes getting emotional to me is okay.

I really don't like the weak made up comments that people can state ala Johns. The other stuff was cool and its cool for Robbie to get pissed.

Overall good stuff but Johns should drop the BS that he is simply making up.

I'll say one thing - Greg Alexander can hack players. I've heard him give it to Benji (not to his face) when he stuffs up however at the same time I have heard him praise Benji when he plays well. I like that up front commentary. Johns was close to that but not really there - I don't think he needed to use the term soft even though I agree with it.

Of course that type of BS(who knows) is not cool. That is just a media guy looking for a bite. That story about Marshall and Farah has been doing the rounds for years. I would think that Farah would be so used to it by now he would just laugh it off, not get as defensive as he did. It is old news and as you said probably BS.

Farah was shitty from the get go last night as soon as the questions got tough. I fail to understand why when he knew in advance what he would be asked. He really needs to get a better handle on things, not run to social media and whinge about how he was 'ambushed'. He does not come out of it looking good, when he reacts the way he did.

Those Farah & Benji Storeys coming from scumbag reporters with nothing better to write is one thing but when it comes from Matty Johns, a media personality who would be close to alot of todays playing roster as well as within the "rugby league circles" it goes from being a simple rumour to something very different.

If in fact it is Bullshit then somebody so closely affiliated to RL needs never bring it up OR back himself if he believes the source is reliable by disclosing it OR STFU, your everday fans (not lunitics like the ones on here) and sponsors dont need to hear it and nothiong good will ever come from it.

bails

Johns never made any comments up.The questions he asked and told Farah he would ask are what was either his opinion or rumors that have been around for a while.Johns advised Farah that he needed to come across as strong when he answered the questions.It was not an ambush as some have described it.I think it is great to hear a player respond with some feeling instead of recycling the cliches.But i think it was weak to have a sook on twitter.

N.C.

Anyone who has ever had any dealings with media will know that an hours notice that you are going to be asked questions of a particular nature means very little once you are asked those questions when the camera is on... It's one thing to say "he knew I was going to question him on that" but another thing entirely to say "I told him what the questions would be..."

But so what? I haven't seen the interview on fox but I've just had a look at some of the rubbish on the Daily Tele - sounds like everyone needs to just calm the f**k down and get on with the show.

*EDIT*

Just saw the interview.

It was an ambush. How would he have looked if he'd said "no, please don't delve an deeper"?

He may have known what was coming but that doesn't make it any easier to field those kinds of questions in the heat of the moment.

But so what. Farah handled himself well. He went onto twitter and told the world all about it. Fox got more subscribers, the Daily Telegraph sold more papers, and the Wests Tigers sponsors get a whole lot of all-expenses-paid coverage in all of the above.

The system works. What a great captain.

It quite obvious that Rob was pissed off with John's questioning,whether Johns ambushed Rob or Rob was being precious and in denial about our recent efforts is just a matter of opinion,one thing is for sure, if the rest of the team showed as much loyalty and passion as Rob displays we would not be discussing the position that we are in or whether or not we are soft.

I have always liked the response of one person on the Tigers pages when these types of things come up.

Bubbles, are you out there? Tell us, the guys are tight, is that correct.

I forgot to add, Tiger 05 you said,
Farah's on field performances for a couple of years haven't been great or better put as good as when he came into first grade

Interesting because in the 2010 Dally M awards - T Carney 1st 27 points, R Farah 2nd 26 points.

2009 - J Hayne 1st 30 points, R Farah 4th 24 points.

I think you are a bit of of touch or just don't remember:roll:

I forgot to add, Tiger 05 you said,

Interesting because in the 2010 Dally M awards - T Carney 1st 27 points, R Farah 2nd 26 points.

2009 - J Hayne 1st 30 points, R Farah 4th 24 points.

I think you are a bit of of touch or just don't remember:roll:

I know that this is the case however I didn't think he was playing that well then. Its an opinion.

Dragons01

Not a fan of Farah but he was ripped off in 2010 with the Dally Ms. That was when the Carney love in was in full swing and Carney got given the 3 points in a losing Roosters side against the Sharks.

He won the Dally M by 1 point.

hybrid_tiger

Farah from 2007 - 2010 was brilliant. Was watching a YouTube compilation of him earlier today and it reminded me just how good he was.

Sadly his form has noticeably dipped in the last two years. He is still a very good player but is no longer as dynamic. I think it's a combination of injury and the way the game is policed. He used to run from dummy half at least once a game and either earn a penalty or a line break but now he would be lucky to go on one run in two or three games.

Hopefully he can get back to his best this year.

Ron's_Mate

Funny how Matt Johns & his team were whining when he got ambushed by Tracey Grimshaw a few years back. And now he's a media grub doing the same for $$$.

Tiger Hawk

Farah from 2007 - 2010 was brilliant. Was watching a YouTube compilation of him earlier today and it reminded me just how good he was.
Particularly between 2007-2009. Finished second twice in Dally M voting in that period from memory, and whilst that doesn't mean everything, it is a fair indication of how he performed.

I would love to see how any other hooker would have performed playing behind some of the packs we trotted out in that period when he single-handedly kept us from the wooden spoon. Benji was far from consistent back then and we were pretty much a one man team, just not the one man people usually associated with us. One game against the Eels in 2008 stands out, we trotted out Danny Galea & Corey Payne in the front-row with Hino, Halatau and Te'o in the back-row. Harrison & Trimarchi were on the bench as our interchange props. Cam Smith is the only hooker I've seen that could have impacted a game behind the shit packs we used to play.

hybrid_tiger

Particularly between 2007-2009. Finished second twice in Dally M voting in that period from memory, and whilst that doesn't mean everything, it is a fair indication of how he performed.

I would love to see how any other hooker would have performed playing behind some of the packs we trotted out in that period when he single-handedly kept us from the wooden spoon. Benji was far from consistent back then and we were pretty much a one man team, just not the one man people usually associated with us. One game against the Eels in 2008 stands out, we trotted out Danny Galea & Corey Payne in the front-row with Hino, Halatau and Te'o in the back-row. Harrison & Trimarchi were on the bench as our interchange props. Cam Smith is the only hooker I've seen that could have impacted a game behind the shit packs we used to play.

Spot on, he has played behind a well beaten pack for most of his career.

Hopefully his operation earlier this year will fix his groin, you can see last year he was really hindered by it.

N.C.

Who said he got the questions an hour in advance? Matty and Fox?
Thought it was pretty clear he knew what was coming. Doesn't mean he was given an opportunity to prepare his answers, though.

A few months back I was interviewed by a hack from Today Tonight. They said they wanted some comments on an issue that was relevant to my work. When they arrived, they gave me a little bit more detail and I was able guess pretty much exactly where it was going. But it wasn't until the cameras were on that they hit me with their questions, and they were the kind of questions I would rather not have answered. But when the camera is on, you're being recorded - you can't say nothing, and you can't take back anything you do say...

It doesn't matter that you know what's coming... You can still be ambushed.

Robbie looks to be struggling with confidence after his operation. I think we'll see him back to his best very very soon.

saints4ever

Farah looked real fidgety and nervous as the questions came about. This, to a layman, indicates Johns was hitting close to home.

The questions were probably more sensitive then what Farah is used to, as the Tigers are generally praised from pillar to post for the brand of footy they play, not put on the spot and asked to explain why.

I dont see how it was an ambush when Johns told him what to prepare for. The fact is he was on there to be asked frankly what was going on, the perfect opportunity for the captain of a struggling football team to man up, face the tough questions and try his best to put the teams fans at ease. Instead, he bristled at being called soft (understandable reaction but an understandable statement) started in on Johns and "footy circles" opinions of him pretty much to deflect, then goes on Twitter etc, then to tell Johns who was man enough to ring him and clear the air, "good luck getting anyone else to go on your show".

This does not seem to be the actions of a good captain, or representative of a club. Instead of wanting to be seen as being hard done by, he gave the impression of a temper tantrum, taking his ball and going home.

This attitude is one of the main reason why people are questioning the tigers form, when the going gets tough, the "tough" sit with their legs crossed, arms folded and refuse to move.

dumpy

Matt Johns is correct, our pack is soft and bleeds tries too easily. It is one thing to know questions in advance but it is different when in front of cameras.
Maybe whilst Matt is in this no BS stage and not aligned with any club, could he enlighten everyone about the serial drug taking that occurred within the knights team because before he had no idea about anything. Shame he was not in the "footy circles" then. Robbie is still one hell of a footballer!