Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Roosters players cleared of assault

butchmcdick

It's amazing how league incidents get top billing on national news shows yet AFL ones tend to stay local. This is despite AFL clowns constantly telling us that their game is the national code.

paranoid.gif

Could it be because people in QLD and NSW don't give a f**k about AFL or their Players ?

Matt Dunning has just learnt of the ARU food fight and vowed never to play for the Wallabies again. He will not have anything to do with people who waste food.

sounds like a storm in a teacup, some drunk wanker trying to be a hero

I assume the drunken wanker you mean is Friend, Pearce or Earl.

However, if it was the person who told them off for chucking ice at them, how does that make them a drunken wanker?

"Stop chucking ice at me dickhead"
"Oh hang on, you're a footy hero ... carry on, do whatever you like to me".

[
Could it be because people in QLD and NSW don't give a f**k about AFL or their Players ?

if you've ever watched Ten news they quite often lead the sports news with AFL stories. never negative ones though

and news.com.au is a national site

I assume the drunken wanker you mean is Friend, Pearce or Earl.

However, if it was the person who told them off for chucking ice at them, how does that make them a drunken wanker?

"Stop chucking ice at me dickhead"
"Oh hang on, you're a footy hero ... carry on, do whatever you like to me".

The players involved told Fittler they did not throw any ice, and the other bloke threw the first punch, then Earl got involved. The woman apparently was hit accidentally while trying to break up the fight.

Now given so far all I have to go on is rampant media speculation vs their word, I'll support our players until/unless they are proven guilty. Especially given the "victims" originally refused to give a statement.

Green Machine

As far as I know I think it's going OK...what your point is and what this has to do with Jake Friend hitting a woman or how the media reports incidents involving NRL or AFL players I do not know...
Nothing at all Alex. No need to get paranoid. I was just wondering if you are still a big Rugby Union fan.
I’ll probably wait until the police investigation is complete before I comment.
There is no doubt that AFL incidents do receive less scrutiny than Rugby League incidents.

Alex28

Nothing at all Alex. No need to get paranoid. I was just wondering if you are still a big Rugby Union fan.
I’ll probably wait until the police investigation is complete before I comment.
There is no doubt that AFL incidents do receive less scrutiny than Rugby League incidents.
I would suggest I follow Union and AFL, but nowhere near to the extent as League...still don't get your point is all...

Lets face it...it is because these things happen in a tabloid-loving city that jumps on celebrity incidents that League cops such a hammering...

Flapper

I was at a trivia night tonight where a question about the recent Carlton hush money case came up. A bit of discussion came up and a lot of people were coming to the conclusion that NRL was a lot more scandalous than the AFL. even though, as most of us that want to admit the truth know, it's a lot more on an even peg than some would want the wider public knowing. So, in this instance, until people in NSW and QLD know that AFL players get up to shenanigans too, it's fair game to complain about the shafting NRL gets in the media.

Green Machine

I would suggest I follow Union and AFL, but nowhere near to the extent as League...still don't get your point is all...
No need to get paranoid Alex. You have been a strong defender of the AFL in the past. Nice to hear that Rugby League is now your No.1,
Lets face it...it is because these things happen in a tabloid-loving city that jumps on celebrity incidents that League cops such a hammering...
No, I don’t think so. I think 2GB and the Telegraph see it as their duty to be the prosecuting officers for the NRL. They want to create interest for their news cycle before all the facts come out. Sometimes they like to create the story. They are only part of the Sydney media not all of it. Just as the Newcastle Herald and the SMH (probably because they are both Fairfax) will form a different opinion to the Daily Telegraph, there are other points of view in Sydney

Raudonikis

Was wondering why Carney signed with the Roosters...

:lol::lol: you can just imagine,after first training run when todd meets the boys,and willie says ill show u around town tonight mate,its not like goulbourn here,we have lots a fun lol:crazy:

Cockadoodledoo

Shows what a twat you are mate believing the media when a story first comes out. Wait till the investigation is completed before judging . I work in Law Enforcemnt mate and you never believe the media , trust me

Good call, we all remember Coffs.. had them hung drawn and quartered.. Then the real story slowly unravelled.. Still they should not have been in the position they were in..

Raider Ultra

Lucky you don't work in law enforcement, dork. Never understood billy big bollocks coppers, or probable support staff in this instance, shooting their mouth off on forums about where they work.