Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rorters claim another Minor Premiership

Trollhammaren

Yep keep sooking.

"Other clubs are better than me, it just isn't fair"

This is a business, survival of the fittest. The competition is already structured in a way that evens it up more than it otherwise would thus the reason we have had 12 different winners in the NRL era. If you guys can't be competitive on a regular basis you only have yourselves to blame and your business model is clearly not working.

Do you think the Patriots give a shit about the Browns?
Do you think Man U care if their players come from Crystal Palace?
Do you think the Yankees spend more than 1 second thinking about the Miami Marlins?

And the list goes on

Whinging and crying about the teams who are successful won't help you one bit.

I guess if you can't keep up with the competition, just convince yourself they cheat. After all, "it just isn't fair".

I agree with this, our club needs to sharpen up; big time. Signs are it's happening (albeit slowly).

But that being said, the Rorters have won the same amount of titles as our Amateur Hour club has in the last decade and a half.

Tommy Smith

On a side note, even though many of you are coming across as a bunch of jealous merkins, I actually have a soft spot for the Tigers.

A real 'salt of the earth' rugby league club, if you will. You're also a passionate mob that played a role in one of the NRLs greatest nights in the 2005 Prelim. Now THAT was rugby league fandom. Not to mention 2010.

But yeah, don't waste your effort wondering why "the Roosters are up there". Spend that effort into fixing why "the Tigers are down there". Here's a hint: Politis & Robbo compared to your joke CEOs, fractured boards, and coaching merry go round.

Oh and btw, in 2009 we were a bigger basket case than you've ever been. In fact between 2006 ish to 2012 we were mostly a joke. And before 2002 we hadn't won a comp in almost 30 years. Remember the Transit Lounge era? Good lord.

So it really is swings and round abouts; and only short sightedness is giving you the impression that we're some sort of timeless juggernaut.

I agree with this, our club needs to sharpen up; big time. Signs are it's happening (albeit slowly).

But that being said, the Rorters have won the same amount of titles as our Amateur Hour club has in the last decade and a half.
Yep, but you cant do it with potentials, you need top shelf players, we need to spend.

sensesmaybenumbed

But yeah, don't waste your effort wondering why "the Roosters are up there". Spend that effort into fixing why "the Tigers are down there". Here's a hint: Politis & Robbo compared to your joke CEOs, fractured boards, and coaching merry go round.

Oh and btw, in 2009 we were a bigger basket case than you've ever been. In fact between 2006 ish to 2012 we were mostly a joke. And before 2002 we hadn't won a comp in almost 30 years. Remember the Transit Lounge era? Good lord.

So it really is swings and round abouts; and only short sightedness is giving you the impression that we're some sort of timeless juggernaut.

Actually, our current board and CEO have done some great work off field. Our financial position, sponsorship and membership have all improved quite significantly in the last few years. Still a long way to go, yes, but far better than years gone by.

Yep i genuinely hope they become a powerhouse, always liked the tigers.

Yeah for all our 'advantages' we have only won the 2 titles in the NRL era but no one can argue we haven't put ourseleves in a position to win more which is all any fan can ask for.

macnaz

Yep keep sooking.

"Other clubs are better than me, it just isn't fair"

This is a business, survival of the fittest. The competition is already structured in a way that evens it up more than it otherwise would thus the reason we have had 12 different winners in the NRL era. If you guys can't be competitive on a regular basis you only have yourselves to blame and your business model is clearly not working.

Do you think the Patriots give a shit about the Browns?
Do you think Man U care if their players come from Crystal Palace?
Do you think the Yankees spend more than 1 second thinking about the Miami Marlins?

And the list goes on

Whinging and crying about the teams who are successful won't help you one bit.

I guess if you can't keep up with the competition, just convince yourself they cheat. After all, "it just isn't fair".

I guess it comes down what you call successful?
Yep you certainly have a team that had more success on the field but thats all on the back of rich connections who use loopholes in the current TPP system the buy the best available players.
Despite the star studded line ups you have fielded over the years it has done NOTHING to iincrease your crappy Memberships " which are the worst in Sydney apart from Manly .
Nothing to increase you fan base .Nothing to improve crappy homeground figures. Nothing to sponsor and support local juniors. Nothing to the overall benifit of Rugby League in general ..by merely using massive money alone to just to keep a side in a competition and thus weakening other sides that actually contribute to the game via Juniors, Fans, tv audience (thus big money from ch9 -fox etc) , membership , merchandise and above all PASSION. How is your side really successful?? Lose all the arms length money and you have f**k all .
Your only real success is milking rich connections.. nothing more .

Yep you certainly have a team that had more success on the field but thats all on the back of a rich connections who use loopholes in the current TPP system the buy the best available players.
Despite the star studded line ups you have fielded over the years it has done NOTHING to iincrease your crappy Memberships " which are the worst in Sydney apart from Manly .
Nothing to increase you fan base .Nothing to improve crappy homeground figures. Nothing to sponsor and support local juniors. Nothing to the overall benifit of Rugby League in general by merely using massive money alone to keep a side in a competition and thus weakening other sides that actually contribute to the game via Juniors, Fans, tv audience (thus big money from ch9 -fox etc) , membership , merchandise and above all PASSION.

You're not getting it.

Professional sports is a business and the goal of any business is to make money and produce the best product they can. The roosters absolutely do this.

Too many supporters like yourself are hung up on the 1970s junior model. Those days are over and the sooner the junior system is centralised to be controlled by the one body (the NRL for example), the better for everyone. As I said in a previous post, do you think the NY Yankees care where their players come from?

As for the rest of your rant, you say we offer nothing to the competition but then acknowledge our business connections which does benefit the overall game.

Our membership growth has been in line with most of the other clubs since the membership drive back in ~2012. Added to that, we are located in the most diverse area of Sydney when it comes to sport teams where we are directly in competition with the Swans, Sydney FC and the Waratahs for the membership dollar.

As for attendances, our average ebbs and flows with form and scheduling as does every other Sydney team and 2016 aside we are generally middle of the pack. We finished above 3 Sydney teams this year and within 1,000 of 2 others whilst not having the friendliest scheduling ever.

Anyways, you could keep looking at the chooks or you could look internally and try and identify how Wests can be more competitive Hopefully for your sake, your management is doing the latter.

Front-Rower

Anyways, you could keep looking at the chooks or you could look internally and try and identify how Wests can be more competitive Hopefully for your sake, your management is doing the latter.

Our club is based on heart strings and emotion. Why do you think we re-signed Marshall and Farah? Because the kids love them and they provide a false hope.

You only have to look at Facebook and the comments RE: those two, great guys is the theme fmd

macnaz

@ Valheru
As you call it a business .. if say our 2 clubs were up for sale ( why anyone would buy an NRL team i dont know)
Why would the Roosters be worth more money ?
Is the bussiness any better than ours .. or is it a better charity that has better donors?
The roosters without for Politis & Co would be a very risky proposition id say.

Yep you certainly have a team that had more success on the field but thats all on the back of rich connections who use loopholes in the current TPP system the buy the best available players.
Nothing to increase you fan base .Nothing to improve crappy homeground figures. Nothing to sponsor and support local juniors. Nothing to the overall benifit of Rugby League in general ..by merely using massive money alone to just to keep a side in a competition and thus weakening other sides that actually contribute to the game via Juniors, Fans, tv audience (thus big money from ch9 -fox etc) , membership , merchandise and above all PASSION. How is your side really successful?? Lose all the arms length money and you have f**k all .
Your only real success is milking rich connections.. nothing more .

Exactly. The Rorters are scum and they are a blight on the game. It's nothing to be proud of.

@ Valheru
As you call it a business .. if say our 2 clubs were up for sale ( why anyone would buy an NRL team i dont know)
Why would the Roosters be worth more money ?
Is the bussiness any better than ours .. or is it a better charity that has better donors?
The roosters without for Politis & Co would be a very risky proposition id say.

The Rorters would be worth a lot less money. They are built on very shaky foundations. They have very few supporters and only compete on the park due to their dodgy payments.

We have a club with a much more professional management team and a significantly larger supporter base.

Das Hassler

To Mr Rooster...."RL is a business"....well you may want to brush up a bit on relativity and perspective....."IS" for who and how many of them? ....if you asked 99.99% of the RL stakeholders ( and paying supporters ARE stakeholders) what RL is to them i doubt many of them would say business....if all and everything it is to you guys is a business then fine...it most definitely IS way more than that for the majority of what makes up the RL community. A bit of proof may just be why the fans and commentators still talk about the '05 grand final FAR MORE than they do about all of the Roosters "successes" since Arthur Beetson

The Rorters would be worth a lot less money. They are built on very shaky foundations. They have very few supporters and only compete on the park due to their dodgy payments.

We have a club with a much more professional management team and a significantly larger supporter base.

If we had a much more professional management team we'd have the same sort of TPA base to draw from that Easts do. That's where their power lies. To say otherwise is farcical.

That's not to say our front end is straightening up either, they've improved corporates and sponsorships of late and are working toward making us independent of leagues club funding.

If we had a much more professional management team we'd have the same sort of TPA base to draw from that Easts do. That's where their power lies. To say otherwise is farcical.

That's not to say our front end is straightening up either, they've improved corporates and sponsorships of late and are working toward making us independent of leagues club funding.

I disagree. They have a TPA base only because they have a sponsor who gives hims money away to the club.

Our management is extremely professional. They just act above board whereas the rorters don't.

I disagree. They have a TPA base only because they have a sponsor who gives hims money away to the club.

Our management is extremely professional. They just act above board whereas the rorters don't.

And the sponsor, he must be pretty business savvy to get all his mates and the like in on the action to draw that TPA base, doesn't he?

I think Easts are a merkin of a club but there's no denying that Politis' business savvy is what makes them competitive.

Tommy Smith

Honestly guys, let it go.

You all sound as envious as Tanya Harding.

Just don't go bashing in our players knees with baseball bats, please.

And the sponsor, he must be pretty business savvy to get all his mates and the like in on the action to draw that TPA base, doesn't he?

I think Easts are a merkin of a club but there's no denying that Politis' business savvy is what makes them competitive.

Not really. If you are a billionaire you can make some pretty economically stupid decisions when it comes to running a footy club. It's the under the table payments that give them the edge.

Trollhammaren

Honestly guys, let it go.

You all sound as envious as Tanya Harding.

Just don't go bashing in our players knees with baseball bats, please.

As long as Teddy suffers a severe season-ending injury this weekend, I'm fine with the Chooks winning the premiership this year. Good luck!

See, no salt this end. :)

super_coach

There is a lot more to a NRL club than winning the comp. Yes it is great and that what coaches strive to do and spend a lot of money trying to achieve it.

They play a massive role in developing a junior system where kids of all abilities have a team they can enjoy and play a team sport. Now plenty of clubs put lots of time,money and effort into this side of their operation. Than you get a team like the Chooks, who just prey on all the clubs that do the hard work. They prey on the elite juniors and they prey on the best NRL talent. They are the parasites of the NRL.

Anyway I hope they rot in hell, horrible club that will fold like a pack of cards the minute they hit a lean stretch.....fingers crossed that will happen soon