Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rorter's Title?

big pat

see i warned you about putting stuff like this on here, now the dickheads have come out in force, serves you right.

Twelve months ago, Melbourne Storm lifted the J.J. Giltinan Shiled as the NRL Premiers for 2009. We didn’t know at the time that they were systemically rorting the salary cap by the tune of $3.2 million. Subsequently they were stripped of their premiership (and others) which left other clubs, in particular their grand final opponents Parramatta lamenting on what could have been.

We would all hate to see this happen again this year.

There have only been two clubs that have been caught rorting the system, the Bulldogs 2002 and the Storm in 2010. But they were only caught due to an insider that blew the whistle. Even when the NRL were told of the Storm’s cheating, they only uncovered $1.7 million of the rort. It was left to Deloitte to uncover the other 80%.

Sure the NRL fines clubs every year for salary cap breaches – much of it due to interpretations of the cap, but the plain hard fact is that the NRL have never been able to detect a systematic rorting system through their own audits. After all, they went through the Storm’s books for the past five years and couldn’t find the $3.2 million rort.

So what does that all mean? Could there be another club out there that is rorting the salary cap? It would be naive to think that no other club have at least contemplated doing it. But we will never know because the NRL will never be able to catch them out.

When one speculates which club or clubs may be rorting the system, one only needs to look for the smoke which more than likely leads to fire. The Sydney Roosters are affectionately known by fans from other clubs as the “Rorters”. There are numerous stories of the brown paper bags used as player payments used at Bondi. Of course these are unsubstantiated rumours that cannot be proven. So let’s just stick with the facts.

The Roosters’ Board boast some of the most powerful businessmen in the country. They have the resources, business skills, impeccable connections and are proven winners. Some of them could fund the Roosters with their own money. It’s a powerful board that any club would be envious to have on their side. This of course does not imply that any of them have ever done anything illegal. Just that they are winners that know how to succeed in what they do.

So what do we look for in a club that rorts the system? Certainly we could look at unusually high standards of performance. The Roosters cannot be accused of that last year but that wasn’t an issue with their roster but with their coach. The Board did what they had to do – axe the coach even though he was a Rooster’s favourite son. The Board decided to replace Fittler with someone they considered to be the best coach, Brian Smith. The fact that he was under contract with another club and even recently extended it was apparently not an issue. The Roosters offer was too good for him to refuse and subsequently his contract with the Knights was terminated and he was free to join the Roosters.

If we are looking for unusual high performance than we need not look further than 2004 when the Roosters qualified for the Grand Final for the 4th time in 5 years. In the history of the NRL competition, there is only one been one other club that can claim anything like that record, and that was of course the Melbourne Storm who had made 4 Grand Finals in 4 years (but now we know how). This does not imply that there was anything illegal in that unusual high performance by the Roosters, but when an athlete wins a gold medal, they get tested.

The Roosters have an envious record of buying quality first grade players. That doesn’t prove anything but it’s interesting that they bought players like O’Meally, Miles, Anasta, Mason who were all from the Bulldogs premiership wining team and were ironically left the Bulldogs because they could no longer pay them what they used to before they were caught out for rorting the salary cap.

Anasta knocked back a lucrative offer from his juniors club Souths to join the Roosters. Recently the Cowboys looked to “throwing a chequebook” to get him but that won’t be enough to lure him away from the Roosters. The fact is the Roosters have never lost a player they really wanted to keep. In other words, they have never been outbid by any other club. Of course they let players go every year due to the salary cap, but so did the Storm.

Why did the teenage sensation Mitchell Peirce sign up with the Roosters rather than the club that he father had so proudly captained? Many sons have followed in their father’s footsteps and played for the same club – Dean Young, Brett Morris amongst many It could be that Peirce didn’t want to play in his father’s shadow. Fair enough. But certainly the Roosters must have made him an offer he couldn’t refuse.

And so there we are. Absolutely no proof that the Roosters have done anything wrong. But much the same could have been said about the Storm 12 months ago.

Brown Paper bags...WTF. The the only brown is the stuff you write you douche V.

D

Deleted member 10972

Shaun Kenny-Dowall - before this season he was considered an error-prone brain explosion merchant with no idea in defense, 1 NZ cap under his belt a while ago

Sam Perrett - solid but unspectacular winger, doesn't demand a massive paypacket, also a NZ international but no club would be paying overs for someone like him

Mitch Aubusson - slow defensive centre, another on an average paypacket that Smith has developed out of sight into a brilliant, tough, well-rounded and mobile backrower

FP Nuuausala - fat, overweight prop who couldn't last more than 15 minutes on the field, Smith developed him like Bronson Harrison into a skillful offloading fringe runner

Daniel Conn/Phil Graham - not really wanted by their clubs, picked up for depth and experience and have done everything that was asked from them over the entire season

None of them are on big money. Neither is Jake Friend, neither is Mose Masoe, neither is Martin Kennedy, neither is Kane Linnett, neither is Joseph Leilua, neither is Ben Jones, neither is James Aubusson, neither is Anthony Cherrington, neither is Aiden Guerra, neither is Tom Symonds, neither is Nick Kouparitsas. Anthony Watts and Justin Carney aren't exactly big cash signings either for next year. Minichiello is on an incentive-based contract that barely eats into our cap at all. Anasta took a paycut at after re-signing for the club in 2008. Ryles contract would be fairly big but nothing massive.

The only big cash players I can really see in the team is Pearce, Myles and Carney. Ryles, Anasta and Hargreaves would be on the next rung. Every single other player on the team would not be costing much at all.

It might hurt you to realize it, but this years Roosters team is a team that defies all the rubbish stereotypes that some of you constantly throw at the Roosters.

Myles and Anasta are the only ones out of the 'big name players' that the Roosters have taken from other clubs, and Braith and Myles will be into their 6th and 5th years respectively with the club next year. Carney was CUT by the Raiders, and we jumped at the chance and placed faith in him. Ryles was unwanted by Dragons, didn't settle in Les Catalans, and joins lesser-known players Phil Graham, Nick Kouparitsas and Daniel Conn in providing solidity, experience and leadership to a young team. As for the rest, well Minichiello, Perrett, Kenny-Dowall, Linnett, Leilua, Kennedy, Masoe, Cherrington, Nuuausala, Paea, Symonds, Guerra, Friend, Jones and M Aubusson all made their top grade debuts for the Roosters. We blooded them in, not anyone else.

Slippery Morris

Based on RednWhite's theory any team coached by Smithy is over the cap. The roosters are having a great season because of the coach. No coincidence. He has had the same effect at Saints and Eels in the early years and had success at Newcastle when he was there as well. He is by far the best coach never to win a GF. I can't believe guys like Folkes and Hagan can win a premiership and he can't. Then again Hagan had the worlds best player in Johns and Folkes had a side above the cap and a damaging player in Sonny Bill.

Another reason for their success is Carney. He was always going to be a great player as he was awesome whilst at Canberra, but they were forced to let him go and are paying for it. If they had the Carney / Campese combo happening they would be even better than they are. Carney was available for all clubs but Chooks took the gamble.

The Business

Shouldnt you be polishing your choker??? Why the fear Pillow?

You couldnt win in 2005 when your team was better. Why are so many Saints fans such absolute f**kwits? I mean you havent won anything in 31 years and counting. But something so daft captures the majority of Red V wearing morons around June, and you think you own the Premiership.

You put your right foot in,
You put Sowards headgear on,
You screwed that other team
But use their ground at the Gong
You do the Oki Chokie and you turn around
31 years what went wrong?

Ooooohhh do the Oki Chokie
Ooooohhhh do the Oki Chokie,
Ohhhhh the Oki Chokie
Your fans are f**king nongs.

Choke you sad bastards.
The merged entity are yet to win anything.

TheDalek079

mate, this is psuedo-article is pathetic. And that comes from somebody who once claimed Scott Saddler was a souffs icon in one called 'watch more please'

smi962

Based on RednWhite's theory any team coached by Smithy is over the cap. The roosters are having a great season because of the coach. No coincidence. He has had the same effect at Saints and Eels in the early years and had success at Newcastle when he was there as well. He is by far the best coach never to win a GF. I can't believe guys like Folkes and Hagan can win a premiership and he can't. Then again Hagan had the worlds best player in Johns and Folkes had a side above the cap and a damaging player in Sonny Bill.

Another reason for their success is Carney. He was always going to be a great player as he was awesome whilst at Canberra, but they were forced to let him go and are paying for it. If they had the Carney / Campese combo happening they would be even better than they are. Carney was available for all clubs but Chooks took the gamble.

I hear he overcooks the players in the very big games, he is by nature a very intense coach, and his stress/nerves rub off in his players in the lead-up to the big game. I think this year he is trying to be a lot more relaxed, hence, why Cartwright was commenting about if the real Brian Smith (nervous,tense) will come to the surface at some point.

melon....

You know what the best thing is? In just 24 hours the Rorters season will be over.
Pray that your Oki Chokies dont die again. When they do, I will f**king hound you for a year. Typical Saints spastic.

You can smell the fear from here.

Scared little boy.

melon....

see i warned you about putting stuff like this on here, now the dickheads have come out in force, serves you right.

hey Jervis, the biggest dickheads here are cocky Merge fans who have not won a thing in 31 years and write inflammatory articles with no proof. Whats worse f**kwits like your admins and moderators allow this sh*t because they are geniused candy cane supporters as well.

f**k you. f**k your sad pathetic barren club. And f**k your moron supporters who think they are entitled to a title. Youll choke again Pat.....and it will all end in tears.....and we will be back giving it to you sad arseholes in spades for a year. Because frankly, you do it to yourselves.

grouch

melon's obviously in a bold mood since his tv appearance on the Mad Monday program. Good for him. I like to see idiots - or, to use the politically correct term: geniuss - gaining confidence in themselves. I'd even throw him a sympathy handshake just like the Pooster players did

big pat

hey Jervis, the biggest dickheads here are cocky Merge fans who have not won a thing in 31 years and write inflammatory articles with no proof. Whats worse f**kwits like your admins and moderators allow this sh*t because they are geniused candy cane supporters as well.

f**k you. f**k your sad pathetic barren club. And f**k your moron supporters who think they are entitled to a title. Youll choke again Pat.....and it will all end in tears.....and we will be back giving it to you sad arseholes in spades for a year. Because frankly, you do it to yourselves.

looks like another useless dickhead, to put on the ignore list.

Fingerbang

Wow. Can't wait for the menstruating cycle to finish huh? Someone seems to be in dire need of having her cl*t tickled. Poor princess!