Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rorts - Game day

Best call of the night was Pearce going on about the Mighty Pom "flippin' him on his head".

He was still barking to the ref about it 5 minutes after the Mighty Pom tackle.

Gawdddd I laughed.

Card Shark

As much as last night was a great win, we are going to need to play better (for 80 mins) if we meet in the finals.

I couldn't work out why we took the penalty when leading by 14. 14 or 16, what is the real difference unless it's blowing a gale & goalkicking is a nightmare.

We went out in the 2nd half with not quite the right mindset. 1 more try would've sealed it earlier but we went away from the good field position tactics of the first half.

shaggs

I thought the same cardy. Was a little too early for me. Todd's boot was off in general play and perhaps the boys were gassed after the first half.

Could have been a conscious decision to take any points and waste 3 minutes each time they could.

Back the defence. Might not have had the energy to kick chase as hard. Who knows. A little negative.

I would have like to see a few more repeat sets. You know the roosters will give away the penalty eventually. Chew up time by holding the ball.

Card Shark

I guess what I'm saying is we lack the killer instinct.

Can't recollect what the halftime score was when we played them at Allianz but it would've been a similar score.

They went on & scored a few more tries & held us scoreless whilst we never really put them to bed. 1 try in the 2nd half & we win.

runatme

we beat the team coming first
and card shark still has a whinge lol killer instinct wtf is this war?

Card Shark

we beat the team coming first
and card shark still has a whinge lol killer instinct wtf is this war?

I'm hardly whingeing mate...it was an awesome victory, 1 of the best ever .

I'm looking forward to the finals now we have secured a spot high up. It has been about the top 4 being a class above for a while - I'm merely commenting on what we need to improve on come the finals to match them when they step up.1

No team in the top 4 will let another team get away to such a big lead. We need to play better to win a finals game against them & putting a team to bed when we have an advantage is 1 of our biggest issues.

Obviously you didn't read the halftime comments in this thread about some not being able to watch the 2nd half for fear of surrendering a 26 point lead. It's not rocket science that we don't have a killer instinct.

As much as last night was a great win, we are going to need to play better (for 80 mins) if we meet in the finals.

I couldn't work out why we took the penalty when leading by 14. 14 or 16, what is the real difference unless it's blowing a gale & goalkicking is a nightmare.

We went out in the 2nd half with not quite the right mindset. 1 more try would've sealed it earlier but we went away from the good field position tactics of the first half.

We almost never score .
turns out Maloney missed one .

Dragons ( when they used to win footy games ) used to take the points all the time.
It is a mental thing too I think.

runatme

I'm hardly whingeing mate...it was an awesome victory, 1 of the best ever .

I'm looking forward to the finals now we have secured a spot high up. It has been about the top 4 being a class above for a while - I'm merely commenting on what we need to improve on come the finals to match them when they step up.1

No team in the top 4 will let another team get away to such a big lead. We need to play better to win a finals game against them & putting a team to bed when we have an advantage is 1 of our biggest issues.

Obviously you didn't read the halftime comments in this thread about some not being able to watch the 2nd half for fear of surrendering a 26 point lead. It's not rocket science that we don't have a killer instinct.

i was at the game hence why i didnt see the half time comments

shaggs

I said it another thread carch, it was a very Bennett like decision. Take the points whenever you can

The ref gave the Rooters a leg up in the first 10 minutes of the second half though, fmd! Took all our momentum away imo.

DJShaksta

Don't take anything away from the Roosters 2nd half.
They came out hard and played to the edges instead of the middle.
We were awesome in the first 40. I was pinching myself at 26-0.
Always knew they'd come back though.
Kicking for goal didn't bother me, soaked up time and let us reset with ball in hand again. IE didn't let them get into a rhythm.

Roosters were playing towards the edges as Beau Ryan wasn't playing in the 2nd half, I'm sure there would have been fewer tries scored had Beau remained on the field. They knew there was nothing to be gained by going up the middle.

Card Shark

It is a mental thing too I think.

It is. Overcoming that mental hurdle is not easy.

We have to back ourselves to score - have confidence in ourselves.

Taking the 2 on a few occasions did chew up time though & it couldn't go quick enough when the Roosters were closing in :)