Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rorts - Game day

Roosters were playing towards the edges as Beau Ryan wasn't playing in the 2nd half, I'm sure there would have been fewer tries scored had Beau remained on the field. They knew there was nothing to be gained by going up the middle.

Yeah Beau leaving the field gives me the shits. He should of toughed it out. If he had a problem they should of moved him into the scrum and let he share the load with the rest of the pigs.

re-live it
up up Cronulla crowd version. click on it to listen...might take a bit to get going
or
right click and save it to your computer if you want.

all good now...mp3 version instead

I don't ever want to see Wright & Pom standing next to each other ever again, not even at a bus stop, they'd wave their hands and miss the bloody thing.

Jaegerex

As much as last night was a great win, we are going to need to play better (for 80 mins) if we meet in the finals.

I couldn't work out why we took the penalty when leading by 14. 14 or 16, what is the real difference unless it's blowing a gale & goalkicking is a nightmare.

We went out in the 2nd half with not quite the right mindset. 1 more try would've sealed it earlier but we went away from the good field position tactics of the first half.

My guess is that it was our general game plan, Roosters are fairly solid defensively and aren't afraid of giving away a penalty close to the line many times and just waiting for the attack to burn itself out like we tried early in the second half.
As such it wasn't a bad plan to just say screw it take the 2, next time we are down here they will probably resort to a penalty again.
Against most teams go for the try, against the Roosters with a history of goal line penalties why not abuse that fact and take 3+ penalty goals.

Maccas4177

Had that "GET THEM ONSIDE!!!" dude in my left ear all night north western hill. Deadset deaf.

haha yeah that muppet made his first offside call while the ball was in the air from the first kick off. Was funny the first 2 or 3 times....

carinashark

Yep someone is thinking! Last night was a great night but pitty we could not crack them in the second half for at least one 4 pointer . Our defence was good tho and getting up there for finals football. Very Texta Quigs.

all those trys were on that right wing.

I thought wright actually played wing before?

He sucked at it when he got moved.

shaggs

Definitely carch. Beau uses his covellness to keep that right side tight.

Pom and wright both defended like centres despite playing on the wing. Derp.

I don't ever want to see Wright & Pom standing next to each other ever again, not even at a bus stop, they'd wave their hands and miss the bloody thing.

Yeah they were like keystone cops. Roosters wouldnt have got as close had we still had our proper backline up.

BTW whats up with B Ryan?

Dont watch the footy show, so he will play next week then?

I heard that he did his knee again but it must have been just someone guessing.

ghoti

Against most teams go for the try, against the Roosters with a history of goal line penalties why not abuse that fact and take 3+ penalty goals.

I was really happy to see this. Have been watching teams get shut out by these really frustrating intentional penalty tactics and it was good to see us use that predictable behaviour to our advantage. Well coached I thought

Feej

I was really happy to see this. Have been watching teams get shut out by these really frustrating intentional penalty tactics and it was good to see us use that predictable behaviour to our advantage. Well coached I thought

Agree. I also thought it killed their momentum every time.

Wright's defence is getting worse as the season progresses. He is woefully inept.

Positioning is bad, sliding is slow, he rarely gets front on with the attacker one on one, so they just run at his shoulders, both of which are weak as piss.

I'd drop him now, before the finals start.

No centre should need a minder in defence.

newman

Wright's defence is getting worse as the season progresses. He is woefully inept.

Positioning is bad, sliding is slow, he rarely gets front on with the attacker one on one, so they just run at his shoulders, both of which are weak as piss.

I'd drop him now, before the finals start.

No centre should need a minder in defence.

When he was playing on the wing I think he was convinced he was still in the centres. He marked up on the centre everytime allowing Tupou a saloon passage to the line.