Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 Eels V Broncos

Delboy

If he had improved he wouldn't be a backup, Delboy. How do you not understand that?

Pou, do you just argue for the sake of it :crazy:

I have been around footy for over 40 years and he has shown no improvement, just stop trying to be some sort of devils advocate and see reality. He is a half decent backup , but the club should have made steps to move in another direction, he will not and cannot be even a moderate back up. End of story

EelsFan05

If he had improved he wouldn't be a backup, Delboy. How do you not understand that?

Sandow wasn't a backup but Pou defended him to the death. Then he turned on him. Pou's argument that that backups can't be good players because then they would be starters is a typical Pou argument. Wait for Kelly to get dropped for his argument to come full circle.Plenty of the strong clubs have qaulity backups.

In saying that Kelly was on a hiding to nothing once Norman got hurt. Scott wanted to tear his head off at one point when he passed the ball three meters behind him.

In my opinion, Kelly had an ok first half offensively but his second half when asked to do more, was very poor. One short pass he threw to Scott was a shocker but there were so many lowlights to choose from. Defensively, he was pretty average the entire game. He didnt miss many but was very much bullied which creates doubt in the minds of those next to him.
I think we were well beaten in the ruck. This part of our game didnt appear to have improved greatly to me. The Broncos made easy meters most of the game. Merroa and Paulo were very dissappointing in this area. Gower would be a welcome addition as would Choc. Still lots of work to do defensively. The Broncos played it safe. The Cowboys wont.
Good point mate, if the Cows smell blood they will go for the throat where the Broncos are happy to play safety first.

We only had 5 of the first 15 sets and against a quality side like Btisbane that is just far too much.

EelsFan05

Good point mate, if the Cows smell blood they will go for the throat where the Broncos are happy to play safety first.

We only had 5 of the first 15 sets and against a quality side like Btisbane that is just far too much.

One that point, why when we finally got the ball in decent position did Norman think the right play was a low percentage kick on the 2-3 tackle?

No idea but it was a terrible play, pretty sure they got that soft penalty straight after that and scored the first try???

parramaniac2516

I think a lot of the reason jennings wasn't getting involved was because kelly kept trying to go down the short side on the right.

As people have said the tv does not show the wider angle and last night in the second half we had brisbane outnumbered on the left. If we simply would of went through the hands we could of scored a try or two. Yes the crowd had the shits with kelly but it was because whatever he was trying to do no one in our team had any idea on what he was doing and he looked ao out of his depth last night it was embarrassing.

The team looked more dangerous when kenny edwards had the ball.

No more luke kelly please. Give Cornish a crack.

Forty20

I agree but I think a valid counterpoint is that the Cowboys will not defend as resolutely as the Broncos did. We are a better chance to win outright but also a better chance to get blown out in this match up.

Kornstar

People expected more from a backup playing as the sole half against probably the best defence in the comp?

And how can they not know he's a backup when we have Norman and Foran on the roster?

People are stupid? I don't know what to tell you. He was awful but It is what it is and the situation was terrible too.

Bigfella

I've never seen a backup with the ability to make every player around him play worse.

Very difficult to understand why he was retained.

Non halves backing up would do a better job imo

I've never seen a backup with the ability to make every player around him play worse.

Very difficult to understand why he was retained.

Non halves backing up would do a better job imo
Edwards did with ball in hand, first game back after a knee reco. This rubbish about he's the best back up half available and at the club is absolute bullshit.

Dibs

I think you'll find it was the Broncos' defence that did the stifling. You'll also find our only try came when both Kelly and Norman handled the ball.

Really? So in the second half when we were making in roads deep into brisbanes half and we're looking good their defence only worked when Kelly got the ball? Their defence made him slow, lost, running in circles, throwing bad passes? I wonder why their defence didn't do those things before Kelly got his hands on the ball?

Sandow wasn't a backup but Pou defended him to the death. Then he turned on him. Pou's argument that that backups can't be good players because then they would be starters is a typical Pou argument. Wait for Kelly to get dropped for his argument to come full circle.Plenty of the strong clubs have qaulity backups.

In saying that Kelly was on a hiding to nothing once Norman got hurt. Scott wanted to tear his head off at one point when he passed the ball three meters behind him.

No I turned on Sandow during 2014 and pissed a lot of people off when I said I hoped we wouldn't keep him.

Sandow taught me that every player needs to provide a baseline level of defence, no matter how good their attack is.

I think Cornish is a better attacking player than Kelly, and I hope he can improve his defence. Because if he can he might replace Norman on our left side next year.

Noise

Edwards did with ball in hand, first game back after a knee reco. This rubbish about he's the best back up half available and at the club is absolute bullshit.

Edwards was interviewed on the radio 2 years ago and when asked what was his favourite position to play he actually said 5/8. And he looked comfortable there in the 2nd half seeing it was his first game back in a couple of years and prob hasn't trained there either. I've never seen him kick though.

ZEROMISSTACKLES

Oh well done loser (that's right yous lost) that must've been hard to find. It was definitely hard for Radradra to find something like that last night against the Broncos wasn't it? Lol

Oh actually that's HIS ONLY moment where he creates a break on HIS OWN and beats 3 plus players.

Before the game all you hear is Radradra this and Radradra that and then the game starts and the Eels forget that he doesn't make line breaks like you would associate with the hype surrounding him. All he does is finish like a wingers suppose to but guess what? Most wingers do that just like does, so why the hype?

Edwards was interviewed on the radio 2 years ago and when asked what was his favourite position to play he actually said 5/8. And he looked comfortable there in the 2nd half seeing it was his first game back in a couple of years and prob hasn't trained there either. I've never seen him kick though.
Well Edwards does have some skill, something Kelly lacks. But but but but but he tries hard. We should bring back Brett Finch ffs.

Pou, do you just argue for the sake of it :crazy:

I have been around footy for over 40 years and he has shown no improvement, just stop trying to be some sort of devils advocate and see reality. He is a half decent backup , but the club should have made steps to move in another direction, he will not and cannot be even a moderate back up. End of story

I reckon your back up should be a guy who is under the age of 23 and has some potential to break out and be a solid NRL player.
Cornish fits this role. As does guys like TMM at penrith and ZDC.
Perhaps Bevan fits the role as well thou is injured and more a fullback.
You have a young bloke who is not ready but is able to gain experience by filling in for the odd game. That's the ideal system
Kelly is getting worse as he gets older. He has a few ok points to his game-Was always going to struggle without Norman.

Give cornish 3-4 games along side Kelly. Lets see who comes out infront ;)

Also Pou if Kelly can just defend ok and offers nothing in attack then why not just have gower play 5/8?

Back to the game itself. Does anybody think that the Eels didn't put enough pressure on Greg Eden who clearly has problems under the high ball?