Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 V West Tigers

SnowDragon

I was more thinking off the bench, out of interest though if Lomax fails would you put Dufty or Sailor at fullback? I'll rule out Norman from this equation only because I don't rate him their.

good question. I like Sailor and think he has a lot to add. From the limited time there last year I’d say He gets ragdolled less than Dufty, and better on line defence, so I’d put him there.

Norman could still be an option for me with Clune coming into the halves.

mickeylane

Name 3 predictions for this game.
1. Ben Hunt to score 2 tries
2. Corey Norman scores field goal
3. Dragons win by 1

Forbes Creek Dragons

I would say Aitken's heart is in it and he takes the ball up hard, but that doesn't translate to being the centre we need. He is another heart attack player.
I don’t see him as a heart attack player, his hands are fine. He tackles hard too. Just his decision making and execution in attack and D are not outside back material. I will enjoy watching him in CC though, see if he can make it work not under pressure. If not a move to the forwards or another club is in order.

Forbes Creek Dragons

I was more thinking off the bench, out of interest though if Lomax fails would you put Dufty or Sailor at fullback? I'll rule out Norman from this equation only because I don't rate him their.
I’d go Dufty over Sailor. I like his attitude to stay and fight. I honestly think the right coach could make a gameplan to suit his style.

I don’t see him as a heart attack player, his hands are fine. He tackles hard too. Just his decision making and execution in attack and D are not outside back material. I will enjoy watching him in CC though, see if he can make it work not under pressure. If not a move to the forwards or another club is in order.
Maybe Hasler will take him on; he seems to do wonders with our discards. Manly will be one centre down when we sign Suli.

I’d go Dufty over Sailor. I like his attitude to stay and fight. I honestly think the right coach could make a gameplan to suit his style.
I'd say neither Dufty or Sailor are in the running unless Lomax sustains an injury in the early rounds. In my opinion, Ramsey will be next choice if things aren't going well after June 30. I think Sailor and Dufty will move on at season's end and Shiller will most probably be our CC fullback for the 2021 season.

Williame will have an outstanding game at left centre.
Lafai and T Sims will stiffen up our right side defence.
Lomax will have a good game.

kit66

Dufty delivered for us in attack ( one of very few who did ) and Sailor could possibly do the same but our defence has to be better this year and both are a worry in that department. Out of the two I'd say Dufty is the better defensively. If we had a dominant pack and more useful halves then either of the two would be great to have out there capitalizing on that but we don't unfortunately. So I'm really counting on Zac to step up and I think he can given a bit of time. This should be a building year for us and we should be getting our young guys on the park as much as possible but I fear Mary's only concern is getting a win at any cost. It's criminal that Ford isn't in the 17 for example.

kit66

Possibly not at this club, we have a good selection..

But when you have a player who is a strong runner of the ball, can carry a few defenders with him, but of pace when in space but doesn’t have a passing game & is only effective in group tackles, you’d place him in the second row..

I reckon that’s the spot he’ll end up playing one day..

Where? I dunno..
When? I dunno..
How? Stop asking me questions please..
Why? Because I’m sick of answering myself.

I think the footy's back just in time, you're going a bit stir crazy, talking to yourself. Couple of days mate, couple a days. Not saying watching your team get spanked every week will help though but you won't be alone.

kit66

1. The veterans Bully and Bupa ( Graham ) lead us to a rousing victory and erase all memory of last years flogging.
2. Williame gets MOM and is in the early running for buy of the decade.
3. We make 6 successful captains calls adding 20 minutes to the game and causing chaos with Foxs' programming, prompting calls for it to be scrapped immediately.

SBD82

Lomax seems to have a footy brain and reads the game well. I’m happy for him to direct our defense from the back.

Just hope he finds his voice. Not saying he doesn’t have one, but as a young man it can’t be hard directing older rep players.

RedVDave

Dufty delivered for us in attack ( one of very few who did ) and Sailor could possibly do the same but our defence has to be better this year and both are a worry in that department. Out of the two I'd say Dufty is the better defensively. If we had a dominant pack and more useful halves then either of the two would be great to have out there capitalizing on that but we don't unfortunately. So I'm really counting on Zac to step up and I think he can given a bit of time. This should be a building year for us and we should be getting our young guys on the park as much as possible but I fear Mary's only concern is getting a win at any cost. It's criminal that that Ford isn't in the 17 for example.

Appreciate your input if Lomax fails I'm hoping quiet obviously he does not then he has to moved to centre we need him in starting 13 for his goalkicking, as lafai and Norman both failed in that department last year.

I agree with your assessment on Dufty, I think he is first choice at fullback should Lomax not shine there. He is like Soward in that he is a confidence player and last season it was shot to bits (we all know who to thank for that) whether it be his 7 minute cameos off the bench or being dropped in out of first grade.

Slippery Morris

Lafai and Rava on one side, how bad is that. Wow, Tigers will have a picnic on that side. Looks like we will be seeing the same $hite different smell this year. All selection nightmares. "How to have a good squad and not to use it properly for dummies".

Appreciate your input if Lomax fails I'm hoping quiet obviously he does not then he has to moved to centre we need him in starting 13 for his goalkicking, as lafai and Norman both failed in that department last year.

I agree with your assessment on Dufty, I think he is first choice at fullback should Lomax not shine there. He is like Soward in that he is a confidence player and last season it was shot to bits (we all know who to thank for that) whether it be his 7 minute cameos off the bench or being dropped in out of first grade.
Accept for his blistering speed and elusive running in attack, Dufty did not perform at first grade standard. This is the only reason he is not our fullback today.

Now we have Lomax as our fullback and a couple of young guns as future custodians - Ramsey and Shiller.

redv13

1. Ravalawa will drive my blood pressure through the roof over 80 mins

2. Same as number 1 every time they show Mary

3. Saints will win and I’ll finally crack a smile when I see boof head Aitken sitting behind the bench having a sulk